Starbucks
Recevez de nouvelles offres d'emploi et avis chaque semaine!

Avis des employés pour Barista chez Starbucks

Intitulé du poste
Lieu
2 387 avis correspondant à votre recherche
Voir les 46 229 avis
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
a typical day at work for me: I clock in, I have to read our virtual to-do list that is our personal responsibility to complete, in addition to any key things happening that day or week. I have to maintain cleanliness, stock, speed of service, concierge (maintaining a safe amount of people in the store, thanks to Covid) and dealing with an inordinate amount of entitled people the whole time--and given it's a low-level job where no one cares, if you do try to care, you're gonna do it all alone. also, if you're at a drive-thru store, you're expected to stay under ludicrous times to maintain speed of service. it's hard work, especially on your body and your mental health. so, as long as long as you can grin and bear it through the most ill-mannered people you've ever interacted with, completely unfair expectations for the pay you're getting, having your body broken down--particularly your upper body, especially your hands and wrists--and occasionally literally having drinks thrown drinks at you, you're golden. oh, and this company will never defend you when customers are belligerent.whether or not superiors are decent varies store to store.the upside? free drinks, up to five per shift, and the benefits are much better than anything else in this sort of work, even if a little comes off every paycheck.
Points positifs
free drinks, okay benefits, your job doesn't go home with you
Points négatifs
understaffing, repetitive strain injuries, a company that cannot read the room to save its life, entitled customers, unfair workloads for the pay, dirty/ messy after every shift
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I'd like to work here as a teen to make more money this year to help kids and older people living in poverty people started to help me by aplying an online job
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
23 novembre 2020
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience at Starbucks Canada. We care for each and every partner deeply and we are listening to your feedback. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). If you do have any questions or concerns, please connect with your manager, keep up the amazing work!
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I really enjoyed the free drinks and my partners I would work with on a daily basis. My manager was awesome with time off requests for all partners. However, they and other supervisors gave me no support whatsoever. Manager has no control over any of their staffers. There was blatant disrespect and bullying every day, between manager, supervisor and staffers. Manager was well aware of issues and let them continue. I told my District Manager about what was happening in our store and they did absolutely nothing.
Points positifs
Free drinks before, after, and all breaks.
Points négatifs
No support whatsoever.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Working at Starbucks was one of the best job that i ever loved but the issue is your entire management and co worker who make you feel left out at some point of your life.Not everyone is same kind. I had a great manager and few co-workers were good but again the inner politics are not great enough ..So ,i would only recommend this job if you can deal with discrimination .
Points positifs
Free drinks
Points négatifs
Discrimination by upper management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Notez une entreprise où vous avez travaillé récemment
Partagez votre expérience pour aider d'autres utilisateurs.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved it!! I learned plenty working at Starbucks as a high school student. I had many benefits which I used for dental purposes and many other .orr. great!!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
26 novembre 2020
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience at Starbucks Canada. We are so thrilled to see that you had a great time working here. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). We hope to see you in stores again soon.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worked for a year at Starbucks, the culture was consistently disorderly. Supervisors never on the same page. Manager chooses favourites and befriends those she feels she gets along with, doesn’t attempt to connect with her entire staff. Very selective. Many days felt like a high school atmosphere. Was consistently told that women wouldn’t get to move forward in the business bc that’s how it went... overall lack of: professionalism, tact and leadership skills= High turnover, low trust/confidence in team.
Points positifs
Free drinks
Points négatifs
Long hours, low wages considering service expectation, inexperienced leadership that favours selectively
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If you are disabled in anyway avoid working for Starbucks, the company doesn’t appreciate disabled workers of any kind. HOWEVER, it was a very fun job especially if you like to learn new things all the time, almost never boring, had a fantastic work “family”. Very sad I had to leave.
Points positifs
Free drinks on shift
Points négatifs
Extremely fast paced, stressful, not hearing impaired friendly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast paced , never a dull moment , a place where creativity and high energy is accepted . I really enjoyed working there because I like to keep busy and make people happy there you can do both !
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If you're a people person this is a good job. I loved every part of the job except the constant customer interaction, but I'm an introvert. Coworkers had a tight bond, and the work had awesome perks.
Points positifs
Free Coffee, Free Food, discounts
Points négatifs
Customers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
23 octobre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback while working at Starbucks Canada. We are listening, and your feedback is invaluable. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). We hope to see you in stores again soon.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I LOVED working there. I had a great relationship with my managers and co workers. The shifts vary greatly for availability, but if youre okay with that type of work then its good. Benefits are good, they treat their employees well. Would definitely consider returning.
Points positifs
free coffee
Points négatifs
early mornings, non consistent schedules
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
There are opportunities for advancement and lots to learn here. Of course, you're being paid a poverty wage but that is offset by benefits and flexible hours. The workplace is incredibly diverse and welcoming to people from all walks of life. Some shifts are stressful but that can be said about working anywhere.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
26 octobre 2020
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience at Starbucks Canada. We care for each and every partner deeply and we are listening to your feedback. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). If you do have any questions or concerns, please connect with your manager, keep up the amazing work!
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
i dont understand companies who hire and protect bullies. manager was one of the worst people I've ever met. when I told her I as quitting because I needed to care for aging parents while also attending university, she told me she wouldn't hold it against me that I was quitting!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I mean. If you miss highschool it's a great place. Expect to have your hours cut for no reason and to be understaffed majority of the time. Nothing but petty drama and rumours. If you're not super attractive or a pushover you'll be bullied and treated horribly. Dont have any mental illness issues either, you'll get in trouble for it.
Points positifs
Free drinks on breaks
Points négatifs
Terrible management, highschool drama. Low pay.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I wanted to like this company a lot. Their training session was good enough, but I couldn't stay with the company. The company, as another user points out, fixates on the negative while you are trying your best to satisfy the duties and customer orders. I have worked in cafes and customer service roles before, and I very much enjoyed working with the staff, but it felt a lot like the management wasn't giving everyone they were training the same level of awareness. Would've loved to have stayed with the company, and saw some growth within the company, but my particular was not what I thought they had made out their Starbucks experience to be. I have been in some Starbucks before where the teams get along great, but given that it was my first few weeks on the job, I felt the management to be a little too overbearing at times, and not allow mistakes to be made.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
2 octobre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback while working at Starbucks Canada. We are listening, and your feedback is invaluable. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). We hope to see you in stores again soon.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
- managers change a lot with lack of communication - hard to advance within the company - scheduling is a mess, availability not often respected, often short staffed - understanding of mental health and supportive of that - busy environment can be stressful and unorganized - strong COVID protocols
Points positifs
free drinks, good benefits
Points négatifs
long hours, terrible scheduling, lack room for advancement in company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I was a partner for just shy of 2 years.The Starbucks environment was great until my store changed management. Since then numbers have decreased, as well as partner moral. Everyone gossips about everyone especially the store manager. They gossip to baristas about "future plans" with the store eg: removing partners that work 2 days a week for whatever reason possible.Starbucks was great working through college and were super flexible, however do not expect any support from management or upper management. Their useless. Starbucks strives to be a 100% welcoming environment, with supports and resources. That's just a lie to make them look better to the publics eye, which to them, is more important then their partners.
Points positifs
Free beverages, discounts, coffee
Points négatifs
Horrible management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Starting off with this job in my early teenage years was great! as you progress you realize how emotionally draining and physically draining it really is to work at starbucks. The pay isn’t quite fair for the amount of work that baristas/shift leads really put into the job. I recommend working here for those who have no experience and are bilingual it’s a great way to increase your experience in the long run. but if you don’t need the experience to persue other jobs, then i definitely do not recommend working there as the shifts are physically, emotionally and mentally draining.
Points positifs
free drinks
Points négatifs
draining
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
15 octobre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback while working at Starbucks Canada. We are listening, and your feedback is invaluable. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). We hope to see you in stores again soon.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Here's the thing: a barista position at Starbucks is at its core an entry level, no-experience-required retail/fast food position. This means you will find a lot of cons that are not unique to the Starbucks experience, such as low pay, unpredictable hours, high pressure, lifting/bending/repetitive labour, and a work culture that is highly dependant on your location and coworkers (so there is very little reliability or point in me giving direct feedback on my store's culture, even though I really appreciate the team at my store and would love to talk about how great they are).There are benefits to Starbucks as an employer, however, that are unique to them.- Their benefits are MORE than competitive, despite their wages.- I joined barely a few months pre-COVID and despite the challenges that came with the early months of the pandemic Starbucks actually stuck their neck out to retain all their partners over the time off. They do not want to lose members of their team unless the team member is actually harmful, so job security is very good.- Though not unique to Starbucks, their corporate culture seems to highly value low employee turnover, so if you are willing to connect with those in positions above you and ask for pathways within the company, they might be more amenable than you expect.In the end, no minimum wage role is going to be a particularly satisfying experience, but when comparing Starbucks to other employers offering similar fast food or retail customer service roles, they have some advantages that shouldn't be ignored.
Points positifs
Surprisingly good benefits, free drinks and discounts, great first-time employer
Points négatifs
Still high pressure and effort for very low pay, same as any comparable employer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
20 novembre 2020
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience at Starbucks Canada. We care for each and every partner deeply and we are listening to your feedback. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). If you do have any questions or concerns, please connect with your manager, keep up the amazing work!
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Managers are great, assistant manager not to great, supervisors where fine, co workers where super fun to work with! There is still a difficulty working with assistant managers who doesn’t deserve her position because of certain favoritism in the work field, she’s doesn’t have the skill to becoming a manager!
Points positifs
Free coffee
Points négatifs
Some management sucks
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Gone through 5-6 different managers during my time and know fairly well how easily teams come apart just by one bad manager. Last one was the worst, she was power tripping with attitude problems and always yelling at workers. Never experienced anything like it. These things should be taken more seriously. Turnover rates should be taken more seriously. We lost about 15 people in under 6 months after she took over. Work benefits are great, but still feel like this job needs to pay their workers more as we go through so much with customers especially at mall locations. The most enjoyable part of the job is having a good team and seeing your regulars everyday but minimum wage isn't worth a toxic workplace!
Points positifs
free drinks on every break, free coffee/tea box a week
Points négatifs
power tripping management, experience the worst customers of all time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Starbucks
18 septembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback while working at Starbucks Canada. We are listening, and your feedback is invaluable. At Starbucks, we strive to create a positive experience for all partners (employees). We hope to see you in stores again soon.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good experience. Flexibility in hours and understanding to changes in availability. Good benefits and pretty easy to advance quickly. Though Starbucks like hiring managers that are outside hires so they understand nothing about managing baristas.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?