Veterans Affairs Canada - Avis

Trouvé 31 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 32 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Working with the veterans was interesting
Paramedical Support Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Peterborough, ON4 décembre 2018
I was responsible for setting up appointments, doing up doctor reports, setting up appointments with other medical fields needed. Interesting job and very rewarding
Points positifs
working with veterans
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A great place to work
Case Manager (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON16 septembre 2018
A wonderful place to work with great management and the ability to deal and honour our Veterans who have served our country so faithfully. I was able to fulfill my desire to work in such an environment and it allowed me to travel to various locations throughout Southern Ontario whilst doing so. I loved meeting the new clients, but moreover I loved being able to help them access many benefits that VAC allows them.
Points positifs
Great job, great benefits and great clients
Points négatifs
A very busy client load.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice paying job, not too stressful. I could choose my own hours of work.
Executive Assistant, Corporate Secretariat (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa ON15 août 2018
Would have liked to stay but my contract expired. I would go back anytime. The salary was great, I could choose my own hours and go for lunch whenever I felt like it.
Points positifs
NIce relaxed atmosphere, my supervisor was very easy to talk to, I never felt that un welcomed in that office, great staff.
Points négatifs
A bit difficult to do HR work when the head office is in another city across Canada.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very different from working in the private sector
Paramedical Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON31 janvier 2018
For the most part I really enjoyed working at Veteran's Affairs. I enjoyed being part of the team, helping clients, and this was my first exposure to medical office administration. I enjoyed learning the new skills, but the job was split 50/50 paramedical assistant and receptionist/office administration. It was a frustration that the paramedical was expected to cover the receptionist duties but the receptionist did not have the skills to cover paramedical duties.

Working as a public servant is very different from working in the private sector. Percs such as bonuses, paid lunches or outings, team building events are practically non-existent in public service as the focus is to limit spending of tax-payer dollars to absolute necessities within the office. Within the office I worked, staff has to pay for parking, there is no subsidy available, and some staff parked quite a distance away to get cheaper parking.
Points positifs
No overtime, workday rarely exceeds core hours
Points négatifs
outdated computer equipment and programs, Phoenix pay system is a mess
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good
Counsellor (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC12 décembre 2017
Good, overall. Environment is good. Management and staff is good. Overall office space is good. Great benefits and good salary. Overall pleasant and good working environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
helping war veterans
Summer Student Employment (Ancien employé) –  Kirkland Lake, ON21 septembre 2017
learned how to help veterans by sending them the documents they need.
the most enjoyable was to work with great and friendly people.
the hours were great as they were 8:30 to 5.
Points positifs
brand new building.
Points négatifs
A/C was too cold
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Clique Culture
Support Staff (Ancien employé) –  Charlottetown, PE8 septembre 2017
If you were a casual, student or lower level position, the should-be retirees made you feel as if you were lower than them. Understaffed and poorly managed units made for difficulty improving and advancing in the company. Phoenix pay system was a constant issue.
Points positifs
Great Wage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable and enriching work place.
Human resources advisor (Generalist) (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC22 juillet 2017
Seeing veterans every day was a very humbeling experience.

Staff was very nice, environment was enjoyable and productive.

We had regular mandatory training to keep our working knowledge up to date. As well as group activities to build team spirit.

