TORONTO HUMANE SOCIETY - Avis

Voir les 29 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Exploits new staff - not ideal for actual animal lovers
Foster Agent (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON20 août 2019
THS exploits new staff by throwing new staff in with limited training and allowing appointments to show up whenever causing you to leave late every day. Then questions why you're leaving late to deduct overtime. HR also handles sexism and racism poorly. The organization doesn't respect minorities. There were a far too many poor taste comments and racial slurs thrown around and HR and management blew it off. Not minority friendly at all. You're provided an hour lunch paid but rarely get to use it. Poor scheduling results in daily missed lunches. The workload isn't difficult but you'll find yourself constantly fixing yesterday's staffs mistakes when your week starts. Nobody has Saturday and Sunday off , each Agent's week is like Sunday-Thursday or Wednesday - Sunday. If you really enjoy working with animals, work somewhere else. Those poor taste comments I mentioned? Yeah, a lot of them involved hearing jokes about animals going to be euthanized or comparing groups of people to animals being euthanized. It's a low kill not a no kill shelter in case you didn't know.
Points positifs
being around animals
Points négatifs
unpredictable schedule, poor management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard work but worth it
Animal Care Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON14 mai 2019
They do a lot of amazing work for the animals in their care and in the community. Every time I go back they have always made improvements. You deal with some nonsense but I have never encountered a workplace free of nonsense.
Points positifs
True dedication to the animals
Points négatifs
Some grumpy co-workers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Garbage management and supervisors
ACW (Ancien employé) –  Toronto Humane Society15 janvier 2019
have worked here for years. Current manager has had zero schooling in animal care and was fired from the only animal related job they've had. Supervisors aren't trained to do anything and spend most of their day sitting in an office talking with fellows supervisors or the manager. If you talk to a supervisor about getting off their phone and helping they will most likely go crying to management who will defend them. Good luck finding a supervisor or manager if you need one as they are most likely outside smoking or have gone to the nearest Tim Hortons. In my time there I have done many unsafe things outside of my job description and would be talked down to if I refused. Management and supervision deny going outside to smoke no matter how often they are seen and have been seen taking as many as six within a few hour period. The only time management does anything with the animals is if a camera is present and they make sure all of the hard working ACW's are nowhere insight. ACW's are forced to keep dogs outside in any weather conditions for over an hour at all times of the year or even if the dog has heartworm. Absolutely disgusting place to work ran and supervised by absolutely disgusting people.
Points positifs
awesome ACW's
Points négatifs
Stunned Management and Supervisors
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unsafe working conditions; unqualified management
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON15 octobre 2018
The front-line people who work with the animals care a lot, and generally do good work. Anyone in a supervisory position, including managers and executives, are focused on the wrong things: manipulating intake/adoption records to show "success" and keep donations up, farming out problem dogs to other rescue services, re-adopting the same animal multiple times, without ever disclosing its bite history. Unsafe work and adoption practices leave employees and adoptive families in vulnerable positions. The THS could and should do so much better.
Points positifs
Spending your days with animals
Points négatifs
Screwed up priorities; about numbers, records and donations, and not the actual animals and people they're supposed to help.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
My second home, fiercely loyal to the cause and the dogs
Trainer (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, Ontario4 octobre 2018
All workplaces have their ups and downs, and nothing will ever be perfect, however THS is continually striving to improve all aspects of their operations, self examining and taking into account more than ever the needs of their employees and the animals. My time at THS has been one of the most enriching, educational, and emotional experiences of my life. Worth every second, even the difficult ones. A most unique and cherished opportunity.
Points positifs
Learning opportunities, hard working people, some upper management really great, friendship and comradery, learning from the animals
Points négatifs
Emotional burnout
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 9Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent work environment
Animal Care Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON27 septembre 2018
I greatly enjoyed my experience at the THS. Although the work was dirty and tiring, it was rewarding. My coworkers created a fun work environment. Personally, the job was not for me, but if you are passionate about animal care and understand that it is NOT a clean job, try it out, its a great experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 5Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Negative experience with Supervisors, Positive experience with Job
Veterinary Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON21 août 2018
Management at the Toronto Humane Society was horrible because they put their personal feelings that they held of their employees before the employees quality of work, thus ending my career in a place I loved so very much.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Inefficient Management
Toronto Humane Society (Employé actuel) –  Toronto Humane Society23 mai 2018
Management is very slow at executing change. The internal structure also does not allow management to be reported to any higher level of management. Nobody ever sees the board of directors. There is very little to no effective training within this organization,
Points positifs
Working with animals
Points négatifs
Poor Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Working at THS
Adoption Counselor (Ancien employé) –  Toronto Humane Society9 mai 2018
Let me start by saying that I absolutely loved working at the Toronto Humane Society! I was a part-time Adoption Counselor. I got along very well with all of my coworkers. My manager was one of the best that I ever had... always understanding and thoughtful, and great at training! I was very sad to leave my position there due to me moving out of the province. I will miss everything about this place, especially the animals!! I would recommend the Toronto Humane Society to anyone for a place of work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 8Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very satisfying experience.
Weekly volunteer (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON7 mars 2018
As a volunteer I find my time at THS very fulfilling, therapeutic and fun. Great bunch of employees and fellow volunteers. Enhances and enriches my life.
Points positifs
Interacting with animals
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 5Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Extremely Toxic Workplace!
Animal Care Attendant (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON31 janvier 2018
I was extremely disappointed with my experience here at the THS. Probably the most miserable group of workers I have seen. On my first day every worker pretty much told me to run. The managers are extremely condescending and I felt like dirt the whole time I worked there. Everyone seems to be extremely over worked, under paid and not appreciated. It's an absolute shame. Coming on here and reading so many reviews saying the same thing was not surprising at all.
Points positifs
working with the amazing animals there
Points négatifs
management, work place bullying, WAY too much gossip, burnt out workers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Toxic work environment
Clinic Service Agent (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON23 janvier 2018
Upper management need to be more empathetic towards entry level employees. Very stressful work environment which is always short stuffed. The call center was actually a closet with not so great ventilation can he very hot or freezing cold. The insurance for entry level employees doesn't cover much.
Points positifs
One hour paid break
Points négatifs
Micro management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Incompetent, unprofessional, and nepotistic management
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON10 janvier 2018
I wish there was a “0 stars” option for management. :) The environment for employees here is awful, it’s nepotistic (the people in management have NO adequate experience) and management is extremely condescending and constantly belittles the employees. It’s really a shame, because THS has turned into an organization where good people turn bitter (thanks to, you guessed it, management).
Points positifs
Working with animals, paid lunches
Points négatifs
Management, management, but also... management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Easy temporary job
Mega Adoption Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON13 septembre 2017
Note that this was a volunteer position, not a paid position.
After an orientation session and a setup period, the job was simple: move carriers, make sure cats were fed and watered, and on the event days, interview and fill out forms with potential adopters. It was also fairly simple: lots of coworkers, but constant communication was not necessary.
However, there was extra work available: dogs were adopted on the first day, but carrier breakdown was scheduled for the last day. Employees were asked if they wanted to help out and were not pressed or punished for refusing as it was not in their job description.
Points positifs
Animals, free lunch, simple job
Points négatifs
Temporary job, no upward growth
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
loves the animals
Animal Care Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 juillet 2017
I did work here before they went government and it was a bit tough. We were lacking staff at the time and i actually stayed after my shift daily with no pay, my choice, to ensure that all the cats got fed and changed. The management at the time did not apply the best value to the facility i am glad to know that they are run by the government now. Its so important to have places like this and in the downtown core its so accessible.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cat Cuddling
Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON30 mai 2017
I do not like cats, however, it was a good experience in responsibility as the humane society holds you accountable to the time slots you have chosen to be there for the animals.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 11Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worked with animals in a team of cooperative coworkers.
Animal Care Worker (Ancien employé) –  11 River st. Toronto ON26 janvier 2017
A typical day at the THS started with feeding the animals (dogs or cats) and cleaning their living spaces in time for the shelter to open to the public. The rest of the day was spent walking dogs, doing laundry, washing dishes, and maintaining the general cleanliness of our working environment.
Points positifs
Animals
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible management of good people doing a hard job
Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON8 septembre 2016
No one works here for the pay (with the exception of upper management of course). Animal Care Workers who do some of the toughest "in the trenches" work are earning barely above minimum wage. The people who choose to work here are doing so because they want to help animals and make a difference. Yet, the management treat these staff members with barely disguised contempt. Micromanagement and childish, backstabbing atmosphere.
Points positifs
working with animals
Points négatifs
terrible pay, worse management, toxic environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Used to be a nice place to work
Admissions Officer (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON23 juin 2016
I used to really love working at the humane society. The pay was not great but, the work itself was rewarding. The organization was very committed to animals and animal issues. However, there was always a number of people that were not there for the animals. They had high school mentalities and were more concerned with their status and their popularity. They also had a really nasty sense of entitlement that their skills and education did not backup. As a result they were always causing senseless problems that the people who cared about the organization and the animals needed to deal with.
Needless to say the people used the long standing feud between the Toronto Humane Society and the OSPCA to take over. They made the place into a charity pet shop and continued fighting with each other constantly. Its a real shame and I can't recommend working there. You will end up catering to people with a high school mentality and the pursuit of their personal interests.
Points positifs
At this point none.
Points négatifs
Long hours, doing the job of people more concerned with their own interests, workplace politics are ridiculous.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people doing a tough job to make the world a better place.
Procurement Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON30 décembre 2015
Great people doing a tough job to make the world a better place.
The work is tough but the pay off when those animals go home is amazing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez TORONTO HUMANE SOCIETY. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,1
D'après 29 avis
57
47
35
22
18

Notes par catégorie

3,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,8Direction
3,0Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu