VIPKid - Avis

Trouvé 19 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 483 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Company
English Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Remote9 août 2019
It is a great platform to teach English. They pay well and it is a very rewarding experience. You can teach anywhere in the world. The students are wonderful.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de VIPKid
12 août 2019

We are very glad that you’re having such a good time teaching with VIPKID!

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unprofessional
Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Canada11 juillet 2019
I had a really bad experience applying for this company.

I passed the initial demo then I booked the first demo class after which I was asked to book a second demo and I had gotten a really good feedback with some minor issues like using less full English sentences etc. I even got a Congrats email asking me to book second mock interview.

When I logged in to schedule a second mock class, I got a message your account has been locked. I then emailed the technical team and after a day I got an email saying, "You have failed the mock class and we apologize for the mixed messages".

So unprofessional for such a big organization, initially they should have sent an email themselves instead of giving "mixed messages". I'm so shocked if I had not emailed the technical team they would not have bothered to even let me know.
Points positifs
NONE
Points négatifs
Recruiting team needs to define proper communication methods to prospective employees.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de VIPKid
15 juillet 2019

We have been working to consolidate information provided to our future applicants to be more unified and transparent for those interested in joining the VIPKID teaching community. We apologize for any miscommunication that occurred during your interview. You are welcome to email us at teachvip@vipkid.com.cn if you have further questions.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Teaching, no guarantee
Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Alberta26 novembre 2018
The selection and interview process was great. The online classroom was great and worked well.

The process the become a teacher was supported and understandable.

Once you became a teacher however there was no support and they do not provide any help to get classes booked.

I reached out multiple times and the only suggestions they made were to open more slots in a standard email with a list of 'tips and tricks' to get bookings. This did not change the situation and after 23days of open slots they still provided no help to match students with new teachers.

Do NOT expect a certain amount of teaching or salary per month. It is not guaranteed!
Points positifs
Good interview process
Points négatifs
NO work gaurantee (at all)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 68Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work at home and make up own schedule while teaching ESL
ESL Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Windsor, ON25 novembre 2018
Great opportunity to work at home and make up own schedule while teaching. Very hard to work full-time because the time difference in China. It is hard to advance in this company as well salary wise and position wise. Wish there was an easier way to get a raise.
Points positifs
Work at home and make own schedule.
Points négatifs
No guarantee hours and almost impossible to advance salary wise and company wise.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good company
Online EFL English Teacher (Ancien employé) –  REMOTE21 novembre 2018
Good company for remote work. Not too good with advancement, job security is there. Job culture is not really established.Great students and good feedback system for personal development.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Love working for VIPKID
Online ESL Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Remote5 novembre 2018
Excellent company to work for. VIPKID is listed on forbes 5th best company for work for in 2017 and I definitely see why. Work/life balance is great. Teachers get to create and work at their own schedule. There is an abundance amount of materials and services to help each teacher get all the help they need to be a successful teacher.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 8Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible
Online English Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON12 juillet 2018
Teaching at VIPKID enables me to have a flexible side job while working elsewhere :) It also keeps my experience going with teaching so that when I apply to other ESL teaching jobs I will have great experience from it.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 30Non 14Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
LOVE working here
ESL Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB4 juillet 2018
I've worked at VIPKID for 8 months, and I absolutely love it. It did take about a month to fill up my schedule with regular students, but now I'm almost always fully booked.
If you have a degree, fast wifi, and no criminal history it's such a score! I'm making about $22 USD/hr with no commute! Once you get comfortable, the prep work is minimal. It's a wake up and show up job that makes double what I would be making working freelance otherwise. LOVE IT!
Points positifs
Work from home, flexible schedule, excellent pay
Points négatifs
Can take some time to build student-base
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 52Non 9Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Okay
Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 mai 2018
Decent pay, but so many hurdles to get through. Managment is not the most supportive and training and all demo videos are unpaid. Trials are very hard to book with many student no shows. Overall have made the decision to leave this company as hours are not sufficient.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 69Non 5Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
AWFUL company
Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Remote14 mai 2018
Probably the worst people I’ve ever dealt with. You can work for them for 40 hours a week for two years and one day you get a stomach bug, no raise. They are heartless when you write in to address an issue. They are very rude and treat their teachers like robots. They are probably *the worst* people that you could ever have to deal with. After working at this company for two years, having perfect attendance and a 5 star rating with the students I can say- I hate this company with all of my being. I hope they go down in flames.
Points positifs
Great kids
Points négatifs
Too many to list. Just terrible human beings.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 148Non 12Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Interview process takes 10 days
Applicant (Ancien employé) –  On-line3 décembre 2017
Interview process takes 10 days with no compensation. I spent a lot of time and money on collecting materials, practicing for the interview and reading information. They also recommend that you watch a lot of videos. After reading the material and watching videos, you have to take a quiz, then 2 more mock teaching lessons, which are really interviews. I was told I was hired then I was terminated after the 2nd "mock lesson" /interview. It was very heart-breaking and costly. I spent over $100, which considering that I did not get a job, was also disheartening.
Points négatifs
Expensive and lengthy interview process
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 185Non 14Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Many promises, not a lot of money.
Online English Language Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Kingston, ON26 novembre 2017
Trying to fill up your schedule is the luck of the draw. If you are a male teacher, you will be booked solid from the second you open your available time slots. If you are a female teacher, you need to know that it will take weeks or months before you will see a full schedule. Then, you are at the mercy of parents' reviews - they don't understand what assessments are and will trash your rating by accusing you of not teaching their child. You will live or die by their reviews.
Points positifs
Supposedly, one can "make their own schedule" but peak times are determined.
Points négatifs
Trying to live on the paltry salary.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 209Non 7Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great stay at home position
ESL Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON25 octobre 2017
I have been working for VIPKIDS for the past few months and I love it. You get to stay at home and work in your pajamas. There is a great Facebook community of fellow teachers for support and the students are very cute and fun to teach. You also get to learn a little bit about China from your students. It's very rewarding and alot of fun.

