Southern Alberta Institute of Technology - Avis

Trouvé 150 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 155 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB29 juillet 2014
Very busy position but difficult to manage with just one person
Points positifs
good vacations, benefits
Points négatifs
to much volume to handle the job on my own as the position had grown so much
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
rewarding to work with young people
Instructor (Employé actuel) –  calgary16 juillet 2014
Provided students with instruction in process design of oil and water treating systems. Provided distillation training for operators at Alberta refineries
Points positifs
job allows flexibility to do outside consulting work, summers off
Points négatifs
salary below industry levels
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
My Education Summary
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB16 juillet 2014
Taking the Petroleum Land Administration course at SAIT was the best oppertuinty I have taken. Spending the last four years as a student athlete I have moved around and taken several different classes and finally I found the job that suits my abilities and exceeds my skill levels. Being a Volleyball player has taught me some amazing skills in the workplace and in the real world. I have acquired team building skills, competitve, hardworking, personable skills. All applying in the Oil & Gas Industry.
Points positifs
Hands on day-to-day knowledge of Land Administration
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 10Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent environment
IT Tech Support/Lab Technician (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB9 juillet 2014
Lab cleanup, wiring, cabling, misc support duties

Learned teamwork, organization, working independently.

Management was very 'hands-off' allowing for trust and independence

Co-workers were great mentors

Enjoyed the learning opportunities during the summer position. Great advantage getting experience while still in school.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Award winning tutoring program that works.
Peer Tutor (Peer Assisted Learning Program) (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB6 juillet 2014
A great program that promotes growth and success with a very organized and practical execution.
Points positifs
Flexible schedule.
Points négatifs
Low pay.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 4Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Project Administrator, School of Business (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB2 juillet 2014
Deliver any class materials to instructors, and retrieve any that have been left in class rooms from the day before. Check enrollement numbers and cancel any classes if necessary. Book instructors for upcoming classes, and ordering of any modules or books. Book flights, cars, hotels for instructors for any classes being offered off Sait campus. Ship any course materials that need to be sent out. Handle invoices for casual and independant instructors. Scan class evaluations. General correspondence with students, instructors & colleagues.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
pre employment course sait polytechnic
First and second year apprenticeship schooling (Ancien employé) –  shop class1 juillet 2014
I took a pre employment course for weld technician where I completed first and second year schooling

I am just waiting for test results back for my second year
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 11Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible Experience
Admin (Ancien employé) –  calgary2 juin 2014
Not sure if SAIT has a quota for hiring SAIT graduates in order for them to have numbers that prove they do hire them and then in a couple of days "off-load' them due to unspecified reasons but this organization does not care about their employees and new hires. In addition to no support from management there is absolutely no direction and training involved for new hires, this is a great example of how an organization and its management sets people up for failure.
Points positifs
salary
Points négatifs
management, training
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
IT Infrastructure
Network Technician - Student academic projects (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB2 juin 2014
ICT SAIT is one of the Professional institute of Different Technologies specially IT. Discipline and perfect in the management every day.
And i learn a lot new technologies from which was exactly implemented in the market.
Points positifs
Institute in the Calgary you will never find
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work!
Project Coordinator (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB2 mai 2014
My experience working at SAIT was the best work experience I have ever had. I don't view my role at SAIT as work - I view it as part of my career. I enjoy working at SAIT because I am pushed to my limits, by limits I mean I am given the opportunity to utilize my skills and successfully perform with the support of our management team.
Points positifs
My boss was very motivational, inspiring, and wise. I enjoyed the work environment and culture of our department.
Points négatifs
None, other than the cold weather in Alberta.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to learn
Chef's Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB23 avril 2014
Great direction from the chefs, casual and relaxed work environment
Points positifs
Learning opportunites
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work
Instructor - Sait Journeyman Sheet Metal Program (Ancien employé) –  calgary9 avril 2014
great experience, wish i was still there :)
great work life balance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Progressive and motivating
Research Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB27 mars 2014
An amazing place to work with no shortage of talented people. They also treat you like a human being and understand if you need support. The campus also has frequent events that you are encouraged to attend.
Points positifs
Location, Culture
Points négatifs
Some Politics
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 8Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent environment and responsible organization
FUNDRAISING PROGRAM COORDINATOR (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB2 mars 2014
Working for SAIT Polytechnic has been an enriching experience, they have a very strong organizational culture, and your oppinion is valued as an employee.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stimulating work place enjoyed working with my colleagues.
Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB28 février 2014
I really liked working in an educational environment. I found it to be very stimulating and I kept learning which is something that is very important to me. I liked the people I worked with although I found the students to be a challenge. They were treated too much like consumers and not like students and I think that this is inappropriate. I do agree that we need to meet all types of learning styles and cultures but we have to also have a strict code whereby the students show RESPECT for their instructors.
I think that SAIT is doing their students a disservice by keeping most of its instructors on contracts without the ability to get permanent employment, no benefits, no vacation pay, no continuing education courses and ability to take workshops offered to permanent employees. Salary was lower than the going rate for my profession.
The part of my job I enjoyed most was witnessing the growth of my students.
Points positifs
stimulating work environment
Points négatifs
complete lack of consideration and respect by managment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Learning
Millwright Apprentice (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC5 janvier 2014
Great industry exposure
Insightful Staff
Small class sizes
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent, quality public institution with old fashioned values, but great output
Senior Linux Software Developer (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB1 octobre 2013
Coming into SAIT from an agile developer's perspective, there was a lot to be desired here. But while working in the RADLAB, a research and development outfit for serving corporate interests using in-house talent, I truly enjoyed the experience and it improved my technique a lot.

Because it is a public institution, it must provide all data on purchases, employment and projects. This means there is a strict manner and bureaucracy in regards to how development can be done. That said, it is a great place to work with great people and fun projects.

No day here is typical, the RADLAB moves faster than most other labs at SAIT, so projects come and go, modular development means we can simultaneously have work done for multiple projects on the go, and we learn at a fast pace constantly. One day will be documentation, another will be a sprint to get a website done, or solving back-end behaviours. Other times we research different technology or devices for inexpensive solutions for interested corporations instead of expensive black box products on the market. You can really feel you are making a difference while working here.

The hardest part of the job is balancing bureaucracy and agile development. The second hardest part is creating infrastructure while moving at a fast pace. Introducing standards for wiki and documentation, project management and coding styles while you are in the middle of a few different projects is hard. Only until the past year did the RADLAB shed itself of low efficiency workers and take off into the powerhouse it is today. It is still in its infancy
  plus... as a lab, but very capable. The co-workers I had the pleasure of working with are some of the nicest and smartest overachievers I have met. I would gladly work here again.  moins
Points positifs
Great people, lots of opportunities for recognition, creative problem solving, solve future problems today, make real money
Points négatifs
Contractors do not get benefits, public institution means lots of paperwork and slowdowns in development, less flexibility for salary workers than contractors
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Leading Edge
Curriculum Processes and Systems Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB21 septembre 2013
Organization dedicated to learners and achievement of transforming lives through a strategic approach.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A relaxed work environment.
Customer Service Rep (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB18 septembre 2013
I was responsible in providing customer service to customers who wanted to either purchase tickets or answering questions and directing customers to available parking spots.

I learned how to handle transactions in a fast paced environment and be able to think on my feet in order to provide answers to customers.

My manager was a very relaxed individual who didn't like to stress his employees for no reason, we got along very well.

Me and all my co-workers became friends because we get to spend a lot of time with each other on the job and we got to know each other very well.

The hardest part of the job is when customers arrive late to the show and I had to sell tickets as fast as possible in order for them to be able to catch the show and not be late. Standing outside in the cold directing traffic was also one of the hardest parts of this position.

The most enjoyable part is the fact that once we get everyone into the shows, then we have couple hours break while the shows is going..we got to hang out as co-workers as well as learn something else during that free time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
nope
Basic Estimator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB10 septembre 2013
absolute travesty, no coordination or continuity
communication is horrid at best
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Southern Alberta Institute of Technology. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 155 avis
570
447
319
211
18

Notes par catégorie

4,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise