Avis des employés pour Barista chez Starbucks - Ottawa, ON

Trouvé 76 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 41 277 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad management experience
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON22 janvier 2020
While I worked at Starbucks, the manager of the store was very awful to work with. They would consistently make it their life's mission to make everyone miserable and feel incompetent about their work ethic. This led to high staff turnover and unnecessary stress at a job that is already high-paced and stressful as it is. I enjoyed this job when the manager went on leave for an extended period of time!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast-paced, dynamic and fun environment
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON17 janvier 2020
I never thought I would like working for a big corporation like Starbucks, but I was pleasantly surprised by the general work culture and the day-to-day operations of the company.

I worked at the busiest location in Ottawa, so it could be stressful at times. The hardest part was dealing with demanding and impatient customers, but in general, the regulars were very nice people.

The company offers its partners amazing perks. By working about 20 hours a week, I was eligible for health benefits. I also got a full tuition refund of $995 (max. is $1000) for a course I took. The company also gives its partners stock options. Starbucks complies with labour laws to the letter, providing necessary breaks, vacation time, holiday pay, etc.

The best part of my job was the team I worked for. I had an excellent manager who genuinely cared about her staff, and my coworkers were all extremely friendly and hard-working. It felt like a big family, everyone supporting each other. Although this may vary from store to store, I picked up shifts at many different locations, and staff were generally pleasant and welcoming.

Overall, I had a very positive experience. I learned a lot about what it takes to provide excellent customer service. As a formerly very shy, introverted person, Starbucks really helped me break out of my shell and improve my people skills.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A great experience
Barista, Trainer (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON9 janvier 2020
Worked here for the majority of my undergrad and enjoyed every moment of it. If you like fast paced work with a fun environment this is the place for you!
Points positifs
Free beverages, Free bags of coffee/tea weekly, great health benefits, fun environment
Points négatifs
High stress with customers waiting on their orders, very fast paced
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Job Horrible Work Environment
Barista/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON4 janvier 2020
Loved the job, got very close with most co-workers, had a couple of shifts make other people's lives miserable to entertain themselves and would purposefully seek out to make them cry. The Company in itself is great to work for and not every store has a toxic work environment. Don't stay in a job that makes you fear to see your coworkers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and fast-paced
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON30 décembre 2019
Starbucks is a great employer with benefits offered even for part-time employees. The work is fast-paced, yet allows you to connect with coworkers and customers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Company!
Barista (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON16 décembre 2019
Truly and amazing company to work for. They have good company values and really do care for their workers. They offer several benefits which i personally found incredibly helpful in other aspects of my life. I had an amazing manager who was very accommodating and understanding of my intense workload and school and helped schedule me accordingly. I have worked for this company for a few years and only have good thigns to say about it.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Depends on the location
Barista (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON9 décembre 2019
Great benefits, opportunity for periodic pay raise. Coworkers make the job more tolerable because customers can be just as horrible as all the story suggest and management more often than not has to 'take their side' to appease them.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work environment, not enough hours
Barista and Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON15 octobre 2019
They hire way more part time workers so youre lucky to get 20-25 hours a week. More typical is 7-10. Best way to get hours was to pounce on people giving away shifts meaning it was tough to plan your life with any certainty. No room for growth. Its a glorified fast food position.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good but exhausting
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON3 octobre 2019
Hard job,Good environment but low salary. being a barista at starbucks is always good for a part time job specially for students but serving people 8 hours per day is so tiring.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazon job for a student
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON11 août 2019
When I was in college and even when I was not, this was a great job. Benefits are very good. Pay is reasonable. Work environment was fun and fast paced.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stressful, have to learn everything super fast
Starbucks Barista (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON30 juillet 2019
Would not recommend this job if you don’t excel in working at fastpased environments. You don’t get very much training and you have to learn everything fast which is pretty stressful. One of my supervisors would get really annoyed with me and would never want to help me when I would have a question about something even though I’ve only been here for 2 weeks.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Licenced Diffrent from Corporate
Barista and supervisor (Ancien employé) –  The Lord Elgin Hotel, Ottawa26 juillet 2019
Licensed store not the same as corporate. Consistently told we are less than corporate and missed many of the benefits that other corporate employees were given.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Starbucks is great first job!
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON17 juillet 2019
Starbucks offers more benefits than many other minimum wage jobs. You make some great friendships and meet some interesting people. However, it can be a stressful job if you are someone who gets overwhelmed easily. You have to make drinks and warm up food all day while also smiling and greeting customers as they walk in and out.
SELF CARE IS KEY!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Starbucks
Target Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON7 juillet 2019
Overall the experience with starbucks was a positive one. Management was involved and everyone worked as a team to make things run smoothly. There was plenty of support for staff when it came to work-life balance.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible work schedule
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON28 juin 2019
Playing in a band it's been tough to keep work with being on tour so often. Starbucks did a good job of being there for me when I got home. The benefits for part time employees are great.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun place to work
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON31 mai 2019
I had great time working there, they are very good to their staff. I also had flexible hours and was allowed to work at other locations as well so that i can pick up some extra hours
Points positifs
free drinks
Points négatifs
cant think of any
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and flexible workplace
Barista (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON14 avril 2019
Great part-time job to have while completing my degree. My managers were always willing to work around my availability with my classes and almost always gave my requested time-off as long as it was given with enough notice. Could be stressful at times due to my store being very high-volume, but overall very fun with a great team.
Points positifs
Health benefits, weekly coffee/tea markouts, discounts, free drinks
Points négatifs
Short shifts (4-5 hours), complex drink recipes
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent environment and a real learning opportunity
Barista (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON10 avril 2019
Each day is organized well and helps each partner focus on their job solely. In the end it makes a well oiled machine, when everyone does their own parts well and we give a better costumer experience to each person who walks in the store.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun During School but not Long Term
Barista (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON29 mars 2019
Working here definitely has benefits in job security and benefits as a student with their bursaries towards tuition.

Long term is more difficult as the pay caps quite low and moving up is not easy nor highly beneficial, the trade off for responsibility for more pay is not linear and managers are definitely underpaid at busier stores.
Points positifs
Free Drinks
Points négatifs
Unsettled Schedules
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
company culture is good-ish
Barista/Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON7 mars 2019
the company itself has decently progressive culture, lots of perks and benefits like partner beverages and spotify, but it can be a fairly nitpicky company to work for, depending on your manager.

Lots of systems, rules, timers and pressure, very well structured workplace, sometimes at the expense of the employee experience. Depending on your role within the company the work life balance can be decent or abysmal, shift supervisors often expected to "clopen" which at a coffeehouse often means 5 hours or less between shifts.

Very fun workplace if you like being on your feet, problem solving creatively/on the fly, like coffee and making people happy
Points positifs
free partner beverages, employee perks, fun high pace, flexible hours
Points négatifs
unstable hours, poor work life balance, instability of income, high qualifications for benefits
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Starbucks ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 41 277 avis
516,3 K
414,5 K
37,2 K
22 K
11,3 K

Notes par catégorie

3,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,5Direction
4,0Culture d'entreprise