The interview process can be quite difficult therefore you need to really prepare for the mock interviews. Strong internet connection is also important because you get dinged or poor ratings from parents if your internet connection is not strong.
Points positifs
Make your own schedule, one to one teaching, get paid if students does not show up or cancels last minute, get paid in US dollars, the lessons are already planned, work in the mornings and the rest of the day is yours
Points négatifs
Early morning, you have to be up early mornings when students are awake, they have zero tolerance of sick days, you can only get a hold of management via ticket on Freshdesk
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 103Non 9Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I love my job with VIPKID
Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS25 octobre 2017
I teach for VIPKID from NS Canada.

Pros:
1. Salary $20 per hour
2. Bonuses for attendance, punctuality, converting trial students to regular students, holiday contests, etc.
3. Flexible schedule that you control
4. User friendly teaching platform
5. Immediate access online support
6. Great company culture- Although I’ve never laid eyes on the head office or other staff, I feel like I’m truly part of a team.
7. Happy students and parents
8. Convenient hours for me

Cons: I really do not have anything negative to say about VIPKID.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 71Non 35Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The pros far outweigh the cons (for me)
Online ESL Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Canada2 septembre 2017
Pros:
- High hourly wage
- Pick your own hours
- Virtually no prep involved
- Great students
- Meaningful work
- Low stress
- Work from home (no commuting!)
- Work from anywhere there's an internet connection (Going out of town to visit mom & dad for a few days? Work from their place if you like!)

Cons:
- Early morning work - depending on which time zone you're in, this can range from being so-so to really awful (I'm in EST, which means peak teaching times for me are 6-10 am)
- No benefits
- Very strict teacher attendance policy (you need to stay healthy)
- It may take some time to build a regular student base and become fully booked (the hours are not guaranteed)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 104Non 11Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Never judge a book by its cover...
Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, Canada9 janvier 2017
I worked for VIPKID for a little over 4 months. At first, I was very excited as the company seemed to provide a great experience for both teacher and students. The PowerPoint presentations we used seemed colourful and kid friendly (minus the millions of mistakes and content that did not make any sense). I got to meet some really great students in this time, and I had many regular students booking me every week. You will get a lot of "bad" students too, so be prepared to get frustrated.

I hated when I had to wait 15-25 minutes in the classroom for a student to show up, yet if I didn't show up for a legitimate reason, I was penalized. During November and December, I reduced my hours to the minimum because I suffered a pinched nerve and was not well, but I tried to show up to the majority of my classes. By December, I went over the allowed # of cancellations and no-shows, so they cancelled my last 2 classes, and just sent me a letter that I have been terminated. I was unable to write back in fresh desk, so I replied to the email directly to explain my situation, but did not get a response. I at least wanted the chance to say goodbye to my most dedicated student who came a very long way from the very first time he started. This showed me that they do not care for their teachers, but definitely not for their students either. I care about my students success, and I felt so bad when they cancelled my final class with that student. I would have at least said my goodbyes and praised him for his remarkable progress. However,VIPKID likes to make money more than having it's
  plus... students learn. It is a business, not a school. In fact, I have seem short video excerpts of some teachers (who are probably not qualified teachers) that act like clowns. I had high reviews each time that I was reviewed by VIPKID, and then I was terminated. It makes no sense.

I have over 15 years of teaching experience, and I think I would rather spend my extra time with my family and loved ones rather than with a company that doesn't respect me.
  moins
Points positifs
a little extra income, doing what you love most
Points négatifs
not allowed to get sick, terrible policy, uncaring staff, it is a business, not a school
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 253Non 23Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good pay and support. Flexible hours if you are an early bird!
Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Home Based28 novembre 2016
I have worked for VIPKid for 6 months, and I enjoy it. The lessons are prepared, there are bonuses and fun incentives, and best of all, you get to choose your own schedule.
The company has grown fast and there are some growing pains, but management is clearly working hard to remedy the problems.

Currently, I work from 4-7:30 every weekday morning and some on the weekends. As an extra job or a full-time gig, it's a good deal. The downside is that there are no benefits and if you are sick, well, you do have to work! Still, I think the positives outweigh the negatives!
Points positifs
make your own schedule
Points négatifs
must carefully schedule time off and stay healthy!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 102Non 18Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Strict and unaccomodating company
Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON27 juillet 2016
This company started out great, you make your own hours and work from the comfort of your home. It's a bit tough to make any decent money from them AND have a social life as you'll have to be working on China time zone.
Then I started to see some flaws in the companies professionalism and how they treat their employees. You are not allowed to call in sick. If you are under the weather and cannot muster the energy to be high level, silly and goofy with the children you have two options - cancel the class and take a $10USD deduction per class missed (and you are only allowed 5 cancellations per contract term). Or suck it up and teach the class, but if you get a negative feedback from a parent, you will also get penalized and potentially loose money from that as well.
Points positifs
You make your own hours, work from home.
Points négatifs
There is no 'real time' option to talk to anyone if you have a problem or question, They are ridiculous and unrealistic with their expectations of you, No communication with their employees what so ever.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 265Non 41Signaler

Voir plus d'avis pour VIPKid

Vous pourriez essayer :

Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez VIPKid. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 483 avis
5258
4111
339
214
161

Notes par catégorie

4,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,6Direction
4,0Culture d'entreprise