Things Engraved Inc - Avis

Trouvé 91 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 94 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Engaging & Rewarding Job Experience
Associate/Key Holder (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON24 juillet 2019
The management was great and always very understanding of life situations. The process of learning to engrave is simple. Once you learn the fundamentals of the engraver, the workplace becomes a fun and independent space for the employees to thrive with creativity and amicable relationships with clients. The team I worked with was supportive, and the district manager checked in regularly while being personable and understanding of each individual employee.
Points positifs
Flexible hours
Points négatifs
No break room, lockers, stock room
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Everything falls apart from things engraved
None (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON16 juillet 2019
Everything I have EVER bought and had engraved from this place has always fallen apart either weeks or just months after purchase. They dont give store credit or reimburse you for anything...I will NEVER shop here again! And I've also read all the reviews about working for this company...and they are NOT good. Sad...
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Everything falls apart
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 6Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun but too many cons to the job
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Alberta15 juillet 2019
I worked here for 3 years, it was fun but upper management was horrible. No support whatsoever for managers and their staff, in a year the DM didnt come in once to help or support the changes that were going on. Could never reach them either, took 3 days for them to return a phone call if it was returned at all. When you did get a call, you would be berated rather than being built up on your successes. Multiple times I would get emails demanding answers at all hours of the night, sometimes 1am or 2am, how is that professional? What you did was never good enough and you were always failing at something. There is a reason the stores do not have managers in this city, no one wants to work for the DM or can handle working for them. They will continue to lose staff and I am shocked that the RM hasnt caught on to what is happening and that the DM still has their position after losing their entire staff.

Overall it was a fun job, but benefits of the job and bonuses continued to be taken away, along with never being appreciated for the hard work and hours you put in to keep the store profitable, and constantly being criticized on your mistakes instead is not worth the fun part of the job. The only good thing about my time there, was I gained a lot of experience from dealing with everything on my own.
Points positifs
Fun, get lots of management experience
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The manager is s real good boss
Full Time Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Dieppe, NB12 juillet 2019
Working with the manager is good
It's the district manager hard to work for.
Fun to work with the boss makes it competitive and fun
Make the company achieve goals has to do with happly staff
I was a hard worker love what I did
Pleasant customers
Nice staff
Points positifs
Fun to work there
Points négatifs
District manager hard to work for
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
management is awful ( district and regional managers)
manager (Ancien employé) –  edmonton7 juillet 2019
district manager is bully and always make out that you are lying. she doesn't believe any thing you tell her. plus she text and email all hurs of the night and you must ask the text or she loses on you. If you tell the regional manager about this she take the district manager side. not worth the pay you get.
Points positifs
enjoy engraving things
Points négatifs
district manager is bully and what you to push items on customers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Creative outlet
Current employee (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON25 juin 2019
Amazing career for you if you are creative and a outgoing person! Yes it is a sales job and it's difficult at times but heck if it's not is it not worth it???

Management can be hard to deal with at times
Pay is basic and a bit unfair ( between PT and FT )
Points positifs
Great discounts
Points négatifs
Low pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Head Office doesn't care about you
Key Support/Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  London, ON12 mai 2019
I worked extremely hard there and the job was thoroughly enjoyable. My manager wanted to give me a raise or put me on as full time to get benefits as I was doing a lot of assistant manager work. I was never approved for it by head office and they hired someone new on full time. Engraving is very enjoyable but you still have to help customers while doing so which can lead to a lot of angry people when it gets busy as you are typically the only one on shift. The job is not worth the minimum wage you earn, but if you work at a slower store it can be fun and challenging.
Points positifs
Creative freedom, Good discounts, Good store management
Points négatifs
No appreciation, No raises, Horrible head office management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very fun and great environment!
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Bedford, NS2 avril 2019
A wonderful place to work!! My time there sadly came to an end but it's a wonderful place to be and to work! The people i worked with as well as the management were very sweet and thorough with their explanations and training! It was an overall fantastic environment to work in!
Points positifs
Easy going environment, great training, great people, great benefits!
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great first job, but no opportunity for advancements.
Part-time Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC19 mars 2019
Business is usually quite slow, with the exception of the holidays. Management was great and scheduling was always done to accommodate employee schedules outside of work. As this is a retail job, there is a variety of customer types and you must be able to manage conflicts. It's a fairly straightforward job and once you get into the swing of things, it can be fun.
Points positifs
Good management
Points négatifs
No opportunity for advancements or raises
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of Negativity & TERRIBLE management
Key Support (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB9 mars 2019
Initially working here was great. My manager and colleagues were all about a team effort to make the “dream team” but once my manager quit I realized upper management was the issue. Upper management stresses on being dishonest to the customer. Whether you not tell the customers the cost of engraving until check out to allowing the customer to misspell something or use poor grammar. The idea is the customer is always right and if you know it is wrong it’s their fault. Eg: Doing some wedding engraving and spelling stuff wrong? If the customer spelled it out that way, then it is their fault. (However in a normal environment if the professional knows best, you’d love to listen to said professional and take the advice needed to make a perfect gift)

When your engraving tools are run down upper management blames you for misuse. However if you engrave a lot of glass and your glass needle is in bad shape then they won’t get you a new one. Always placing blame on you and the store.

