The Home Depot - Avis

Trouvé 2 552 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 44 391 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work environment
Head Cashier/Bookkeeping associate (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON24 mars 2019
Worked in various roles during my 10 years at The Home Depot, helped me strengthen my customer service hard and soft skills while working as a Head cashier as well as Service desk associate.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ah, yes. The depot of homes.
Forklift Operator (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON24 mars 2019
It was very simple. I filled out an application and within a week I was sitting in an office typing at a computer filling out the training courses. It is incredibly easy to start working here, even if you’re new to Canada and have very little experience. I did note one or two employees with disabilities.

Right away I started noticing faults in the workplace, part time employees are constantly required to have their breaks (even if it’s a two minute bathroon break) documented by head cashiers. Covering shifts for fellow employees is either frowned upon or discouraged as many needed their shifts covered due to illness or personal issues, if you must cover a shift, you 100% have to make sure every supervisor is aware or it might turn into an issue for you. Some employees disappear for hours without notice, mostly on their phones in the washrooms, which of course are mostly covered in various amounts of human waste.

If you work outside, they give you a free water bottle, but of course it’ll break within a week and they’ll treat it as a huge burden if you ask for another water bottle.

The vending machine was constantly broken, even if it was fully stocked, 90% of the time the machine wouldn’t fully push out your purchase, resulting in wasted time and your wasted $2.

Once a week the break room is filled with freezies and similar snacks. Thoughtful.

I noticed a very conniving dynamic between the manager and the supervisors/assistant managers, including one very bizarre conversation at a pizza party wherein the manager seemed boastful about firing someone. Communication
  plus... between higher ups and part time employees is nil. Attempting to change your schedule is treated like sacrilege. I heard rumors of associates being wrongfully accused of stealing products from the store and ultimately being dismissed, suspiciously right after asking for a raise. Even the HR constantly complains about the work dynamic on their social media, talking about how difficult it is for them, and then two weeks later suddenly proclaiming that the HD to be the best place to work at. Stockholm syndrome much?

The warning system is awkward, while it is usually determined that an employee is to be fired after three warnings, the employer can fire you at any time. That means if you make one little mistake, you are probably simply SOL. But then again you’d have to be SOL working at the depot of homes.

The HD Awareline is also horrific, and totally biased. If you ever want to talk to the rudest human being alive, the number for the HD Awareline is given to you within your first few weeks.
  moins
Points positifs
Very occasional free pizza. Paid training.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Hours
MET Associate (Employé actuel) –  Windermere, ON22 mars 2019
The hours are good,Home Depot has a really good culture, has on going training, and possibilities for advancement.
Shifts can be between 6 to 8 hours in length and your schedule is posted for three weeks.
Points positifs
Benefits
Points négatifs
Mostly part-time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work if you need a part time job
Customer Service Associate (Employé actuel) –  Brampton, ON22 mars 2019
Day to day activities includes mostly helping customers find products and assisting them in other areas such as making special orders, orders for delivery or pickup. Management can be great at times however they have their favourites which puts them above all other associates. Pay can be better over time.
Points positifs
Free lunches
Points négatifs
Not enough pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Pay could be better but wonderful staff
MET - Merchandise Execution Team (Employé actuel) –  Brampton, ON21 mars 2019
Physically demanding job, but co-workers make it so enjoyable. Enjoy helping customers, majority are very nice. Never had any confrontation with anyone.
Points positifs
MET staff / Associates - good people
Points négatifs
Steel toe shoes, dust, concrete floors
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
worked with friends at his father's business
Lumber and Materials Associate (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON21 mars 2019
simple labor job during my high school years. learned how to work in a labor intensive environment as well as maintaining a strict level of safety for all people at the workplace
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cashier
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Kitchener, ON21 mars 2019
Both very friendly and very professional work atmosphere.
Fantastic staff and leadership.
Flexible work hours.
Up to date training.
Provided a safe working environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Rental Department Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON21 mars 2019
Opened the door to the department on morning shift, checked and placed float in Point Of Sale terminal, dusted shelves and checked that the area is neat and tidy. Received customers and answered any questions, restocked the shelves and placed power tools for repair in the repair area.
Points positifs
Interesting work and customers
Points négatifs
short staff No work life balance part-time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good company with worst management
Inventory Associate (Employé actuel) –  Vaughan, ON20 mars 2019
Good company with job security. But advancement is very bleak. People get promoted on the basis of management's favourites, race, etc but hardly based upon the hardwork, talent, experience, knowledge.

Internal candidates are never considered for good positions.
People from walmart are hired often, Walmart is a training centre of the Home Depot.
Points positifs
Security, benefits, free coffee and tea, pop corn etc
Points négatifs
Long hours, no consideration for loyal and dedicated employees at all
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
customer service rep
Customer Service Rep (Employé actuel) –  Brampton, ON18 mars 2019
There are a lot of pros and cons working in a retail environement. If you enjoy working with a lot of people, then this job is perfect for you and it is suitable for you. It is hard to maintain school and a job therefore a retail job like this can be good since it has flexible hours. You get to work with different customers every day and since person is different, you will experience different situations and learn how to handle each situation/ conflict with a different approach.
Points positifs
provide food, most employees are nice
Points négatifs
management can have their favorites
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
home depot
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON17 mars 2019
Management is not the best, from what customers expect from the sale associates they need more training or lessons on the department that they are working on. I had a lot of customers complaining because I was not an electrician and i couldnt help them in some of their problems. Home depot did trained me the bascis in electrical work but not expert advice, like they say on the commercial.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible management
TOOL RENTAL TOOL TECHNICIAN (Employé actuel) –  Brampton, ON17 mars 2019
Spent time at two different store with same experiences. Management is very unaccountable for all of their actions. Management only promotes associates they favourute regardless of how incompetent they may be. Requires you to be available all day on both weekend days with only reilgiois exceptions made.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
learn new things about plumbbing at other qualites that matter.
Overnight Stocker (Ancien employé) –  Lloydminster, AB15 mars 2019
You start by learning about plumbing , gardening , drywall just to name a few, in a hardware store compassionate about leaning towards a new career adventure areas that teach you trick of the trade.
Points positifs
good hours and benefits
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management is a joke
Overnight Freight Associate (Ancien employé) –  Thunder Bay, ON15 mars 2019
Hired for full time, turned out to be part time(with full time hours and a lack of benefits). Management would delay giving me my contract several months until hours dropped in the winter to keep me on part time, even though I was working full time.

I was highly valued by my supervisors and my co-workers because I was a hard worker. The co-ordination manager filled in for my supervisor for one week and that gave him the right to write me my 3 month review and new contract. During his one week he went out of his way to make sure I would fail... I was working 4 departments and he was constantly bringing down tons of product for me to go through when not only it didn't need to be done... but i was already extremely busy because of the lack of staff.

He wrote his review claiming I was useless and could achieve more in a night and was basically a slacker. He didnt have the guts to go through the review with me and my supervisor and i then had a good laugh about it. Needless to say I refused to sign the once again "part time" contract with full time hours and admitting to be lazy, and left them helpless and in a panic.

I feel like the co-ordination manager was worried I was comming for his job because I was such a good worker, but all i wanted to do was my job and be left alone.

TLDR: management is shady and expect to be taken advantage of.
Points positifs
Would occasionally get scraps and crumbs of food from the parties the day staff would have
Points négatifs
overworked, under payed, not appreciated.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A team building atmosphere
Pro Account Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Collingwood, ON14 mars 2019
As a long time employee I can say that the Home Depot does a lot to care for their employees with comprehensive health plans and profit sharing. Open door policy with upper management means that your ideas and concerns can be easily conveyed to someone in the management team.
Points positifs
Health Care, profit sharing
Points négatifs
Low wages and very few full time positions
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of great Ideas..no execution
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB13 mars 2019
The Home Depot has all kinds of public positive ideas that they do not follow. They do not follow their own standards. The HR people are under qualified and have all kinds of personal relationships that they should not.
It is a popularity competition and they very often hire/promote woman as managers when they are not ready and bypass hard work tenured men because they want more women in management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent Part-Time Job
Lumber and Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Stoney Creek, ON13 mars 2019
Management was there but did not really care for employees. The environment was dreary. Workplace was moderately safe but lacked education on equipment use.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good coumpany
Paint department associate (Ancien employé) –  Richmond Hill, ON12 mars 2019
it was one of the best jobs I have had. I had a lot of fun working for this company, they treat you really well and there very understanding, the job has no stress other then the occasional rude customer.
Points positifs
great enviorment
Points négatifs
not enough hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Second time around
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Fredericton, NB12 mars 2019
I worked for Home depot years ago & just applied & taken part in there job fair.
I was very insulted & disappointed in an email I received stating I was not experienced for the depts they have available at this time.
Seriously I was a cashier/sales floor for almost 2 years with them!!
What more experience do you want.
Totally disgusted will never darken there door step again. And left to go back to school and on very good terms with management
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
No second chances
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place.
Marlborough, Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB11 mars 2019
Good overall atmosphere. Good overall team feel. Opportunities for advancement in same store. Low stress compared to commission sales. Good middle management.
Points positifs
Fun
Points négatifs
Low pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez The Home Depot. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,8
D'après 44 391 avis
513,9 K
414,8 K
310,5 K
23 K
12,2 K

Notes par catégorie

3,6Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise