Retirement Concepts - Avis

Trouvé 52 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 85 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
so many good staff have been leaving in last 3 months
Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Comox Valley, BC19 juin 2019
A typical day used to start with a happy greeting from the site leadership team at the beginning of the shifts. Now with all the turnover you are lucky if you are even acknowledged at shift starts. We had a marketing mgr who was filling multiple empty mgr roles that always walked about at shift starts saying good morning/afternoon and have a good shift as staff came in to work. It made you feel that your contribution to the team mattered.

General management and the leadership team has changed at our site more than I can count on two hands in the 10 years I have worked in the kitchen. Some really cared and work hard with the staff on the floor, others just time punched.

The culture swings back and forth from being toxic to not bad to toxic based on who the general manager is. If the GM is never around or in office, gone early and in late the staff pick up on his commitment level to the site and staff. The staff also pick up very quickly when they have a GM who honestly cares or not or just there for a fat paycheck.

Moral is awful. Service with a smile is faked and the residents are feeling it.

The hardest part of the job is faking it to the residents that everything is okay at the site. That we aren't dead tired from being short staffed, that we are short supplies due to ordering mistakes or staff mistakes.

The most enjoyable part is when you can make a resident happy and that they matter even if they are just a number to the company.
Points positifs
Doing something good for seniors
Points négatifs
after 12 years it is a serious struggle trying to find a job after working RC, as no one wants to hire RC staff due to RC reputation
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved it
Recreation Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC5 juin 2019
Good management, friendly staff, I enjoy everything about it!
We have a lot of direction and I everyone is so easy going. I would highly recommend this place to work!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 5Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Applicant Beware
Staff Member (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver Island, BC28 mai 2019
If you are management and are competent - you will have constant scrutiny to find faults in your work by those above you to make them look powerful. If you are a new space holder (hired to fill the position quickly without the experience or training), you are being paid less than the previous person and will do well if you have a thick skin.

If you are union staff and are hard working and fabulous - you will get very little recognition beyond your manager. If you are someone who skates by or is lesser performing - you will have job security due to the union protection and need for care staff.

I worked with a team of staff and managers for several years at the site. During that time I was proud to work there. However in the past 3 years the environment quickly changed for the worst.

What caused the negative changes? Changes in HO management lead. I witnessed a key superior from HO tear into managers with such lack of respect and professionalism. It was done in halls, full site staff meetings, and in public area offices with doors open. Staff genuinely felt bad for what the managers endured.


Staff Turnover??? After the past 4 site visits by this one key superior from HO, 2-3 Managers resigned within weeks of each of the 4 visits. They moved on to other positions, some for even less pay for the purpose of being in professional positive work environment. With site the management turnover, the staff also then leave because new managers don't know what they are doing. Now there are serious staffing issues at so many of the sites and new hires are being trained
  plus... by new hires who don't know what they are doing.

If you have a strong ego, like manipulating scenarios for hidden agendas, don't give much weight to morality and professionalism, you will thrive in this company. If you don't - beware that it is not for the faint of heart and even more so if you are in a supervisory on manager role that gets the HO public wrath.
  moins
Points positifs
lots of OT possibilities
Points négatifs
work environment that just keeps getting worse by the month
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not the greatest place to work
Executive Chef (Ancien employé) –  Maple Ridge, BC27 mai 2019
very stressful working environment, some very inconsiderate employees who were there for themselves only, not the care of the residents. Management was always backing down from confrontation, the mice were chasing the cats!
The hardest thing to do was to be nice and genuine to those who were so full of deceit and bullied the ones that were so genuine and cared about the seniors they were there to serve, I will miss the special ones that always smiled, and the Rec girls that always helped me out.
Points positifs
great Residents and certain staff
Points négatifs
no personal life, back stabing staff, bullying
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Profit-driven business vs. Purpose-driven individuals
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Lower Mainland, BC22 mai 2019
The decision to leave was difficult after witnessing such passion for care of certain group of individuals in the communities who would go over and beyond what was expected of them to ensure safe quality care was delivered to our beloved seniors. These people were truly inspirational! On the other hand, it was dismaying to see that these same group of individuals have been left to be morally injured by folks in power whose priorities seemed to be far different from those at the front lines. The company’s culture was rather more profit-driven, egocentric, and less focused on caring for the people who take actual care of their investments and communities. Yet, there is still hope for a more positive culture change through these determined purpose-driven individuals at site level who continue to go over and beyond ensuring the delivery of safe quality care to our seniors despite the current politics and bureaucracies. Let’s just hope that gods start hearing their prayers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stay Away!
Manager (Ancien employé) –  British Columbia13 mai 2019
This company’s expectations are unrealistic. They expect way to much, making work life balance impossible. Managers are expected to work long hours with no compensation and be on call 24/7. Head office has no idea what happens at site level. They have no clue about the day to day operations at their sites, and nor do they care. They will work you until you burn out, and then move on to their next victim.
Points positifs
Residents
Points négatifs
Pacific Reach Seniors Housing Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ever Changing and Dramatic
Member (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC10 avril 2019
A typical day starts at 60 kms an hr goes nonstop until end of shift Schedule differs depending on the job.

It is rewarding to help the seniors and their families! You quickly learn what compassion is if you don't naturally possess. You will work with some great staff! As in any work place there were also others who it seems work against everything due to their own agendas. It seemed those numbers were climbing,

Management: Site management teams were a mix of over qualified, qualified and underqualified. Same with the uppers in the company. Seemed less qualified were increasing in numbers to fill some of the empty roles to keep payroll finances down.

Workplace culture: It dramatically changed for the worst during the time I was working there. I have heard it has gotten even worse since. You had some who really try hard to make it positive and then you had others who really seemed to thrive to keep angst in place. Again this happens in most companies at some point but this one never turned around in my time.

Hardest part of the job: Knowing when you need to say enough is enough. Many kept hoping things would improve and that we would have a positive impact to make improvements. This was fruitless and was when most staff and management roles in all levels finally left the company. If they didn't leave they became bitter and angry which eventually added more problems before they finally left. Leave when you can't be a positive or you will be a part of the problem.

I am thankful for the opportunity I had but I would not do it again if I had known what I was
  plus... in for.  moins
Points positifs
A few really good managers who actually care
Points négatifs
A few poor managers, disconnected powers at be and a lot of decisions made on assumptions instead of facts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A Challenging Company To Work For
Site Manager (Employé actuel) –  BC6 avril 2019
A position with Retirement Concepts is only a brief stepping stone for management roles. It is very uncommon for any community manager to last more than 3 years. Most average approx. 1.3 years. Historically many middle managers (general managers and regional directors) quickly move on. Most seem to leave due to 'head office' dynamics from very top down.

Learning is there if you want to do on your own time. Very little paid learning.

Growth, Integrity, Service and Trust are the PRSHM corporate values. Advice to any manager at any level - document everything.

Best part of the job - the people we care for. Hardest part of the job, lack of recognition by corporate. Site managers get no support or gratitude. Site staff are recognised to the best of the site managers capabilities and budget.

To be successful, you need to really focus on the residents and shield yourself from the rest to feel positive about your contributions.
Points positifs
Potential for quick ladder climbing due to staff turnover and need!
Points négatifs
Terrible work environment that is taxing mentally and emotionally, moral depleting corporate culture of constant being blamed for following eroneous direction given.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 27NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run away
Anonymous (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB27 mars 2019
One word- MISERY
Units are understaffed, as result residents are neglected. Management is delusional thinking staff can work double shifts with no vacation. Everyone leaves when other job perspectives come up. TOXIC CULTURE.
Points positifs
Pay check
Points négatifs
Too many
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 28NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Review
GM - General Manager (Employé actuel) –  BC25 mars 2019
I am quite happy with my work. I have opportunities to learn about many subjects. The job can be challenging at times, but it is never boring! . ....
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 20Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Operations
Human Resources Advisor (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC25 mars 2019
Great company culture that promotes work life balance, equality, safety and internal employee growth. Fantastic management that have open lines of communication and are always open to listening to their employees.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 17Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management
RD - Directors (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC25 mars 2019
I enjoy working for Retirement Concepts. I am consistently learning new ideas and concepts. My ideas are always heard and often implemented. I work a with a group of great people with common goals and values. I enjoy going into work and feeling valued for my contributions.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 12Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Operations
Human Resources Advisor (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, B.C.25 mars 2019
Seniors housing is a feel-good and fulfilling industry. Our organisational culture reflects accountability, excellence and engagement. Communication flows freely within the team and employees feedback are valued. Residents and employees are our top priority. I feel engaged at work because my personal values are connected with the organisation's.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 13Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Helpful support
PAYSPL - Payroll Specialist (Employé actuel) –  Guildford Office25 mars 2019
Good company to work for nothing to complain about, the employees and senior managers of this company feel real passion about their work. Our manager understands the benefits of a work life balance. She is always available to talk to and open to new, or different, ideas. Performance reviews are done often so you know if there area where you can improve. The job is fast paced, which helps get through the day, but accuracy is essential to enjoy a successful career. Workloads are well shared so you know that everyone in the department is pulling their weight. Great team co-operation everyone supports each other, so very helpful when taking vacation time, knowing that your sites will be well maintained in your absent. It is a great workplace were learning skills are shared with new employees by those more established in their role, a great mentor ship environment. The only disappointing fact is that bonus pay is very minimal.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 13Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Server
Server (Ancien employé) –  Williams Lake, BC27 janvier 2019
The work was always the same, however the management changed hands a few times when i was there over 2 years and it went from great to terrible. They do give benefits but the salary wasn't worth it
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible Company Culture
Operations Officer (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC10 janvier 2019
Everyone is very plastic. Some of the higher ups are so self absorrbed they look down to you as if you are no body.

A lot of shady things being done behind closed doors, alot of conspiring and munipulative tactics. Any form of jealoucy towards anyone felt in the company, thats when they turn there backs on you.

They pretend to be so nice, but be weary. I would not trust anyone working there, especially at the head office location.
Points positifs
nothing
Points négatifs
I left
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A very nice and healthy working environment.
Dining Room Attendant (Employé actuel) –  Qualicum Beach, BC7 janvier 2019
Treat the employees fairly with a decent salary. A very dynamic group of company which open for comments, suggestions and ideas from the employees for the betterment of the company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 13Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Such passion for evidence-informed and holistic care
Director of Care (Employé actuel) –  Maple Ridge, BC28 octobre 2018
It has been 8 weeks since commencing my role at Retirement concepts. I am typically not one to write reviews, however, I have connected with such amazing and passionate leaders and staff within the organization, it makes this review well worth it. To encounter such passion for evidence-informed and holistic care is amazing. Prior to commencing my role within the organization, they acquired their accreditation status, with commendation, which shows their endeavor for excellence.
It has been an amazing experience thus far, forming these amazing relationships with our residents and their families. The staff are super eager to learn and strive to improve the care they provide. In-services are offered regularly to staff to enhance their skills.
There is definitely work to be done to shift the mindset of a few staff members whose values do not align with those of the organization.
Points positifs
Regular employee appreciation events
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 29Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Innovative company on an upward climb
Leadership Team Member (Employé actuel) –  Maple Ridge, BC23 octobre 2018
I've worked for Retirement Concepts for over 2 years and I am very happy with the growth I have seen. There have been many changes but I have seen huge steps forward in regards to all aspects of operations. We successfully completed Accreditation with Commendation which was a huge accomplishment in the Industry. The dedication and teamwork from the top down was amazing to see. I really enjoy my current role and find it very rewarding coming to work each day. We are fortunate that we get to work in the home of our residents. We get to know them and develop relationships with their families. I have a good work/life balance and feel that my employer supports my family life. The most challenging part of the job is snuffing out the negative culture of some staff members. We have many amazing and passionate staff members, but also a few that do not support the company's overall culture and values.
Points positifs
Work/Life Balance
Points négatifs
Turnover of staff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 27Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
stay away
Maintenance Manager (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB20 octobre 2018
• Prepare and complete incoming maintenance requests from residents and staff are dispatched to the maintenance team accordingly.
• Conduct pre-move out inspections to determine the scope of work required on all Suite turnovers.
• Follow up with G.M., D.O.C. and R.N’s after maintenance completion of suite turnover to meet market ready deadlines.
• Perform purchasing, complete accounting responsibilities within recommended Budget guidelines.
• Schedule or perform the required work to be done either in-house or through the utilization of contractors.
• Operational shift duties maintaining recommended mechanical pressures and temperatures as well as performing chemical testing for building system hydronic loops.
• Strong understanding of code, regulation and legislation requirements for heating boilers, emergency generators and
Sprinkler control systems to ensure reliability.
• Responsible for the emergency response plan and strong understanding of the fire panel operations and its end devices, as well as scheduling fire alarm testing; monthly and annually.
• Technical understanding with building automation systems, construction drawings, including IM Care, Honeywell, Siemens integration platforms with strong technical experience with HVAC pneumatic controls, troubleshooting, replacement of isolation valves, zone valves and thermostats.
• Maintained building systems as well as all aspects of the physical asset, while following operating procedures and make recommendations as necessary improvements to building preventative maintenance program.
• Co-ordinated building
  plus... improvement projects involving Renovations, critical equipment repairs and upgrades, lighting upgrades, drywall/painting repairs, mill work, floor repairs and upgrades.
• Implementation and upgrades for ALL I.T. systems, such as PBX phone system, Tunstall devices and DVR camera systems.

horrible experience, they will work you to death.
  moins
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
lots
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 4Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Retirement Concepts. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,1
D'après 85 avis
521
419
314
212
119

Notes par catégorie

3,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,0Direction
3,1Culture d'entreprise