Price's Alarms - Avis

Voir les 17 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dont waste your time
Apprentice security systems tech's wife (Ancien employé) –  Kelowna/penticton4 octobre 2019
If one of the techs doesnt like you, your boss will fire you.
They need to put in their job description, MUST be best friends with every single employee in their office, or you will be let go.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great Management and team of Installs
Installation Coordinator (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC25 septembre 2019
Great Management and team of Installs. Always ready to Help with smile on there face. loved working here. Have learned more about customer service and dealing with hard customer in stressful environment as well. All thanks to my Team of Installs and supervisor.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Family owned and operated, with a tight-knit team of supportive staff
Assistant Team Leader - Customer Care (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC21 août 2019
Price's took a gamble on me in 2010 - I was fresh off the boat from England, and had no qualifications that meant anything in Canada, and no job experience in security. I was hired and worked through some trying times, and built up strong relationships with my peers and the management team. I chose to leave Price's Alarms in 2015 to pursue other ventures. The other ventures did not pan out. While applying for other jobs I threw in a few applications for Price's Alarms, without any hope that they would re-hire me after I had previously left. They re-hired me without hesitation in 2017, and welcomed me back in to the team without any resentment over my previous departure.

Price's Alarms, the Price's family/ownership and the management team truly do value people who are willing to work and take the time to learn the job and do it right. The management team will always work with and stand-by their team, supporting and leading them. If you're willing to stick your neck out and get to know the management team and ownership, gorsh darn even going as far as to befriend them, you'll find some of the goofiest and friendliest people around.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great local company
Dispatch (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC4 juin 2019
I appreciate Price's gave me a chance and hired me even though I had very little related experience. The position was fast paced with lots to learn; my coworkers were nice and supportive in helping me learn the job. I enjoyed being able to help solve customers technical issues and the logistical challenges of scheduling techs.
Points positifs
Friendly coworkers, days go by fast, interesting industry
Points négatifs
Parking, complicated security technology takes a while to learn
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Never a dull day!
Office Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC21 mai 2019
This is a fast-paced job, with a lot of information to learn. Once you have some experience and fill in the gaps, it's quite fun to figure out the puzzles each day.

Always something new to learn, and if that's what you are looking for this is for you!
Points positifs
Management takes an active interest, good benefits, nice working atmosphere
Points négatifs
Parking can be tricky to find
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Steep Learning curve
Billing Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC25 avril 2019
Pay does not match the workload, the culture is gossipy and I feel like its high school all over again. Not enough help when its needed, high turnover rate for employes as the workload is a lot. No real reason to stick around plus its a 6 months probation period before the lousy benefits kick in.
Points positifs
Good staff
Points négatifs
Little pay heavy work load
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Price's Alarms
11 juin 2019

We regret to hear your negative experience and thank you for this feedback.

We’re surprised to hear your claim of a high turnover rate as our billing team is a small and remarkably stable team of 5 with little turnover (we don’t consider team members transferring to another dept as turnover). That said, the Billing Clerk role is one of the more demanding and specialized administrative positions in the company and it often takes multiple attempts before we find that “right fit” person. Some people choose to leave on their own and others simply aren’t suited for the position. (It’s not fair to the rest of the team when you have 1 person only doing 40% of their share and the rest of the team has to pick up the slack.

Turnover and hiring is costly and we are actively working to reduce it. We understand security is a very specialized industry and team members mostly learn via ongoing mentorship. We are in the process of moving all reference manuals to an easily searchable online database to help this learning curve.

Our benefits are comprehensive and comparable to other industries (include dental, chiropractic, physio, etc). We regret the need to have a 6 month waiting period, but our long term employees all support this as it helps keeps premiums down for everyone using benefits.

We wish you well and request you contact us at HR@pricesalarms.ca if you have any other questions or concerns.

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
pretty good company
TECH MANAGER & SECURTIY ADVISOR (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC3 février 2019
pretty good company to work for, local and has lots of good employees. This is a family owned and operated business that is probably going to be around for a very very long time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I had previous management experience at another company and appreciate the challenging task of balancing business economics with customer service and
Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC4 juin 2018
I have worked for a number of companies of various sizes (both private and publicly traded, with a handful to thousands of employees) and the management at Price’s do stand out. They actually spend time training their employees and developing their management team. It’s a busy workplace and while it can be challenging at times (juggling with various internal priorities and dealing with difficult customers), the talented performers are recognized. The managers were interested in hearing my feedback and viable suggestions were implemented where possible, and this truly makes an employee feel valued. Price’s was a stepping stone for me and I enjoyed my time there. Victoria is a small city, and it is nice to be able to work at this sizable company.
Points positifs
Local headquarters with great opportunities and a management team that cares.
Points négatifs
Job posting was vague. Specialized industry with steep learning curve.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible Company to work for
Billing Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC8 février 2018
I was a billing clerk. Without going into too much detail, this was the WORST employer for whom I ever worked. The ownership family can't run a business to save their life and the culture here is nothing more than a highschool popularity contest.
Points positifs
Competitive pay, business hours
Points négatifs
No parking for employees, bad management, poor work culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 5Signaler
Réponse officielle de Price's Alarms
11 juin 2019

We regret to hear of your negative experience and thank you for your feedback - we believe in a positive, respectful, and harassment free workplace based on merit, and will try to place a stronger emphasis on culture and fit when hiring. We’re surprised to read your feedback about ownership as the company has been owned and operated by the same family for over 124 years (now in its 4th generation). While far from being perfect, we are one of the longest running successful businesses in Western Canada. We wish you well.

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall great work environment
Billing Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC13 janvier 2018
Consistent work flow, with interesting challenges to keep you sharp and expand your knowledge, learning opportunities each day, and great support from wonderful co-workers in each department. A large, and ever growing company with extremely down to earth, and talented members of management to lead us to success, and great customer service.
Points positifs
Endless job experience, applicable in many fields.
Points négatifs
Changing procedures, and having to adapt to them due to growing customer base.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 4Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Well oiled machine!
Security Alarm Installer (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC17 septembre 2017
Great company and leadership.
Just keeps getting bigger!
Great training.
Well diverse in many different aspects of security and a great customer service team.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Over worked Staff
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC12 juin 2017
I would not recommend this company. They are very disorganized though they believe they are well run. They do not treat the staff well at all and in my opinion view them as disposable. I was there for 4 yrs and saw a company that holds a compliment of about 150 staff company wide and have gone through more than 400 people in the time I was there.
Points positifs
Good people work there
Points négatifs
Bad management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 5Signaler
Réponse officielle de Price's Alarms
11 juin 2019

We regret to hear of your negative experience and thank you for your feedback.

We dispute your claim of more than 400 people hired in 4 years – it’s HUGELY exaggerated! 1/3 of our staff have been with us for over 5 years (the longest tenured employee has been with us for 25 years!)

That said, employee turnover is a problem and we are working to reduce turnover across the company; this includes trying to hire positive people who fit with the company culture, setting a respectful and harassment free workplace, encouraging a good work/life balance, and offering cross training opportunities for those interested.

It’s a difficult task in today’s hot economy and job market. The vast majority of turnover is within the first 3 month probation period - most often, the job isn’t the right fit for that team member and they decide to leave (and we’re back at square one to fill the position). It’s costly in time and money to advertise job openings, conduct interviews, hire, train and repeat. Additional costs include lower service levels for our clients and higher stress and workload for the existing team members who are working short staffed. We hire for aptitude and attitude and many of our employees are young adults who commonly leave the organization to go back to school, move to another part of the country, or simply pursue other opportunities more in-line with their personal passions (ie. holistic organic farming, human resources career, personal trainer, etc)

Once we find “right fit” team members, they can be with us for the long term. 1/3 of our staff have been with us for over  plus... 5 years (and the longest tenured employee has been with us for 25 years!)

We thank you for your time and hard work during your 4 years. Customer Service is a challenging and important role, often tasked with turning unhappy customers into happy ones. Not an easy job!

If you are interested in discussing this further or providing any additional feedback, we appreciate you emailing HR@PricesAlarms.ca.
  moins

Réponse officielle de Price's Alarms
11 juin 2019

We regret to hear of your negative experience and thank you for your feedback.

We dispute your claim of more than 400 people hired in 4 years – it’s greatly exaggerated! 1/3 of our staff have been with us for over 5 years (the longest tenured employee has been with us for 25 years)

That said, employee turnover is a problem and we are working to reduce turnover across the company; this includes trying to hire positive people who fit with the company culture, setting a respectful and harassment free workplace, encouraging a good work/life balance, and offering cross training opportunities for those interested.

It’s a difficult task in today’s hot economy and job market. The vast majority of turnover is within the first 3 month probation period - most often, the job isn’t the right fit for that team member and they decide to leave (and we’re back at square one to fill the position). It’s costly in time and money to advertise job openings, conduct interviews, hire, train and repeat. Additional costs include lower service levels for our clients and higher stress and workload for the existing team members who are working short staffed. We hire for aptitude and attitude and many of our employees are young adults who commonly leave the organization to go back to school, move to another part of the country, or simply pursue other opportunities more in-line with their personal passions (ie. holistic organic farming, human resources career, personal trainer, etc)

Once we find “right fit” team members, they can be with us for the long term. 1/3 of our staff have been with us for over  plus... 5 years (and the longest tenured employee has been with us for 25 years!)

We thank you for your time and hard work during your 4 years. Customer Service is a challenging and important role, often tasked with turning unhappy customers into happy ones. Not an easy job!

If you are interested in discussing this further or providing any additional feedback, we appreciate you emailing HR@PricesAlarms.ca.
  moins

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC22 août 2016
- Small family like setting
- Hands on ownership
- Great hours
- Centrally located

Really enjoyed my time here with this company. People who care about other people
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 8Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Popularity Contest
Credit Associate (Ancien employé) –  Victoria18 décembre 2014
This company does not operate on work ethic and is strictly on what your peers think of you. The management in this department is very cryptic and unclear on what is expected from one person. You have to guess to what issues you maybe having and correct them because no one is going to tell you. The communication to the employees is very limited and causes a lot of issues within each department.
Points positifs
Locally owed and operated
Points négatifs
Communication, pay, management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 9Signaler
Réponse officielle de Price's Alarms
11 juin 2019

We regret to hear of your negative experience and thank you for your feedback. We have worked hard and improved a lot as an employer in the 5 years since this review was posted including: implementing a hire from within policy that resulted in more knowledgeable and supportive supervisors, leadership training, refining employee reviews, and rolling out an internal sharepoint website to assist with communication by posting documents, policies, and procedures in an easily searchable online database. We wish you well.

Réponse officielle de Price's Alarms
11 juin 2019

We regret to hear of your negative experience and thank you for your feedback. We have worked hard and improved a lot as an employer in the 5 years since this review was posted including: implementing a hire from within policy that resulted in more knowledgeable and supportive supervisors, leadership training, refining employee reviews, and rolling out an internal sharepoint website to assist with communication by posting documents, policies, and procedures in an easily searchable online database. We wish you well.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stay away
Sales and building (Ancien employé) –  Duncan, BC19 janvier 2013
I have done sales for ten years I lasted one week doing this door to door sales BS
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive Alarm comapny with many divisions in BC
Installation Technician (Ancien employé) –  Campbell River, BC16 juillet 2012
Good company to work for, and start your Alram tech carrer for. Lots of work, and decint pay.
Points positifs
great starter company to work for
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 10Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Price's Alarms. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 17 avis
57
43
31
22
14

Notes par catégorie

3,6Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,1Direction
3,2Culture d'entreprise