Photos Unlimited - Avis

Trouvé 185 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 190 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
0 stars is more practical
Photographer (Ancien employé) –  Durham Region, ON15 janvier 2019
If you're a photographer this might be a good first job if you're just learning. You could do less work by being a walmart cashier and get paid more. They want experience but are unwilling to pay for it and then wonder why people leave the company within the first week.
You're expected to go push packages when it's slow.
you're expected to have a car and be able to travel in between studios.
You're expected to use your own equipment for on location photography but don't compensate accordingly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Manager/Photographer
Manager/Photographer (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON9 janvier 2019
What I am getting from the job is photographing people and groups. I was a architecture/cityscape photographer and thought I would broaden my skills working for Photos Unlimited.
Points positifs
Broadening my skills as a people photographer
Points négatifs
How the company wants to attract clientelle
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good
Assistante gérante (Ancien employé) –  Atholville, NB8 janvier 2019
Enjoyable work, lack of hours to hire employees
Clients were nice to work with. clean environment.
friendly staff, material was easy to learn, flexible hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun only when msnagers are not there
Photographer, Salesperson (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB31 décembre 2018
They need a major structure in management and they need to not hire anyone that comes along. I watched girls who hated kids work there. 1 manager should oversee all studios to keep consistency, every manager thinks they own the studio and can do whatever they want, including sitting on their butt.
Points positifs
Kids and photography are my favorite thing
Points négatifs
I worked 7 days a week, traveled w/no extra money and no overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun working with families to create new memories
Studio Manager (Ancien employé) –  Brantford, ON27 décembre 2018
Always fun to create new images for those special moments in the families and children's lives.
Treated every customer with respect and photographed the portraits to the way I would have wanted as a customer.
Prices were decent when I was there
Management was not great, no support always had to contact other locations for the info needed.
Pay was not very good for being a manager of the studios.
Points positifs
fun with the kids and creating great images
Points négatifs
low pay, bad management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun job but...
Photographer/Associate (Ancien employé) –  Sarnia, ON20 décembre 2018
As much as I enjoyed the job, I realised that I am just a number to management and that they don't really care about us as people. This made it hard to be as aggressive as I needed to be to sell the products, as there was little incentive.
Points positifs
Great clients
Points négatifs
No raises and limited hours available
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unrealistic Sales Goals, Inadequate Training, BORING
Photographer (Ancien employé) –  Pickering, ON10 décembre 2018
I started working there because I loved photography but photography is only like 1% of your job. It's all about sales. So if you enjoy walking around Walmart to harass people to take photos or buy packages, standing in the front doors to hand out flyers, and tricking customers into paying extra for things they don't want: this job is for you. I only worked once or twice a week and constantly had people coming back because their passport photos were rejected or their order was missing things or the photos turned out horrible. Had to re-do multiple sessions that my coworkers did because I was the only person who knew how to use a camera properly. On the days where no photo sessions are booked, you have to go out and find bookings or you get in trouble. Had days where we'd only make like $50 on passport photos and I'd get an angry call from the manager later that night. Oh and also - my area had a group chat where the people from other stores would share their ways to scam customers into paying extra fees that didn't even exist so they could crush sales targets. Gross.
Points positifs
Get to work by yourself, Decent hours
Points négatifs
Scams, Bad Management, Bad Training, Boring, Bad ethics
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Happy Halloween (Horrible Place to Work).
Pharmacy Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON4 novembre 2018
Rough behaviour.
Discrimination.
No training provides properly.
Stay away from this job.
Bad experience.
Unhealthy environment.
Unrealistic target givens.
If you are Superman then join.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stressful to the point of anxiety attacks
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Red Deer, AB31 octobre 2018
Worked here for two weeks. Between trying to complete sessions every 15 minutes to dealing with passport walkins to answering the non-stop ringing phone, I ended up having two anxiety attacks.

Only one 1 hour break in the day for lunch (if you got a break) and having to work late everyday this job is not worth the pay. This company will book sessions AT closing times. We close at 6, there would be an appointment booked for 6. What?!

This company is all about making money. They have no passion for good photography. Not worth spending your money here. Very pushy on making sales and very little training on how to actually make a sale.

I would not recommend working for this company.
Points positifs
Can’t think of any
Points négatifs
Working late, little training, unrealistic sales goals, working alone
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 27NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run away as fast as you can, especially if you enjoy photographer and like serving people.
Associate (Ancien employé) –  Guelph24 octobre 2018
Don't go work for these folks. They clearly know nothing about people. If they do, they simply don't care.

They make their money on selling prints, and the job is constantly to "upsell" packages. Taking pictures is just a means to an end for them.

My manager seemed to be stressed out herself by the "sell, sell, sell" pressure she was under. Yet they have a great location - Walmart - that brings a lot of customers to their doors. But the seem to treat it an opportunity to exploit people, rather than service them;

The equipment is old, the software that you need to sue is old fashioned. At times, I had to tell a customer that "I will call you back" because the software for making appointments took so long to respond that it was embarrassing.

I watched my manager talk a customer out of her disappointment with a photograph taken of her child which showed some obvious facial blotches by saying "I don't really notice it, and her smile is so cute that people will not notice it either." Taking the time to do a different pose would have solved this in the original shoot.. But the manager was so under pressure to sell as many additional prints as she could that she tried to talk the customer out of her disappointment. The manager seems to imply did not care about the woman's obvious disappointment. T

A family group came in. The grandmother had tension bandages wrapped around her legs, indicating to me that she might not be comfortable standing for a long period of time. I invited her to take a seat as we welcomed them in. My manager "snapped" at me, "No, No, don't
  plus... invite them in until we have registered them in at the front". We ended up being able to do this quite easily because I ignored my manager and we engaged this person in the dialogue needed to register her in the software while she was comfortable sitting down.

I opened 5 minutes early yesterday afternoon after the lunch break because we were expected a family for an appointment shoot and
I wanted to be welcoming to them. Ther manager had gone out o the lunch break. When the manager arrived, she snapped "Don't ever open early" at me in front of the customers.

When I was ready to leave on my second day, the manager was still deeply involved in trying to upsell a family group on prints. I indicated that I needed to leave since I had an appointment that I could not be late for. The manager said to me - "Fine ,close the doors;. I will see you next Monday." Next Monday was the next day that we were scheduled to work on the same day." Earlier in the day, she had told me that I would be working the next day with another person who although new, could help train me if we were not very busy..

Today, the manager walked in at the end of my half day shift and said aggressively ' What are you doing here, I told you not to work today last night when you were leaving". I responded - "No, you said I will see you next Monday."

At that point, the manager, continuing to be angry with me in front of the other person working there, said "This is not going to work out - I want you to take your things and leave." So I did.

Clearly the way I was treated is no different from the way many others working at various Photo Unlimited locations have been treated by their managers. What is about this compamy? Do they train their managers to be discourteous and unclear with their staff, or do they just pressure the managers so much that they become abusive of the people who work for them under the stress? My experience is clearly not unique.

If you love photography, like working with people and enjoy their pleasure when they see pictures of themselves - Run as fast as you can from working at a Photo Unlimited Portrait Studio and find a more reasonable place to work. This is clearly one company that deserves negative stars. Too bad, Indeed does not have them in its reviews.

If the way I was treated is the way the manager is treated, then reason for her behavior is clear. Lots and lots of research studies have shown that people treat the people working for them the same way as their managers treat them. Culture flows down the organizational hill.
  moins
Points positifs
Non
Points négatifs
Everything about they way they treat staff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Applying to this listing is absolutely the worst thing you can do to yourself.
Photographer (Ancien employé) –  Aurora, ON22 octobre 2018
The lowest point of my life was working for these ungrateful, unprofessional, scamming con artists they call a "portrait studio". You are demanded to squeeze money out of the poor customers pockets... persistently offering different "packages" that no one in their right mind would buy. All while using outdated camera equipment, flashes that literally electrocute you, props and backdrops that look like they're straight from the go-go 80's, and editing on a ghetto software system that shuts down on you every so often. You are forced to walk around the Walmart and bombard people with "free photoshoots" that end up being not-so-free because you corner them into buying packages. The managers know nothing at all about what they're doing and seem to be on a different page about how to present your pitch and sell your terrible quality photos. They charge an unreasonable amount of money for passport photos and you end up having to lie about how much cheaper they are at your local Costco just to make a sale. BUT WAIT, THERE'S MORE. At the end of every two weeks or so you are rated (either poorly or well) by how much you sell and everyone that works for the company sees the list. If you want to feel humiliated, depressed, under appreciated, and worthless, this is the company for you!

One last hurrah before I go... I tried to book time off 3 MONTHS IN ADVANCE and the manager told me I couldn't. The prison system is literally denied less freedoms.
Points positifs
You feel like you've travelled back in time
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 47Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Had to give 1 star because I couldn't give none
Photographer/Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Ontario2 octobre 2018
Photos Unlimited is a terrible place to work. Everything is way overpriced. Management is atrocious. If they talk to you they talk down to you. Only contact with HR is an email contact and they do not answer emails from personal emails. They punish staff by taking away their hours. Their opinion is that you will work harder to get the hours back. Software , studio and camera are out of date. You are not appreciated by management, to them you are easily replaced. Job is not about photography it is all about sales. You are nothing more than a telemarketer
Points positifs
Hour long lunch
Points négatifs
No proper break times, work alone all the time, little training, poorly treated, over priced, they push you to push sales, you are a telemarketer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 29Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and skill building
Manager (Employé actuel) –  Durham Ontario29 septembre 2018
I enjoy working with Photosunlimited. I think the struggle with most people these days is people just want a job for the pay check not to actually work. Work ethic is far and few between. People complain just at the mirror fact the have to put in some hard work.
If you put in what you want to get out out of the company there is lots of support. Friendly contests and prizes.
Additional training is provided if you ask for it in a resonable amount of course.
Hours are pretty flexable, pay is on the lower end but there is ways to earn bonus and incentive at all times which makes up for that.
Yes packages change and prices change a couple times a year to keep up with the times. But details are posted on studio site for review.
In my opinion their packages are a great value and you get alot for the prize your paying.

Overall I love working for Photosunlimited some minor improvemts needed but thats in any company.
Points positifs
team building, great staff, good incentives
Points négatifs
tec issues
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 17Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed working there
Photographer (Ancien employé) –  Red Deer, AB23 septembre 2018
I never thought I would ever be hired as a photographer, as I had only taken photos of nature before. They taught me how to Photograph people, and how to use my imagination to get the best photos. I enjoyed my job immensely, and literally looked forward to coming to work each day. I really enjoyed the clients, and watching their children grow up before my eyes. I worked the shifts by myself, and had to learn all aspects of the studio as a result. I would go back in a minute if I could get full time hours.
Points positifs
Great variety of Clientelle.
Points négatifs
Would be nice to have more opportunities to advance in the company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 15Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun but never enough hours
Studio associate (Employé actuel) –  Thunder Bay, ON10 septembre 2018
Love this job as I love photography so much but I never get enough hours it’s always 3-8 hours a week people do more than that in a day and that is upsetting considering I’m part time and can be given up to 20 hours ... would really enjoy more hours as I need money...
Points positifs
Doing what you love (if you love photography)
Points négatifs
Boring days if there are no sessions
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Toxic
Photographer (Ancien employé) –  Saskatchewan2 septembre 2018
Our store went through a period of being unable to keep a manager, which left me at the store 6 days a week. Their managers don't even know how to train. I was constantly having to show them how to operate the equipment. All they were ever taught to do was to go into Walmart and hassle people to come in for a photo shoot. They weren't even told HOW to photo shoot! Training manager did it instead and then expected new employees/manager to know how afterwards. I had to teach them to use the Passport camera and how to print. They never give a raise..I was stuck at minimum for 3 years, even after doing my best to help keep the store running with no manager or employees to help. When they finally did get a manager, they cut my hours down to 6 hours a week, even though they had asked me what I wanted to work. They avoid talking to you if you've got a problem of any kind. They constantly criticize even if you are hitting numbers. They don't care about you..they care about money. The props and backgrounds are over 20 years old! No replacements. Overall, this became an extremely toxic place to work.
Points positifs
Fun working with clients
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Full days
Photographer/Sales associate (Employé actuel) –  Greater Sudbury, ON27 août 2018
Those who work here are to work the full day all by themselves. This is important since you will have no co-workers or persons to help you during the day in person. Therfore, you must work efficently, independently, and solve problems quickly. It is extremly important to be respectful and patient with all costomers.
Points négatifs
No microwave for lunch
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 16Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This place is literally the worst.
Photographer (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON16 août 2018
Just don't do it.

Read all the reviews if you want to know why.. 113 other lovely people have done all the explaining for me.

The company is going under, the organization is non-existant, the work environment is despicable and the management is clueless.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Literally Everything.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to Co-op
Co-op Student (Ancien employé) –  Hanover, ON12 août 2018
Great for co-op! you can do almost every single part of the job. Great for learning basic composition skills and poses as well as basic studio set up.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 12Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No self-respecting photographer should work for this company
Photographer (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB8 août 2018
I am a photographer outside of working for this company, and there is no way this company should be calling themselves professional photographers.
To start off, training wasn't thorough, and I was left to figure things out on my own. My manager would tell me to do things in front of a customer without showing me how first, and just expecting me to know, which was sometimes very embarrassing and demeaning. The company also hires people with absolutely no photography experience, and barely gives them any training.
After training you are left to work alone every day, and that's where things really start going downhill. If I had a problem, I was told to text or call my manager. Usually she wouldn't answer my texts at all, and when I called, she was always very annoyed. Every single day I went in something wasn't working (cameras, printers, computer systems, and sometimes the whole store would be down). The equipment is outdated, worn out, and dirty. The "professional" photo shoot camera (canon 40D, no where near professional quality these days) was practically a dinosaur and barely worked. The lens was old and very stiff, which made it impossible to get the camera to focus during shoots, and I complained to my manager several times. When a customer finally complained to my manager, I got a nasty note from the manager, saying there's nothing wrong with the camera, and I was doing it wrong. Again, I am a photographer, and know my way around a camera... The backdrops and props were very dirty and wrinkled, and we were expected to put newborn babies on these items, which I found
  plus... very unsanitary. The software used to upload and sell photos increased the exposure on photos, causing many pictures to be over-exposed, especially baby pictures, and the "editing" options were outdated and poor quality. Many customers complained about this. The photo prints always came out with an unpleasant green or yellow tint after the printing company toned them.
The company doesn't care about customers at all, and is just in it for the money.
All products were overpriced, especially passports, which cost $30 each, and the passport camera appeared to be made in the early 2000's.
Up-selling was a huge requirement, so anytime I didnt have a customer in I had to call old customers, and try to convince them to come in again. I was also expected to go out into walmart and pretty much beg people to come in for photo shoots right away.
During training my manager talked about how she watches movies while on the clock, and said she has considered going to get a manicure on a slow day, but when I worked she'd leave me notes telling me i need to do more of this and that, even though I met quotas most days.
Terrible company, terrible managers, terrible job. I quit because I believe in upholding a specific image, and quality in my photography, and I couldn't be proud of what I created at photos unlimited.
  moins
Points positifs
short work days (10am-5pm)
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Photos Unlimited. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,6
D'après 190 avis
536
425
326
224
179

Notes par catégorie

2,6Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,3Direction
2,4Culture d'entreprise