The Hospital for Sick Children - Avis

Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to Work
Manager of Talent Acquisition & Onboarding (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON7 février 2018
Great work environment. Very collaborative. Unfortunately not much job security or advancement opportunities in non-clinical areas. Also, the pay for mid-management roles is not very competitive.
Points positifs
The People
Points négatifs
The Compensation
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
work experience
Canvasser (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON19 janvier 2018
working for sick kids was an amazing experience
because I had the opportunity to help younger
shouldn’t obtain the support they needed for
their wellbeing. Its wasn’t easy but it was all
worth it.
Points positifs
Seeing little children suffer from their illness.
Points négatifs
Being able to be a great support system.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 2Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Productive working environment
Billing Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON15 janvier 2018
The Hospital for Sick Kids is a very well known health facility that brings a sense of hope and wonders to the life of children with different health risks and issues. It is easily accessible, clean and organized working environment for staff, patients and patient families. Everyone is helpful and kind.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Not enjoyable (in my personal opinion)
Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON11 décembre 2017
The Hospital for Sick Children has a longstanding brand and reputation that makes it one of the most sought-after employers to work for in this country. Once you're there, however, there is little opportunity for advancement and they have everybody that's new on contracts. They typically do that for those who hard hired as "externals" and there is some stigmatization with being one, given that the majority of people working there have been working there for some 20+ years.
There is no problem with having a workplace with longstanding staff, but as an "external" it just doesn't seem that your views and contributions are valued as much. For an organization that says they value "accelerating impact", it is not an environment that fosters innovation from my experience. Clearly, this would all depend on your role but I get the sense that no one gives two hoots about what your views are as a newcomer. That is unfortunate but I don't think that's going to change anytime soon. I know this seems overly negative so I'll add the main "perks" of being a Sick Kids employee.

ADVANTAGES:
- location, easy to access through public transportation.
- working there is a work experience resume builder.

What could be improved:
- Mandated annual salary increases (as a contract worker, apparently you aren't even "entitled" to salary increases above the rate of inflation unless you ask your manager for it. Imagine how nervewracking that can be if you don't even know whether or not they will keep you on the job.
- Feeling "valued" for your contributions
- Increased opportunities to meet
  plus... with other department staff and network.. would be nice.  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Senior Systems Analyst/Systems Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON27 octobre 2017
I will miss Sick Kids. I met my wife there. It has been good to me throughout the years. It is great to be part of such a place; where children are tirelessly looked after and medical marvels happen on a daily basis.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19Non 1Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Busy
Patient Information Clerk - Plastic Surgery Clinic (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON14 septembre 2017
Busy day and the hardest part is not being recognized for the job you do. Not everyone is viewed in the same eye, the best part of working there is seeing a smile on the children face and the family at the end of the day.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
collabrative and supportive
Administrative Assistant (Employé actuel) –  555 University ave. Toronto Ontairo8 septembre 2017
Find working at sick kids a very supportive environment and politics are left to the higher ups. patient care is taken seriously and family centred care
Points positifs
Supportive and collaborative
Points négatifs
Distrance from home
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21Non 1Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Volunteer
Volunteer Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Vaughan, ON4 septembre 2017
It was a volunteer job I did. We washed cars and sold toys for Sick Kids.The people running the even were nice enough. Work and Life got in the way so I couldn't do it again.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Very Positive work environment
Co-op Student (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON1 septembre 2017
While doing my Co-op placement at Sickkids, I not only learned so much about what i want to do in my future i learned a lot about myself. It was such an amazing experience as i got to experience my possible career choice all up close. The people there made my time there absolutely amazing. I worked with kids ages of 0 days old to 18 years of age. I didn't get to tend to their medical needs but i did get to help the patients and their families get used to a hospital environment, as well as played with the patients and gave the parents a break if needed. I hope to work here in the future, my time here was amazing and i can't wait to be back to volunteer.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
productive and fun work environment
Co-op Student (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON29 août 2017
Learned many new skills, supervisors were extremely supportive and encouraging. Fun and safe work environment. Many smiling faces from both staff and patient.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Perfect
Administrative Assistant to the Executive Director (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 août 2017
It was great working for Sick Kids, a great experience. Learned a lot about the hospital, workplace culture. Learned how to work new system and appreciated the leadership.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing Workplace
Administrative Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON9 août 2017
I have been working at SickKids since 2012 and I can truly say it is an amazing place. Although my position in the hospital has changed over the 5 years I have been here, I can truly say there are many individuals who want to see you succeed and push you to do better. There is plenty of room for growth, if you work hard and push yourself.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Positive environment, which is respectful of people from all walks of life
Administrative Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON8 août 2017
The culture is positive, making each and every individual feel appreciated and respected.
Each person is made to feel as if their contributions matter.
Points positifs
Respectful
Points négatifs
Pressure
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 1Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Fabulous group of people to work with
Senior Secretary (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON4 août 2017
A typical day is varied depending on the type of individual you are supporting. Management is not good and no room for growth or development and the most enjoyable part of this job is the people in my department. They are a lovely group of individuals that you can learn a lot from and very family orientated.
Points positifs
Flexible and good work life balance
Points négatifs
No bonus or pay increases
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Research Study Participant
Volunteer Experiences (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 juillet 2017
I participated in a research study that will hopefully lead to better treatments for other patients at the hospital.
The researcher was very friendly and helpful
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Very eye-opening
Co-op Student (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON14 juillet 2017
During my time at sick kids I Learned a lot. It help me gain a new perspective on life. I feel honoured that I was able to have this experience. All the supervisors were very great and were eager to help with any questions I had. Overall I would go back and volunteer again.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 1Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Great start for careers
Senior Systems Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON29 juin 2017
I started off working as a desktop support technician and quickly grew into other IT roles. When I started there were a lot of opportunities to shape your career path and the supervisors and directors were supportive. Would definitely go back if given the chance.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to volunteer!
Child-Life Volunteer (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON26 juin 2017
I have loved volunteering here for a number of years now. Supervisors are excellent and the placement is very meaningful. It's competitive to be a part of the volunteer program but very worth it once you are there. There is a minimum attendance required.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
raised money for them didnt actually volunteer there
Volunteering, Clown (Ancien employé) –  Simcoe, ON14 juin 2017
I stood outside a store for 24 hours in 2 days, raising money for the hospital, by selling cookies,brownies,cakes,and many other baked goods along with raffle tickets and popcorn
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 7Signaler
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Patient Information Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON13 juin 2017
Registering patients
Booking appointments
Filing reports
Preparing requisitions
Providing clerical support to all health care staff
Assisting in meeting the needs of the patients and their families when appropriate
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler