West Fraser - Avis

Trouvé 94 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 255 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
best job I had
Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Edson, AB15 septembre 2015
I really enjoyed the atmosphere at west Fraser and i worked hard as well as advanced while employed with West Fraser. I liked the shift work it gave me a well balanced home life as well.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 32Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive company with lots of room for advancement
Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Slave Lake, AB2 septembre 2015
West Fraser was an awesome place to work.
We would usually start out by locking out the veneer line, blowing down the dirt, dust, and debris with an air hose. Afterward we would break up into groups and go to clean up the hog, sawmill, bucking line and bucking line basement, and anything else that needed some work done on it.
It was a very team oriented place to work, while still allowing people to work on their own. An example would be that we would break up into groups of 2 or 3 to clean out the veneer line. So, we would all be working on the same line, but each of us would have a separate task and usually be quite far away from each other.
Some of the West Fraser mills had blown up, because the small sawdust is just as flammable as gasoline, so we had to use air hoses that got a water hose hooked up to them. Altogether those hoses weighed about 50-60 lbs, so holding them up for long amounts of time turned out to be quite the challenge.
Points positifs
The pay and benefits
Points négatifs
The hours - 10:30pm to 7:00 am = no social life
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Operator (Ancien employé) –  High Prairie, AB15 août 2015
Working at West Frasier was difficult at times due to not being able to hear/communicate with other co-workers, but very rewarding at the end of the day knowing you put in a day of hard work.
Being with the company I learned to be productive, and time management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Housekeeping
Kitchen Helper/Housekeeping (Ancien employé) –  Williams Lake, BC6 juillet 2015
I worked for this company working as a housekeeper, kitchen assistant with culinary duties, also did other various jobs when needed. I worked in a camp that caters to over a 100 tenants or clients. Which I gained valuable skills, experience and qualifications.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast Paced and demanding
Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Edson, AB1 juin 2015
A typical work day is anything but, though the basic elements are the same from floor set up to ensuring production and safety are maintained at all times to problem solving, its a roller coaster (fun, fun, fun).
I learned that people are at the center of our business and this resource though replaceable is priceless.
Nothing but the best co-workers, funny and just great people
The hardest part of the job is dealing with some of the strongest personalities.
Seeing the joy and the pride on the employees faces when we have great days (record days)
Points positifs
Great Company, Great Peple
Points négatifs
exhausting at times and extremely demanding
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
General Cleanup
GENERAL LABOURER (Ancien employé) –  Fraser Lake BC8 mai 2015
My job here was to clean under the sorter, the management treated me unfair,hardest part of that job was dealing with people who don't know how to work.There was nothing enjoyable about that job except a paycheck.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 4Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
very good place
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  Quesnel, BC30 mars 2015
very good place to work the pay is amazing, the job work and the life balance is perfect still lots of time for yourself. Management not the greatest could be better
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work if full time
H/R, Woods Clerk / Reception/Accounts Payable (Employé actuel) –  Williams Lake, BC21 février 2015
The work is diversified and the atmosphere is pleasant. the managers are good and co-workers are as well. Good hours, weekends and statutory holidays off.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Only the money and benefits are goods!
Trimmer (Ancien employé) –  Quesnel, BC13 février 2015
West Fraser is the winner of the race to the bottom in the forest industry. They operate like it is still 1965.

Mill managers act like they are gods, and no one else is competent enough to make decisions or do their job.
Points positifs
Thankfully my location was unionized and we were protected from the worst.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Hours
Chief Engineer/Planermill Energy Plant Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Quesnel, BC6 février 2015
The 7 on 7 off work schedule meets my needs, Hourly guys are great to work with . Communication from management could be greatly improved.
Points positifs
Good Pay
Points négatifs
I have to travel from Kelowna on my dime.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of room for advancements
Production Line Operator (Ancien employé) –  Quesnel, BC6 février 2015
Typical day would very on the placement of which was required on the production line. Learned how a planer works from start to finish and how to run all floor production tasks.
Points positifs
Balanced life style
Points négatifs
at time job was not very secure due to over hiring
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Shift Schedule
CHIEF ENGINEER (Employé actuel) –  Chasm6 février 2015
Love the 7 on 7 off shift schedule, lots of time off to enjoy life in Kelowna, sun, sand and golf. Great people to work with.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 8Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Was fast paced presenting daily challenges that pushed you to try and overcome
Technician (Ancien employé) –  Blueridge31 janvier 2015
It was hard fast paced work that was enjoyable because the people were always fun to work with and it always presented new challenges and puzzles that required a keen mind to overcome.
As well as the chance to help lead the younger less experienced workers to prevent accidents and improve their ability to solve problems
Points positifs
Had excellent pay and granted bonuses for people on the night shift
Points négatifs
Didnt enjoy the outlook of the upper management beyond the shift leads
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
got to work with my hands
Labourer (Employé actuel) –  Williams Lake, BC12 décembre 2014
i was responsible for cleaning mill, blow down, shovel sawdust
Points positifs
good pay
Points négatifs
not very educational, very much a (dumbed down job).
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great job
Weekend Cleanup (Employé actuel) –  Williams Lake, BC30 juillet 2014
Great company but it is seniority based & I'd have to wait 10 years for an apprenticeship.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
production
production, cleanup (Ancien employé) –  Williams Lake, BC21 juillet 2014
worked production on a number of machines safely and with a smile on my face.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work
spare board (Employé actuel) –  williams lake bc7 mai 2014
great training program, high attention to both safety and production procedures
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Employé actuel) –  Hinton, AB13 mars 2014
Its a very productive environment. Learned a lot of things
in every part of the mill in terms of operations.
Points positifs
Free boots allowance, good benefits insurance, retirement, medical/dental
Points négatifs
n/a
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
hard work
Production line (Employé actuel) –  williams lake bc20 février 2014
a typical day is starting at the edger making boards the proper width for the trim saws, I have learned management skills for running the shift and production line.
Points positifs
great pay, easy training
Points négatifs
short shifts, lots of broken boards and logs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company with fabulous management and colleagues
Account Manager / Lumber Trader (Ancien employé) –  Quesnel, BC12 février 2014
A fabulous culture to work in with supportive colleagues and management. I learned a great deal about the wood products industry, NA distribution, and the vast number of products made from wood.

There was not anything about the job that was overly difficult. If anything, the social interaction with the customers was the best part of working at West Fraser.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez West Fraser ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,5
D'après 255 avis
564
479
353
226
133

Notes par catégorie

3,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,9Direction
3,2Culture d'entreprise