Schlegel Villages - Avis

Trouvé 57 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 178 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Kitchen is understaffed and poorly run
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON16 mai 2019
As a cook the work load is beyond the hours scheduled. I witnessed many kitchen staff working on their own time just to get the work done. There are only 4 cooks on the retirement side to make breakfast lunch and dinner, 7 days a week!! Corners are cut because they have to be. ONE person is responsible for cooking food for hundreds of people AND serving it, washing all the dishes, temperature records, special diet preparations, daily food sample bags for health inspector, daily a la crate menus and sometimes catering added on top....in 8 hours. Good luck getting a break. And they don’t pay over time. But if you love being called at 3AM to cover the morning shift (because remember, there are only 4 of you!) then this is the job for you!
Points positifs
Won’t need a gym membership because you’ll run every day here
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
easy
Data Entry Operator (Ancien employé) –  Waterloo, ON25 mars 2019
I worked as a data entry operator when they were switching over to a new system. thee training was simple and effective and other workers were able to help when I had questions. great pay,
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Family-like work space
Personal Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Burlington, ON7 mars 2019
When you work for schlegel, you become part of the family because everyone is working as a team. It was a great place to spend everyday. Except they never had enough PSWs to meet ratios. In my opinion PSWs were used the wrong way. They were used as nursing staff, dietary, laundry, and housekeeping.
Points négatifs
they do not staff enough PSWs to meet ratios
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Frankly disgusted
Rpn (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON28 février 2019
Management is ridiculous. They only care about the RNs. They expect you to work like a dog and thank them for it. On days off you're called, you're even called when you're already there. The entire scheduling team is a joke. They can never get anyones hours right. Bullying is a constant from upper management ( especially RN to RPN). They dont care to understand situations they just want them dealt with. They dont care if you've never had an orientation day on a floor they just want the shift covered. They basically care about nothing but themselves. NCs do absolutely nothing, it's like their job is to sit there and talk but have no action. The older RNs are great but the others dont seem to know how to be professional. It's like this place works backwards.. they like to talk all about working together and teamwork but they themselves dont know what that is. They make you feel terrible about not taking shifts even when theres no way you could ( like if you're already there...) it's so stressful. They CONSTANTLY guilt trip people to try to get them to do doubles which is very awkward. They dont bother checking to see if the person is working till 10 and has a 6 am the next day.. they only care to fill gaps so RNs dont have to work. All I've seen most of the younger RNs do is walk around and talk.. some of the older ones are more responsible but for the most part they dont seem to do much either way. I think that this establishment should stop thinking so highly of NCs and RNs who basically do nothing.. and start appreciating the people who do the most work like the RPNs,  plus... PSWs, Rec, ect, the people who actually interact with the residents in the village.. who, if they werent there.. you wouldnt have a workplace.  moins
Points positifs
Some ( the older RNs) are awesome and amazing women
Points négatifs
Basically everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Personal Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Windsor, ON31 janvier 2019
Very nice place to work, fun, supportive management. Very clean and professional workplace. Great recreation team and the residents are always happy. Look forward to the future here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Meaningful work in a fun environment
Administrative Support (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON21 janvier 2019
When working at Schlegel Villages you work in a Retirement or Long-Term Care Community. This work is very meaningful and people focused no matter what position you are in. I enjoy working with a large variety of professionals from food service aides, cooks, chefs, nurses, psw's, physiotherapists, doctors, recreation, housekeepers, and many more. Everyone works together to provide the best life experience for residents who live in the community (Village). I find that it has a positive work culture similar to what you would see in a small town. People are generally friendly, smile and say hi to visitors and family members. I have worked for Schlegel Villages for many years and would not have stayed as long as I have if I did not enjoy it or find it meaningful. For those that are looking for a working environment where they are truly helping others on a daily basis and enjoy working with people this is probably the place for you.
Points positifs
Nice building environment inside and out, annual staff appreciation party, leading change in seniors living
Points négatifs
Can be longer hours based on resident needs.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Awful.
Personal Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON14 janvier 2019
I was a PSW at The Village and my experience was horrible. Administration was aggressive and unhelpful. I was a night shift PSW and my 'coordinator' would call me at 9am and leave voicemails demanding I call her back that day during business hours despite me having worked the night before so obviously I am sleeping. It was extremely disrespectful and disappointing. Like most LTC homes Schlegal is experiencing a shortage of PSWs. I was regularly working ALONE on a secured Alzheimer's/Dementia neighbourhood which was dangerous for myself and the neighbours. Despite being short they would not call for overtime, they would just have someone float over for 20 minutes to help with doubles during care twice a night and the rest of the time I was completely alone. There were many instances where neighbours could have been seriously injured by falls simply because I could not get to them in time and they were not cognitively able to keep themselves safe. A ratio of 1 PSW to 30+ elderly people with Alzheimers/Dementia is NEVER ok. My neighbours were wonderful and I miss them every day but the burn out, break downs and physical pain from working alone in those conditions is NOT worth the job. Not to mention the pay is low. They will drill into your head that you are "lucky" to work at such a nice place but it just isnt true. Its all an act.
Points positifs
The neighbours are wonderful and I loved them all
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 30NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very negative work environment
Neighborhood Care Partner (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON15 décembre 2018
In theory this was supposed to be the best place for both residents and employees. However, it's a very negative place for both. I would never put a family member there nor would I ever work for them again. There is zero support from management . In fact management has their favorites. They don't take care of their staff unless you're someone whose willing to be used 16 hours a day 7 days a week and be belittled by staff who act superior. They pay 1 dollar above minimum wage and nights are not at a premium. They have a no lift policy which is not true. The management laughs and says if they don't see it happen then it's ok. Lift a 300 lb. person every day 4 times a day every day and you'll be needing a wheel chair in your 40s. It's not worth your health and not worth the hassle. The residents are amazing with the exception of a few who believe they own you. There is not enough staff to give the care that is required. Residents go without the care they require because of overworked staff who are underpaid and not supported by management. Go somewhere else.
Points positifs
The residents
Points négatifs
Management, oppressive, and abusive environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Best in LTC
Psw (Employé actuel) –  Waterloo, ON10 décembre 2018
As far as LTC goes, Schlegel is by far the best. Unfortunately they don’t pay their staff enough and getting a day off is like pulling teeth. Big burnout rates and many neighbourhoods don’t feel supported, but compared to where I’ve worked before they are definitely on the right track.
Points positifs
Residents Recieve great quality of life
Points négatifs
Pay, inability to get days off
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 4Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's emotionally demanding with a heavy workload
Rpn (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON27 novembre 2018
1 RPN and 4 PSW to 32 residents per floor
8hr shifts, consistent shift of either morning, evening or night (unless asked to pick up shifts or do a double)
May get pulled to work on a floor you were not trained on. They just want all positions occupied regardless of how prepared or how the you feel.
Burned out nurses giving away lots of shifts.
Drama and gossip on all levels. PSWs on your floor not getting along. Bullying new employees/agency.
Management shows appreciation but it doesn't always bring up the morale of the person or team. There is lack of respect and empathy and privacy. Ineffective conflict resolution.
Hard to balance work and life when they constantly call on your day off to pick up shifts and guilt trip you.
It is difficult to ask for vacation or days off.
It is hard to call in sick without being judged, nurses should know best if/when they are sick.
Not much job security as they can fire you for whatever reason regardless of having a union.
Job Advancement: specialize (wound nurse, personal expressions, rai/qi etc.) Or work in management
No pay raise after 3 years

BUT when it comes to the resident/patient, the interdisciplinary team works their hardest together to meet their needs and expectations and takes pride in their work. The resident always comes first in a home-like environment set up as a village. This culture is changing the way people think and feel about nursing homes.
Points positifs
good interdisiplinary team, culture
Points négatifs
Drama, workload vs pay, workplace politics, bullying
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very supportive staff and great atmosphere!
Personal Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON14 novembre 2018
Residents are content, happy, wish they could have more one on one time which is hard for us to find. Staff has good communication to keep everyone on board with any illnesses, or extra care needed. Great place to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 8Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive with very little to do
Entertainment Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON4 novembre 2018
A typical day at work for me at Schlegel Villages is to regularly check the recreational schedules for the residents who lived there and as well, constantly update the calendars each week. What I learned from this job was to be patient. Overall management was very organized, attendance and punctuality was highly regarded as well. One thing I liked about working in Schlegel Villages was how interactive is was; most the time, you are on your feet and you talk to the people around you, it was very engaging. The hardest part of the job was that there were times where it got a little boring since most of the residence were inactive and I consider myself a very enthusiastic individual, so that was one difficulty I had there. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning the trends that the residence used to have back in the day; I was exposed to many songs and movies that were popular during their time and I found that very amusing.
Points positifs
Work at your own pace
Points négatifs
Very quiet
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Windsor
RPN (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON3 novembre 2018
Worked as a RPN and its horrible the registered staff are worked like slaves, so much work you dont get any breaks. They have PSWs as management and tell you were all equal but they treat the RPNs as the under dogs the pay sucks for all the work expected, they do not help you but say if you have a problem they pair you with someone that is supposed to help you .l never met the person nor did they even try to reach out to me even after i emailed the company after they made me
Fill out a evaluation on how my supposedly care counselor was assisting me....or whatever they call them as i never got help or assistance from anyone. Some Psws are rude and lie on you and management believes them ,so they give you a hard time...l hated the place. Unprofessional as the management walk around bragging how much they partied and how drunk they got with swearing language in front of the neighbors.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Extra long hours not paid
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible place to work
Psw (Employé actuel) –  Barrie, ON1 novembre 2018
Stay far away from the barrie location. Horrible management who dont care about the staff and the residents. You are always short staffed. The equipment is ancient and the staff do not clean properly. You get worked to the bone and hardly get enough income.
Points positifs
Nice residents
Points négatifs
Long hrs, sort staffed, terrible management, very old dirty building
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun, upbeat
Volunteer (Employé actuel) –  Waterloo, ON30 octobre 2018
resident centered care. an absolute fabulous place to work. iv had a lot of fun workimng there i highly recommend them, even though i was just a volunteer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 7Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No thanks !
NCP or Cert.PSW (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton3 octobre 2018
Wasn't able to retrieve pay stubs, wasn't shown by staff I shadowed how to use POC. Upper management doesn't seem too concerned for staff issues, will address resident issues regarding staff (that's awesome), but they will stifle on addressing staff issues,. I reported something extremely serious , and I was not called to make an report about it, it was an issue around discriminatory, racist remark by a fellow co-worker more than one time . There wasn't a call back, no follow up . I was disgusted. I was paid a fraction of what other retirement homes make . Retirement does pay much less than LTC. I was not introduced to the union , or who my stewards were, no copy of the collective agreement was given to me .
Profit over people
Points positifs
Food prices for staff
Points négatifs
Chasing management for answers to questions, not addressing issues within staff team, was not given any information about union, who stewards were, most employers will introduce the union, blatant favoritism from upper management, ñ
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to build relationships
Neighborhood Care Partner (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON30 juillet 2018
Working with elderly changes your life. You see and view things in a different perspective. You become close to those you work with, and build relationships with all of your residents.
Come to work here with a big heart, open it up to those around you. And build your love for others. Kindness, caring, motivated people work here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 9Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
super nice staff and amazing residents
Recreation Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON11 juillet 2018
I loved getting to volunteer there and talk to residents everyday, met some really awesome people. I always felt super welcome, always had something to do if it was just sitting and talking to some residents or having a coffee with one or running activities for them.
Points positifs
meet some amazing people
Points négatifs
only volunterring
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work, with quality management.
Staff Nurse (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON3 juillet 2018
Each RPN works on unit with 30 patients
Management works with employees and provides appropriate feedback
Colleagues work well together
Work load is high
Points positifs
Staff work well together
Points négatifs
High Work Load
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 13Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Team members are very helpful in all aspects
Dietary Aide (Employé actuel) –  Windsor, ON27 mai 2018
The most enjoyable part of my job is the interaction with the neighbours. Meal service is a limited period of time so I will try to interact with as many as possible and the ones I don't see that day, I will make sure to follow up the next time i have an opportunity.
Points positifs
job security
Points négatifs
not enough turnover for full time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 4Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Schlegel Villages. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,2
D'après 178 avis
597
447
318
23
113

Notes par catégorie

3,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
4,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
4,1Direction
4,3Culture d'entreprise