UPPER GRAND DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD - Avis

Voir les 38 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great work life balance for me
Accounts Payable Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON16 janvier 2020
this was a great opportunity to have a job close to home while raising my children as my husband worked in toronto long hours. The culture was very relaxed and great opportunity for advancement.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Supply Teacher
Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Various25 septembre 2019
It's a fair system. You are a ghost in the wind but appreciated. Hard to get full-time contract, and the LTO's are hard to get as well with certain teachable subjects.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good environments and passionate teacher
Emergency Substitute Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON13 septembre 2019
I did some LTO work and emergency supply teacher and I had a great overall impression of this school board. Overall they make the best of what they have. Like many Ontario school boards, class sizes are large, all of my sections were 30+ kids but the other staff were incredibly helpful lending me chromebooks, text books allowing group work in the hallway as long as students were quiet and respectful. Administration was very helpful as well.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good summer job for students
Custodian (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON3 septembre 2019
Great for independent workers. Free to work at your own pace for the most part (assuming you get your work done). A consistent schedule of shifts with weekends off. For a summer student in this position, you can't really complain.
Points négatifs
Inconsistent which school you will work at.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good
Designated Early Childhood Educator (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON19 août 2019
It is a pretty good place to work as an ECE. It pays well, but you don't get paid during the summer, so you need to go on EI in the summer months or find part-time work in the summer. As an ece, there is no room for advancement in the school board. once you have a contract that is it. The work-life balance is good, especially if you have school-age children. The benefits package is great. Overall it is a great place to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You have to be part of the group to fit in
Emergency Supply Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON5 août 2019
Working on keeping students focused, not a lot of support from other teachers or principals, not a lot of room for growth, very opinionated work environment and must fit-in to get ahead.
Points positifs
Good pay after 10 years.
Points négatifs
Judgemental workplace, lack of support for unfocused students
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard working, reliable, quality-focused
Registered Early Childhood Educator (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON19 juillet 2019
I have had the privilege of working for Upper Grand District School Board as an Early Childhood Educator in the Full Day Kindergarten classroom since September 2014. This career has enabled me to learn valuable professional skills, such as classroom management (faced paced working environment), classroom safety (attention to detail and faety procedures), and adaptive teaching methods. In both my academic and professional life, I have been consistently praised as hard-working by my professors and peers.
Points positifs
Benefits, Pension
Points négatifs
Far commute
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad place to work for your better off working for timmies
Cleaner/Janitor (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON4 juillet 2019
They promise you 40hrs a week to get you in the door and give you next to nothing.very unorganized company.They lie to get you to get you in as a floater then abuse you until you drop.management needs to be replaced with fresh people.If your not blood related or a butt kisser your better off working for timmies as they dont give a rat for their workers.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fantastic work environment.
Educational Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON18 juin 2019
Great place to work. Everyone is kind and willing to help you in all aspects. The students are lovely. Working with special needs students can make the day both interesting and difficult but it is definitely more rewarding than not. I love my job.
Points positifs
summers off
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Supply EA
Supply Educational Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON10 juin 2019
I loved working for upper grand. If I lived closer I absolutely would have stayed on. The only problem I had was that you never knew when you would work or where you would be working so if I got a call at 9:30 the night before I could possibly be working an hour and a half away- so it ended up being more taxing than I thought. However the staff and the students were amazing
Points positifs
Friendly staff and students
Points négatifs
Far drive/not sure when working until night before
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good hours, good pay - caution-cutbacks are creating dangerous situations
Educational Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Wellington County, Orangville, Guelph26 mai 2019
Joined the educational crew to modify studies and teach at different levels for diverse students. Was trained to facilitate learning for children with varying syndromes and disabilities.

The job description has now completely changed. We solely deal with children's behaviour. Runners, non compliant children, biters, violent and aggressive students of every age. Our hands are tied as we have to follow the instructions of people who make up and hand down theories of behaviour changes WITHOUT actually working in the classes or testing them first.

With the budget cuts and even before, we were understaffed and running from one "fire" to another, instead of supplying the support needed to help keep the sparks from igniting in the first place. (as we were taught)

Up side - School staff, for the most part, work as a team/family.

Hardest part of the job - not having a say in the plans for the children you work with daily.

Most enjoyable part - The days when the stars align, and you get each child to catch a glimpse of what a great day with friends and learning can look like. The days when they seem to understand that we are there to help them. The days when they say, "Thank you for teaching me that", and they feel a sense of pride in their own growth and journey.
Points positifs
Good hours, holidays, EA team support, times outside
Points négatifs
Physical injury, emotional and mental exhaustion
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great job
Educational Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Orangeville, ON8 mai 2019
I have had a great 14 years working here but its time to move on.I I have a quick walk to work and for the most part is an amazing place. I love working with the kids and most of my coworkers are amazing. This year however I have faced a bully and am feeling like im not being heard and not being understood so I feel I should explore other options.
Points positifs
good staff
Points négatifs
nasty coworkers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun and the night goes by fast
Cleaning Staff (Ancien employé) –  Orangeville, ON6 mai 2019
good money
the hardest part was working afternoons
knowing that you have cleaned the schools for the kids to learn in the morning.
goes by pretty fast because your very busy and have a lot to do.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Sharing your day with giggles and contagious laughs!
Educational Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON30 avril 2019
The best part of the day is knowing you have made a difference in someone's day. Hearing a child laugh and play is the best part of my day. Everyone should have a peek into a child's mind. Its a beautiful world!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Work/Life Balance
Student Placement coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON17 décembre 2018
An inclusive/welcoming environment where you will feel supported. encouragement to grow within the school board. Difficult to find permanent employment.
Points positifs
Off during Christmas holiday's
Points négatifs
Pay can be on the lower end.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Student Coordinator
Plant Operations Coordinator (Co-op) (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON11 mai 2018
Good place to work if you want to get experience with schools or the public sector.

In the summer they have food/ice cream trucks come in occasionally.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cooperative Workplace
Secondary Mathematics Special Education Teacher (Ancien employé) –  Elora, ON12 avril 2018
This is a highly supportive and cooperative Board of Education providing a multitude of resources for the community, parents,students, and staff. It is also a pleasure working with the administration with this organization.
Points positifs
Supportive, friendly environment.
Points négatifs
It is so pleasurable I have a tendency to work extra hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lunch Supervisor
Lunchroom Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Arthur, ON16 mars 2018
It helped me get my foot back into the work force again. I like working with students and showing how things are done by reading and writing with students . The teachers are wonderful to work with in the classroom and going on field trips. The hardest part of the job would be braking up fights of if they were injured.
I also had students that wanted to hold my hand and walk around at recess with me. Still when I go to the school some students want to give me a hug.
Points positifs
I was able to be flexible when my kids were young
Points négatifs
The time was difficult sometimes
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
Educational Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Orangeville, ON5 février 2018
Great place to work. Good pay, good benefits. Staff was polite and easy to work with. Good hours from 8 to 3 or so. If you like working with children this job is for you
Points positifs
Good pay
Points négatifs
Not enough hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and friendly culture
Facilities Student (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON22 janvier 2018
UGDSB is a very friendly and nice place to work. I did not work there as a full-time worker but as a co-op for school. They are very easy going and help you out when you need it. They do events as a department such as going to community events and doing lunches.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez UPPER GRAND DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,2
D'après 38 avis
519
412
34
22
11

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,9Direction
4,1Culture d'entreprise