PetSmart - Avis

Trouvé 452 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 7 640 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not caring
Management (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB12 avril 2019
They have unrealistic deadlines for everything to be done, support yes but not enough to make a difference. I’ve been with the company altogether almost 8 years and in the past few years have noticed a huge change for the worse within the company. Clearly they are all about the numbers and dollars with little regard to how the associates are treated. I used to love it and now I hate it.
Points positifs
Benefits, not bad pay
Points négatifs
Unappreciated, money hungry neglects workers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Part Time Job
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON11 avril 2019
Petsmart was a fun part time job while in school, there was not much room for advancement in the company or any benefits but having animals the discount was nice.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Limited room for growth in Canada
Manager of Replenishment for Canada (Ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON8 avril 2019
This a CPG environment. Limited room for growth unless you can relocate to the US. Very corporate in its culture and pro-pet to the extreme, best to already have a pet to fit in.
Points positifs
Small Canada team.
Points négatifs
Total pet culture.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Job
Cashier (Employé actuel) –  Richmond, BC7 avril 2019
This job is fun and exiting. I usually do regular cashier stuff but after closing, i get to do much more. I can sometimes feed the animals and play with them and do my regular duties, like stocking, returns and a little bit of cleaning.
Points positifs
15 min breaks
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor Company Practices and Management
Sales Associate/ Planogram Builder (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON5 avril 2019
Poor Company Practices and Management.
PetSmart is quick to cross-train you in many departments which is amazing but there are no salary changes despite the number of positions held.
They do not allow trained employees to deny sale of animals to unfit caretakers.
Points positifs
cross-training
Points négatifs
not animal friendly company policy
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You need to LOVE ALL dogs for this job to workout for you
PetsHotel Pet Care Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Stoney Creek, ON5 avril 2019
Min wage job, you will get hours if you want them, co-workers were somewhat ornery but no one was too bad, manager and most people there were positive and nice. They give you plenty of chances to advance your job title and even do training in the dog grooming salon, if you want to groom dogs. The job itself is honestly terrible though, I started working there simply liking dogs well enough to do the job. I was not prepared for the horrible non-trained dogs people brought in there however. Insane all-hours of high pitched barking, dogs fighting, dogs eating other dog's feces and vomit, other dogs biting you, dogs constantly trying to knock you down, pulling so hard on leashes they choke themselves... and the rooms they're in...no matter how hard everyone tries to clean everything up...it smells so bad. There was not a work day that went by that I wasn't gagging at something disgusting. One day a 100lb dog jumped on me trying to get out the door and scratched the my arm very badly with his hind feet. I actually have scars on my hands and arms from people's horrible dogs. This job -no word of a lie- made me HATE dogs. Only take a pets hotel job if you love dogs more than life itself... cause you will not be in the cat room for more than 10 minutes to clean the litters.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work if you love pets
Assistant Hotel Leader (Manager) (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON2 avril 2019
Great place to work. As long as you're knowledgeable in pets and willing to learn about the products and services provided you can do extremely well here. It's like any other retail with customers who aren't always pleasant, but management is a great support as everyone who works here cares about the pets.
Points positifs
Benefits for f/t employees
Points négatifs
Retail hours - can work at odd hours of the day/night
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and Always presenting new challenges
Customer Engagement Leader/ Petcare Manager (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB29 mars 2019
Fun and Always presenting new challenges. Like any other company, its not perfect. On busy times of the year scheduling can be a little off but that is expected for any business.
Points positifs
Staff, Understanding Management, Promotion for the qualified.
Points négatifs
Schedule hours, sometimes wages.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive, busy workplace.
Petcare Associate (Employé actuel) –  Dartmouth Crossing, NS29 mars 2019
The hardest part of the job would be balancing the amount of attention given to the animals and the customers (who can be sometimes rude). The other aspect I do not like about PetSmart is that they seem to care about the customers more than the animals, which yes they are a corporate business, but they seem to only care about the money side, not the well being of the animals. Not to say that these animals are being mistreated, but between all the running around tending to customers, it is easy to forget about medicating the animals, changing their enclosures, etc. I think it would be in PetSmart's best interest to split up the Petcare tasks by having two people ready to help anyone needing assistance, with at least one person tending to the animals, and all the cleaning that is entailed.

