Rev.com - Avis

Trouvé 63 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 717 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run away
Transcriptionist (Ancien employé) –  Home Based21 septembre 2019
$0.30-0.50 to start per audio minute. $O.40-$1.00 (barely audible audio) if you get a metric of 4.5 or higher. When you first start, your metric average is decided by the number of jobs you do so if you score anything less than 5/5, their automatic marking system will close your account. Most of the audio you can not understand or hear due to background noise, multiple speakers, or thick accents.
Points positifs
You set your own hours, choose which horrible audio you want to stressfully transcribe
Points négatifs
Everything else - Pay, audio quality, Non-existent QC process.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
it's a scam they took my money!!!!
transcriber (Ancien employé) –  Home Based13 septembre 2019
they company had my paypal number in order to pay me, i woke up today with them having charged my card with 50 USD on two occasions and they closed my account. This is a scam!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great teams
Customer Service (Employé actuel) –  Remote31 août 2019
Great company to work with, positive work culture, lots of guidance on improving, which are also helpful in every day life. Fast paced and never a full moment. Flexible hours
Points positifs
Remote, flexible, lots of training
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 13Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's a great retirement supplement
Transcriptionist (Employé actuel) –  Home Based28 août 2019
I have been working at Rev for almost a year. I am Canadian. I make about $200 US per week, which equates to around $250 Canadian. I think that's really good money, for not having to leave the house. I pick the hours I want. I pick the files I want, and am able to transcribe about 100 audio minutes a day.

You do have to be picky with files. Once you get you feet under you, it's no problem to find files with a 2:1 ratio, that is, takes 2 minutes to type every 1 minute of audio. This is normal in transcription, as the average person speaks at 140 wpm and nobody types that fast. Some of the files are terrible. But you can ignore these and just type the clear ones.

Many of the files are very interesting.

Grading is sometimes inconsistent, but if you feel your grade is unfair, you can appeal to support. I have done this twice, and both times, have had my grade restored. So, in my opinion, the system works. Graders are only human, after all, and make mistakes.

There is a forum, where fellow transcribers can help you with questions, or if you are stuck. Most of these people are lovely and helpful. Warning: There are a few horrible trolls who shoot down every question, just ignore them, and don't hang out on the forum unless you need help.

The only "extra" equipment I have is a gaming headset, which I stole from my kid. These run from $60 to $100 Canadian. You really need a headset to hear properly, that's a must, but worth the investment.

You can advance in this company. Since I started, I've twice been offered the opportunity to become a grader (I haven't
  plus... taken this opportunity yet, maybe eventually). I've twice been offered the opportunity to work for Support, at $12 U.S. an hour. That requires "regular" hours, so I probably won't do that.

Rev pays via PayPal every single Monday. They never miss. It's handy to have weekly pay.

Finally, you are in independent contractor. No tax is taken off at source. You have to file takes as an independent business. This is not that hard to do, just use a good tax software that asks you all the right questions, and fill in the boxes. You do need to keep track of earnings and expenses.

Overall, I would encourage anyone who can find a place for $200 US a week to give this a go. You do need to give yourself a few months to find your feet - you need to memorize and follow their style guide, learn to choose good jobs, etc., but you will soon get into the groove.
  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 43Non 7Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Waste of time and effort.
Transcriptionist (Ancien employé) –  Canada24 août 2019
This company lacks enough support for its transcriptionist. Yes you get to work from the comfort of your own home but that's the only advantage. Pay is super low, unless you work fast and accurately. You don't get paid if you don't complete the whole file to be transcripted and most files have really low quality audio. Their tutorials and style guides lack detail and transcription support is essentially non-existent. Avoid this company at all cost.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18Non 5Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run away as fast as you can
captioner (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON21 août 2019
This company took your time, primarily on the insane test that they submit to you
Then, I supposed (because I never had enough patient to finish the test) it will suck your time for nothing.

Companies like this should be banned
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 27Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
In this company's eyes you're a disposable drone with minimal pay.
Revver - audio transcription (Ancien employé) –  Home15 août 2019
The pay is unbelievably bad, even based on the terrible standards of America's minimum wage, you get payed less than that. The only way to get close to minimum wage is to rush through a job. Of course the next issue is that if you rush through a job they give you a bad grade, if your grades aren't good enough they can kick you off the site, or significantly reduce the amount of jobs you can do. You might think, "Hey, I can just get better at the job and I'll do it fast enough to get a good pay." Sorry to burst your bubble, but the transcription jobs that they offer are mostly of horrid quality; which means you either can't transcribe well and get a bad grade, take your time and get payed 50 cents an hour, or abandon the job and try to find another one.

And that brings us to the next issue, they give you an option to cancel a job within 1 hour if you can't complete it. But guess what, you don't get payed for any of that time. You also don't get payed for any of the time you have to spend trying to find an audio file that is intelligible. They also make a suggestion for if you're having trouble with hearing something in an audio file, use the forums! But, hmm, let's think about this, would they pay you for this, no, they wont, obviously, because they're a scam. They're also scamming everyone on that forum, because there are a lot of people that try to help out other's with their audio problems, but they don't get payed for it. So hours upon hours of unpaid support, sounds like a scam yet?

This site needs serious regulation, they are abusing workers to unbelievable levels,
  plus... getting so much free work it would make slave owners embarrassed. They easily pay most of their workers less than it would cost to have a roof over your head and to feed yourself. Either new laws need to be made, or if existing ones are there than this site needs to be looked into.  moins
Points positifs
Pick your hours (sort of, 90% when you want to work you can't find an intelligible audio file)
Points négatifs
Litterally everything else, pay, management, job security, etc.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Everything you need to know
X-Ray Technologist (Ancien employé) –  Xena, SK14 août 2019
As a "freelancer," you are sub-contracted by Rev, which means that you are not an employee. You are not protected by local state or provincial labour laws, such as the right to be paid a fair wage (minimum wage), and you can be terminated at any time for any reason without any explanation or compensation.

Rev pays their "freelancers" between 36 and 65 cents per "audio minute." That is not a minute of your time, it is the length of time that it takes you to accurately transcribe 1 minute of audio. These are two very different things.

Full-time, professional transcribers who work with transcription software and foot pedals can transcribe 1 minute of audio in approximately 3 to 5 minutes.

Even if you were being paid the maximum rate advertised (65 cents per audio minute), and you are able to consistently transcribe 1 minute of audio in 5 minutes with 100% accuracy, which would be extremely impressive, this would give you a 5:1 ratio.

Let's do the math:

1 hour = 60 minutes

Solve for x:
5:1 = 60:x
x = 60/5
x = 12
5:1 = 60:12
12 X $0.65 = $7.80

Therefore, in 1 hour, with your very impressive transcription skills, professional software and equipment, you would be able to transcribe 12 minutes of audio and would be paid $7.80.

The minimum wage in the state of California, which also happens to be where this start-up company is based, is $12/hr.

Now where this gets really interesting is when you calculate the number of hours that it would take to earn the $1495 per month that "top earners" allegedly make.

$1495 / $7.80 = 191.67 hours (per month)
191.67
  plus... hours / 30 days = 6.39 hours per day (average)

So even if you were a professional transcriptionist, using professional grade software and tools (such as the foot pedal), and you were getting paid the highest possible rate, you would have to work an average of 6.39 hours per day, every single day of the month, in order to earn the amount advertised.

Most of us are not professional transcriptionists; however, and for those with little to no experience, it is not hard to fathom that it might take much longer than 5 minutes to transcribe 1 audio minute. Let's say it takes the average person 10 minutes, instead of 5. Now you are being paid at a rate of $3.90/hr. To earn $1495 per month, you would have to work 12.78 hours per day, 7 days per week.

Does Rev sound like an ethical company to you?
  moins
Points positifs
None.
Points négatifs
The only con is the person who is trying to convince you that this is a legitimate job opportunity.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 38Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Freelance slave labour
Video Captioner (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB10 août 2019
The freelance nature of the jobs does admittedly allow for lots of flexibility, and an opportunity for this to be a second income on top of another job. However, the wages are almost criminally low and the work is harder than it seems. There were very few videos to choose from, and the good ones were taken quite fast. Almost all of the ones that were left either had unreadable audio quality, weren't in english, or were so short that the money really wasn't worth the time. For me, each captioned minute of video took about 3 to 6 minutes of real time to complete, and I'm not any slower that average. On top of that, in my experience, each minute of video captioned paid about 30 cents Canadian. That means that working at my top speed, I could make at most 5 to 6 bucks an hour. That's criminal. Also, you are graded for each video by I assume a real person, but the people grading are such grammar perfectionists that it only took me a day to recieve my first "major violation" for a grammar error which, in the big picture, didn't affect the readability at all. Although it may seem enticing, steer clear. Until wages increase above illegally low levels, it's not worth your time or effort.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 86Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great as a side job!
Freelance Transcriptionist (Employé actuel) –  Arnold's Cove, NL31 juillet 2019
If you’re willing to put in lots of time, you can advance and do well with this company. I lived off it for a year but found after awhile when I needed a “day off” I couldn’t take one simply because I’d have to work everyday to get by with the wages. The work is fun if you can find a good quality audio file, and rewarding if you do well and get a good grade. I eventually had to bite the bullet and get a “real” job... doing this on the side
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 25NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Basically a Scam
Transcriptionist (Ancien employé) –  Home Based29 juillet 2019
You will make next to no money and put in a lot of hours in to get it. It is unlikely that you will ever "promote" to a higher pay grade. They basically get people to sign up, give them a few jobs at the lowest possible pay, and then toss them.
Points positifs
It's nice to work from home!
Points négatifs
It's not nice to put time into something for nothing.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 41Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work from Home
Audio Transcriptionist (Employé actuel) –  Lethbridge, AB15 juillet 2019
Transcription for TV. Commercials, Medical & Legal services. Training is good; except for poor audio quality. Training audios are very hard to understand.
Points positifs
Work on your own schedule
Points négatifs
Pay is little for amount of time needed to complete work projects
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 27Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Online company where you can work from home.
Online Transcriber (Employé actuel) –  Work from Home6 juillet 2019
Rev is a very good job to have as a free lance job. However, for a regular income it is not dependable. I use Rev to give myself pocket money, but the effort going into online transcribing is a lot and unfortunately the money received from hours of hunching over a keyboard and back pain is simply not enough. You get to choose your own hours and the practice of online transcribing increases listening skills. As a main source of income, Rev isn't the best, however, if you're looking for a side gig for pocket money I would say Rev is perfect for that.
Points positifs
Make your own hours, increases listening skills
Points négatifs
Pay does not equal effort.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Interesting, varied, and accessible work with little-to-no pay.
Freelance Transcriptionist/Editor (Ancien employé) –  Canada27 juin 2019
I LOVED working at Rev, and would routinely put in 10-12 hours a day processing different jobs, but the pay is absolutely terrible. For a 12-hour day of typing at 110 WPM, I'd get sometimes $40-$50 CAD on good days, and sometimes as low as $20-$30 CAD. I was promoted pretty quickly, and the jobs were always interesting, if you're good at picking the decent quality ones. But it hasn't been worth the effort.
Points positifs
Work from home, easy to learn
Points négatifs
LONG, LONG hours for little money.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 29Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work your on schedule, but get graded unfairly
Transcriber (Ancien employé) –  Home19 juin 2019
You have to keep a certain score in order to continue working with them. If you fall below that, you are given a warning and are told you have 120 days to improve your rating. My account was closed after 2 weeks. I found that they don't grade fairly. I had done jobs where they scored me a 3/5, however the customer who sends in the audio have given me 5/5 grade. If your grading falls below 4.5, it isn't good enough, they expect a higher grade.

They are a legit company, they do offer quite a few jobs, and they pay you on time. You can choose what days you work, whatever time of day. It's all your choice. They pay ranges from 0.30 to 0.50 per audio minute. The most I made was roughly $100/week. And that is only working 3 days a week. A lot of the audio is very hard to hear, or understand.

I don't really know if I would recommend this job to others. I found it to be an awesome job, until my ratings started falling for no reason, and they don't follow their 120 day improvement policy. They cancel without warning, I woke up to an email stating that my account had been deactivated.
Points positifs
Work when you want, decent pay, lots of jobs
Points négatifs
bad audio, they don't follow their own policies
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 74Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Waste of time!
Former applicant (Ancien employé) –  Canada7 juin 2019
The testing to apply for this job is crazy! they expect you to be perfect and their material lacks clarity. After spending almost an hour on this test they respond to you with lots of flaws you had in your attempt. This company seems to be run by a bunch of kids playing to be perfectionists.
Points positifs
Flexible schedule
Points négatifs
Unrealistic promises
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 28Non 7Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
not the best
Transcriptionist (Ancien employé) –  toronto on30 mai 2019
Horrible audio quality, depending on who is grading, different things told. also even if you reach their graduation level they delay grading assignments and you are automatically placed on a 3 month warning...the little you are paid is not worth the stress
Points positifs
work from home
Points négatifs
too many to mention
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 44Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Proceed with Caution
Freelance Transcriptionist (Ancien employé) –  Alberta30 mai 2019
I joined up with Rev to make a little side money, and when I break down the hours spent for the money earned it turned out to be a LITTLE side money and lasted less than a week.

I was signed up and typing my "testing" jobs within 15 minutes. Initially all my work was graded as 5/5 for accuracy and formatting and got the email that I was going from Rookie to Revver early, and if I maintained a certain target I could make 25% more than other Revvers.

Then it came, my first less than perfect review, a 4 for accuracy and a 5 on formatting. Okay. I keep going and then get one okay review, 3 on accuracy and 4 on formatting. Next thing I know I get a warning that if I fall any lower my account will be shut down. I'm expected to maintain a 4.5 average for both for the next 120 DAYS.

So after a couple more 5/5 reviews I'm JUST about to hit submit on a project when an error pops up that I've been timed out of my account. When I try to sign back in to finish I can't. Sure enough there is the email saying thanks but no thanks. 15 projects / 116 minutes of audio or 30 hours real time, goodbye!

So two bad reviews (below metric) was enough to drag my metrics completely down to account closure. The reason this company fails, and likely you will too, is the grading. One person who grades will correct your research (they said the name of the law firm was Atlantic, when I found the actual firm's website and it wasn't) but STILL give you a 5/5 rating.

The next person will tell you to correct all the "can't" to "can not", etc, and grades you 4. Then two projects later
  plus... the grader tells you NOT to adjust a person's speech and leave can't as can't, after you've set up quick keys to extend all of those to speed up your typing speed.

You pick up a project that 12 others have refused because the audio quality is SO HORRIBLE, slag through the 25+ minutes of bad audio because it's actually an interesting topic and then have 5 graders turn down the grading because of the poor audio. To walk away with a 3 grading. It's absurd.

My typing speed was irrelevant in this arena, so was my background with transcription, which I do on the side on different projects but has slowed down at the moment . Unless you have professional audio equipment, good luck! Some of these sound like an interview conducted with the iPhone in the purse at Grand Central Station (or worse a drag racecar track).

Why is there so many 'unclaims' on projects? Poor audio and the gambling effect. The company recommends previewing various sections of the audio before 'claiming' a project, but you can't. The first time you jump from three seconds to 30 seconds someone else has already claimed it. So if you think maybe in the first 3 seconds you can hear this one, better click claim or you lose it. The only exception is projects of extreme length 45min+, multiple speakers, or heavy accents. So you preview once you're in the project only to dump it moments later because the audio is so bad.

The site says you can make $1400 a month, and if you review the forums people will share screen shots where they do. Read a little deeper to find out that first, they get first pick an hour before everyone else. They also have professional equipment, ie: foot pedal, audio software, and on top of that they count keystrokes/min. They analyze the work so much it feels more like talking to a bot than a person. If that's your thing, best of luck to you.

I enjoyed the work, but there are just too many things wrong overall that I would caution anyone you likely won't make it, and for the hours spent to make peanuts... well you're better collecting cans.
  moins
Points positifs
Flexible hours, sometimes interesting topics, work from home, can refuse work if needed
Points négatifs
Pathetic pay for work, horrible audio 95% of the time, dismal grading standards, dismal metric scoring
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 87Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard Pass
Transcriptionist (Ancien employé) –  Work from Home29 mai 2019
Their metrics/grading process is deeply flawed. 1 audio minute equals between 2 and 4 actual minutes, so the pay per "minute" is actually really low. They give no credit for progress or improvement and will delete your account at their discretion/without explanation.
Points positifs
No pros
Points négatifs
Low value for effort
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 46NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Digital Slave Labour
Video Captioner (Employé actuel) –  Work from Home21 mai 2019
If you have extra time on your hands and want to make an extra few bucks, and by few bucks I literally mean as few bucks as possible, work for this company (if you pass their tests).

Half of their rules are counter-intuitive, and you get paid on average 5-8$ an hour unless you are a professional typer. They grade incredibly harshly, and work is inconsistent. On top of this, if you want to transcribe you're in luck, because they have hundreds of work jobs available at all times, except the audio quality is garbage, and you can earn as little 0.28$ per minute transcribed.

Pretty much this company takes work from any company, charges the customer practically nothing, and the Rev overlords who got jobs their first take all of the good work and leave the newly recruited workers to transcribe or caption content of people who barely speak English. They change their policies all of the time as well. I've made mistakes that would take around 3 seconds to fix on projects that took hours to complete just for someone to review my work and destroy my metrics because I made a major error. Literally a fascistic company when it comes to their stupid rules, and expect the bottom tier workers to do an immaculate job for no money.

Absolutely disgusting company.
Points positifs
Can take jobs when and how you please
Points négatifs
You paid nothing, graded by unforgiving grammar fascists
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 107Non 5Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Rev.com. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,7
D'après 717 avis
5142
4107
3101
2111
1256

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
1,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,5Direction
2,7Culture d'entreprise