Schlegel Villages - Avis

Trouvé 61 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 182 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Scary Place
RN (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON13 août 2019
In all of my years working as an RPN i have never seen such terrible management in my life. Upper management is selfish and unreliable. They all only care about themselves and how to make sure they cover their own behinds, especially so they don't have to do any actual work ( like do a med pass). I have talked to many staff members who all frankly feel undervalued and unappreciated by the upper management. The entire facility is run backwards. Not only does the upper management not care about their workers, to the extent that they are actively looking for over 10 PSW lines to fill, they do not understand the roles of the people that work in these areas ( PSWs, RPNS, Rec) and yet continue to keep making the wrong decisions to the point that other staff members have discussed wanting to quit.

It is uncomfortable working here and demeaning. They make you feel as though you are the lowest person in this world everytime you walk in the door. Management looks down on everyone and those kinds of attitudes come off so disrespectful that some of the residents even start to question RPN reliability so they ask for an RN. It seems unbelievable that a facility who is entrusting all of the care to the RPN is making them look so poorly to their residents that they have to ask for RN assistance. Its very sad.

If there were a 0 star area I would be putting that for management because something really needs to be fixed.. from the top down. There is no need for 4 assistance directors of nursing and having 2 RNs walking around everyday when we are so short of PSWs that people are doing
  plus... doubles everyday to cover shifts.

