Western Forest Products - Avis

Trouvé 63 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 64 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Rampant incompetence
Filer (Employé actuel) –  Cowichan Bay, BC20 avril 2019
I have worked for several incarnations of this company for forty years . At one time the job was satisfying and rewarding . The current state of affairs is far from that .Completely incompetent management who lie and deceive .As a thirty year tradesman I find management with zero experience in my field telling me how to do my job . Fatally toxic is how I see this so called Management team I’m hanging them up early for my own well being .
Points positifs
Wages
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Only gave one star because it was required....
Finance Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver Island, BC11 mars 2019
This corporation is most certainly not competitive despite what their employment ads may say....the "raises" you do get don't even cover the annual cost of living increases. Upper management is full of power trippers who pick their favorites right off the hop. These people get whatever they want handed to them on a silver platter while the unfortunate others are treated like trash. You are made, and occasionally told that you are completely replaceable. Absolutely no work life balance, no flexibility for personal appointments, issues, or family responsibilities. This business needs to wake up and realize they are stuck in the stone ages and will not attract any new talent unless there are some BIG changes!
Points positifs
Great people to work with (non-management)
Points négatifs
Everything else...
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 39Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No future here
Millwright (Employé actuel) –  Port Alberni, BC21 février 2019
This operation is on the verge of closure. Horrendous mechanical state. Everyone completely fed up and miserable and just holding out for severance. Casuals working day shift while long term employees working nights. This used to be a great place to work but now so bad it defies decription.


Antiquated equipment
Bully management most with limited mill experience
No overtime
Worst shift schedule on the planet.
Chaos all the time
Straight time saturdays and sundays

Please just pay us severance and just shut it down.
Points positifs
Possible severance
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 45Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Prison type atmosphere
Garbage Collector (Ancien employé) –  Chemainus, BC6 février 2019
The Chemainus sawmill in the last few years has turned into a HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE place too work. The lack of respect and knowledge is beyond frusterating. The only smiles you will see are on the management and the rats who work close with them. The concerns of employees are ignored and pushed aside.There has been such a HUGE turn around in the last two years. Several of the knowledgeable employees have left because of poor treatment and horrible/lack there of management. What is left behind are new replacements that have little to no training which compromises safety in a HUGE way. Safety is NOT important here. Big issues are overlooked and not addressed. No one works together and their is a constant atmosphere of tension and hatrid. The money may be good but your mental health will suffer tremendously. Save yourself the turmoil and apply somewhere else.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 48Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Could be a great company if they only cared about their workers.
WFP SPOUSE (Employé actuel) –  Ladysmith, BC4 février 2019
I have been the spouse to a Western Forrest Products worker for quite some time and there are just a few things I would like to share from the spouse’s point of view. They finally just pulled the last straw where I can no longer just bite my tongue. This company has made it very clear that their employees mean absolutely nothing to them. In this day in age unless you have a $30 an hour paying job (which WFP is not) you Need both parents working just to get by. Unfortunately, WFP has made that impossible if you have a family for the spouse to be able to work as well. We have a son that needs to be looked after for us to work and that’s doable, but sadly it is still impossible to do so as WFP is shift work. They don’t find out that they are working until a couple of days in advance, and even when they do it is a completely different shift EVERY WEEK. How am I as a mother supposed to have a job when I need a different sitter ever morning throughout the week or next week every evening. Not only that but they get put on graveyards at random here and there? Don’t get me wrong I’m not apposed to graveyards some people even prefer them, but they should not be giving them out one week then mornings then graveyards then evenings. Graveyards effect a lot more than just being able to spend time with your family but there is strong evidence that shift work is related to a number of serious health conditions, like cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and obesity, shift work is also linked to stomach problems and ulcers, depression, and an increased risk of accidents or injury. Last, they like  plus... to state that they are for the company but how is that so when they lay people off whenever it suits their pockets. Recently alone they were all laid off right before Christmas, they made what was supposed to be a happy time for families awful and stressful. They also just gave all the guys bonuses because they had to it was in their contract, but then laid them all off right after for a week. That’s sure a good way to get out of giving a bonus.  moins
Points positifs
Decent pay
Points négatifs
To many to list.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 38Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ineffective management at every level
Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver Island, BC31 janvier 2019
Toxic environment. Bullying is not addressed, some divisions seem to only want themselves to succeed at the expense of other divisions.
Zero transparency, information hoarding.

There are a few amazing managers and supervisors, they are few and far between and are not given the resources they need to be successful. If they had the tools they needed they could create real and valuable change. This is the hardest part of the job, seeing great employees being stifled and not able to really make a difference.

Too many unqualified people being promoted solely to stop them from leaving or their friends are promoting them. This creates poor leadership and uninformed supervisors.

Good hard workers are used up by the company and discarded. Promotions based upon how long people have worked for the company despite their obvious inability to manage/supervisor or even have the rudimentary understanding of the jobs that are done by the people they supervise. Or they over simplify what they think the person does which is extremely insulting. Micro managers, inability to listen to the employees about their concerns and workload and get told “whatever it has to be done”

Only production matters. Not employees work life balance. Not even the very lives of the employees as evidenced by prior incidents.

Massive talent drain at WFP. They strive to keep some people, who don’t have other options for the same paying job, they can’t keep the good employees because those ones are employable and able to get new jobs for the same or higher salary.

I was recently approached to go
  plus... back to WFP, too toxic, too many ineffective people still there. Nothing would have changed, I declined.  moins
Points positifs
Some amazing people
Points négatifs
Talent drain, ineffective micro managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 43NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Trades Would Have To Desperate And Beaten Down To Work Here
Welder/Fabricator (Ancien employé) –  Duncan, BC11 janvier 2019
"RED ALERT" Inept, non qualified Maintenance Management will conduct an interview and Not inform you that your shifts WILL BE, Thurs-Sun, Fri-Mon, or Sat-Tues! Of course they'll say it won't take long to get a decent Monday to Friday Shift. This is called "Alternative Facts"! Be prepared to attempt to hold the Companies feet to the fire to have them adhere to their own Safety Policies and Procedures. Five long term Millwrights have quit at one of their Sawmills in the past six months and instead of fixing the obvious Management issues, don't seem too concerned with the mass exodus claiming, "Retirement" as the reason. Again, " alternative facts"! If you decide to heed the warning and accept employement, I wish you luck. You will soon find out why others have bailed! Grow a thick skin fellow Tradespersons and remember, every I-beam and structure has an Unqualified Foreman or a Rat Chargehand watching your every move!
Points positifs
No longer there
Points négatifs
Inept, incompetent leadership
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 50Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Truth
Peasant (Ancien employé) –  Chemainus, BC8 janvier 2019
I could go on and on about all of the reasons for you to not apply here.

1. Horrible work atmosphere.. everyone is miserable..without a doubt after a few months in working here you will be too
2. Management is beyond underqualified and will treat you as if you are beneath them and disregard pretty much everything important that you have to say.
3. Nothing is consistent and there is no communication and this will drive you insane
4.They preach that safety is important but do not even follow procedures themselves or address important issues
5. Disrespect is a everyday thing here driving all of the qualified employees out the door

If you want a work environment that you absolutely dread going to everyday than this job is right for you.
Points négatifs
How much time do you have?
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 54Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
greed
chaser (Ancien employé) –  Woss, BC24 décembre 2018
greedy company that puts profits ahead of the well being of their employees and the communities they operate in. long periods of low moral due to mismanagement at all levels
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
greed
Hooktender (Employé actuel) –  Woss, BC24 décembre 2018
Greedy company that puts profits ahead of the well being of their employees. long periods of low moral amongst workforce due to company mismanagement at all levels.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Growth Opportunities
Accountant (Employé actuel) –  Various12 décembre 2018
I have been working at WFP for over 2 years and worked at multiple locations throughout the company. I have been able to work with lots of amazing people, and continue to have lots of opportunity to learn and develop in my various roles.

The workplace culture varies by location due to each region's own dynamics, but each location's employees consistently show a desire to do what's best for the company, and are very welcoming to new staff.

I highly recommend WFP to all jobseekers. As with any job there is an expectation at times to work overtime as needed but in my experience I have been rewarded with greater flexibility in my schedule due to understanding managers.

A day at WFP is never dull and does it bring its challenges but the pros far outweigh the cons and will lead to a rewarding career.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 61Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Growing company with opportunity to learn and grow
HR Leader (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC12 décembre 2018
WFP has significant strategic change initiatives and there is tremendous opportunity to be involved in stretch projects that help your development. The work can be challenging, as there is lots to be done, but if you aren't afraid to work hard and get your hands dirty it is an amazing place to work and grow.
Points positifs
Growth opportunities
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 57Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good place to learn and grow
HR Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC4 décembre 2018
I haven't been at WFP for very long but already it feels like I will be here for a while. It truly feels that if you put in the time and the effort you will get rewarded.

A big plus for me is the size of the organization. You won't be pigeon holed into one position for your entire career because there are so many departments and so many different paths to go if you talk to your manager. The company is also willing to help its employees learn and grow! As a recent graduate who never wanted to go back to school, the chance to keep learning is surprisingly attractive.

Forestry isn't the most attractive industry in Vancouver, but WFP is trying to make wood sexy again.
Points positifs
Room for advancement; Good pay; Central location; Lots of work!
Points négatifs
Lots of work (either a pro or con depending on your outlook)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 65Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Company
Business Partner (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC4 décembre 2018
I have been with Western Forest Products for 9 months. In this time I have been able to learn and grow substantially. There are clear goals and expectations of me as well as tons of opportunities for enhancement and growth. I am already experiencing career progression at Western and have been awarded my first promotion.

Additionally, the team at Western has been extremely welcoming and the culture is performance driven and friendly. I could not ask for a better place to work!
Points positifs
People are amazing, Growth and Developmental Opportunities, and Compensation
Points négatifs
N/A
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 68Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Once upon a time...
Fibre Supply (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver Island, BC14 novembre 2018
Once upon a time this was a very good company to work for. I have been a salary management position for 30+ years and have seen many changes and many faces come and go, receiving nothing but positive goal setting and always exceeding these goals, receiving incentive bonuses and raises every year which the company was in a positive position to do so. I have watched in the last 18 months a really well run, knowledgeable department of 15 employees destroyed. Of those 15 happy loyal team employees, 8 of them have been either forced out or packaged out. The new upper management team has been filled with college degree ego personnel, who have never worked a physical day in their life in the industry, having no life skills, no communication skills, thinking they know it all, sending out emails on Saturday and Sunday nights after 9pm, answering emails that have been dealt with days before etc.

All they do is say yes to every dumb thing that comes out of this President and his merry VPs. Cutting bonus's and raises to hard working knowledgeable employees after the company is showing records profits. These employees really do have a passion for their jobs. This is a good way to lose what good employees haven't already left, or are trying to leave. In closing, it is time for this employee to move on before he really tells a certain new manager what he really thinks. There was a time my fellow workers had smiles on their faces and would laugh at work instead of just shaking their heads in disgust or disbelief.
Points positifs
Was a good group
Points négatifs
Foolish management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 78Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stay far away!
Contractor (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver Island, BC24 octobre 2018
Terrible employer. Making record profits yet cutting slary/benefits constantly. They are the reason I have left the industry, along with hordes of potential career loggers. I honestly dont know how the industry will survive WFP's business practices.

Morale is rock bottom, intense politics at all levels. Micro management at all levels, constant nickel and diming. Many employees feel trapped and are miserable. Contractors get treated even more poorly. There is no positive to employment, just work for MOF or BCTS and enjoy your life. If WFP's monopoly on the TFL's isn't corrected this industry will crumble.

Run!
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Many - see review
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 73Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Documentation VCR
Documentation Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC3 octobre 2018
A very unprofessional company, I have never witnessed so much politics throughout my career. They will fire you as just cause, not worth investing your hard earned experience.
Points positifs
Nice office location
Points négatifs
No professionalism
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 58Non 5Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive fast paced work enviroment
Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Port Alberni, BC18 septembre 2018
Western Products was a great place and a good enviroment to work for. i enjoyed the fast paced labour. The whole time i worked there i was totally welcomed to the team to allow a good work place attitude.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 57Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I was an engineers assistant
Engineers Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Bella Bella, BC21 août 2018
The bush crew I worked with was amazing. I learned alot and the only reason I stopped working there was because I was in Bella Bella and their work was done in the area.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 30Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nothing but utter contempt for this company
Millwright (Ancien employé) –  Port Alberni, BC8 juillet 2018
Changed shift schedule with no regard for work/life balance so I decided to leave before implementation.The division i worked at had extremely weak management, aside from the general manager whom i respected. The union isnt much help either, being run by people who no longer even have jobs within the company. I would counsel anyone who may be considering working here to exhaust every other employment option first before even thinking of working for this group of reprehensible scumbags.
Points positifs
Absolutely none
Points négatifs
Incompetence from CEO down
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 100Non 5Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Western Forest Products. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,5
D'après 64 avis
511
411
36
27
129

Notes par catégorie

2,6Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,8Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,4Direction
2,6Culture d'entreprise