Worst of all, your life becomes this job. If you’ve never felt anxiety before, you certainly do while working here. The average manager works 37.5 hours (low compared to most managers elsewhere) however due to not having a manager and being low on staff, I ended up working several 12 hour days in a month. No one is paid enough to make Things Engraved their life.

Last but not least, the system there is from the 90’s. The CPU still has a slot for a floppy disk. The computer has no access to the internet to help customers nor is there an intranet to speak to other members of the company. Working here
  plus... you feel like you are going back in time with the type of technology.  moins
Points positifs
Decent discount, great store managers
Points négatifs
Long hours, terrible upper management, minimum wage, ancient technology, management will use you until you’re not needed
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High turnover
Retail Associate (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS8 mars 2019
High turn over because you work alone,and a lot (financially) is expected of a small specialty store. However, the job is easy overall and fitting of the minimum wage paid. Not many hours available.
Points positifs
Easy, creative
Points négatifs
Inadequate hours, minimum wage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stressful, shecdule always changing
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Cornwall, ON20 janvier 2019
Asking to much work for pay even when you do your best it’s still not good enough, your life revolves around the job little social life always got calls on my days off didn’t understand only wanted part time even during holidays shecdule changes 2 to 3 times a week can’t seem to keep staff management not so great
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Engraver (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON12 janvier 2019
Productive and fun workplace ,
-engraving products
-opening and closing
-fun staff to work with
-manageable hours
-great discounts
-fun environment overall
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to learn, horrible managment
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON8 janvier 2019
Things engraved was an excellent place to further skills and learn a lot of new things. Part time hours were great because they gave you enough time to balance your life. Management was ridiculous. They literally want you to lie to customers in order to make EPS (Good sales) or don't sell the product at all if they don't want it engraved.
Points positifs
It's inside of a mall, lots of things to learn
Points négatifs
Forced to lie by manager and you get paid minimun wage when it should've been higher
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good job if you take it seriously
Store Manager (Employé actuel) –  Burlington, ON5 janvier 2019
This retail job is not for everyone. I personally love it. The hours are great (matched mall hours). The skills I have learned (engraving metal, glass, plastic) have taught me more than just servicing customers. I love selling, which is a main part of the job.

I also don't need a lot of direction to work. I had a DM that wasn't involved, I did not mind. I notice other reviews need more support than myself so this probably would have been an issue for them.

My new DM is incredible. She gives ideas on how to sell better, connect with customers and staff, and how to do administration within the store properly.

I am a manager, I have hired my entire team myself. I very much enjoy my team. And when I hire a new person I have them meet my team to know if they will work with our culture.

There is always room for advancement in this company. I know people that started as a sales associate and now run in the head office.

Like I said at the beginning. This job is not for everyone. It's retail, retail can be a hard world to work in. But if you stick to a job, show your skills, enjoy everyday, then you will succeed!
Points positifs
Bonuses monthly and annually, macromanagement from uppers, hours are great and in control of managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible district manager, stressful standards
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON17 décembre 2018
It is a stressful environment. Thankfully all the store managers I had were fantastic but They rotate through store managers quickly, there were 4 in the six months I worked at the store. The district manager however was rude and demeaning to the employees. The standards they ask you to hit aren’t reasonable and force you to be a pushy, overbearing salesperson. The only real Benifit I found was that my coworkers were great.
Points positifs
Great co-workers
Points négatifs
Terrible district manager, stressful, push sale tactics
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good stable job
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Newmarket, ON20 novembre 2018
It really is a good place to work. I had wonderful coworkers for the most part and everyone there was very eager to help you if you made a mistake or needed assistance. The only thing that wasn't too great was the management. We were short staffed for almost 2 months (3 staff total) and when the time came for me to move on to a job in my field, they were down to 2 staff running the whole store. If management had spent some time to hire more people within those 2 months we were short staffed, it would have made it an easier transition on both them and I when I left. One thing I really liked about working for this company is that at the end of each month you get a bonus. So you work for $/hour, but then at the end of the month, if you made your sales targets or over, everyone in the store would split the commission based on hours worked and how much each person made in sales that month. It was a very nice surprise on the last paycheck of each month.
Points positifs
Bonus money each month, stable and pretty calm job
Points négatifs
Short staffed a lot
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Small and Slow paced
Customer Service Representative; Seasonal Employee (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB10 octobre 2018
I personally like a bit faster of a pace job, but all together, a peaceful job thats super easy to do. Seeing happy smiles from items purchased by costumers is always a bonus swell.
Points positifs
quiet
Points négatifs
small space for employees to move and no sitting down time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lairs and drug addicts
Sales Associate/ Engraver (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB3 octobre 2018
My review summary speaks for its self the managarr was and is a drug addict and lies about more hrs or training and the area manager is really lazy and a thief and steals all the time and does free engravings for herself and family and friends but not for her employees which is bs
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Management management management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor company
Store Manager (Ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON6 septembre 2018
As a company
They are horrible they treat like garage they don’t pay well as a manager they pay close to minimum wage and make you do all the work they don’t give you enough training
Don’t work their they don’t care and most of the staff that work there will treat you like nothing and will talk about you every chance they have and the upper manager do nothing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Things Engraved Inc. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 94 avis
526
422
322
28
116

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,3Culture d'entreprise