Smook Contractors Ltd - Avis

Voir les 11 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place with a bit of downtime
Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB7 novembre 2019
It was alright to work in the wash bay, at times had to find lots of things to do like house cleaning/ cleaning the yard up.
Got to know some cool people working there
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent people, famil
Truck Driver (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB13 septembre 2019
One great big happy family with coworkers & Management. Family oriented workplace & community minded . The coworkers are fun to be around with which make a comfortable work Enviroment and highly recommended for those who want to work together as a team with high safe production practises. I miss working there.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Company. Lot's of room for advancement.
Rock Truck Driver (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB25 août 2019
Started off as a flagger for the summer. When the job ended they trained me on a rock truck to keep me working rather than laying me off. They have a heavy equipment trainer who helps explain things to new operators. Most of the experienced operators were willing to give advice as well. Supervisors were good to work for. Hard working employees were rewarded with opportunities for advancement.

They own an apartment block in Thompson so if you are from out of town they have a place for you to stay. They were in the middle of renovating it when i left.

Production crew works longer stretches but gets a week off for every long weekend. Crews at the mine site in Thompson work 5 on 2 off.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
For your own sake avoid this place
HR Manager (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB12 août 2019
The management culture is very poor and disorganized lots of yelling and growling.

All employees are viewed as expendable the GM actually said to me just get em here if they have a pulse, if they dont work out we fire em, people would be pulled from several provinces away traveling thousands of kilometers for a job and then get laid off very quickly or fired. The turnover is around 150% per year!

Rules are very inconsistent and the squeeky wheel either gets fired or some grease.

The apts they own to put the workers in, they will shove 3 of you in there with 30 year old furniture smelling of mold, some are newly renovated and nice.

They talk of a safety culture but treat HR and Safety like the unwanted stepchildren and a nuisance to the machismo.

The benefits dont kick in for 6 mths most people do not last this long.

They work the men in the field 21-30 days straight at 12 hour days and wonder why they are burning out and everyone is miserable.
Points positifs
some staff are friendly and knowledgeable
Points négatifs
job security, culture, management, location, hours of work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 4Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive and busy
Heavy Equipment Operator (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB12 juin 2018
long hours of work but enjoyable meals well prepped. great staff. out dated equipment was a down side.
35 days of work was a down side.
always kept busy with different objectives daily
Points positifs
have to keep your own room clean
Points négatifs
have to pay meals
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's a job
Heavy Equipment Operator/Foreman (Employé actuel) –  Thompson Manitoba12 juillet 2017
Company makes you feel apart of things. family oriented company they say. I found over time they are all about the buddy system. I'm not comfortable with this practice.
Points négatifs
Supervisors are young, some need a reality check.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Heavy Duty Equipment Technician
Heavy Duty Equipment mechanic (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB6 juin 2016
The Day Starts with Safety Meeting, worked with apprentice diagnosted repaired Machines and there engines.Shop supervisor and managment were helpful.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High paced, high attention to detail, learning experience
Purchasing Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB17 février 2016
The day always started with a Safety Meeting with all shops and foremen involved, discussing daily tasks that required Job Hazard Assessments, new or updated safety procedures or protocol, or reviewing near miss situations. I enjoyed working with all my coworkers, some more than others but always got to know everyone and never left anyone out of lunch room conversation. Management was always easy to deal with because I did my job and went over and beyond expectation, therefore management usually only came around to say hello and to check that orders and goods were moving smoothly, or to let us know what is in the forecast for upcoming jobs and projects. The most difficult part of my job was not being able to know more, learn more, do more. I have been interested in mechanics for quite a while now but haven't been able to pursue my dreams of becoming an female aboriginal automotive/heavy equipment mechanic. I enjoyed learning bits and pieces of knowledge from the mechanics, the crusher crew, and administration as I am always wanting to learn how to do it all. I enjoyed being able to exert full energies into working in the yard, or the larger warehouses, moving and organizing heavy equipment attachments and accessories, industrial machinery and a lot of times, garbage that others could not seem to find the proper place for. I enjoyed being given the opportunity to deliver on demand, and was instantly gratified when foremen were smiling (not often they do), and on their way back to the job site.
Points positifs
physical labor, on the job learning, fast paced, high attention to detail
Points négatifs
shipping delays when it the product was needed yesterday, consistent mistakes from the same vendor
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Smook contractors ltd great place to work loved the people treated me well
Principal Heavy equipment operator (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB26 octobre 2015
I have learned many things in the companies I have worked for, leadership skills, surveying, grading, people management skill, safety culture, maintenance and proper care of equipment, paperwork and payroll management, time management skills, listening skills,
Points positifs
paid lunch hour
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 4Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Thompson, MB16 juillet 2013
A typical day consists of processing invoices for payment. Answering emails and phones. Assisting with walk in traffic. Matching invoices with packing slips. Preparing checks.
Points positifs
Great boss
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 5Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Smook Contractors Ltd ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,8
D'après 11 avis
53
45
32
20
11

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,8Direction
3,4Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu