Avis des employés pour Vancouver Island University - Nanaimo, BC

Trouvé 36 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 44 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Respectful, beautiful and fun environment!
Records and Registration, Technical Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC7 juillet 2019
From my first day I discovered how respectful, courteous, friendly and fun everyone is at VIU. Managers and supervisors encourage training and development and they allow you to manage your own workload but always invite you to request assistance, when required.
Opportunities always exist for staff to assist in other areas thereby increasing overall knowledge of the organization and cross training.
Staff orientation events are well organized and showcase employee benefits and allow new staff members to ask questions and to seek personalized assistance.
I recommend VIU to anyone looking to work in higher education in Canada!
Points positifs
Training and development
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Student Caller (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC3 juillet 2019
Vancouver Island University, Nanaimo is a good place for studying and working. Co-workers were nice and helpful. I had an amazing supervisor. As a student caller, I got to speak with alumni who shared their experience at VIU with me
Points positifs
Supportive staff
Points négatifs
Less shift hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I loved teaching and enjoyed the students.
Professor (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC11 juin 2019
Each college was open and receptive to my ideas and concepts towards the courses I taught.

Students were brilliant and creative; they inspired me in my work and made teaching a gratifying experience. The classroom atmosphere was fun and open. Students were given suggestions for improvement and always praise and encouragement for the work they had done.
Points positifs
The Students
Points négatifs
Sometimes long hours, self-imposed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Most enjoyable work environment
Sessional Professor (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC5 mars 2019
Having come from a commercial experience, working at VIU was one of the most enjoyable work periods of my life. I was very disappointed when it apparently ended as well as the way the ending was managed by the permanent staff there
Points positifs
Working with Students
Points négatifs
Parking is very expensive
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
very positive
Student Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC19 novembre 2018
i learned so much here that i still utilize in everyday situations!
the classroom was slightly divided by an age gap. i felt the gen X was looking down on us millennials and vice versa
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 4Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible Politics
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC3 octobre 2018
If you live in Nanaimo, you'll likely to know someone who has worked/works at VIU and has been emotionally affected by their poor management and business practices.
People have a glorified idea about working at the University, but reality is, the salary is not as good as people think it is (lowest paid university in BC, if not Canada), and the politics BS you'll encounter are not worth the long term mental health issues this place will instil upon you.
Points positifs
Benefits
Points négatifs
Unhealthy work environment campus wide
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice campus with excellent professors
Practicum Student (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC26 septembre 2018
The university itself is at a great location. I liked specially library sitting arrangement and the view out of the window. Professors are knowledgeable and friendly.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Math tutor
PRE-CALCULUS TUTOR (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC4 septembre 2018
VIU is located in beautiful Nanaimo, BC. I was approached to tutor students in pre-calculus a few days a week and loved being given an opportunity to help people learn and to be successful in Mathematics.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worked here during school
Tour Guide / Promotions (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC4 août 2018
Best job I've ever had, It never felt like work. The people made it great, and the atmosphere was very laid back.

Management has its issues and nothing ever changes; so as long as that benefits you, this is a good place to be.
Points positifs
lifestyle
Points négatifs
pay, bureaucracy.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great people to work with
Technical Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC12 juillet 2018
I loved working here. the environment was great and the team is more like a family where everyone is there for one another. I would definitely go back given the opportunity
Points positifs
great team
Points négatifs
lack of career advancement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
it is excellent
ESL TEACHER (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC8 juillet 2018
It was an excellent experience to teach students from various backgrounds. I taught students from different countries. Arabs and Chinese students were the majority.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Elder in Resident (Faculty)
Elder in Resident (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC25 juin 2018
My most rewarding one is I personally look forward each day getting up to go to work. I assist Faculty and staff understand First Nation Protocols. Share the importance of who we are as First Nation People.
Sharing similarities to students of what they study and how it can relate to First Nation Communities. Such as ECE, CYC, Nursing, Social Work, etc.
Points positifs
Teamwork
Points négatifs
Not enough time in the day as we begin certain hour end certain hour.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Gives you an idea of priorities
Work-op student (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC10 février 2018
I spent a couple of semesters as a work-op student. The staff was friendly, but the lack of professionalism was palpable. Effort was given to appear helpful towards students, however the students were rarely served and/or accommodated in the manner in which they wanted or needed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Perfect place for studying
International Student (Employé actuel) –  Nanaimo, BC11 janvier 2018
Since I have been here for only 2 weeks so I cannot give a detailed information about VIU. However, all the teachers here are willing to help and the academic integrity is highly appreciated
Points positifs
High quality studying and teaching
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
relaxed job culture
International Marketing Intern (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC7 septembre 2017
The job culture is very relaxed and motivating, the team is very supportive and helpful. The management is very motivational and encourage a great work life balance. Feels like a home away from home.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Volunteering is always fun
Volunteer Work (Employé actuel) –  Nanaimo, BC5 mai 2017
I have done Volunteering with Vancouver Island University. Is is about welcoming a new students and respond to their inquiring. However, most of the work online
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 6Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
effective team working
Server/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC1 mai 2017
It was a very nice work environment. My team was really friendly, helpful and effective. I was qualified and comfortable to work in different positions in discovery room at Vancouver Island University.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I love where I learn
Work-Op: Sports Coordinator at VIU Residence (Employé actuel) –  Nanaimo, BC27 février 2017
Vancouver Island University is a beautiful place to be. It's so positive, inclusive, and generally very enriching. I learned a lot as a growing student leader. My managers have allowed me so much room to grow and learn from my experience, and were always there for support when I needed them.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I enjoyed my time at VIU. I had not been in school for over 20 years and VIU made my decision go back to school one of the best decisions in my life.
Social Services Diploma (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC9 janvier 2017
I enjoyed doing group therapy and facilitating class presentations as it helped me get out of my comfort zone. I felt that I grew mentally, and emotionally Going back to school gave me confidence in my scholastic abilities.
Points positifs
Meeting like minded people, networking, class presentations, group work, teachers helped you succeed.
Points négatifs
Parking
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 5Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice place with heavy workloads
Professor (Employé actuel) –  Nanaimo, BC30 novembre 2016
Many interesting people work here, and class sizes are fairly small. Workloads for academic faculty are heavy (14-16 contact hours/week).
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Vancouver Island University. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,5
D'après 44 avis
527
412
34
21
10

Notes par catégorie

4,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
4,1Direction
4,2Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu