Tutor Doctor - Avis

Trouvé 80 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 212 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Sloppy management, poor communication, overcharges parents
Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB6 septembre 2019
This review is for a particular franchise of Tutor Doctor (TD), but as the company does not denote its franchising structure when it advertises, I would like my review to apply to the whole company.

The TD system ensures that tutors don't know what parents are being charged and vice versa. The process for getting awarded "matches" with students is completely arbitrary, and subject to the whims/favoritism of a person that is incapable of weighing the relevant factors such as your availability and mobility (but they'll argue they're looking out for your best interests).

The system for making appointments and logging hours is neatly self-contained but it requires a lot of overhead, and it does not coordinate well with external scheduling systems. Make sure you suck up to your clients; the customer is always right with these guys.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible Work Place
Tutor (Employé actuel) –  Calgary Alberta17 mai 2019
Tutor Doctor is a great place to work. A typical day would start with surfing the job board to pick up any prospective students. If you have an appointment that day, you would drive to the students house and tutor them for the agreed upon time. You are in direct contact with the parents and set your own schedule according to the student's needs and your availability.
Points positifs
Flexible
Points négatifs
Travel times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company
Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON3 mai 2019
This is a good company to work for. The salary isnt the greatest however management is great and I would love to work for them again in the future if I needed to.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible and very rewarding
Tutor (Employé actuel) –  St. Catharines, ON24 avril 2019
Make your own schedule, earn more pocket money and have the wonderful opportunity to meet bright young people whose academic life you'll get to see flourish!
Points positifs
Make your own schedule, rewarding work
Points négatifs
Not enough students
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good experience for future teachers
Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Orillia, ON24 avril 2019
In-home tutoring based on individual student's needs. TImes are set by the tutor and student. You must apply and successfully match with students to work. Applications are decided by the branch manager and are aimed at providing the best service to the student.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Hours and Flexibility, Terrible Management
Tutor (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB18 avril 2019
I worked with Tutor Doctor for almost 2 years. I enjoyed the flexibility and the fact that you can pick how busy you want your schedule to be. I did not enjoy being hounded over phone and email to pick up a new student so often. I also did not enjoy the passive aggressive middle aged women bullying me on the phone. I do not believe it is professional to state in a conversation "I find it funny....", when speaking to an employee; I believe it is inappropriate for the employer to speak to their employees in such a degrading manner, as one would speak to a child. Don't get me wrong, when all is swell they will behave appropriately, but they are not good at handling employer-employee conflict. A conflict arose between me and the employer regarding communication. In my honest opinion reaching out to someone once and leaving a voicemail is not cause to behave so rudely to an employee and scold them over the phone for failing to respond back, as well as remove them from the system without their knowledge. It was apparent it was not even attempted to contact me over email. In regards to taking on new students, I was questioned by my employer regarding the distance of the student from my home. In a very sarcastic and vindictive manner my employer remarked at me "How are you even going to get there, the house is so far from your home", and "You do realize how long it will take you to get there?". All in all, I am very disappointed with this management.
Points positifs
Flexible
Points négatifs
Unprofessional Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
tutor doc
Part time Tutoring (Ancien employé) –  Scarborough, ON12 avril 2019
a little inflexible, the drive to the houses were very long, which made it very inconvenient for me, since i am a student, by the end of each session i was very tired from the drive
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible Hours and Working independently
Tutor (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON10 avril 2019
-You can choose your own hours therefore, a great part time job
-Competitive pay compared to other tutoring agencies
-Great support from supervisors
-Students are very friendly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible company
Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC4 avril 2019
Does not know how to pay employees on time. Does not know how to run a company. Does not know how to speak to employees. Does not know how to do anything. Employees are frustrated; people that hire this company are fustrated the and the workers there are frustrated everyone is just frustrated. This company is an absolute gongshow.
Points positifs
Helping a child succeed (nothing to do with the company)
Points négatifs
Everything with this company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
flexible workplace
tutor (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON26 mars 2019
Productive, flexible timetables, patience is required, decent salary. Management is good, scheduling is not hectic. Have to drive to each student's house but parking is compensated. Reimbursed for any extra materials.
Points positifs
make your own timetable
Points négatifs
short hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tutor
Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB21 mars 2019
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working as a tutor with Tutor Doctor. The management were very supportive. I was impressed with the way they handled difficult situations for me.
This is a great job for a student or teacher who wants part time hours. There are flexible hours available in the evenings and on weekends!
I would recommend Tutor Doctor as a supportive company!
Points positifs
Fexibility
Points négatifs
Driving
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok place to make a little extra money.
ENGLISH TUTOR (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB19 mars 2019
I would meet children either in their home or the library to work on tutoring for an hour. I helped them with any liberal studies courses they were taking, as well help to prepare for diploma exams. At the end of each session I would report what we covered to the office.
There wasn't a lot of hours being offered. I worked for them in 2015, so things may have changed. Also they pay was less then if you were to work independently. My contact at the company was friendly, and would always let me know about new opportunities. When I went in for my interview the staff were not very friendly, all business. They pay is low considering the time you have to spend to plan/prepare a lesson for students.
Points positifs
Enjoyable job, extra cash for post secondary students.
Points négatifs
Few hours, low pay, not paid to plan for lessons
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Helpful and good variety of students
Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB17 mars 2019
I enjoyed my time working with Tutor Doctor and I had a good range of students who I worked with. I did elementary Math and English Language Arts with two students, as well as doing Junior High Spanish. It was very interesting and a great feeling of helping something learn new things.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A flexible work schedule and a sense of fulfillment
Private Tutor (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON16 mars 2019
A typical day at work involved traveling to the students home and helping with their academic work. This included teaching them and school material that they may not understand and helping them to complete any homework that they may have. At the end of every session a report had to be written describing what the student learned for the day and how/ what needed improvement and/ or attention.

I learned how to properly teach students and how to effectively communicate information in an understandable way. I also learned how to be more patient with people (both students and parents) and how to resolve any conflicts that may arise smoothly.

The company is run in a structured way and there is a good management team. Challenges that may arise were having to stick to a deadline that the student was comfortable with. It is important to try to help the student without making him/her feel overwhelmed and confused. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the student gain more understanding of the school material and improving their grades over time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible work hours
CONTRACT ENGLISH TUTOR (Employé actuel) –  Scarborough, ON28 février 2019
You will be a contract worker for the company. Great at developing you as a leader or teacher/trainer. Geared for people with the extra time, and those who persue teaching.
Points positifs
flexible work hours
Points négatifs
no benefits, you are NOT an employee
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Immature.
Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON31 janvier 2019
I worked for TutorDoctor for a few weeks and it was a joke. I was never asked to provide direct deposit information, the emailing was constant and unorganized and my stated availability was never taken into account. I was frequently booked appointments with no confirmation so I was never sure of where/when I was supposed to be and then reprimanded when I didn't show up...because I was never told I had an appointment. Finally when I respectfully resigned from my position, I was harassed by my manager who called me 7 times in a day before sending me an email saying I was abandoning my students and I should be ashamed of myself.
I was never paid for my work after I resigned.
Points positifs
Flexible Hours
Points négatifs
No Respect, Poor Communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
work life balance
Finance Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON20 janvier 2019
I good work life balance. job security. A growing company. cooperative staff in all departments who like to help new employees. fun time to improve productivity
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Casual Job for Extra Money
Tutor (Employé actuel) –  London, ON14 janvier 2019
Working for Tutor Doctor is a great way to earn some extra money on the side of another job, or if you are in school. The flexibility to choose your own workload and own hours makes it a great choice whether you are looking to work a little or a lot. The management are super supportive and are always available if you need anything. Since you are an independent contractor when you work for Tutor Doctor, there are no benefits, which would be the only real downside. However as you most likely wouldn't be working here as your only job ( or you would be taking post secondary education at the same time) you would probably be getting benefits elsewhere anyway.
Points positifs
Flexibility
Points négatifs
No benefits
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Pros/Cons!
French, Math, English, and Grammar Tutor (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON2 janvier 2019
Good for students! Flexible hours, lots of clients if you are willing to move around, very manageable gig if you are a student or someone looking to supplement your income.
Points positifs
Flexibility
Points négatifs
Low wages despite multitude of skill sets
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enhanced Learning Experience
Independant Contractor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON14 décembre 2018
With Tutor Doctor, the personal matching system ensures that the proper tutor is matched with the proper client such that an optimal learning experience can be established.

We provide in-depth lesson plans that are complete with the task at hand as well as the homework solved for our client.

Maintenance of discretion is an essential aspect of the learning experience.
Points positifs
At Home Tutoring Service, Personal Matching System, Online Scheduling Database, Income Tax Issued, Personal Revenue Sheet Online
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Tutor Doctor. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,3
D'après 212 avis
5110
467
326
23
16

Notes par catégorie

4,4Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
4,2Direction
4,1Culture d'entreprise