Union Chicken - Avis

Voir les 16 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place
FOH (Employé actuel) –  Etobicoke, ON3 août 2019
Ive worked at Union Chicken for a bit now and have been really happy with the company as a whole. The staff are fun, friendly and make going to work enjoyable. The hours are great, the food delicious.
Points positifs
Great Hours. Fun Work Environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great spot
Server/Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 juillet 2019
From the ownership team to the management team, I had a great time working there. If you're looking for a good opportunity to get into the industry, you cant go wrong with them.

Sam
Points positifs
Good food
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company with lots of growth for strong leaders and individuals
Manager (Employé actuel) –  GTA, ON24 juillet 2019
I've been with the company for a year in a manager role and have been extremely happy with the environment, compensation and leadership. I've worked for a few different restaurant groups in Toronto and no one has the drive, empathy and leadership that this one does. I've been through all types of situations within the company and others but what keeps me with this group is their ability to handle the situation in the fairest of ways and learn from their employees as well. I trust who I work for and they trust me. Something I find rare in this city and industry. Its not perfect (no one really is) but its constantly trying to get better and is succeeding in doing so everyday. They definiteIy put people first and have great work life balance. I work with a great group of peers and leaders. Honestly the best place I've worked to date.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 9Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
worst company to work for
BOH (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON12 juillet 2019
Very toxic place to work at. Management are very unprofessional and disrespectful. Contributions are unrewarded and ideas are ignored, especially to those who are very hardworking. Employees' potential are unrecognized. They would promise to discuss goals, improvements and developments but it will never happen. They're all talk but no action. OVERWORKED YET UNDERPAID. Was a regular cook but they made me train a new person to be a sous chef????One of the managers is always on employees case when it comes to staff meals to the point that its uncomfortable and disrespectful. Tips are very bad because not busy AND managers take a big portion of it before dividing it to staff. Management doesn’t own up to their mistakes or sees the real reason why others are getting frustrated/just quitting. Lack of communication with staff. Blame always goes on somebody else (even former staff who left awhile ago)
Points positifs
50% off staff meal
Points négatifs
Poor management. underpay. low tips. toxic environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
One of the worst companies ive worked for in my 11 years
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON21 juin 2019
I could list off all the reason this company is not worth your time, but everyone else beat me to it. Just trust us and Skip this place altogether. This is coming from someone who gives it their all until they possibly cannot give anything else. NEXT.
Points négatifs
The entire job
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
place sucks.
Server (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON17 juin 2019
Y'all could work 6 days a week and only get $280 a week tip out so i hope you live with your parents.
Do you want to move up in the company???? They'll promise you the world but then hire one of their friends from out of the company.
Sometimes menu items will change and no one will know! SURPRISE!!!!!!!!!!
Management is constantly turning people against each other and gossiping about you behind your back.
They also play favourites, micromanage, give public criticism, hover like a helicopter, make inappropriate comments, she expects everyone to be like her, doesn't admit mistakes(blame shifts), and breaks her own rules.
But most importantly she lives on an air on arrogance. She likes to remind you everyday that she is the best. She once told me how she is the best at wiping tables. *insert eye roll here*
Working in a situation like this can be so stressful and isn't worth it. Please take this as a warning because I want whats best for you. It's not worth it.
Points positifs
Potato salad
Points négatifs
Part of the job is constantly stroking your managers ego.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor
Foh (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON24 mai 2019
I wouldn't recommend working here tip pool is corrupted management is terrible. The work culture is negative most work peers are unhappy. There are many places like this in Toronto however there are plenty of spot that are great work at. I suggest looking for one of those places and just skip this place all together. Even if your desperate for work it will be worth it to hold out.
Points positifs
Good food discounts
Points négatifs
Poor money bad managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Please stay away
Prep Cook (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON7 mai 2019
Personally, this place suck big time!!! I ask for full-time morning shift but the chef schedule me for closing shift anyway, they just don't care what you think. If you don't liked leaved. They don't listen or trust you if you make mistake. If I make mistake please come talk to me but please don't talk behind my back. I just hate gossip!!! They never gave you a raise...
Points positifs
Very nice people
Points négatifs
Very short hours and repeat lifting heavy stuffs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Only apply here if you're really desperate
FOH (Ancien employé) –  Union Station31 janvier 2019
I have never written a review for anything - good or bad, until now. I have worked at the Union station location from when it first opened and have been there almost 14 months. Things were okay for 10months, but lately; Management has gone downhill, and there's no advancement, but that's okay! Because we get staff discounts...

Of the three managers:

The new Manager doesn't know how to talk to staff with respect or how to talk to them about any problems she has with them. If she thinks someone has a "sh*tty attitude" or "bad habits" rather than tell that person so they can improve she'll tell a different person about it, so she'll always have it as an excuse.

The other Manager lets people get away with doing and saying whatever they want. Manager, staff or customer.

And the Only manager who cared about the staff quit.

If you're looking to get into serving , they'll start your training months after you've asked , then call it, and I quote, a "reward" , and if the manager who does the scheduling doesn't like you, she won't give you any shifts and claim it's because you don't have the right attitude.

They've mentioned growth and opportunities on multiple occasions but when it comes down to it, they will hire people with more experience, and you'll be taken advantage of BECAUSE of the experience you have but apparently lack.

Looking for a raise? You won't get that here. You can work a year and not see a single pay increase. If the other locations aren't doing well everyone gets to suffer. Except management of course.

Be prepared to eat cold food or
  plus... having to buy lunch. There aren't many places to store your lunch as the walk-in and the take-out fridge are almost always stocked full. And even if you store it, there's almost no chance to heat it since they're always using the ovens for prep. As staff you do get a 50% discount off food which I'll admit isn't too bad, but depending on what you're getting, it's still pretty pricey. But because you'll often see the managers eating their free meals infront of you, you'll be pretty tempted.

This place has begun to stress me and a few others out to the point of physical sickness. Only apply if you're super desperate (because they are too), and are willing to waste months on a road to nowhere.
  moins
Points positifs
Located in the station
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If your looking for long hours.. This is the job for you
Line Cook (Ancien employé) –  Etobicoke, ON24 janvier 2019
- Poor management skills
- Half the staff leaving because of professionalism
- Taken advantage of
- Pay was terrible for the amount of work done
- No communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Would not recommend to anyone.
Sous Chef (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON29 décembre 2018
Salary was so low that 25% was made up of tips which is unacceptable. Heard a lot of talk about mentoring and opportunities to grow but it was never delivered. The staff are overworked and severely underpaid and management has next to no experience. They progressively made changes to the menu that lowered quality in the name of saving money. The full time employees don’t get a full 8 hours per shift.
Points positifs
Free staff meals
Points négatifs
Hours, pay, management, slipping food quality.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible place to work
Runner (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON13 octobre 2018
The managers seemed nice but as time went on I realized they along with the rest of the staff were very catty. Being sworn at and verbally harassed was according to the managers “apart of the industry.” Staff was not very friendly and were very juvenile. They were usually very over staffed or very understaffed. Tips were very low considering how much you work and how hard you worked. I would not suggest working here if you want a healthy working environment.
Points positifs
Half off food
Points négatifs
Staff is very rude and disrespectful
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
not a pleasant place to work at
Server/Hostess (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON6 août 2018
Store manager drove nearly half the staff away because of lack of professionalism. Owners could care less about how satisfied their staff feels.... Tips are super low due to how dead the location can be.
Points positifs
Good people to work with (at least it use to be)
Points négatifs
Worst management ever/ Low tips
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
poor management
Prep Cook (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON8 mai 2018
Toxic workplace . Many issues I addressed to management and was just ignored. I found the managers to be rude , disrespectful and very unprofessional.
Points négatifs
pay for your meals and uni
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great clientele and started out as a fun work environment but quickly changed as time went on
Server/Bartender (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON31 août 2017
a typical day for me would be opening the bar and restaurant. . I would count till and make sure everything was in place and spotless for opening. Working at Union taught me a lot about the importance of a team environment. One team, one goal. I enjoyed the customers we had, they were always friendly and I made some great connections there. Management at times were a bit cut throat , I felt that the higher up managers put pressure on the shift managers to act a certain way. The environment changed from positive to negative and it seemed like managers weren't contributing as much as they used to in terms of our "team service method".
Points positifs
half off food when working, family an friends discounts
Points négatifs
schedule confusions, either overstaffed or understaffed, neglectful of employee needs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 3Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Union Chicken. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,1
D'après 16 avis
53
41
31
21
110

Notes par catégorie

2,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
1,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
1,6Direction
2,2Culture d'entreprise