Public Outreach - Avis

Trouvé 132 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 241 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Most supportive team
Donner Service (Ancien employé) –  Berri Uqam15 octobre 2019
By far the most supportive team I have ever had the privilege of working with. They took a lot of time, training and preparing their employees to ensure that we had all the skills and information needed to succeed as fundraisers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fast-paced work environment
Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Kitchener, ON29 septembre 2019
Challenging work place since it's mostly outdoors. Transportation is provided by the co-workers. A typical day would be going door to door and communicating with the community members.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
it was ok
Charity Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON24 août 2019
it was ok and it wasn't bad
long day
nice pay
nice people
unreasonable daily goals
poor management
you're walking all-day
rains a lot
you're always on your feet
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Workplace
Fundraiser (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON23 août 2019
Firstly it's the best place to work.
A lot of supportive people and they help in every possible way.
Fun to work at different locations every time and it's easy and difficult at the same time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent teams, Horrible Sector
Former Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON22 août 2019
The company is a for-profit hired to do non-profit work, which defeats the cause of engaging people in great causes since their bottom line is always making money to maintain their business. Teams are full of excellent and fun people to work with, but team leaders want to pass an image of trustworthiness that is not deserved. Very competitive and a culture of micromanagement is quite irritating as the months go by. the job is quite draining since you are given a structured rap and you have to repeat it constantly to anyone who you stop, a series of concerns that you're taught to systematically handle, which are designed to leave the customer with no exit other than to donate. That is not in tune with the ethics of non-profit work. There's a huge employee turnover rate, and they will not hesitate to send you away in case you don't make the weekly goals, even though there are many of these who are excellent team players, keeping morale high at donation booths
Points positifs
good entry level salary
Points négatifs
no job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and Enjoyable
Trainee Canvasser (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC20 août 2019
A fun place to work, everyone was very enthusiastic, kind and ready to help. This job is really not for everyone though, and can be extremely stressful. I came in with lots of excitement for fundraising, which waned as I continued because I felt it was hard to raise money for some of these charities as I got to know what they do better.
Points positifs
Good pay
Points négatifs
Frustrating hours, messes up sleep schedule
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun
Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON15 août 2019
Only worked here for a month and enjoyed meeting new people. Co workers were extremely friendly and welcoming. Worst part of the job was traveling to different locations and hard time adjusting.
Points positifs
Easy going staff
Points négatifs
travel
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Numbers Game
Public Outreach Team Leader and Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC14 août 2019
Get ready to be treated like a number. You could work there for 10 years and still be on the chopping block. Burnt out only after six months with no where to advance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fundraising Manager
Fundraising Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON13 août 2019
Amazing place to work. The work is hard and can be mentally and phisically demanding! The culture is the best of the best and they pay a great wage! 5 Stars when Ilook abck!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Environnement peu stimulant
Collecteur de fonds (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC6 août 2019
Il était annoncé que le salaire serait de 16$/heure jusqu'à ce que je sois ''engagé'' et qu'on me dise qu'il y a une période d'évaluation d'abord et qu'elle est payée 13$/heure.
Travail peu stimulant et fatiguant puisque debout pendant de longues heures à essayer de faire signer des personnes en vain.
Pour mon dernier jour, un des chefs du shift a mis fin à mon évaluation en plein milieu du shift.
Points négatifs
Tout
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun temporary place- no stability or advancement
Phone Interviewer (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON4 août 2019
You walk in and hope for a computer to work on ( where the headset actually works) and then proceed to call people who you hope would donate. However, if you don't get donations- within a couple of weeks you're out of a job. Not any donations either, they HAVE to be monthly donations and if they're one- time donations, you need to get on indeed ASAP. Friendly staff and overall environment. However, don't be surprised if you're job hunting within a month of getting hired. Most employees are new for that very reason. Also, incredibly odd to be given conversations to "improve" your tactics in order to be able to get donation, when really it's up to people and their financial ability or interest to do so. Can be mentally/emotionally draining due to the nature of the topics you'd discuss.

Also, expect to get fired either on the day of your last shift out of the blue, or over the phone the day before your shift (my experience)- This is how most employees leave the place- nothing personal but be careful and look for work while you're still there!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I was happy to leave
fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC30 juillet 2019
Firts, i've been told three different things on how the work hours would be organized. I would probably not have been further in the hiring process if I had known the true from their first contact with me. But it's not the worst aspect of the job.

The branch was desribing itself by using the image of the "family", which usually means it's not a healthy work environnment. The communication wasn't open at all and they don't really listen to you to understand the real issues and let you improving yourself (the job was obviously not for me, thought). The manager was constantly evaluating me on any action or word I would say, so it was a weird athmosphere.
Even when they wanted to let me go (and I wanted to leave of course), they just began the hiring process in the room next our open space and removed my name from the planning.

Also, the schedule doesn't give you a lot of personnal time. The salary is above the minimum wage, but you can't work full time cause the target would be too high.
The last day, I couldn't stand being in this room anymore.

It's good that it ws a small team and we could be dressed casually.
Points positifs
Casual clothing, small team
Points négatifs
Work schledule, organizational communication, management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON15 juillet 2019
I rather work at CNE HOUSEKEEPING than this job. Don't take this job!!! it was bad when i got the job and training. I never had a worst job like I worked in fast food. I would crying and im crying rn as i write this.
Points positifs
nothing
Points négatifs
everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It is fun until the "the honey moon phase" is over
Door-to-door Canvasser (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON11 juillet 2019
When I started at PO I had a great time and I had a great team to work with early on that was very supportive and motivating of each other. There are plenty of hard days but because of the support of the team that became my friends it was all made easier and your day is only made easier by the work and dedication of the team with your with. The more supportive they are, the better your shift will be.

However management is very watchful and if you do not maintain good numbers you're given a few chances until they let you go. However when they decide to do this is always at the worst times it seems, and does not help to motivate people positively at work at all on top of the bad treatment you will receive daily from people at the door. It is the support of the team that gets you through.

However PO has a very high turnover rate because of this so people are constantly getting hired and getting fired. Most just leave before they are fired though. After the summer my entire team left whom all became my friends and I lost the support I had at work. Adjusting to a new team gets very hard and I find that many take this job far too seriously to become overly competitive and are biased with how they treat a new person to the team if you are not already a part of it. Door-to-door was very hard and once it gets to be about 8:00 people may start yelling at you that it is too late at night and you many feel bad. It is up to you to may your own way back home from a neighborhood you're in and it can be very unsafe.

I went on for as long as I could but it is very hard work. This review
  plus... is meant to help show the gritty reality of what it is actually like to work at PO. It can be a lot of fun if this is your thing and you're fully committed, but if you care about how other people think about you or how you feel in general in relation to others, then it is going to be very hard for you. I will say that.

If you apply for this job then I sincerely hope you have a better time then I did toward the end.
  moins
Points positifs
You will learn some valuable skills in customer service, arguments, persuasion, self-analysis/reflection, and if you're lucky you will have a really good team to help support you
Points négatifs
Poor treatment from management if not performing well, the feeling of alienation form people at the door, unsafe conditions at times, and unrealistic goals
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company for young people
Canvasser (Ancien employé) –  Montreal8 juillet 2019
Great company to work for. They focus on promoting from within instead of hiring from outside. Good work culture. Friendly atmosphere.
Points positifs
informal work culture
Points négatifs
informal work culture!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing co-workers, unsafe though
Street Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON7 juillet 2019
I was trained by two different people and they were a joy to be around. They showed me how to have fun while working, the training period was easy and somehow not stressful.

Every morning we would meet up at the office and we'd all get put in a positive headspace which was great. I loved that part of my shift, everyone was so positive.

After I passed training I got put onto a street team, was pretty excited. My co-workers were pretty awesome people and I was comfortable working with them or alone at first. I repetitively got harassed yet still worked alone at times. At first I didn't care until I got so badly harassed I was left in tears and I didn't feel safe working alone anymore. I was told from then on I'd be working with a male co-worker to help reduce the harassment. After one shift I was back to working alone, I felt extremely uncomfortable and it impacted my performance. I felt like I had to choose between my mental health and safety or job.

I'm grateful for all the experience and lessons that Public Outreach taught me otherwise.
Points positifs
Kind co-workers
Points négatifs
Safety or lack there of
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Open, welcoming and supportive workplace
Fundraiser in Training (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, Alberta17 juin 2019
The hours at Public outreach were very reasonable, starting at 9 and ending at 5 for the "street Team", who are responsible for attracting passers-by to donate to charitable causes. The charity for whom the company raises funds is not constant, changing every month or two. The management at the Calgary branch are very understanding and very interested in helping every employee be successful at their job. A typical day starts with an hour briefing, after which the employees deploy to their locations and begin soliciting funds, with a lunch break around mid-day. Weather-appropriate gear is recommended.

The best part of the job is knowing that you are doing good work to help vulnerable people, and the worst part is when you get people who want to have a political debate about whether they should help children across the world, or whether the government should be helping veterans in Canada. Especially when they clearly have no intention of doing either of those things themselves.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good work environment but extremely poor management
Recruiter (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON3 juin 2019
There is an amazing work environment with weekly team nights and amazing people at entry level.

Once you learn the higher workings of the company and management, it gets a bit sketchy. Acting managing director does not believe in transparency with management. This causes management to not have a proper idea of expectations and direction. People are let go without good cause just because a senior manager may not like them. Extremely oblivious favoritism. People not suitable for leadership are put in management roles because they know someone.

Pay is barely comparable to competitors in fundraising.
Points positifs
Great teams with some of the best friends I've ever made
Points négatifs
Poor management, low pay, favoritism towards promotion, no direction from director, almost a cult environment, absent ceo
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad job security
Intern (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON25 mars 2019
Bad job security and office culture. they can and will fire you anytime they want. unsafe work environment with the hostile homeless ppl interactions.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not for the Faint of Heart, Impatient, or People who Want Job Security
Fundraiser (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON23 mars 2019
Warning- this review will be lengthy.

I worked for Public Outreach's Ottawa branch from the beginning of September 2018 to mid-October 2018. I worked as a door-to-door fundraiser. Shifts are from 4-9pm on weekdays and 1-6pm on weekends, generally. You are expected to work 15 hours a week minimum.

A typical day at work involves commuting to a location in the city (decided the day of the shift) in time for the shift's start. There is a debrief by the supervisor at the beginning of the shift which takes around 30 minutes. This involves going over the group's statistics, identifying where everyone will work, and sometimes practicing your scripts. Then, you spend the remainder of the shift knocking on doors to persuade people to sign up for monthly payments towards a specific charity (depends on which charity PO is working for at the time). Transportation to and from the "turf" sites are not typically provided and it's up to you to arrange transportation for yourself.

I learned quite a lot from this job both about myself and about the company I fund raised for. There are positives about working here which include growing your people skills, working with enthusiastic people, and a complimentary trial for a mental health counselling program through the company. The company fund raises for some important charities and camaraderie among coworkers is generally strong.

I did have some experiences which rubbed me the wrong way when I was employed there. The first thing was that they put you through a trial period of 5 shifts in which you are not paid the full, advertised
  plus... $16/hr, but minimum wage ($14.00 in ON at the time I worked there). In these 5 shifts you must raise a minimum of $125 in monthly payments (an average of $25 raised per shift) or you will not be hired. If/once you are hired you must maintain an average of at least $4 raised per hour of working. If you fail to do so for one week, you may either be immediately let go, or placed on a "support program" in which you are coached and monitored by a supervisor for the following 1 week in an attempt to improve your stats. Furthermore, if you don't manage to fix your average after 1 week, you are once again put on a training plan as you were when you were first hired, and your pay is decreased. The decision to either let you go immediately or put you on a support plan is up to the Project Manager entirely and doesn't have much of a basis other than how long you've worked there previously. In other words, there is little to no job security on this job. When I was working there I saw someone who'd been employed for over 6 months be let go very abruptly. I found that in some cases there was little effort to help fundraisers improve and that some people who work there don't really care if they let people go because the turnover rate for the job is so high.

Because of the stress of no job security most of the people who work as door-to-door fund raisers are heavy smokers. This is not particularly company related but it did result in me picking up that habit again. It is a high-stress position and caused me serious anxiety in the weeks I worked there.

I found some decisions about when and where to fund raise highly questionable. On September 21st in Ottawa, numerous tornadoes ripped through the city, leaving many with damaged homes and a large amount of the population without power. Despite the difficult circumstances, we were still called into work in the days immediately following--- to canvas in areas that had no power instead of fund raising in areas of the city which did have power, or even just calling off the shift. I was told by many people that day that to them, it reflected poorly on the charity I was fund raising for. I was also encouraged to use the circumstances as a way to "guilt trip" people into signing up with me (i.e. "You don't have power right now, imagine if you never had electricity."). I found this to be unethical and think it would have trivialized the situation.

Thirdly, I found the way we are expected to fundraise kind of confusing. Most of the time you are on your own, fundraising well into the evening, when it can get extremely dark. As a young woman, I was often uncomfortable fundraising in areas I was unfamiliar with in the pitch darkness with nobody around who would notice if I disappeared. Not only that, but fundraisers are encouraged to enter someone's home if they are invited in and they don't think anything seems amiss. I think this is bizarre and unsafe, and most definitely not worth it just to raise extra money.

Ultimately I wouldn't recommend working here. It works for some people-- which is why people can work there for a long time-- but it's not for the faint of heart, as you will often encounter frustrated and unkind people. It can be rewarding, especially if you do well and care about the charity you're representing, but overall my experience at PO was not particularly positive.
  moins
Points positifs
Coworkers, Trial Counselling Program
Points négatifs
Stressful, No Job Security, Can Be Unsafe, High Standards
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Public Outreach. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,6
D'après 241 avis
580
475
330
226
130

Notes par catégorie

3,6Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,9Culture d'entreprise