Terra Greenhouses Ltd - Avis

Voir les 29 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to Work!
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON14 août 2019
I started out as a part time worker while I was going through university. Working at Terra coincided with my educational background, so I was able to gain experience while having a great time interacting with like-minded people. After I graduated, I started full time, where I was promoted to an assistant manager position. I recently left for another opportunity, but for the 5 years I was with them I had a wonderful work experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Positive and Enjoyable Summer Job for Students
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON12 août 2019
I had a very great experience working at Terra Greenhouses as a seasonal Sales Associate for the past three summers. As a university student, it was a great opportunity to save money for school, gain experience in the horticulture and retail industry, and build valuable communication and customer service skills that are transferable to any future career. Although hours do get cut back just before school starts again, you work a lot of hours during the peak season.
Additionally, Terra is a great environment to work in. The staff is welcoming and management is very supportive. If you ever need any help answering customers' gardening questions, the management and senior staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Terra's teamwork environment meant that everyone cooperated and assisted each other.
All in all, I would highly recommend Terra Hamilton for any students looking for a part-time or seasonal position.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Awesome place to work!
Sales associate (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON8 août 2019
After a few years at Terra I am leaving with lots of wonderful memories and an awesome experience there! Everyone at Terra including management is welcoming, encouraging, and always there to help each other out! Team work is a big part of the job, and it has been a wonderful experience where I learned a lot of new skills to take with me in the future!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
basically a scam using legal loopholes
Department Manager (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON3 août 2019
Horrible place to work, all the negative reviews are 100% true, do yourself a favour and listen to them unlike me unfortunatly. They straight up lie through their teeth telling everyone they will be full time or even permanent but then firing them without reason very abruptly before their benefits kick in. You barely have enough time to pay off all the expenses from the uniform. They will use you and then toss you to the side. DO NOT WORK HERE. do yourself a favour.
Points positifs
working with plants
Points négatifs
everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Vaughan, ON19 juillet 2019
Fun workplace. Typically watered plants and assisted customers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Do yourself a favour and look eleswhere for a job!
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON14 juillet 2019
A terrible place to work! The store manager has absolutely no consideration for her employees. They will hire you for one job and expect you to do another. They will tell you what hours you will be working and then change them without any notice. The store manager has no people skills whatsoever and should really consider working somewhere where she doesnt have to deal with people
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very Shady Employer
Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON4 juillet 2019
My Son was part of the group of "summer hires" let go at the end of May/early June. If this is a yearly tactic to cover off the May season, then shame of you! As indicated in other reviews, one must make an initial purchase of a Company shirt and, in our case, a pair of safety work boots, prior to first shift.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Seasonal Worker - Terrible Place to Work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON19 juin 2019
So far my employment in terra has been very disappointing. When I was hired as a seasonal cashier, I was promised full time hours until the end of summer, and unfortunately that has not been the case. By the end of May, mine and almost everyone’s shifts in my department were cut down to 10-20 hours a week. In many other departments, the seasonal workers who were promised full time summer hours, were being laid off entirely. I later found out that terra does this every year in order to hire enough student for the month of May.
I also found this unfair because Terra requires you to purchase a $35 uniform shirt, and expensive (on average $100) steel toe shoes.
Management is also unorganized there. As a cashier I have had to stay 2 hours past close on multiple occasions due to the disorganization of my mangers and the stores polices. Also, I have come to realize that corporate has little consideration towards there employees. Many problems throughout the store that employees have complained about for many years have yet to be fixed. Management is aware of these problems, but would rather try and make the store “look good” than to take employees into consideration.
Overall, Terra has been one of the worst jobs I have had so far, and I will not be working there again next summer.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Do not waste your time
Sales Associate - Greenhouse (Ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON4 juin 2019
Got this job as soon as uni ended and was promised full-time work until the beginning of August but they unexpectedly laid me off at the end of May! I wasn't even employed there for a full month. I later found out through a family friend that works with Terra that this is what the company does. They hire college/university students, promise steady work until August and then lay-off most of the seasonal employees at the beginning of June.

Before your first shift, they require you to purchase gardening gloves, their $35 work shirts (which fit small) and $100+ steel toe work boots. None of which was compensated for when I left after barely a month of employment. The breakroom was always crowded with people and the fridge would never close properly due to it being stuffed with everyone's lunches. Additionally, they only had two bathrooms in the building that were never available seeing as none were employee's only. While the sales associates always got their required breaks and lunches I know that the cashiers would work 9+ hours and only receive their unpaid lunch.

The work was physically demanding but not very difficult, and they did expect you to know everything once hired with little to no training on their end. In the brief time that I was there, they could barely give me full-time hours, some weeks I had less than 3 shifts. You are also required to stay late somedays, after your scheduled shift (+30mins), in order to close the store since they are so unorganized. While most of the employees were fun to work with and very nice that does not cover the fact that management
  plus... purposefully deceived you right from the word go. I'd recommend that you look elsewhere for a job so you're not one of the unlucky people that get laid off and have to find another job part way through your school/summer break.  moins
Points positifs
You can meet some great people
Points négatifs
Very very unreliable
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
busy, bright, and friendly
Seasonal Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON29 avril 2019
As a cashier it was my job to check customer out and answer any questions they had. Terra trains their cashiers very well and prepares them for any questions of side tasks that may arise. they are very understanding of personal commitments and are flexible with assigning shifts.
Points positifs
fun, busy, free training, customer interactions
Points négatifs
mostly seasonal, only minimum wage, can be slow or very very busy
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great staff
Greenhouse Worker (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON5 mars 2019
Great employers on the management side, co-workers were a blast as well.

Very accommodating with personal knee injury, gave additional breaks when needed.

Bought frozen lemonades for everyone during incredibly hot days.
Points positifs
Good hours
Points négatifs
Unreliable job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Joke
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON23 juillet 2018
Terra is the definition of disorganized, they demand far too much for new employees and can’t be held accountable. If you’re new on the job, it doesn’t matter, they expect you to know everything in and out of the greenhouse. Management will shut you off and expect you to do jobs on your own when not knowing how to do it, then giving you a bad time for not doing a good enough job. Goodluck to any future employees at Terra, you’ll be pulling your hair out as soon as you get a job there. Workers there are great, but management is absolutely PUTRID! Even for closing, the shifts wouldn’t end on the designated time, for example if you had a shift for 10-6:30, you’d be out at 7, or even 7:30. Awful management and a bunch of clowns who think they are amazing. They give you a list of 10 things to do and expect you to do it all by yourself Goodluck!
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Everything that had to do with Terra
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great learning experience and fun place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Vaughan, ON14 juillet 2018
Every day was consistent, you go in knowing what to do and hardly a dull moment. Watering, dead heading plants, unpacking shipments, organizing and setting up the store and its layout. Working with a great knowledgeable team that makes you feel comfortable and welcomed. You learn a lot very quickly from everyone, which makes you able to answer any customers questions. The hardest part of the job was the slow days when there wasn't many customers or shipments to unload so there wasn't much to do. Personally I really enjoyed that there was work to do, unloading trolleys was one of my favorite parts.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 7Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good To Work for
Greenhouse Assistant Department Manager (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON7 juillet 2018
Terra is a good place to work. Lots of fun. Management is lacking a bit and there needs to be more communication between managers. Salary is a bit on the low side.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
greenhouse production
General Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON30 avril 2018
Had to do general labour such as laying down pots, hanging plants, moving them from different bays depending on the type of plant.
either each daily task is different or the same.
management and employees are not the greatest, wouldn't recommend.
Points positifs
being active
Points négatifs
mangament
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible place to work and awful management
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON9 avril 2018
Only good thing about this job is the money that you make and some of the people you work with. Horrible management, unorganised, managers tell you to do one thing and then get mad and say you should be doing something totally different. Must work holidays, get no days off. Do not work here unless you want the management to scream at you and call you stupid every day. Watch out!!!!
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Long hours, 14$ an hour for hard labour, Bad Management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible unorganized place to work
Former Employee (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON10 février 2018
Managament are terrible. Never know what’s going on and always tell us one thing and do the other. The place is extremely unorganized. There is very little room for advancement.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Long hours, rude management, little advancement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Employees are friendly, management unorganized.
Cashier/Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown25 août 2017
Worked on cash, shown how to cash out once, running reports etc once and expected to remember. No process written down or at least I wasn't shown. Management very unorganized and do not like to be told something is wrong. All employees treated as seasonal on minimum wage. Have to purchase own equipment and clothing. $30 shirt and $100 CSA boots (and that cheap) gloves etc. Only given 30 min lunch so must brown bag as no stores close enough to visit in this time, however not enough room in fridge to keep food cool and no air conditioning in staff room. Basically want everything from employees and give nothing back but min wage.
Points positifs
Friendly employees
Points négatifs
Work schedule not published until Friday for following week
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 26Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people but awful management!
Cashier/Customer Service (Employé actuel) –  Maple, ON17 juillet 2017
Most of your coworkers are great and as people the managers are good but the way Terra is run is just awful. You do not know how many hours you are going to get week to week, they let you go without any warning and they consider you seasonal no matter how long you have worked there. Since you are always considered seasonal you will never get benefits and you will never work enough hours to get a raise. The managers talk about employees badly in front of other employees and they bad mouth you behind your back. Sometimes they won't allow you to take all of your breaks (including your legally owed lunch) even on a 10 hour shift.

I would avoid applying here unless you are VERY desperate. I ignored the reviews and here I am now.

Most of the time they are flexible with your time off requests. During the approx. 2 months that the Vaughan store is closed they "lay you off" and give you the proper forms to collect EI.
Points positifs
Nice coworkers
Points négatifs
Terra Greenhouses is very poorly run.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 23Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great time
Shipper/Receiver (Ancien employé) –  Maple, ON10 avril 2017
People were ok to work with but still a fun experience
The job is mostly all teamwork lifting due to Christmas tree shopping. Really good season there
Points positifs
Free breakfast
Points négatifs
Heavy lifting
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 7Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Terra Greenhouses Ltd. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,8
D'après 29 avis
57
45
34
22
111

Notes par catégorie

3,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,5Direction
3,0Culture d'entreprise