Management was always accessible and open to comments and new ideas to improve operations.
Points positifs
continuous training
Points négatifs
n/a
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
well organized and relaxed environment
Clerical Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON20 juillet 2017
Working at Veterans Affairs Canada was a real treat. Everybody was so friendly and the respect for employees was really felt by everyone. Everyone was treated with care.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
VAC is not there to help the veteran
Volunteer Work (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB5 juin 2017
As a Masters student a typical day involves a great amount of study and the ability to efficiently utilise the time at hand. In this environment one has to plan carefully and leave nothing to the last moment. Last moment actions are rarely productive and only serve as a platform for bad stress. As a whole the diversity of the student population is refreshing, and brings enjoyment to my studies.
Points positifs
nothing
Points négatifs
everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 20Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive Environment Providing Veterans With The Tools They Need
Computer Programmer (Ancien employé) –  Charlottetown, PE6 avril 2017
Your responsibilities in the IT department are to build new tools to improve the speed and reliability of the work done by other departments. You also maintain and support existing applications.
Points positifs
Flexible Hours
Points négatifs
Contract Work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great autonomy, allows for self directed work, management team is excellent
EXTERNAL NURSE ASSESSOR (P/T) (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON9 février 2017
Working at Veterans Affairs Canada is terrific in many ways: great management team-very supportive, allows flexibility in client assessment. Self directed work.
Points positifs
work load is such that time is allowed for in depth interviews of family and Veterans
Points négatifs
no chance for advancement, would like to see more clients, no chance to follow up after assessment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No creativity
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC20 janvier 2017
Just followed reciped with no creativity involved.
ingrediants all measured out in advance. not exciting.
Salary was very good and very competative.....
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Problems start at the top
HR Manager / Team Leader (Employé actuel) –  Winnipeg, MB23 septembre 2016
Management is lacking leadership, vision, and communication. Co-workers are great, doing the best they can with what they have. Electronic/Computer systems are a source of severe frustration.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved watching the veterans sing and dance to the oldies!!!
Unit Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Ste-Anne-de- Bellevue1 septembre 2016
The most enjoyable part of my day was seeing the smiles of the patients when they were given there morning coffee along with there newspapers
Points positifs
We were very fortunate to be given the opportuntie to further our skills .
Points négatifs
Transition from Federal to Provincial
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A workplace full of dedicated employees.
Financial Systems Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Charlottetown, PE7 juin 2015
The department was a good place to work and the people were dedicated to the departmental goal of helping the veterans. All the functions in which I was involved, from managing Veterans Trust Accounts to implementing systems, required interaction for many areas of the department and good communication was a requirement second to none. Management was for the most part responsive and supportive of the needs of those employees who in one way or another were there for the Veteran. I was lucky in the fact that my Co-workers, no matter where I worked were easy to work with and conscientious. The hardest part of the work was getting consensus from various groups as they working in different areas, from District Offices to Head Office had a vast array of what was their major focal point of their work and to whom they reported. At the end of the day you could always remember those that you were able to help or serve and those that you rubbed shoulders with to get a job done.
Points positifs
Work Home balance
Points négatifs
Too much reorganization
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and enjoyable tasks
Income Support Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Kirkland Lake ON9 avril 2015
An incredible feeling of satisfaction serving war Veterans and their spouses and dependents.

Learned about VAC service and program eligibility and what WWII, Korean Conflict and recently released or still serving CF members went/go through.

Reviewed and adjudicated various geared-to-income applications.

Maintained client accounts. Processed seasonal and annual projects to verify continued eligibility.

Very busy workload (by alphabet).
Points positifs
Serving Veterans, job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed the employees
YMCA Internship Program (Contract Full-time) (Ancien employé) –  London, ON24 février 2015
I enjoyed working at Veterans Affairs Canada. It was a great experience getting to know the veterans who came into the office. I learned a lot from their past and very much respected their loyalty and strength for what they did for our country. I enjoyed working with the employee who had it in their heart to serve and help their clients.
Points positifs
Going for walks during your lunch
Points négatifs
N/A
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work representing Canada on an international scale.
Senior Student Guide (Ancien employé) –  Canadian National Memorial - Vimy Ridge, France23 février 2015
As a Student Guide, you work as a tour guide, interpreting Canada's military history from the First World War. Teaching visitors from all over the world about Canada's exploits and achievements during that period. Working alongside other Canadian university students in a bilingual (english/french) environment is a lot of fun. The joy of teaching visitors something new about Canada is a remarkable experience. Time management and great customer service are essential in order to ensure the operation of the site runs smoothly.
Points positifs
Great experience abroad, makes you proud to be Canadian, leadership and teamwork skills learned, public speaking skills improved
Points négatifs
Far from home (living in France)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A challenging position
District Manager, Administrative Services (Ancien employé) –  Saskatoon, SK14 novembre 2014
Typical day at work was first thing in the morning; checking for any voice mails, emails that needed direction/information. Work on incoming and outgoing of invoices which included data entering into a database system called Freebalance. Weekly conferences calls with management. Monthly calls with Finance.

I learned a lot during my time with the Veterans Affairs Canada This was a more challenging position where I was part of a Management Team.

A couple of co-workers were not easy to deal with, Worked through some various and interesting situations.

I would train and or discuss when necessary any new updates and procedures that were required with all staff. I kept track and approved all types of leave with Admin employee's leave entitlements on a database.

The most enjoyable part was working for a great Business Leader and the team of Managers.

The hardest part of the job was when we found out that our office was being closed. This meant dealing with various staff issues regarding how people were dealing with this process.

Dealing with Senior staff that did not seem to have a grasp on what was needed in our offices in Saskatchewan.
Points positifs
flexible hours, good benefits
Points négatifs
some long hours throughout the year
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 2Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Veterans Affairs Canada. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,1
D'après 32 avis
514
410
36
20
12

Notes par catégorie

4,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,8Direction
3,9Culture d'entreprise