University of British Columbia - Avis

Trouvé 265 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 277 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Teaching to first year undergraduate student literature course
Teaching Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Kelowna, BC22 mars 2019
I enjoyed teaching students. It was a great opportunity to improve my pedagogical skills.I enjoyed group discussions with the students. The professors that I assisted to were very helpful and always made me feel a part of big team.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Work Environment
Library Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Kelowna, BC22 mars 2019
Working at UBC Okanagan was a positive, life changing experience for the better. Fabulous people and wonderful oportunities. Wonderful opportunities for growth and change.
Points positifs
Wonderful opportunities for growth and change.
Points négatifs
All good experiences.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ubc
IT Manager (Employé actuel) –  Klinck Building17 mars 2019
UBC is one of the largest employers in BC. As such it attracts the best and the worst of people. If you land in a spot where your managers and peers are the best, UBC is the best place to work. Geographically beautiful, benefits are astounding, and the culture is positive.

However, if you get railroaded into a team with toxic managers and disillusioned peers UBC can be an awful to work in. It's location means that either you have a long commute or you pay exorbitant cost of living prices to live near by. Then add to that the fact that the institution has "Section 9" of the collective agreement. This section gives the employer the right to terminate at any time, for any reason. I have seen this happen to far too many good people. As mentioned before, run afoul of a toxic manager, and you'll be run out on a rail with absolutely no recourse.

Overall I give UBC a high rating because of the culture & benefits. But they really need to deal with unfair management practices.
Points positifs
Very flexible in terms of hours, good pay, relaxed atmosphere.
Points négatifs
A few toxic managers, Section 9
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Review
Graduate Research Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Kelowna, BC11 mars 2019
It was not a pleasant memory for me. My supervisor forced me to quit what I wanted to do. Thus, I quit my doctoral project and moved to masters'. My funding was stopped without any notice.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
N/A
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun work place
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC9 mars 2019
A good place to work and grow!!

If anyone with an education, wishes to be in a highly professional and secure work environment, I recommend them to apply for a position in their field at UBC.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great benefits
Residence Life Manager (Employé actuel) –  STUDENT HOUSING AND HOSPITALITY SERVICES25 février 2019
Love working here but hard to move up within the university. Jobs are sparse and far in between. Being at a small campus allows for great connections within the community.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lost in a big organization
HR & Operations Manager (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC22 février 2019
Organization is too huge for you to be able to make any significant impact. Day to day work is mostly mundane with limited opportunity to innovate. Benefits are good and so are your colleagues and the campus is beautiful.
Points positifs
colleagues, low stress
Points négatifs
bureaucracy, competing priorities, no PD funds
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The benefits are great and the pension is good...and thats about it..
Security Department (Employé actuel) –  Point Grey21 février 2019
The department I work for is 24/7. The wage does not reflect what other major universities are paying across Canada let alone across North America. I've been there over 10 years and have recieved a $3 raise..
to reflect my part time job gave me a $6 an hour raise with retro pay and appoligised that the raise took so long (4 years) . The university is a great place to work of you dont mind paying over $100 a month for parking and dont care if you get a raise or cost of living increase being that BC is the most expensive province to live in throughout all of Canada.. oh and if you want to advance in your field UBC is also not the place for you.
Points positifs
Stable unionized employment
Points négatifs
Pitiful wage increases..almost no cost of living increases and zero career advancement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
poor leadership, lack of support
Associate Professor (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC15 février 2019
The University was resting on its laurels from the past. failed to engage with community and support for faculty and staff minimal. many students had a sense of entitlement and lacked motivation. Poor behavior mirrored in egocentric faculty
Points positifs
beautiful campus
Points négatifs
no encouragement or support
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
workplace
Clinical Research Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC7 février 2019
Amazing group of people with different backgrounds, in which learning never ends. A typical work day for me was setting up events and gathering information from the public in regards to learning more about clinical trials and research. Also provided information about our company to local stakeholders.
Points positifs
benefits
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good money for the work
Teaching Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Kelowna, BC28 janvier 2019
As a TA you can work part time 6 hours a week or full time 12 hours a week, experience will vary from course to course but most of the profs are really good to work with and make it easy for running labs/tutorials and the marking of assignments
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Straight ahead secretarial work
Divisional Secretary, Management Science (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC19 janvier 2019
I liked working for UBC. The jobs are union so the pay/benefits are good.
Typically I would get into work and assess my first jobs and finish any that weren’t completed. Then I would continue to work in this fashion until the day’s end. Every day would be different, because I’d get interrupted many times a day by faculty who wanted me to do/edit/copy something else. I reported to the chairman of the department and had occasional meetings with him.
I learned more and more confidence in my abilities.
I was not responsible for managing anything other than my own workload.
The workplace culture was very professional and results-oriented. I was expected to fully keep on top of my workload.
The hardest part of the job was interacting with the chairman of the department, who was mercurial and had a bit of a temper.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and interacting with the visiting professors.
Points positifs
Benefits
Points négatifs
A bit of a commute.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Knowledge and learning.
Research Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Kelowna, BC28 novembre 2018
Research is the best form of work, as it can be done anytime and as much someone wants. Research starts difficult with reading papers but really interesting when the practical is done. Apart from that the professors are great to seek help to or ask any questions.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Supportive work place
Visiting Associate Professor (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC23 novembre 2018
As an adjunct/visiting I cannot answer regarding benefits etc..

Overall a good supportive environment, diverse, and research focused. Supportive faculty, collegial atmosphere.
Points positifs
recognition of contributions you bring
Points négatifs
Commute- but not UBC issue
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent place to work
Research Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC26 septembre 2018
Working at the UBC provides endless opportunity to be innovative in your work. The work-life balance can be easily achieved. Innovative and fun projects that keeps you engaged with new technology and advancements.
Points positifs
Exciting projects on real world applications
Points négatifs
You need to be innovative and daring to try out new things
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 4Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A tough job but a rewarding one
University Lecturer (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC26 septembre 2018
I worked as a sessional lecturer. Very hard work for secretarial wages--disappointing after finishing my Ph.D., but I learned a lot about university life from the inside, and how a department should be run.
Points positifs
colourful colleagues and teaching experience
Points négatifs
pitiful salar
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good experience
Research assistant (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC22 septembre 2018
I worked there for only 4 months and then I started my PhD program there. As a research assistant, it is an perfect place to work. Professors are well-educated and very knoledable.
Points positifs
Nice people
Points négatifs
Old department
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive, fun and friendly workplace
Research and Teaching Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC19 septembre 2018
My work duties typically involved lab supervision and marking. Improved my communication skills. Well managed. Well nice and friendly work environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Graduate Advisor/Recruiter (Employé actuel) –  Kelowna, BC14 septembre 2018
Nice place to work at, especially if you work in a team. The pay is good and people around you are good. Benefits are amazing too, the only thing that is a con is the Kelowna campus which is great but it is based in between no where.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good employer
Program Assistant, Workplace Learning (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC14 septembre 2018
Great employer because of the benefits, but things get done slowly because of how many staff there are. Things have to pass through multiple hands to get done - not the most efficient
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez University of British Columbia. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,2
D'après 277 avis
5121
4102
342
28
14

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,6Direction
3,9Culture d'entreprise