PetSmart - Avis

Trouvé 431 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 7 352 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Steady paced job with reliable coworkers
STOCK ASSOCIATE/FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB6 février 2019
The three years I spent at PetSmart were positive and formative as an entry to the workforce. I began working there part-time in Highschool and eventually moved to full time, working in shipping and receiving. The company provided forklift safety training and certified me so I was able to develop the skills I had learned going forward.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not Worth The Money.
Pet Care Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON1 février 2019
Working with animals is hard and stressful which is why most places will pay you above minimum wage to do so. My first day there was met with multiple people telling me they were unhappy to be there and didn't feel comfortable with what they were being asked to do. Also was immediately told I would not get benefits unless the managers decided they like me. I was told someone who was a senior member for 5+ years was still fighting for their benefits while this girl who had only been there 1 year was allowed to have them. As someone else mentioned, you are on display for all of the customers and they really have no common sense, allowing their children to bang on the glass and watch as the dogs viciously bark at their kid. They need to have signs on the glass that discourage the customers from interacting with the dogs. This does nothing but create tension in the room, all of the dogs will start to crowd the glass and they all become easily agitated from the energy in the room. The turnover rate is high and because of that there is a serious lack of proper training. No one there really knows how to handle being in a room filled with dogs. They are simply given a spray bottle with water and told to use it.
Points positifs
They were quite diligent with breaks and making sure everyone got all their breaks, I worked with some nice people, met some really awesome dogs
Points négatifs
Serious lack of communication, Not enough proper training, 8 hour shifts in playroom 3-5 days a week. these NEED to be split up with the other duties, Minimum wage, Benefits are hard to get regardless of seniority.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Richmond Hill, ON29 janvier 2019
This is one of the BEST jobs i have ever had. Great atmosphere to work in. The staff are great the customers even better but the BEST part about the job was the special guests that came in with their owners.!!!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
My two years at petsmart
Pets Hotel Associate (Ancien employé) –  Richmond Hill, ON28 janvier 2019
Typical day at work was fun and rewarding, you got to interact with many good customers and very well trained dogs. What I've learnt from PetSmart was helpful to my next step in my career. Management was always there to go above and beyond to help you and teach you things. The work place was always what made it hard to come to work. It always felt like a competition back there and we are supposed to be a team. The most enjoyable part of the job were the dogs and some of your team members. You really feel like a family when you grove with the right people in the hotel.
Points positifs
discounts, working with animals in the hotel.
Points négatifs
long hours, missed breaks, very rude work environment at times.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
terrible place
CASHIER (Employé actuel) –  Brampton, ON25 janvier 2019
I learned plenty working here, mostly that the managers dont care about their employees at all and when you have multiple people contact head office they do nothing still despite them breaking mutiple policies and procedures and endangering staff on a regular basis
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Miramichi, NB24 janvier 2019
Very positive atmosphere to work in, other staff and management is fantastic to work with. Best work environment i have yet to work in. Its a place you can enjoy coming to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun work place
Groomer Trainee (Ancien employé) –  Lloydminster, AB23 janvier 2019
A typical day at work starts of very busy, there is not of knowledge needed. Learned lots about animal products. Management was really friendly and good to work with but lacked time management and not always available to talk.
Points positifs
Friendly work environment
Points négatifs
Cant keep employees/management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High pressure, low pay, low/negative moral from the top down
Store Manager (Ancien employé) –  Alberta20 janvier 2019
Negative
No work life balance
No respect for associates from management
Long hours that we're never compensated for
Zero respect for customers
Zero respect for the animals
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Long hours, unpaid, no work life Balance, upper management DM and above we're negative
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice Job
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON17 janvier 2019
Great Job,Friendly staff , good environment and responsibilities were easy to handle and complete , How can you hate a job where you get to play with dogs all day
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good if you like boring low pay jobs
Pet Associate (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON7 janvier 2019
Playing with the dogs is fun, but if you're constantly in the playroom, it gets boring very quick. The dogs seem very bored, most of them didn't want to play, and a lot of them cried. They don't get to go outside, so I feel bad for the ones who are there for a long time. You're also on display. All the customers can watch you, and can irritate the dogs by banging on the glass. Staff was nice for the most part, but there weren't a lot of us when needed. The management wasn't nice and drained everyone of their moral. So, if you like stagnant jobs that endanger you (being bitten, dealing with hazardous materials, bodily fluids, etc.) for minimum wage, then maybe you'll like this one.
Points positifs
flexible schedule, playing with animals, see many different dog breeds, paid 15 minute breaks, nice fellow associates
Points négatifs
half hour lunch, constant dirty clothes, dealing with potentially dangerous animals, bad management, tiny employee discount, bad pay, no raise, stress, high employee turnover rate
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worked for 4 stores and was treated poorly at all but 1
Cashier/Stocker (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB7 janvier 2019
I had worked for petsmart on many occasions and different stores, it came down to actual harassment from management and other employees to the point of mental break downs. They so treated me very portly refused to provide hours but would provide hours to newer employees even going so far as to give over time to the newer employees. Yet still expect me to show up and happily accept it.
Points positifs
Seeing client dogs
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not the best but not horrid
Merchandise Inventory Manager (Employé actuel) –  Greater Sudbury, ON7 janvier 2019
Part time shifts are usually only 4 hours a day and can vary from 10 hr/wk up to 32 hr/wk never a guaranteed amount. Full time it's 8 hours every day and non stop work always 40-44 hr/wk. It's not all about the animals, very customer focused place. No incentives for loyal employees, they do accommodate school schedules but with try to call you in every day your off. It's a decent job if you stay as just a regular associtae, once you move up it's very demanding with little to no support. Staff is usually nice and good to work with.
Points positifs
Schedule accommodation
Points négatifs
Very demanding, little hours, unproductive management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
overall job was good
Professional Dog Bather (Ancien employé) –  Lloydminster, AB3 janvier 2019
working here was pretty nice, i love working with animals so this gave me that advantage. the people werent exactly the best, seemed like a lot of drama for a place of work. felt like highschool.
Points positifs
dogs!
Points négatifs
drama and rumours were spread
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved my time there, wasn't my career
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Ancaster, ON2 janvier 2019
Petsmart was a fun part time job for me while I was in school. I loved seeing the animals everyday, there's a little bit of drama in the workplace, especially in the salon but besides that, the job is good. Seeing dogs everyday is definitely a good way to stay in a good mood.
Points positifs
Dogs, Cats, Hours, Big break room
Points négatifs
Not much room for advancement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Animal interaction
SUPPORT MANAGER (Ancien employé) –  Greater Sudbury, ON1 janvier 2019
PetSmart is a retail company that offers a lot of quality merchandise for all different pet owners. The culture of the workplace is strained at times due to the demands of the business and management. But if you have a passion for pets this is the place to be. Petsmart has many tools to offer the new associate to give them the confidence of knowledge from food, product and pets. They also have a great adoption imitative programs with SPCA and PETSAVE.
Points positifs
Animal interaction, 2 week guaranty in live stock
Points négatifs
Part-time only, to many tasks inposed on associates, upselling, minimum wage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stressful, horrible atmosphere, management was nice.
Groomer's Assistant/ bather (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB29 décembre 2018
I worked at pet smart for a year and I'm afraid to say that it was very stressful. The women were horrible to eachother. They complained mostly about wages and of eachother. I got faced with too much stress on a day to day bases. It sometimes felt like I was stuck in a children's playground. I wasn't happy there so I had no choice but to leave.

On the up side the management was nice and I enjoyed working with the dogs.
Points positifs
Nice management, working with dogs.
Points négatifs
Atmosphere, too streeful.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst job ever
Front end Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Maple Ridge, BC28 décembre 2018
Management does not have a clue what they are doing at all, the store a work with has ENTIRELY new staff so the turn over at my store has been close to, if not 100%. They also hire more staff than are needed so nobody gets more than 2 shifts a week and they are not 8 hour shifts its either 5 or 6 hours if youre lucky. They are power controlling little freaks that need to realize they are managing a pet store not the president of the united states.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good for students
Cashier/ Stocker (Ancien employé) –  Orangeville, ON23 décembre 2018
Minimal hours (managers will give favourites more regardless go work ethic).

Stick up for managers who harrass, discriminate, and steal.

Book 3 hour shifts (which is illegal).

No breaks or bathroom breaks without permission.

Forcing unsafe work and minimal staff to help ( 1 to 2 staff doing truck).

Forced to meet targets that unreasonable. If these arnt met write up is issued.

Managers pick who gets discounts.
Points positifs
Discount (that may not be issued)
Points négatifs
No hours, favouritism, discrimination
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible company to work for
Stylist Apprentice/Groomer Trainee (Ancien employé) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON21 décembre 2018
Might be fine if you’re just part-time because I didn’t mind the job as a bather, although you are getting paid min. wage for a job that deserves WAY MORE than that. Academy was a nice experience. But working as a full time groomer, again at min. wage until you’re done your 200 dogs (which is so little for how hard this job is), was stressful to the point where it affected me outside of the workplace and nobody in management had any solution for me after trying to go on a short leave and asking to transfer stores. I did not feel like I received enough training and supervision when I was working as a brand new groomer. I worked a couple months without a salon manager to guide me during my 200 dogs and had to teach many things to myself. When a manager finally did start working in the salon, I felt too pressured to know the things I couldn’t teach myself, and I was behind where I should have been at my point in the transition (from groomer trainee to SIT I think?), so it was time to go up in # of dogs per day but I honestly wasn’t ready. Speed or skill wise. I really didn’t know what the solution was, however I wanted to extend my options. However, when I requested the store transfer, I was told the job would be stressful at any location. Didn’t want to break my contract but couldn’t bare to go to work anymore. I have never experienced major anxiety before this job and I went to counselling to try to get over the anxiety, because it was definitely situational. After two sessions with two different counsellors, they basically told me they had heard the same things being said about  plus... working at Petsmart grooming from multiple other people and the best option might be to just quit. So, I did, and I am so much happier at my new job, I can’t believe I worked there as long as I did now that I get to experience a less stressful environment where your colleagues in management actually support you and you get paid what you deserve.  moins
Points positifs
Good benefits, vacation
Points négatifs
Low pay, stressful, lack of support
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I regret applying at PetSmart. Very Discouraging and Disappointing
Professional Groomer/PetStylist/SIT (Ancien employé) –  Chilliwack, BC12 décembre 2018
I completely regret working here. Disappointing and Discouraging and Disheartening. I found training at PetSmart did not prepare me to work at other grooming salons. Training at this particular location did not even prepare me to work at PetSmart. Applying here was difficult and time consuming, 3+ months including the background check. For some reason I wasn’t getting the all the emails, even though my email address was confirmed by me and accurate. Finally getting through hiring process the computer troubles continued and it was difficult for me to sign in and get started, taking even more time. Getting through that and on to the first day working, tools were not available for me to complete my computer training completely, ie a completely working computer, on the days I was scheduled to do my computer training, the completely working computer was double booked and I was pressured to rush through it anyway, using a computer that had no sound and not being able to listen or watch all the safety and training videos. Starting in the salon, tools were not available for me to do my job, ie a grooming table to work on, so poorly prepared they were for another groomer to work there. Even though they knew over 3 months ahead a new groomer was coming. I felt my own personal grooming tools were not safe as the drawers in my stand did not lock and I was never given a key. The work environment there is anything but calm. Completely chaotic. Toxic. As a new employee the on the job safety training is non existent and if you make any mistakes as a brand new employee they come down on you  plus... super hard. The salon manager didn’t seem to think it was her job to teach me any salon safety and when questioned about this just shrugged her shoulders at the Store Manager. Completely Unpredictable. My pay amount was not kept safe and confidential by the salon manager as it was supposed to, she left on the printer and went home and another coworker found it, we had already been talked to when I started as an experienced groomer I was being paid substantially more that the other groomers and wages were not to be discussed, or there would be write ups. The SM has a lot of personal problems and brings her life problems to work with her, she encourages other staff members to do the same. Daily drama. The schedule is supposed to be done 6 weeks ahead but changes constantly and completely without notice, often a day or just a few days or maybe week ahead. Morale is very low and coworkers are always late and often calling in sick. Dogs grooming appointments are often cancelled because of the constantly changing schedule etc, I have never seen so many cancelled appointments and the customers complain about it constantly. One week is booked solid the next it’s completed dead so it’s very hard to make any money here. I took a demotion and a large pay cut to work at PetSmart and was promised 40 hrs but never worked a full 40, despite completely open avail and being on the on call list, instead I would be told to stay home as it wasn’t busy or go home early because it’s dead. Often I’d miss my lunch break because it was busy or because of poor scheduling and I was pressured to write it down anyway that I took it, now I’m barely making min wage. I never got any 15 min breaks. Head office seemed to have a lot of trouble keeping track of online information and the online tests I had done and I had to retake them several times and even complete the online safety test over 4 times and then finally print it out of the computer to show I had completed it. As a new employee I was under supported and even scheduled to work busy days, ie Saturdays, alone with another new employee, who struggled to do her job. Stressful. I found safety policies were broken by SM and coworkers of a reg daily basis. In my experience the SM and Managers don’t even know all the policies. And on top of that the policies can change based on customer complaints too, as a result of the policies not being followed, ie proper check in by other staff, and there will be new policies without proper communication or training. All adding to the stress.
The SM and staff seem think it is productive and/or funny to get the dogs really excited to the point where it is hard to work on them, using high squeaky voices etc, while I’m trying to check in a dog or do a walk-in nail trim, but it makes it hard to do your job safely and well. There were a lot of customer complaints and a lot of unhappy customers. It is very unnecessarily stressful here. There was very little training or support to do my job and it was very hard to get help if working on a challenging dog. Huge lack of teamwork. Bulling from the SM and Managers exists and favouritism is certainly present as well. Communication is very poor, I found instructions would not be clear. I definitely would not recommend working here, there is better training and better work environments, I think one star is generous, but mandatory, I guess it is a job. I absolutely love working with customers and dogs and grooming, it is a completely rewarding job, I have worked at bigger busy salons and smaller busy salons and been very happy. I found that working at PetSmart was very disappointing and discouraging and I didn’t feel set up to succeed at all, far too many problems there.
  moins
Points positifs
Effort made on staff room which was appreciated:)
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez PetSmart. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,6
D'après 7 353 avis
52,1 K
42,3 K
31,8 K
2654
1549

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,2Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,2Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise