Vancouver School Board - Avis

Trouvé 47 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 49 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Provides a safe place and learning environment for children
Administrative Assistant, Elementary School (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC20 septembre 2017
I have been at this position for 21 years. A school is a great place to work, as you are constantly learning and helping others. There are many types of employment at a school.
Points positifs
watching students learn and work together
Points négatifs
deadlines, fast paced
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
My work place is so good. Everyone is so helpful.
Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC12 août 2017
I love my job, I learned so many different things with kids . My work environment is so good, everyone is so helpful. At work time goes really fast . My work experience always help out
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work, union was good, staff were nice
SEA (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC18 juin 2017
I never had any problems, great place to work. the only thing I didn't like was that other staff can take your job if they've been there longer.
******************************************************************************
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun but challenging experience
REC N' READ LEADER (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC2 juin 2017
I was in charge of a group of thirty five-year-old students and five volunteers. I learned that I must be attentive and patient with kids due to their difference in behaviours in comparison with adults.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
review
Adult Education Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC19 avril 2017
The work days were typical the management managed. I learned about the workplace culture and what was the hardest and most enjoyable part of the job.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Travel to different schools provide social emotional learning and self-regulation strategies to students
Short-Term Intensive Behaviour Support (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC29 mars 2017
I truly enjoy my position as a STIBS worker. I tend to continue researching programs, making visuals, reviewing videos and reading books on the topic of behaviour long hours after work.
I love to see students benefit from my hard work. They deserve the best I can offer!
Points positifs
Great benefits
Points négatifs
Long hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unnecessarily stressful
CUSTODIAN (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC24 mars 2017
Not a pleasant culture to work in. I felt disrespected and persistently bullied by supervisors who seemed sanctioned to degrade some workers and favor others. I felt so stressed day in and day out that I lost over 20 pounds and retired early.
Points positifs
Warm dry environment to work in.
Points négatifs
Disrespectful treatment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
academics
English Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Instructor8 mars 2017
I enjoyed teaching academics at VSB for 14 years; where else could I actually get to equip my students to become great writers while at the very same time get to read Shakespeare?
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fantastic benefits and fair pay structure
Grounds Maintenance (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC6 mars 2017
I had the pleasure of working for the VSB in the capacity of a grounds maintenance worker for over 10 years. Part of time there was as a temporary employee and part as a F/T, on benefits, staffer.

I found the workplace to be a safe place with a lot of friendly co-workers. The VSB made sure that all people working in my department were properly clothed with safety clothing and equipped with safety training.

Work consisted of working in small groups or alone, although the latter being phased out for safety purposes.

My only frustration with the position is that it offered little to no chance for career advancement.
Points négatifs
little to no career advancement opportunities regardless of credentials and skills
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent part time work option for people who enjoy working with children
Supervision Aide (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC5 mars 2017
A favourable work environment for experienced childcare professionals who are looking to supplement existing income sources or people who are only looking for part time work.
Points positifs
part-time, predominantly outdoor work, working with children and educators
Points négatifs
only 2.5 hours per day
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great working place
Educational Assistant (SSW) (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC26 février 2017
The High school I work at is a great community school with many programs and activities. The working atmosphere is great, all of us are great professionals who do our best to teach the students in our best way.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dont waste your time
Assistant one (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver BC1 novembre 2016
Typical day is you clean the school, after teachers, after the kids. Assistant one work in elementary and you clean 90 % of the school. Really there is no learning curve as you push a broom all day. Management gives you the talk for not cleaning the school well enough. If you have your ticket 5th class or higher there are way better jobs out there that you can actually use your skill and be respected. They tell you there is a culture well not really.
Points positifs
Benefits
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Workplace
Intern (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC17 septembre 2016
I loved communicating in french everyday with the students. They know so much knowledge of many subjects, IN FRENCH. I loved coming to work. There were not any problems with this job. I loved finding solutions for the students and teachers problems.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Employer
Parent Group Facilitator (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver Coastal Health15 juin 2016
I have had many professional development opportunities and appreciation from school staff. I have been fortunate to work with students from K-grade 12 which has kept me challenged in a myriad of ways.
Points positifs
Many opportunities to challenge my skill set
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Wonderful students
ESL Drama Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC5 mai 2016
Teaching Acting for ESL for the Vancouver School Board, (Countinuing Studies), was a treat because I was able to work with immigrants not only international students. They were curious about the acting process and worked hard learning monologues, writing scripts and with pronunciation exercises. They were passionate about improving their English skills because they were living in a new culture 'in English.'
Points positifs
great hours, they did the advertising, paid well, clean classrooms, free workshops for instructors
Points négatifs
only once a week
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Top heavy & too political
Child & Youth Care Counsellor (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC21 avril 2016
Lack of staff investment in our children's present & future.
Top heavy and too many complaining teachers.
My best times was when I was with the kids.
Points positifs
Wage
Points négatifs
Too political
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Engineer or Janitor
Power Engineer (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC25 avril 2015
Do not let them fool you they just use your ticket on the wall and all you do is clean up the classrooms with no hands on experience. Well i worked for a year there and very second day supervisor told me you are a glorified janitor. I ended up quiting my old job and was stuck there cleaning up a elementary school all by myself ( Classrooms, Corridors, Toilets everything). Worst job as an engineer you can find.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Grade One classroom teaching
District Resource Teacher, Grade One Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC28 mars 2015
The last five years I worked with the VSB I would begin the day in the classroom inviting parents to read with their children for 20 minutes. Each child had their own leveled books and this was so effective in getting all the children reading. The Smartboard was great for the morning calendar routine and teaching lessons. I loved to teach with theme based lessons which would get the children reading, writing and learning. Every year was different and I learned to make my lessons engage the various groups I taught and provided some high interest activities for those who wanted to explore more. The hardest thing in working in an inner city school is to meet the needs of children who are suffering emotionally which affects their academic achievement. I feel I did a good job with meeting needs but sometimes it seemed that what I called the "sea of need" was so great - it was so hard to do all that I felt needed to be done. I love teaching children to read and it is so exciting to turn children into readers and then watch them devour all the books at school and at home. I loved working with parents and have them involved as much as they could be. I worked with amazing colleagues and we were a real team at our school always helping each other. We will be lifelong friends.
Points positifs
Making a significant difference in children's lives
Points négatifs
sometimes very long hours and having to buy so many things myself
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
no job security
Temporary Human Resources/Labour Relations (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC7 février 2015
VSB continually runs over budget so your job is not secure no matter whether you are a teacher, administrator, or within the management team. The head office management team has a lot of micro managers. This may be due to pressure from the senior management team but it makes it a very unhealthy environment to work in. Parking is awful at head office and unless you live along the West Broadway corridor, it is an awful drive/bus ride to try and get there.

The only plus was a few of the other employees at head office. They do their best to make you feel appreciated but it can't make up for the constant micro managing.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
too many to list
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun and productive workplace
Student Worker (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC27 juillet 2014
A typical day a work would be executing request or helping out teachers or students, organizing paperwork, photocopying paperwork, handling the school store, and delivering packages to classrooms. I've learned how to communicate with customers, organizations skills, listening to teachers requests and accurately executing them. My co-workers were about my age or older and the were fun, productive and cooperative. The hardest part of the job was getting there, though i was never late it took a while to get there. The most enjoyable part of the job was being helpful and receive the great feedback from helping teachers and students, and working with a great staff.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 3Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Vancouver School Board. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,8
D'après 49 avis
518
416
37
24
14

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,6Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu