POWERHOUSE RETAIL SERVICES - Avis

Voir les 18 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not worth the time
Merchandiser (Ancien employé) –  Sherwood Park, AB16 juillet 2019
Like Most other merchandiser jobs this company also does contracts. After 2 years with the company I relocated and requested a change of territory. I knew they has areas available because they were always hiring and looking for reps to cover those areas. Haven't worked since I moved. I did not receive any notice of contract termination. Communication with management is spratic at best.
Points positifs
Set own hours.
Points négatifs
Lack of communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Leave you hanging
Merchandiser (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC22 juin 2019
I was hired with the intention of 30 hrs/week. 1st month (Jan 2019) was good. By 2nd/3rd month (Feb/March) my hours were cut down 16 hrs a week. By May they stopped giving me shifts. Stopped answering my emails. No one knows what's going on. They send you off without telling the others what's happening.

They completely ignored me and left me hanging no job, no hours, nothing.

Left me with no income and so much financial stress. Dont waste your time. They don't care for employees!!!
Points positifs
You make your own schedule
Points négatifs
Cut your hours, drop you like no tomorrow.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
My time
Retail Merchandiser (Ancien employé) –  Ontario20 janvier 2019
They dont answer you back if you have questions.
You work as a independent contractor so they dont take taxes off pay.
Do not recommend.
They ding you if you have a tag which is not straight. Most of the directive are wrong on app.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
No comunication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Low pay/No support/Know what you're getting into/make it work for you
Merchandiser (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 avril 2018
(Canadian Office)

I worked here for almost a year as a contract merchandiser. The pay is extremely low, even for the industry. You are not valued or treated well as an employee but are an afterthought. Management is paid well with expenses. As a merchandiser, you are not provided with anything but are paid minimum wage. If you ask for a wage increase, you will not get it. Powerhouse makes money by paying their contractors nothing. This is their business model.

There is no product knowledge given to reps. Limited information and planograms are provided. This means if something goes wrong, they will blame you. Which is fine, if you stand your ground. Remember that. Communication is limited by head office unless they need something.

Expectations for work are very high. They only hire "seasoned merchandisers" but do not reflect this in their pay. You can make this job work for you but you must take care of yourself and do not let them take advantage of you. Know when to say no, make the hours work for you, cut them off when you can, do not go above and beyond for Powerhouse, they are not interested in supporting you.

At store level, the teams will try to take advantage of you. Remain allusive, do your work, do it well, and leave. Basically, as a field merchandiser, everyone tries to take advantage of you. Know your worth, stand your ground, do your work and leave.

If you are in school, want a flexible job, need to work evenings, etc. This is a good job for you. Remember, make it work for you. Powerhouse does not care about their employees, and that is fine. Remember
  plus... this and take what you can from the job. It's a great in-between gig. However, there will be no advancement no matter how well you do for the company. Powerhouse will never give you anything beyond 14/h. Trust me. But, if this is what you need for now, and you understand that, it's a great gig.

Good Luck!
  moins
Points positifs
Flexibility
Points négatifs
Low pay/no support
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 38Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work life balance part time position
Merchandiser (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON19 février 2018
Good friendly company. Great work life balance.

Hours are always very flexible and you can work at your own pace according to your availability.

Some months you can work 10 hours during slow months up to 180 hours during busy months.

The pay is very poor at about minimum wage and because you sign on as a contractor you have no CPP or EI deductions.
I am uncertain how they can continue to omit these federal deductions after many years in business.

Wages do not increase over multiple years of service.

Management team seems to be well paid on salary with benefits and continue to promote themselves from within over the years, yet they do not send any money back to the hardworking field force and increase low wages.

Emails are often ignored (3 week delay sometimes!)
You must be able to think on your feet and not rely on anyone to help you.

Store staff often treats reps poorly as they know wages are very low.
Store staff generally treats reps poorly as we do not always have current product knowledge and are merely cleaners and not treated as brand specialists or creative people.

I'd love to see a fair wage offered.
Points positifs
flexible work schedule
Points négatifs
poor wages
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing company to work for
Manager, Field Operations (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON17 août 2017
A great place to work with room for advancement into head office! I went from being a Field Merchandiser to being in the office with a promotion shortly thereafter. Very supportive head office team full of creative thinkers with a passion for what they do. I get to work with awesome people every day in both the office and in the field. This is the best company I've had the pleasure to work for.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 17Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
To sometimes be able to use your artistic ability
Merchandiser/Customer Service (Employé actuel) –  BC27 juin 2017
I am a long term employee I enjoy the work and the hours
Powerhouse is a visible presence in stores so we have to work fast and quiet. Get done what is expected of you and acknowledge the people that we conduct our business with. Keep H.O up to date of anything that needs to be looked after
There is no advancement as it is a merchandising job Maybe get more territory
Pay raises do not happen and the rate is below standard
Management is great
Points positifs
Job can be done in your own schedule
Points négatifs
pay rate
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 30Non 12Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work, however warehouse management needs an overhaul
Warehouse Associate (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON17 mai 2017
A busy company throughout the year, third part logistics therefore their clients play a big role on how much work one will have per day. Excellent mixture of culture (mostly West Indian), occasional times workers there bring food to share with everyone, everyone is relatively happy smiling while working and friendly. Warehouse management tends to puts feelings in the way of the goal, and manager seems very autocratic and favoritism is strongly intertwined in warehouse culture.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run, don't
Représentative (Ancien employé) –  British Columbia7 avril 2017
What a gong show. My experience was demoralizing In every way. Poor to no communication. Management automatically assumes that if there are any issues, it's the merchandisers fault. Since they don't bother to read or respond to emails, they are completely disconnected from what is actually happening out in the field. They are lazy and view emails, feedback, phone calls etc as more work for them so they simply ignor everything. . it is very stressful to be forced to work with management who are too lazy to bother to get their facts straight before making unfounded accusations and threats. It would also help if they employed management personnel who are educated, and understood what the role of a manager actually entails.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
With zero pros, the rest are cons
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 7Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unprofessional
Merchandiser (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC5 avril 2017
Dont waste your time, very bad management, o hours, very low pay with six figure expectations. If you are looking for a company that appreciates your efforts and values your hard work, this one fails in every way
Points positifs
Make your own schedule
Points négatifs
Disrespectful, unorganized, and emails are ignored-unanswered
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31Non 7Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Part of the family!
Merchandiser (Employé actuel) –  GTA, ON17 février 2017
As a long term merchandiser, I feel like I am part of an extended family. Great brands and clients to work with, helpful account managers, and I get to set my own schedule as a private contractor.
All in all an excellent experience!

(Note - Many of the reviews here are for the US-based company, which has absolutely nothing to do with the Canadian one. Just happen to have the same name.)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 22Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not under good management
Visual Merchandiser (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON15 février 2017
Un organized head office, lack of communication and professoonalism. High expectations with low hours on some brands accounts.
Points positifs
Flexable most days
Points négatifs
Bad management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 48Non 6Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Retail merchandising, travel to stores to do various tasks related to various brands, which are the company's clients
Retail Merchandiser (Ancien employé) –  Canada1 février 2017
Most merchandising companies employ you at a fair industry standard hourly rate, and compensate you for your mileage and any work related expenses such as parking etc. This company does not do that, they hire you on an "independent contract" basis therefore no taxes or cpp, ei etc is taken off your pay. They do not compensate for mileage and pay the lowest hourly rate in the industry.
Points positifs
Set your own schedule to call on stores
Points négatifs
The pay is insultingly low, and not having ei, cpp etc taken off pay is very inconvenient. Too many supervisors, unnecessary salaries could go toward paying the workers fairly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20Non 6Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
third party logistics and apparel merchandising
MARKETING COMMUNICATIONS MANAGER (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON27 janvier 2017
Helping brands actively maintain their footprint in some of the largest retailers in the country. Powerhouse is the service force that makes it happen
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 8Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good experience for retail industry
Project/Site Manager (Employé actuel) –  calgary Ab22 février 2015
Scheduling trades for the week retail project. Making sure of all retail equipment is delivered on time and without damage. Insured all time lines and budgets are meet for management. Great team environment to work in. This job provides great challenges for quick project turn arounds but always the con is your always on the road.
Points positifs
always a challenge
Points négatifs
always on the road
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 7Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive
independent merchandiser/contractor (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC3 mars 2014
Learned a lot, enjoyed being independent, i was kept busy all day, met great people and gained merchandising experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35Non 28Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great atmosphere.....great staff to work with
Phillips Van-Heusen Brand Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Toronto...The Bay @ Fairview Mall22 janvier 2013
*Overseeing departments under PVH.....
*daily maintenance of said departments...
*creating brand awareness with clientelle and staff...
*great management and staff
*hardest part was not having any back stock
*having made connections with the clientelle
Points positifs
great atmosphere
Points négatifs
only being a pilot project contract position
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez POWERHOUSE RETAIL SERVICES. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,1
D'après 18 avis
54
44
33
23
14

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,8Direction
2,9Culture d'entreprise