The Great-West Life Assurance Company - Avis

Trouvé 26 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 29 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work for
Gardener/Property Maintenance (Employé actuel) –  Winnipeg, MB16 août 2019
Start my work days with a liter clean up and sweep of main entrances, and side walks of Great West Life Property. Then i would check my areas provided by supervisor to water plants, usually cutting grass or shoveling snow if interior and exterior plants were maintained (details on resume). Working at GWL i have learned alot about plants, pests, fertilizers, irrigation systems, planting, potting, general maintenance of nature. hardest part of the job i deal with is time, trying to complete a task with the time given to do so! & the most enjoyable part is the people within the corporation. Everyone is nice and respectful and make conversation easily.
Points positifs
underground cafe & tim hortens
Points négatifs
early shifts (start at 6 am )
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good people
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON7 août 2019
GWL wants you to learn and is willing to pay *some* academic upgrading, if your manager approves.
GWL Disability - overworked employees, which has led to a lot of stress in the workplace. Management not working to make the atmosphere better (mandatory overtime, what?)
Co-workers are great and make it worth sticking around.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of opportunity for moving around within the company
Insurance Specialist (Ancien employé) –  London, ON22 juillet 2019
Dealing with a lot of people daily. Must be a people person and must not let things or others get to you. Keep your business to yourself as well as your opinions.
Points positifs
Specialty lunches
Points négatifs
Drama
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good company
Claims Processor (Employé actuel) –  Regina, SK11 juillet 2019
The company is large so there is room to advance however you have to spend a year or more in each position before advancing. Management is not very strong in addressing issues and they expect a great deal of work for poor compensation
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very encouraging environement
Claims Processor (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB11 juillet 2019
Constant audits and input from team leader daily. Can be stressful to meet demands.
Points positifs
Positive encouragement and development opportunities
Points négatifs
High quotas
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It’s a big organization
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB25 juin 2019
They talk about equality like women getting the same pay with men but I’m a man & the equal pay didn’t happen to me. I was promoted to Assistant Manager but didn’t get the appropriate job grade while my counterpart who is a female is receiving $10k more. Promotion is based on who you know & not what you know. It’s really a sad experience for me. My manager is biased & unfair. But as they say life goes on. If life gives you lemons make lemonades.
Points positifs
Flexible schedule
Points négatifs
Big organization can be a disadvantage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
parking costs low
Senior Document Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB6 juin 2019
Made many friends at work. Had many promotions between two different departments. Had many managers in my career. Some were absolutely great and some were questionable. As in many large corporations, there was lots of politics in the background.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to start - but don't misplace your loyalty to this company
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Canada29 mai 2019
This is certainly a great place to start your career - a reasonably professional office atmosphere with good branding behind it.
You can also grow your career here too - there is some room for advancement if you are ambitious and very driven.

The work life balance is ok - at least on par with other reputable companies - but it's not as extraordinary as the company would want you to think. All the same, no big problems for normal situations.

BUT -

The work volume can become overwhelming, and does burn people out fairly quickly - particularly in lower level positions. This is exacerbated by high turnover.

Office culture is very chilly - and about as cliquish an environment as I have seen in a workplace. It can and does have an impersonal feel. While the business is based on relationships, its model is very structured and contrived. The result is that (almost) everyone interacts on a very superficial and less than genuine level. This is a problem in that it prevents the creation of fully functional teams, and to help individuals who may be experiencing a difficult time to get back to full performance.

The pay is fairly low in comparison to other employers for similar work.

The company can be aggravatingly slavish to procedures and internal protocols. If you like everything structured and rules-based then this is the place for you. If you have an entrepreneurial or creative spirit about you - or if you want things to simply be efficient and reasonably sensible - then GWL will drive you nuts.

While the company demands long-term commitment from staff (as
  plus... traditionally people would stay with this this company their entire careers), GWL does not always repay this loyalty with appropriate pay increases or bonuses unless you perform at an exceeding level. Mass layoffs and restructuring also occur periodically.

Bottom line: the company is worthwhile to get a start in, but don't misplace your loyalty - consider looking for better opportunities elsewhere after putting in a couple years of experience if you are not already in an upward trajectory.
  moins
Points positifs
Good place to gain experience
Points négatifs
Can be rigid, procedural and impersonal
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
amazing place
Human Resources Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB28 mai 2019
i worked several positions here during my 10 years but my favorite part was reception in the human resources department. Loved meeting new people and the atmosphere was awesome
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bulying and backstabbing
IT Manager (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB27 mai 2019
IT management consists of 'good ole boys' and clueless new hires. The culture is very toxic in that:
- there is no work life balance
- more time is invested in the blame game than on fixing issues
- they are always seeking more ways to outsource the best work off-shore
- stress is met with derision and more bad behaviour
- bullying is rewarded and encouraged
- they talk about being a mental health resource but they don't treat internal staff accordingly
- backstabbing and lying is supported
- anyone over 55 is viewed as a risk/liability as opposed to valuable experience and knowledge
Points positifs
interesting projects
Points négatifs
Bad management, toxic work environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Numbers before People
Long Term Disability Processor (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC24 mai 2019
In the beginning it was a great place to work, when it was more about people then numbers. When it went through an overhaul, it became more about numbers, it turned into a very toxic enviroment to work in. The management was not encouraging to the employees.
Points positifs
Benefits were great
Points négatifs
turnovers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management needs a do-over, employees are like zombies/robots.
Administrative Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Winnipeg, MB23 mai 2019
It's a good place to work, however I wouldn't recommend it. Management picks on weaker roles/staff. I've seen some staff brought to tears and others get quiet when they are more outgoing and happy. There is no recognition for your work. People tend to use you and put their work on you. If you are too good at your job, you will get put down and you will be made to feel like you can't do your job or aren't doing your job right. If you take too many sick days, you will be questioned. Work environment can become toxic and get too stressful at times. The hardest part is trying to please managers and get work done after getting put down. The enjoyable part I think would be the events here, like the dinner and dance, co-ed day, etc.
Points positifs
Out-of-office events, good cafeteria
Points négatifs
Underpaid for type of work, poor benefits
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company all around
Claims Processor (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB9 mai 2019
This company is just a great company to get into if you want to work and climb. The only reason I left was to attend University. The job I had itself sucked, but that was the nature of the job. If one can stick out the lower grade level jobs, there is real potential for advancement in this company.
Points positifs
Advancement opportunities
Points négatifs
Mind numbing work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Company makes very clear that they do not care about their employees.
Claims Examiner (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB12 avril 2019
The company criticizes employees who make zero errors for not working fast enough and fast employees are criticized for minor errors. The company used to do many things for their employees but they have cut back and made it very clear that they do not care. They emphasize their "vision" of the customer being at the core of everything that they do but they do it at a cost to the health and well-being of those that keep them afloat.
Points positifs
Sort of half decent benefits.
Points négatifs
Nothing you do is ever considered good enough.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace with a great team
Administrative Assistant (Employé actuel) –  London, ON11 avril 2019
Great company to work for with good work incentives. If downtown location, a con is that you pay for parking daily. I enjoyed working for this company however i didn't feel all opportunities were presented as desired.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor Management ... !! The worst company in GTA !!
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON6 avril 2019
If you want to enhance/practice your documenting skills, this is the great place to start because GWL's inbox size is only 5 MBk, that means if you receive more than 10 mails every day, you had to file and clean it up every morning once you come back office. Otherwise, you are out of contact.

On the other side, you need to document teammates/co-workers' bad behaviors (date/time/event/descriptions/processes/outcome...) because they are good at spread rumors/intimidate... and Director of Finance would ask you to give her a daily work spreadsheet to record every single minute what you're doing/for what task/expected time to finish/..... the worst department is FINANCE.

Furthermore, the average age of employees in GWL Toronto, I guess is ~ 58. Systems were built 20-30 years ago, no productivity, don't like innovations, spend hours in chatting and ...... a lot more you could imagine.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
No flex hours/Overtime till 9, 10 pm and no pay/Fix other teammates' problems
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worked too hard apparently
Rehabilitation Consultant (Ancien employé) –  Canada5 avril 2019
I was very successful with my work
I learned that my colleagues didn't put in a full days work
Management studied my results and asked me to slow down and only work half of what I am doing
Workplace culture - Only work to what your minimum requirements are, don't do any more or you will be accused of making your colleagues look bad
I loved working with some of the leaders, loved getting people back to work.
Points positifs
Work from home
Points négatifs
Executive Leaders did not approve of my "over the top results"
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A lot of upside potential
AVP, Risk Governance, ERM (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, Ontario2 avril 2019
There are many strategic initiatives designed to make the company more efficient and modern. This is truly an inspiring place to work now due to the amount of productive change happening and the ability to influence this change.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 5Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unreasonable expectations
Disability Case Manager (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON27 mars 2019
Pros:
Co-workers are great

Cons:
unreasonable productivity expectations, high case loads, non-sensible metrics, too much oversight of work, old equipment, out of touch management.
The job is stressful for various reasons, not just dealing with difficult and unwell customers where one needs to be a medical doctor and counsellor rolled into one, but also needs to keep up with crazy high volume of work but do everything perfectly because your worked is checked and scored! The numbers matter more than the customers, but the numbers make no sense anyway. They need someone who really understands how to develop metrics. All the grunt work is dumped on the Case Manager too.
I would never recommend this job to anyone.
Points positifs
Co-workers are great
Points négatifs
unreasonable productivity expectations, high case loads, non-sensible metrics, too much oversight of work, old equipment, out of touch management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Satisfactory workplace
Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON10 mars 2019
I enjoy working in a fast-paced environment both individually and as part of a team. I learned that multi-tasking and time management skills are a necessity in this type of business.
Points positifs
coworkers
Points négatifs
too much work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez The Great-West Life Assurance Company. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,0
D'après 29 avis
55
44
39
27
14

Notes par catégorie

2,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,3Direction
2,5Culture d'entreprise