Avis des employés pour Technical Support Representative chez Stream Global Services

Trouvé 15 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 1 365 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
ok experience
Technical support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, ON6 mars 2019
good starting position to learn how to build a customer service experience. the atmosphere isn't bad , people are ok. job training is good. leaves a lot to be desired in a call center environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Save yourself now, don't apply
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, ON7 février 2018
One of the worst companies I have ever worked for, over worked technicians who undergo huge amounts of stress and mismanaged supervisors. From a training room of 200 people, only 2 of us remained after just 2 months. So horrible turn over rate. No security
Points positifs
The contract ended
Points négatifs
But they got another contract right after the last one came to a hault
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good place to work
Technical Support Rep (Ancien employé) –  London, ON9 novembre 2017
good place to work, nice environment, easy and enjoyable, friendly employees, and great place for growth, overall a place for a wonderful and place to come to work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good experience
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Chilliwack, BC13 septembre 2017
I had worked there for 4 years, it was a great learning experience, co workers were helpful if i had any questions, and managers were easy to talk to.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
tech support
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, ON10 juillet 2017
I was hired to do tech support for Road Runner internet. I did that contract for a couple years till it closed up and went to a new center. They tried me on Hewlitt Packard. In that contract I did tech support and sales. I did not succeed in that position as it was rather high stress, But it taught me alot about supporting printers.
Points positifs
great lunch service
Points négatifs
stressful
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Reasonable work atmosphere, job security was not present.
Internet Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Saint John, NB29 juin 2014
Job duties were well managed and management and training were reasonable. Site was shut down due to relocation overseas. Job security was not there at all.
Points positifs
Performance driven positions
Points négatifs
Job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Like
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, ON25 novembre 2013
i loved working here. would love to opportunity to go back. lots of people to talk to and work well in the teams.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's a job
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, Ontario18 novembre 2013
I did not have a very good exit experience with this company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good, rewarding job for the area.
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Chilliwack, BC11 octobre 2013
While a little on the low-side wage-wise for technical support positions, Stream was a fun and fulfilling place to work. The Team Leaders and management were friendly and helpful and the environment was good. A decent benefits package combined with an above-average wage for the location meant it felt like a worthwhile place to work.

My only complaint is that other technical support positions in the Vancouver area pay nearly $4/hour more than I was making on the contract I was working.
Points positifs
Decent wage and benefits, fun and friendly environment.
Points négatifs
Training lacking, low-pay grade compared to similar jobs in Vancouver
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
basic call center
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  London, ON13 août 2013
decent call center to work for if you dont mind being treated like a number. very large facility housing multiple contracts.
Points positifs
play with phones all day long
Points négatifs
high employee turnover rate
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable work environment.
Technical Support Representative (Employé actuel) –  Chilliwack, BC14 juillet 2013
Every day is different when you work for Stream Global Services. You are challenged mentally, sometimes causing you to develope " outsid the box" solutions to difficult problems. The Management is great, and understanding. Typically, the managers are hired from within the company.

The hardest part of the job is watching minimum wage creep up on your wage, knowing that when you started there you wer making 4 dollars more an hour than minimum wage, and now you make 2 dollars more.

They do have a pay for performance payout every quarter. Great way to encourage employees to try harder.
Points positifs
Challenging Job
Points négatifs
Pay could be better
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Where do I begin
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Glace Bay, NS3 septembre 2012
I liked it there at first. Then realized there is alot of favoritism and everything is politics in this place.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Glace Bay, NS13 août 2012
Provided technical support for various computer software companies. This included software support for both Windows and Mac computers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tech support agent
Technical Support Representative (Ancien employé) –  Chilliwack, BC18 mai 2012
Unless things have changed since I left, one definite plus is that Stream specializes in tech support which focuses on calls coming in, not on making cold calls. Never did I have to take a list of random phone numbers and starting calling people to try to sell them something (I don't think I would have stayed long if I did).

As a tech support agent, you spend your day answering calls and helping people with their computer issues. Customer service skills are essential for you to be a success - you are taught the technical skills needed for each contract. Your customer service skills will dictate how well you can soothe an irate customer, how well you can listen to what a customer is saying and extract the information you need to quickly resolve their issue, and how happy the customer will be with their interaction with you (regardless of whether you were able to fix their issue or not). Even if you are a highly technical person, working in a tech support call centre will not be the job for you if you do not have any customer service skills. If your customer service skills are great and your tech level is low, there is probably still a contract that you can be trained for - different contracts require different levels of technical ability. In time, the issues you deal with on the phone become largely routine, making the job much easier, but also quite repetitive.

One drawback is that you will likely feel like "just a number", but you will find this in any large company. The sheer volume of employees makes that necessary (at one point there were around 1400 employees in our location
  plus... alone). In order to maintain service levels, the time you spend on the phone is highly regulated: break times are very specific (to ensure not too many people go on break at the same time leaving no-one available to answer calls), average call length is monitored, calls waiting in queue is constantly a concern. You are required to document each call in company-specific software for issue tracking and analysis. Calls are randomly screened for quality coaching. Often I felt "leashed" to my desk by the cord from my headset to the phone. Selecting shifts are done by seniority, as is a lot of time off requests. There is a process for everything, which is a blessing and a curse. There is a very specific performance penalty system (points for performance issues such as being late, inappropriate behavior on the phone, etc) which at times feels draconian, but unfortunately the sheer volume of people that have to been tracked necessitates these measures. Expectations are pretty clearly laid out. There is a regular review structure and you typically receive a fair bit of feedback on your performance throughout the year.

Having worked on a few different contracts, I found that whether I enjoyed my job or not depended largely on who my manager was at the time and how they handled their team - good manager, enjoyable workplace - bad manager, miserable workplace. Some of the best managers I have ever worked with were at Stream (and a couple of the worst - fortunately they were the minority). Having a good manager vastly alleviates that "just a number" feeling. Fortunately, there is often availability to move between contracts or to move into new positions within the company. Upward growth from within the ranks is definitely encouraged (keeping in mind that you are still competing with hundreds of fellow employees for these positions).

I found there was a lot of camaraderie and friendly competition between contracts. There are places where people can meet and mingle during breaks. Overall, I have very fond memories of my time spent there and still keep in touch with friends made there.

Some call centres pay more and have better benefits than Stream, but most of those are company-specific call centres. At Stream, there are people working for multiple different companies in one building. The pay structure might not be the very best (although it is not bad), but the perk is that if one department is downsized, employees are often re-trained and moved to a different contract. If there are staff cuts at those company-specific call centres, those people are out of a job. Stream has a pretty decent level of job security compared to many other call centres. I remember being told once that the average lifespan of a call centre is only 3-5 years. Stream Chilliwack is definitely an exception to that rule. As for call centre jobs in general, most of the people who truly hated working in the call centre (in my experience) had no idea what a call centre job would be like. That is actually very understandable when you consider that employees are not encouraged to discuss work due to confidentiality agreements. People generally have some idea about what jobs would be like in a gas station since they are familiar with them and can see what goes on at one. Call centres are more of a mystery to anyone who hasn't been in one or who doesn't know a call centre employee. Like any other job, it has its pros and its cons, but overall I found Stream to be a decent employer.
  moins
Points positifs
if one contract closes, agents are often retrained for a new contract
Points négatifs
headset cord felt like a leash
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Stream Global Services. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,5
D'après 1 365 avis
5308
4421
3374
2138
1124

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,2Direction
3,4Culture d'entreprise