It is very obvious that management either doesn't know what they're doing or has just stopped caring. If they cared about resident and worker safety at all, they'd get up out of their chairs and lend a hand.
  moins
Points positifs
the residents are all amazing people
Points négatifs
management has gone off the rails to the point where its obvious this place is going down.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people to work with
St Clair college student Internship (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON24 juillet 2019
I did my student placement through St. Clair college at the village at St. Clair. Every one I worked with was very helpful, and imparted good advice to ensure my success at the village.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very hard work for little pay or appreciation
Charge Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Kitchener, ON19 juillet 2019
In September of 2018, the nursing hours in retirement were cut from 63 hours per day to 36 hours per day. Needless to say we are doing almost double the work for the same pay. On day shift, there are only 2 nurses who are responsible for approximately 230 residents.
On the evening/night shift, there is only one nurse. This shift runs from 6:30 pm to 6:30 am. It wouldn't be so bad if they required retirement level of care; but many of our residents require long term care level of care. Some of our residents have been turned down by long term care facilities because of there need for heavy care.
It seemed like one minute the company was telling us to prepare for higher level of care residents and more complex care residents and the next minute we're told that they are reducing registered staff. Does this make any kind of sense?
It used to be a great place to work, but that was years ago. Staff are over worked and underpaid and unappreciated. We used to have time to spend and chat with the residents, now since we are spread so thin, we sometimes don't even have a chance to know who they even are.
They are always going on about "Resident Centred Care" but the bottom line is all they care about. One of the Schlegels told us a story one time about a new resident who told him that, he expected the food to be not as good as what he was used to and he accepted that, but couldn't they at least buy some decent coffee. He was told that he would check into it and get back to him, which he did. He said after close consideration, it was determined that a better coffee was not in
  plus... the budget. These people pay on average about $5,000 a month to live here. (even more if they have to purchase extra services).
Often, we don't have our full breaks or don't have time to even have a break.
If you want a job where you often stay late (for no pay), don't get breaks and are not appreciated for your efforts; this job is for you.
  moins
Points positifs
great staff to work with
Points négatifs
being overworked, under paid and under valued
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Kitchen is understaffed and poorly run
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON16 mai 2019
As a cook the work load is beyond the hours scheduled. I witnessed many kitchen staff working on their own time just to get the work done. There are only 4 cooks on the retirement side to make breakfast lunch and dinner, 7 days a week!! Corners are cut because they have to be. ONE person is responsible for cooking food for hundreds of people AND serving it, washing all the dishes, temperature records, special diet preparations, daily food sample bags for health inspector, daily a la crate menus and sometimes catering added on top....in 8 hours. Good luck getting a break. And they don’t pay over time. But if you love being called at 3AM to cover the morning shift (because remember, there are only 4 of you!) then this is the job for you!
Points positifs
Won’t need a gym membership because you’ll run every day here
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Long Term Care
Long Term Care Ward Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Kitchener, ON23 avril 2019
I enjoy working with my co-workers and the residents who are here. My work is routine but I do work also in the retirement village doing other work to help. I have learned many things since I have been here. The job is more or less easy to do depending on the areas you are working in.
Points positifs
The benefits are good.
Points négatifs
Diminished work load, favouritism when it comes to hriing or getting ahead
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
easy
Data Entry Operator (Ancien employé) –  Waterloo, ON25 mars 2019
I worked as a data entry operator when they were switching over to a new system. thee training was simple and effective and other workers were able to help when I had questions. great pay,
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Family-like work space
Personal Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Burlington, ON7 mars 2019
When you work for schlegel, you become part of the family because everyone is working as a team. It was a great place to spend everyday. Except they never had enough PSWs to meet ratios. In my opinion PSWs were used the wrong way. They were used as nursing staff, dietary, laundry, and housekeeping.
Points négatifs
they do not staff enough PSWs to meet ratios
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Frankly disgusted
Rpn (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON28 février 2019
Management is ridiculous. They only care about the RNs. They expect you to work like a dog and thank them for it. On days off you're called, you're even called when you're already there. The entire scheduling team is a joke. They can never get anyones hours right. Bullying is a constant from upper management ( especially RN to RPN). They dont care to understand situations they just want them dealt with. They dont care if you've never had an orientation day on a floor they just want the shift covered. They basically care about nothing but themselves. NCs do absolutely nothing, it's like their job is to sit there and talk but have no action. The older RNs are great but the others dont seem to know how to be professional. It's like this place works backwards.. they like to talk all about working together and teamwork but they themselves dont know what that is. They make you feel terrible about not taking shifts even when theres no way you could ( like if you're already there...) it's so stressful. They CONSTANTLY guilt trip people to try to get them to do doubles which is very awkward. They dont bother checking to see if the person is working till 10 and has a 6 am the next day.. they only care to fill gaps so RNs dont have to work. All I've seen most of the younger RNs do is walk around and talk.. some of the older ones are more responsible but for the most part they dont seem to do much either way. I think that this establishment should stop thinking so highly of NCs and RNs who basically do nothing.. and start appreciating the people who do the most work like the RPNs,  plus... PSWs, Rec, ect, the people who actually interact with the residents in the village.. who, if they werent there.. you wouldnt have a workplace.  moins
Points positifs
Some ( the older RNs) are awesome and amazing women
Points négatifs
Basically everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Personal Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Windsor, ON31 janvier 2019
Very nice place to work, fun, supportive management. Very clean and professional workplace. Great recreation team and the residents are always happy. Look forward to the future here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Meaningful work in a fun environment
Administrative Support (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON21 janvier 2019
When working at Schlegel Villages you work in a Retirement or Long-Term Care Community. This work is very meaningful and people focused no matter what position you are in. I enjoy working with a large variety of professionals from food service aides, cooks, chefs, nurses, psw's, physiotherapists, doctors, recreation, housekeepers, and many more. Everyone works together to provide the best life experience for residents who live in the community (Village). I find that it has a positive work culture similar to what you would see in a small town. People are generally friendly, smile and say hi to visitors and family members. I have worked for Schlegel Villages for many years and would not have stayed as long as I have if I did not enjoy it or find it meaningful. For those that are looking for a working environment where they are truly helping others on a daily basis and enjoy working with people this is probably the place for you.
Points positifs
Nice building environment inside and out, annual staff appreciation party, leading change in seniors living
Points négatifs
Can be longer hours based on resident needs.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Awful.
Personal Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON14 janvier 2019
I was a PSW at The Village and my experience was horrible. Administration was aggressive and unhelpful. I was a night shift PSW and my 'coordinator' would call me at 9am and leave voicemails demanding I call her back that day during business hours despite me having worked the night before so obviously I am sleeping. It was extremely disrespectful and disappointing. Like most LTC homes Schlegal is experiencing a shortage of PSWs. I was regularly working ALONE on a secured Alzheimer's/Dementia neighbourhood which was dangerous for myself and the neighbours. Despite being short they would not call for overtime, they would just have someone float over for 20 minutes to help with doubles during care twice a night and the rest of the time I was completely alone. There were many instances where neighbours could have been seriously injured by falls simply because I could not get to them in time and they were not cognitively able to keep themselves safe. A ratio of 1 PSW to 30+ elderly people with Alzheimers/Dementia is NEVER ok. My neighbours were wonderful and I miss them every day but the burn out, break downs and physical pain from working alone in those conditions is NOT worth the job. Not to mention the pay is low. They will drill into your head that you are "lucky" to work at such a nice place but it just isnt true. Its all an act.
Points positifs
The neighbours are wonderful and I loved them all
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very negative work environment
Neighborhood Care Partner (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON15 décembre 2018
In theory this was supposed to be the best place for both residents and employees. However, it's a very negative place for both. I would never put a family member there nor would I ever work for them again. There is zero support from management . In fact management has their favorites. They don't take care of their staff unless you're someone whose willing to be used 16 hours a day 7 days a week and be belittled by staff who act superior. They pay 1 dollar above minimum wage and nights are not at a premium. They have a no lift policy which is not true. The management laughs and says if they don't see it happen then it's ok. Lift a 300 lb. person every day 4 times a day every day and you'll be needing a wheel chair in your 40s. It's not worth your health and not worth the hassle. The residents are amazing with the exception of a few who believe they own you. There is not enough staff to give the care that is required. Residents go without the care they require because of overworked staff who are underpaid and not supported by management. Go somewhere else.
Points positifs
The residents
Points négatifs
Management, oppressive, and abusive environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Best in LTC
Psw (Employé actuel) –  Waterloo, ON10 décembre 2018
As far as LTC goes, Schlegel is by far the best. Unfortunately they don’t pay their staff enough and getting a day off is like pulling teeth. Big burnout rates and many neighbourhoods don’t feel supported, but compared to where I’ve worked before they are definitely on the right track.
Points positifs
Residents Recieve great quality of life
Points négatifs
Pay, inability to get days off
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 4Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's emotionally demanding with a heavy workload
Rpn (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON27 novembre 2018
1 RPN and 4 PSW to 32 residents per floor
8hr shifts, consistent shift of either morning, evening or night (unless asked to pick up shifts or do a double)
May get pulled to work on a floor you were not trained on. They just want all positions occupied regardless of how prepared or how the you feel.
Burned out nurses giving away lots of shifts.
Drama and gossip on all levels. PSWs on your floor not getting along. Bullying new employees/agency.
Management shows appreciation but it doesn't always bring up the morale of the person or team. There is lack of respect and empathy and privacy. Ineffective conflict resolution.
Hard to balance work and life when they constantly call on your day off to pick up shifts and guilt trip you.
It is difficult to ask for vacation or days off.
It is hard to call in sick without being judged, nurses should know best if/when they are sick.
Not much job security as they can fire you for whatever reason regardless of having a union.
Job Advancement: specialize (wound nurse, personal expressions, rai/qi etc.) Or work in management
No pay raise after 3 years

BUT when it comes to the resident/patient, the interdisciplinary team works their hardest together to meet their needs and expectations and takes pride in their work. The resident always comes first in a home-like environment set up as a village. This culture is changing the way people think and feel about nursing homes.
Points positifs
good interdisiplinary team, culture
Points négatifs
Drama, workload vs pay, workplace politics, bullying
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 23NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very supportive staff and great atmosphere!
Personal Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON14 novembre 2018
Residents are content, happy, wish they could have more one on one time which is hard for us to find. Staff has good communication to keep everyone on board with any illnesses, or extra care needed. Great place to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 10Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive with very little to do
Entertainment Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON4 novembre 2018
A typical day at work for me at Schlegel Villages is to regularly check the recreational schedules for the residents who lived there and as well, constantly update the calendars each week. What I learned from this job was to be patient. Overall management was very organized, attendance and punctuality was highly regarded as well. One thing I liked about working in Schlegel Villages was how interactive is was; most the time, you are on your feet and you talk to the people around you, it was very engaging. The hardest part of the job was that there were times where it got a little boring since most of the residence were inactive and I consider myself a very enthusiastic individual, so that was one difficulty I had there. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning the trends that the residence used to have back in the day; I was exposed to many songs and movies that were popular during their time and I found that very amusing.
Points positifs
Work at your own pace
Points négatifs
Very quiet
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Windsor
RPN (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON3 novembre 2018
Worked as a RPN and its horrible the registered staff are worked like slaves, so much work you dont get any breaks. They have PSWs as management and tell you were all equal but they treat the RPNs as the under dogs the pay sucks for all the work expected, they do not help you but say if you have a problem they pair you with someone that is supposed to help you .l never met the person nor did they even try to reach out to me even after i emailed the company after they made me
Fill out a evaluation on how my supposedly care counselor was assisting me....or whatever they call them as i never got help or assistance from anyone. Some Psws are rude and lie on you and management believes them ,so they give you a hard time...l hated the place. Unprofessional as the management walk around bragging how much they partied and how drunk they got with swearing language in front of the neighbors.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Extra long hours not paid
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 25Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible place to work
Psw (Employé actuel) –  Barrie, ON1 novembre 2018
Stay far away from the barrie location. Horrible management who dont care about the staff and the residents. You are always short staffed. The equipment is ancient and the staff do not clean properly. You get worked to the bone and hardly get enough income.
Points positifs
Nice residents
Points négatifs
Long hrs, sort staffed, terrible management, very old dirty building
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun, upbeat
Volunteer (Employé actuel) –  Waterloo, ON30 octobre 2018
resident centered care. an absolute fabulous place to work. iv had a lot of fun workimng there i highly recommend them, even though i was just a volunteer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 8Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No thanks !
NCP or Cert.PSW (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton3 octobre 2018
Wasn't able to retrieve pay stubs, wasn't shown by staff I shadowed how to use POC. Upper management doesn't seem too concerned for staff issues, will address resident issues regarding staff (that's awesome), but they will stifle on addressing staff issues,. I reported something extremely serious , and I was not called to make an report about it, it was an issue around discriminatory, racist remark by a fellow co-worker more than one time . There wasn't a call back, no follow up . I was disgusted. I was paid a fraction of what other retirement homes make . Retirement does pay much less than LTC. I was not introduced to the union , or who my stewards were, no copy of the collective agreement was given to me .
Profit over people
Points positifs
Food prices for staff
Points négatifs
Chasing management for answers to questions, not addressing issues within staff team, was not given any information about union, who stewards were, most employers will introduce the union, blatant favoritism from upper management, ñ
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Schlegel Villages. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,2
D'après 182 avis
599
447
318
24
114

Notes par catégorie

3,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
4,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
4,1Direction
4,2Culture d'entreprise