Avis des employés pour Instructor chez Southern Alberta Institute of Technology - Calgary, AB

Trouvé 13 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 154 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
full time work without benifits for years on end
Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB26 juin 2018
SAIT can divide the work of contract employees between different types of contracts to avoid the union requirements for benefits. They will also 'encourage' casual instructors to incorporate so that union limits to hours worked without benefits do not apply. The incorporated instructors receive the same pay rate as casual employees; they do it so that they will be assigned more teaching hours.
There are instructors who have been working without benefits for decades...usually in the more "pink collar" educational programs.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No longer the place it used to be...a lot of unhappy people
Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB16 mai 2018
Great place and culture but has changed into a $$$ focus...layoffs everywhere. A lot of previously happy people not so anymore!! Lots of people moving on.
Points positifs
Used to be great place...gone downhill...poor Management.
Points négatifs
Employees treated poorly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall a good place to work.
Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary Canada5 avril 2018
SAIT is a workplace where your manager makes it a good or a bad place to work, like everywhere else. Some departments have great managers that make the job a joy, and others do not have great managers making the job a drudge. So, my advice to you would be to find out something about the manager before you get hired.
Points positifs
Not forced to stay on campus in your off hours.
Points négatifs
Very reluctant to give raises.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good work place
Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB28 février 2017
Over the last 10 years there is a big turn overs Chairs of the engineering drafting and design so there is always little focus on new ideas from the Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very supportive staff
Instructor (Part-time), Transportation (Ancien employé) –  Calgary11 mai 2016
I had the privilege of teaching in the Supply Chain Diploma program, on a part-time basis for a year and a half, starting in January 2011. I found the administrative support in the Continuing Education department very good and accommodating.
Points positifs
Supportive administrative assistants
Points négatifs
No paid parking for part-time staff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Focused on delivering high quality education.
Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB12 février 2016
I have only attended a six day orientation and have not fulfilled my contract at this time.
The orientation tells me they take the role I am contracted for very seriously.
Points positifs
challenging
Points négatifs
away from home
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Get place to teach and to learn
instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB21 novembre 2015
SAIT is a great place to continue to learn while teaching. Plus it allows one to get experience in managing large groups of people.
Points positifs
Summers Off
Points négatifs
Cannot take winter vacations, a typical work week is far more than 40 hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
rewarding to work with young people
Instructor (Employé actuel) –  calgary16 juillet 2014
Provided students with instruction in process design of oil and water treating systems. Provided distillation training for operators at Alberta refineries
Points positifs
job allows flexibility to do outside consulting work, summers off
Points négatifs
salary below industry levels
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stimulating work place enjoyed working with my colleagues.
Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB28 février 2014
I really liked working in an educational environment. I found it to be very stimulating and I kept learning which is something that is very important to me. I liked the people I worked with although I found the students to be a challenge. They were treated too much like consumers and not like students and I think that this is inappropriate. I do agree that we need to meet all types of learning styles and cultures but we have to also have a strict code whereby the students show RESPECT for their instructors.
I think that SAIT is doing their students a disservice by keeping most of its instructors on contracts without the ability to get permanent employment, no benefits, no vacation pay, no continuing education courses and ability to take workshops offered to permanent employees. Salary was lower than the going rate for my profession.
The part of my job I enjoyed most was witnessing the growth of my students.
Points positifs
stimulating work environment
Points négatifs
complete lack of consideration and respect by managment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
sait was a good company to work for if you injoy teaching
Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB8 avril 2013
it was relaxed in the beginning
I learned the teaching ability that i have
managment would not follow some of the guidelines for class hours and over set the hours for actual instruction
coworkers were great
managing the prep time to class time
teaching
Points positifs
have to watch for over class hours and the management expex you to do what they use to do
Points négatifs
no enough time for class prep time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A room is provided and shared by two instructors.
MLT/MLA Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB4 février 2013
It's a nice place to work. Sometimes it's really hard to balance between student retention and academic rigor. My quetsion is - how can you implement academic rigor in order to set the best quality standards among your students where in fact the weakest ones will fail and cannot retain students.
Points positifs
nice vacation package during summer because there are no students.
Points négatifs
some are allowed to work at home without sending an email to the supervisor, some are not allowed to work at home especially when you let them know by e-mail, unfair practice, some instructors are not nice with respect to team work and friendliness.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19Non 12Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Place to work but old school requires a technology upgrade
Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB8 janvier 2013
Fun loving co-workers, Great student environment
Too many Managers at time don't have a clue what;s happining
Points positifs
great vacation plan and facilities
Points négatifs
overpriced parking
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Southern Alberta Institute of Technology. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 154 avis
569
447
319
211
18

Notes par catégorie

3,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu