The Original Cakerie - Avis

Voir les 30 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not valued!
Production Worker (Employé actuel) –  London, ON23 juin 2019
You will be promised hours and will not receive them. You must be available 3 days but they may not give you 3 days. Hours all over the map! No concern for family commitment or mental and physical health. Morning meetings we are currently being told by supervisor that we are lucky to have a job and if their is a complaint we can leave!!!! We are not valued. Production workers exhausted and don’t have time to stretch. Rushed back from break and many steps to follow to return to placement spot. Everything is about rushing. Team leader treating staff like children when not back in a hurry. Hard to do being we have many steps to do before returning. Very hard to manage job and family. Cake is good and pay is good but job is hard and you are pushed to your limit. Not easy job if you have another part time job. Some nice people but most are so tired and unhappy. They have a RRSP plan in place and a bonus that is good. We have a paid benefit plan but no disability. If you get sick for a long time you are relying on EI. Unfortunately company is not organized and isn’t concerned about the employees life of wellbeing outside the company doors. Would rather you work sick than stay home. Be prepared to be exhausted and work extremely hard for the pay. If you do try and bring up concerns be prepared that you will be made to feel like you are the problem or are told they will get back to you and don’t. All feeling undervalued!!!! Have to work yes... but also need to have energy and be happy.
Very sad and tired
Points positifs
RRSP, Pay, Clean environment
Points négatifs
Not valued, hours, lack of concern for employees well being
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive, Safe work place and Good wage
Cake Decorator, Baker and Packager (Ancien employé) –  London, ON31 mai 2019
A good place to start with for any employee to be productive, punctual and get good wages. The safety of the employee and also the product consumer is totally safe. The management is very friendly but in some cases they cannot help you much. Overall a good place to work.
Points positifs
Free cakes, Good wages
Points négatifs
Continuous work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 8Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very poor management
FORMER( PRODUCTION] (Ancien employé) –  London, ON24 mai 2019
I worked at cakerie. It's avery good salary and benefits.But the production manager he dont know how to greet the people,even saying hi or hello nothing.But in front of the big boss his very vocal using his sales talk.BUT IN THE PEOPLE HIS NASTY, UNFAIR.
Points positifs
JOB IS NOT HARD.
Points négatifs
THE ORGANAZITOIN ARE MESS UP.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fact based and unbias
Mixer (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC7 février 2019
I will begin with what is good about the company which sadly does not outweigh the negative aspects of working there.

Throughout my employment the Employee Experience/ Human Resources people have always treated me fairly. They try to create a family atmosphere that extends down to the production floor. Despite their efforts, it does not translate to a positive team environment because of the negative attitudes from within. There are some great people who work there who are being alienated by the toxic behaviour of individuals that are unhappy about their working conditions. Specifically in the mixing department, the majority of the longterm employees has resulted into sabotaging recently hired employees to prove their worth. Supervisors are aware of this problem yet maintain to turn a blind eye in fear of losing anymore trained people. They are desperate to hire new mixers instead of dealing with the bigger problem which is well within their control.

I have compassion for the new people hired into the company that have to deal with these preexisting conditions and send my best wishes to the good people who I have met. My message to them is to stay strong and take care.
Points positifs
Discounts on cake
Points négatifs
Unreliable scheduling/Inconsistent start times/Low employee morale
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Workplace Culture
Production Staff (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC15 janvier 2019
As per my experience from work, I have seen lots of people from different countries and I can say that it really is easier to work with a workplace where you can easily understand your colleagues and you get along with them.
Points positifs
Free cakes
Points négatifs
No definite time and schedule
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 6Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good cake, Horrible job!
Casual Production Employee (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC26 novembre 2018
Worst place to ever work! Terrible starting hours, mean line leads, cranky co-workers and everything is all about speed. Nobody cares about anyone, it’s all about the cakes!! 12+ years later after a work injury (I was treated like garbage by the Health & Safety Mgr) and I still suffer from my work injury because the line lead wouldn’t move me even though I was crying in pain.
Points positifs
Free dessert in the break room, if you’re lucky
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
An Honest Review
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON8 novembre 2018
To put it simply; do not waste your time. This is not a great place to work. The company does offer benefits, competitive pay, quarterly bonuses, and RRSP contribution. However, the environment of the plant outweighs these perks. There are a lot of unhappy employees here. Most people stay because they have families to support, not because they genuinely enjoy working for this company. Favoritism is evident; skilled positions are not awarded based on qualifications or experience, but rather on who the interviewer likes the most. There are more than a few employees who feel entitled to treat people as they like without reservation, the word bullying gets thrown around quite often. The managers, supervisors, and team leaders seem to be under a great amount of pressure and some have resorted to treating staff in the same manner. The employee experience team unfortunately, is not much better. They make excuses for every concern and are extremely disorganized. The scheduling system has many flaws. There are an abundance of rules and variables when it comes to weekly schedules and vacation. In addition, each employee is required to pick a preference per department; this is not to be relied on. Preferences at times can mean nothing, neither does seniority. Most requested days off are denied, specifically if you are in a skilled position. If you do happen to have one approved, they will take it as an additional day off to the ones you already have. If you are part-time, this could leave you with one shift a week. There is no consistency with scheduling, same goes for the production  plus... floor. Count on being bounced around from department to department several times in one shift and being scheduled in a department where you have asked not to be. There is also an extreme lack of training, which is not only dangerous in this environment, but very unfair for everyone. This is a representation of how this company is run; no respect, communication, or understanding. There are often times where the lines will be run without enough people, causing the team to be overworked, exhausted, and in pain. Then there are other nights where the supervisor will make extra, unneeded, staff members do miscellaneous jobs for hours, instead of giving them a night off. Employees are frustrated. Many employees also do not like getting mandated on weekends; add all of the above to the long list of reasons why this place is a revolving door. Do not be fooled, this company DOES NOT CARE. The plant has a group called the ACE committee; it’s useless to say the least. The company does not actively listen to the employee’s ideas or concerns. The company makes decisions without regard and will advise the members of the committee to spread the word to the team. There is a large number of employee’s fighting for a union, which will eventually happen. This company needs CHANGE! They need to start taking the employees seriously! The production team, the people that mix, bake, decorate and package the product; these are the people that keep the plant running. The executives expect to get different results using the same incompetent methods. This company will destroy itself from the inside out.  moins
Points positifs
free cake in lunch room, co-workers, wage, quarterly bonus
Points négatifs
managers, supervisors, culture, lack of organization, scheduling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 44Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable part of the job
Setup operator - Full time (Ancien employé) –  London, ON7 novembre 2018
I learned so much about robotic machines and programing them.

Morning shift is the most enjoyable part of the job ,where we can learn lot of skills.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 16Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Depressing place to work
Production worker (Employé actuel) –  London, ON6 novembre 2018
The Original Cakerie used be a family friendly place to work. Now, they hire people quickly and expect them to work with hardly no training. While the office environment seems to enjoy dressing up for Halloween, pot lucks and free cakes on holidays( which ALL staff use to receive) the bulk of the stress is out of the production floor. We are led to believe HR is there to support us which has not been the case. Production staff are constantly pushed to points of exhaustion. Team leaders bully workers daily. Unpaid lunch brakes are cut short and workers are constantly in trouble for taking to long getting back to line. Fortunately, we have one great floor manager and a few team leads that are great. The others are not kind or respectful at all!!! It’s really hard to come into work 5-6 days a week and literally come home and sleep because your body can’t handle any more. It is a VERY loud and unorganized environment. Chaos!!!!! We do make amazing products. Although decoration quality is not the best, the company does use quality ingredients and the plants is very clean. We as workers are not appreciated for the work we do. Bonuses, RRSPs are great but at what cost? Mental health, physical health? Nobody is happy on the production floor. It is heart breaking to watch people have no choice but the work in this environment and have no other choices. Most people are scared to speak up. Lack of understanding, language barriers and just plan lack of knowledge set workers up for failure. They expect more and more everyday.This company is not a good place to work anymore. Very sad
Points positifs
Bonus, pay, lunches a few times a year and clean plant.
Points négatifs
Exhausting, negative, angry staff, no support or empathy for production workers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don’t be fooled
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON3 mai 2018
This place is a revolving door. They ruin families by promising hours and next thing you know you bring in a 500 pay for two weeks because you don’t get the hours you’re promised. Don’t ever get hurt there either or you’re kicked out. Expect to be treated like garbage and spoken to like you are a child...unless you’re one of the ones who don’t speak a bit of English who just go to work and have no idea people are talking poorly about them. This place is just out to hire the cheapest no fuss labour they can get. They could care less about workers rights and safety.
Points positifs
Free cake in the lunch room
Points négatifs
No job security, losing fingers and then your job, drama
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
working for this company will take you nowhere
on the floor (Employé actuel) –  London, ON24 novembre 2017
worked for this company and gave it my 110% every time i worked but at the end the person who spends more time in the manager's office gets all the promotions even tho they cant speak english very poorly managed. nobody cares about the work they do specially managements, they make rules on the fly, have no respect treat people that work there like animals.
this place will run it self into the ground.
Points positifs
free cake in the lunch room
Points négatifs
upper management, planning, favouritism, unfair
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 43Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unrealistic expectations on Company growth and vision.
Maintenance (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC11 novembre 2017
I worked for this Company for a couple of years. In my entire career this was the worst job. Management is clueless and completely incompetent, cannot make a decision, and anything decided one day is completely changed the next.

So much disorganized people and not to mention people filling positions that have no experience in the field of work they were put in. Promotions go to the wrong people because they will play ball with management.


Production Supervisors are totally incompetent and unprofessional; they have not any education or any technical experience, no people skills, lack in training for their product.

Supervisor is only focus at their fast production, human resource is not visible. No employee employer relationship, no worker rights in there. All employees are treated like machines. All they care about is numbers and production.

Unrealistic expectations on Company growth and vision.

Very old systems and very old machineries, costly, time inefficient, reactive maintenance.

Morale and job satisfaction are very low.

The union is very weak. It is playing on both sides but mostly on Company favor.

Don't seek employment with this company if you are looking for a long-term employment in cordial working environment.
Points positifs
Nice co-workers
Points négatifs
Management is clueless and completely incompetent.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 63Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
production worker
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  The Original Cakerie,London ontario24 août 2017
The production manager is the problem here.He has lots of favoritism,promising a lot and let his favorite people to bully other people. thats why till now the problem are still here. People are good but we need a real management.
Points positifs
excellent company
Points négatifs
mess management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 92Non 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun work place
Accountant (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC11 août 2017
Large volume of work but management team are very helpful. very
friendly atmosphere.
I have learned the full cycle of A/R and Navision System.
I have enjoyed the team work and be able to learn new things every day.
Points positifs
Going to lunch every Friday
Points négatifs
A lot of stress because of the volum of work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 41Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Injuries a plenty, and high school mentality from co-workers
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON3 août 2017
It started out as a great company to work for but as it got bigger the family atmosphere was lost. There are a lot of people with repetitive strain injuries that they won't take responsibility for. So it feels like they will use you up and spit you out. There is also a high school mentality. Gossip is horrendous and people have been bullied by other employees to the point that they left their positions. It can be quite stressful.
Once the company was sold, the line speed increased A LOT and quality went down. A few years ago I would have recommended the Cakerie as a great place to work. Now I would not recommend it at all. It's a shame because there are still a few fantastic people who work there. It's a very physical job and the 10 hr shifts are exhausting. It's not a job very many people will be able to do long term. At least on the production floor.
BUT if you're looking for a job in the office there I say go for it. Lots of proof around that it's a much better environment to work in.
Points positifs
Benefits and bonus
Points négatifs
Long hours, very physically demanding
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 58Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work. Very friendly and professional individuals & enviroment.
IT Analyst (Ancien employé) –  London, ON22 juillet 2017
The communication and support I received from management at The Original Cakerie was outstanding. Benefits are great and I feel that it was a very friendly and professional environment to work in.

I learned many new IT related skills here and found the learning opportunity to be a great one. I enjoyed helping users in the office and production floor which is very clean and organized.

The hardest part of the job was doing a full shift during the day and being on call after that. I found it difficult to wake up at 3 am but being part of IT requires 24/7 support and this also happened very rarely so I don't see it as an issue.

I would recommend The Original Cakerie to anyone.
Points positifs
Cake Discounts!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 43Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible company to work for
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON28 avril 2017
A bunch of rude ladies that smiles in your face but talk behind your back.Management allows the behaviour, hence why the turnover is so high. They expect you to know everything in a week literally, and if you don't know it there so judgemental and talk about you.
Points positifs
Free cake
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 72Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Some enjoyable products to work on
Production Worker (Employé actuel) –  Delta, BC12 février 2017
We work 10.5 hours with a 1/2 lunch, we make various types of cake. The management is very friendly and inclusive with everyone. The work culture is fairly good. The hardest part of the job is the scattered start times, and not having a fixed schedule.
Feeling a part of a team and being somewhat of a family.
Points positifs
appreciation luncheons every few months
Points négatifs
scattered start time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 44Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Wonderplace to work
Data Entry Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Annacis, BC1 novembre 2016
The Original Cakerie is a wonderful and fun place to work at . I learned to use the software program called Navision which I used to enter 10 pages of data. The workload is fast paced since there is a lot of work to do. I even sometimes enter 20 pages into Navision which can be overwhelming. What I enjoyed most about this job is meeting different employers and managers at The Original Cakerie, and I even made a friend there.
Points positifs
Workload and meeting different people
Points négatifs
The workload can be overwhelming sometimes
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 15Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people to work with
Supply Chain Analyst (Employé actuel) –  London, ON2 mars 2016
Very nice people to work with. Long hours for many people. Hard to have a good work life balance. Head office is in BC and because of the time difference it's hard to keep up with the work load and still leave by 5 pm. With small children at home this is important to me.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 12Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez The Original Cakerie. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,0
D'après 30 avis
55
48
37
23
17

Notes par catégorie

2,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,6Direction
2,6Culture d'entreprise