VIA Rail
Le taux de satisfaction est de 61 sur 100
3,7 étoile(s) sur 5.
Envoyer un avis

VIA Rail - Avis

Evaluer cette entreprise
Intitulé du poste
Tous
Lieu
Canada142 avis

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie privée/professionnelle

Trier par

PertinenceNoteDate
142 avis correspondant à votre recherche.Voir les 143 avis

Inclusive, fun, diverse workplace

Avis en vedette

VIA Rail a sélectionné cet élément comme avis représentatif
Love working here. Staff and management make it a safe work environment and fun. Good easy to follow traning. Team is patient and understanding. Love working there
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

30 juin 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so delighted to read your positive comments, and are glad that you're enjoying your experience at VIA Rail.

Environnement de travail malsain

Pire patron et direction que j'ai eu a supporter lors de ma vie professionnelle.

Points positifs

0

Points négatifs

Directeur, direction déficiente
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

19 décembre 2022
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis. Les commentaires sont importants pour nous et nous sommes désolés d'apprendre que votre expérience chez VIA Rail n'a pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes. Si vous souhaitez nous fournir plus de détails pour nous aider à nous améliorer, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Informations sur VIA Rail

Sur la base de 60 réponses au sondage
Points forts
  • Sentiment d'appréciation personnelle
  • Rémunération juste par rapport au travail effectué
Points à améliorer
  • Soutien du responsable
  • Flexibilité des horaires et du lieu
  • Sentiment d'appartenance

Terrible workplace!!!

Toxic workplace all around. Management is absolutely horrendous and awful. Very gossip-like environment and your likely to be thrown under the bus by someone. It’s a seniority based job so its likely to be working the night shift. They don’t train you properly and throw you to the wolves. They expect way too much and don’t give any positive reinforcement. Save yourself and find something else.

Points positifs

Pay is decent

Points négatifs

Terrible management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

19 décembre 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Feedback is important to us, and we are sorry to hear that your experience at VIA Rail is not meeting /did not meet your expectations. We strive to create a positive work environment for everyone, with our values at the heart of our decisions and actions. If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Horribly managed, good pay and benefits, very unionized, free travel

Free travel, good pay and benefits. If you're after those things its decent. Don't bother applying unless you're bilingual french and english. The company loves nepotism. Technology on the job is always 15 years behind. Management is full of people who think they need to be ultra strict on their subordinates to advance in the company, yet they will go nowhere. Trust level amongst co-workers is low, and is a very toxic point. The union while strong protects everyone including the really bad apples that shouldn't be there. Job security comes and goes depending on which government is in power. You will not be recognized in any way whatsoever by working harder or more efficiently than anyone else at your job. There is plenty of room for overtime. Good hours are impossible to get and forget weekends off. If you can separate your job from you own life it's not half bad, but again the toxic, drab, stressful atmosphere is not for the faint of heart. You're dealing with stressed customers, who constantly have a problem with prices, rules, regulations, missing luggage, late trains etc etc. If you don't have thick skin, don't even bother applying.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

13 octobre 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The way VIA people go above and beyond to create an exceptional customer experience for our passengers, often in challenging conditions, is something we can all be proud of and is one of the things that makes VIA special. We are sorry to hear that your experience at VIA Rail was not what you hoped it would be. If you would like to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Great colleagues and healthy work culture

Big challenges are coming for VIA, new fleet, many exciting projects are starting. It all means a lot of work but at least we’re having fun. I would recommend for people leaving companies with poor work culture. Working for VIA have been a very positive change!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

11 octobre 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so delighted to read your positive comments, and are glad that you're enjoying your experience at VIA Rail. Many exciting projects are on the way!

Notez une entreprise où vous avez travaillé récemment

Partagez votre expérience pour aider d'autres utilisateurs.

Productice send fun

I would rather not work here if I had the cherche. Decent but doesn’t allow you to have a life outside of the job . I don’t appreciate working here every day every night but you do what you can to put money on the table and feed your family .

Points positifs

Free lunches

Points négatifs

Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

3 août 2022
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience at VIA Rail. Feedback is important to us! If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Disappointment

Zero communication in the office or head office. Nobody has your back. Goes on strike every couple of years to negotiate for an agreement in the union, because they don’t listen or care about the workers. Hours are intense and seasonal work for the first 10 years of your career.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

28 juillet 2022
We acknowledge receipt of your comments and thank you for sharing your feedback. The union and VIA Rail strive to negotiate and provide the best working conditions possible for our unionized workers. The collective agreement governs scheduling and seniority.

Overall good company

I would recommend working there without hesitation. Definitely a structured environment when I was there and hopefully that’s changed now. Other than that It’s d go back if a position fit my profile

Points positifs

Good salary & Benefits

Points négatifs

Middle managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

26 juillet 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your experience at VIA Rail. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us if you see a position that fits your profile!

This great opportunity offers chances for advancement and training possibilities

I had the privilege of working for Via Rail for 14 years. I was given the opportunity to follow several customer service skills improvement courses over my tenure at Via Rail.Friendships are abound and opportunities exist for real for the candidates whom are really dedicated to offering nothing but the best in customer service quality!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

26 juillet 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so delighted to read your positive comments, and we're pleased that you have enjoyed your 14 years with VIA Rail.

Vie de chemin de fer

Paye était bonne mais ça commence à faire dur comparé au autres entreprises beaucoup d’employés quittent

Points positifs

Assurances dentaire, maladie et autre

Points négatifs

Horaire instable
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

26 juillet 2022
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis. Les commentaires sont importants pour nous aider à nous améliorer. Si vous souhaitez nous fournir plus de détails, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Stay away if you're looking for a stable job/shifts

Took me 20 years before i managed to have my week ends off. No much support from management. You do your time, collect your pay checks and that's it. Chances for a better job is slim to none if you're not the bosses relative/friend. Pay is good but pension plan is now awful. You will find better with a private company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

17 juin 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Feedback is important to us, and we are sorry to hear that you are not fully satisfied about your experience with us. The reality of VIA Rail's operational nature dictates busy schedules on weekends, resulting in the need for more availability in employee schedules. As an organization governed by a collective agreement, clear rules for scheduling are provided and respected by both parties. If you would like to provide us with more details to help us improve, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Good working condition and good people to work with and excellent pay wirh benefits

Via is a great place to work,you wear the clothes they provide but you select them.The job requires the experience and knowledge of operating a passenger train, your treated like a person not a number.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

17 juin 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so delighted to read your positive comments, and are glad that you're enjoying your experience at VIA Rail.

Super environnement de travail

Belle ambiance de travail. Travail d'équipe est valorisé. Flexibilité des horaires de travail. Excellents avantages. Belles opportunités de développement et d'avancement.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

17 juin 2022
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis. Nous nous efforçons de créer un environnement de travail positif pour chacun et nous sommes ravis que vous appréciez votre expérience chez VIA Rail.

Pays well to make up for the instability

When you start at via, you are on the bottom of the seniority list, have to have 24/7 availability cause they will schedule you for really any time of day. They will also change your schedule every two weeks and give it to you the day before you start your new schedule. Also in the beginning expect to be laid off 1/3 of the year, and them to call you back only a couple days before starting work again after being laid off for 4 months and not hearing a thing from them. Also I’d take notes of the promises they give you during the interview because what they said for me did not end up matching up at all. But overall great pay, good people, and good benefits.

Points positifs

Great pay, great benefits

Points négatifs

Long hours, unstable hours, unreliable management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

17 juin 2022
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience at VIA Rail. We are sorry to hear that it is not entirely what you expected. We are governed by a collective agreement, which includes clear rules for scheduling, and our hours of work are based on the train schedules. If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Very good employee environment to grow professionally.

Everyone is friendly and helpful. I learnt a lot during my 4 months internship at VIA Rail. They actually care about your skills improvement and professional growth.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Ouverture d'esprit et bienveillance

Belle ouverture d'esprit de tous les membres de VIA Rail, être accueilli par la présidente et CEO lors de la journée d'accueil est apprécié. Très vite dans la pratique en ressources humaines, beaucoup de soutien des gestionnaires. Télétravail dû à la pandémie avec quelques passages au bureau donc plus difficile de connaitre tout le monde. Cela se fait plus lentement. Belle compagnie au service des Canadiens.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Horrible no stability and pay is bad

The Job itself is very easy, theirs not a lot to get done. Everyone is always in a good mood and that help for sure. The problem is that we’re not well payed at all that’s #1, #2 theirs never any hours and their always laying people off with nothing and then they call you back to work and here we go again 4 weeks later you get laid off again. I think it’s a horrible company to work for but they have great people

Points positifs

Free travels

Points négatifs

No stability, dreadful company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

6 avril 2022
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience at VIA Rail. We are regretful to hear that it did not meet your expectations. Like many businesses, we were impacted by COVID, which impacted our schedules and staffing. We are looking forward to welcoming back everyone to work. If you want to provide us with more details to help us improve, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Great place to work

Work Schedules can be very stressful at times esp during holidays and school breaks! Long hour Shifts can be tiring with little rest. But I have created so many memories!!! Best memories! You will love it!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Disorganized toxic work environment

Extremely toxic management structure with no respect for union. Does not promote from within based on competence, HR supports and encourages negative working relationships between leadership and staff. Leadership is not held accountable when breaking the law, which is very uncomfortable. Senior leadership has no respect or love for railroading meaning corners are cut in all the wrong ways.

Points positifs

You don’t do much

Points négatifs

There’s no tools or parts to do anything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de VIA Rail

9 mars 2022
We acknowledge receipt of your comments and will review them internally. VIA is committed to fostering a healthy and respectful work environment. Any employee with concerns of an ethical nature can have them addressed by following the process outlined in VIA Rail’s Code of Ethics, or by contacting the VIA Rail Ethics Compliance Officer. Information about this safe and confidential process is available to all employees on our internal network.

Demandant mais gratifiant

Une belle cause/mission en laquelle on peut croire, des conditions compétitives et un environnement de travail avec ses défis

Points positifs

Salaire, bénéfices, télé-travail, mission, ambiance et collaboration avec les collegues

Points négatifs

résistance au changement, peu d'agilité, périodes de rush fréquentes
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

J'adore mon emploi chez VIA Rail! Je n'avais jamais connu une culture aussi collaborative. J’aime mon équipe, mes projets et mon salaire!

C'est vraiment un endroit où il fait bon travailler! Les projets sur lesquels je travaille ont un impact positif sur la société (Yeah!), ma gestionnaire est très compréhensive et mes collègues formidables, ce qui facilite la conciliation travail-vie personnelle. J’ai un très bon salaire et plein d'avantages sociaux, dont la télémédecine illimité pour moi, mon chum et mes enfants. Comme je suis au siège social, je peux faire du télétravail et la conciliation travail-vie-personnelle se fait vraiment bien. Mes collègues sont vraiment agréables et collaboratifs. Ce n'est pas un environnement ultra compétitif où tout le monde protège ses projets et essaie d'écraser les autres pour avoir une promotion.Les avantages sont vraiment bien! En plus, on fait des heures normales, ce qui nous permet d'avoir une vie en dehors du travail. Il y a beaucoup d'approbations à obtenir avant de pouvoir avancer, ce qui ralentit les projets. Par contre, comme j'ai beaucoup de projets, les journées passent vraiment très rapidement. Ce que j'aime le plus : mon équipe, mon gestionnaire, des projets qui ont du sens et qui contribuent à rendre notre société meilleure!

Points positifs

Télétravail en mode hybride, Possibilité de bien concilier vie perso et travail, Salaire avantageux et avantages sociaux (j'adore l'appli Dialogue1), Une équipe formidable!, Une culture d'entreprise réellement inclusive (en tout cas, plein d'initiatives pour le devenir), L'arrivée d'une toute nouvelle flotte (c'est vraiment excitant!), Une équipe de direction qui a réellement a coeur le bien-être de ses employés, Le sentiment de contribuer à un mode de transport plus écologique au Canada.

Points négatifs

Les décisions se prennent plus lentement que dans le secteur privé, Il y a beaucoup d'étapes d'approbation, Selon le type d'emploi, on peut travailler de jour, de soir, de nuit (les trains roulent toute l'année (24h/7jours), Être à la merci d'un changement de gouvernement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez VIA Rail ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.Poser une question

Note globale

D'après 143 avis

Notes par catégorie

3,3 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
4,0 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Salaire/avantages sociaux
3,5 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Sécurité de l'emploi/évolution de carrière
3,2 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Direction
3,4 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Culture d'entreprise

Comparer VIA Rail à

  • Entreprises
  • VIA Rail
  • Avis d'employés