Now, the most enjoyable part of the job would definitely be the animals. I personally love all animals, and I learn something new everyday.
Points positifs
30 min lunch, and 15 min break if working over 6 hours
Points négatifs
Stressful
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Will run you down
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  GTA, ON28 mars 2019
Petsmart tends to work its employees really hard. Advancing is hard . they move their managers around alot so you just get used to one and new one appears .
They except moremore work with less resources.
They do not provide proper training.
Points positifs
Working with animals
Points négatifs
No proper training, management takes responsiblity for nothing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don't work here
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB25 mars 2019
I learnt they fire their best employee at the first opportunity they can. The manager had it out for me and wanted me out because I was their longer then them. Refused manager positions time and time again. Management is awful. Probably the only good part was being able to help pet owners with their needs for their cat dog fish bird or other small animals
Points positifs
massive discount on their brand of food.
Points négatifs
MANAGEMENT!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Extremely toxic company and work environment.
Pet Care Specialist & Professional Pet Groomer (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB25 mars 2019
Head office has unrealistic expectations in regard to employee quoatas in the grooming salon, they also require all groomer trainees to sign an non-competition contract before they will train you as a groomer. Now, before I get into everything else if you want to become a Pet Groomer DO NOT GO TO PETSMART! The training PetSmart offers is extremely mediocre, and does not touch on nearly enough. If you want to learn to be a groomer nothing beats an apprenticeship at a quality salon!
Basic salon equipment is subpar, they buy cheaper equipment to save on expenses so quite often the salon in which I groomed at did not have working equipment. Having equipment serviced and replaced by head office is nearly impossible, often resulting in dangerous situations due to broken equipment (I once saw a stand dryer burst into flames while a colleague was using it due to the heating element malfunctioning from lack of maintenance done on the dryer).
Salon environment was incredibly toxic, employees were bullied by the salon manager and a few of the managers preferred employees. Head office policy and procedures in regards to grooming made it difficult to groom dogs in a quick and efficient manner. We could only book appointments according to company policy which would create a backlog of clients waiting to have their pet checked in due to 4-8 dogs being booked for the same time slot. The check in process for a groom was incredibly lengthy which cut into precious groom time, and since head office expected grooms to be finished within a few hours of being dropped off this check-in process
  plus... was massively time consuming. Employees were formally written up for any customer complaint, even if it wasn't an "official" complaint. (One time a client popped back in the following day to have her dogs ears tidied up a bit more, and that was considered a complaint which resulted in a write up.)
All in all my time at PetSmart was absolutely awful, and I go out of my way to share my experiences with anyone who is new to the Pet Industry.
  moins
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Toxic work environment, manager turnover, employee turnover, training program, treatment of animals, management, bullying
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worse management ever
Pet Care Associate (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB22 mars 2019
I thought at first working for PetSmart would be a good job while I finish my collage classes, but as soon as I started I realized that the management had some serious problems. If you work in petcare you have a list of jobs to do during your shift and if you had time after those jobs were done you helped with stock. While we would struggle getting our jobs done, helping customers, and doing stock the assistant store manager would be sitting in the office eating snacks and playing games on her phone! But would get mad if we went to back to get a drink of water. It’s very discouraging to always be told you did not do a good enough job at a task or not even get thanked for coming in on a day off or staying longer in a shift. This has got to be one of the worst job experiences I have ever had in my life and I would never recommend someone to ever work here ever.
Points positifs
Nothing.
Points négatifs
No appreciation, rude management, unrealistic expectations
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun to see the dogs, but upper managers are horrible
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Richmond Hill, ON15 mars 2019
As much fun as it is to see and play with all the dogs that come in, the two top managers are horrible and have gone weeks without giving me any hours. They’re cold, distant and overall not fun to be around. Whenever I actually DO get hours, I hope to be working with the nicer lower managers so I don’t need to put up with the other ones. If you want to work at Petsmart, pick a different location
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It was a joy to work at PetSmart
PetSmart sales associate (Employé actuel) –  Lethbridge, AB6 mars 2019
Of course every work team is different, but what made my team so great was the fact they held the corporate standard. There was no slacking when it came to PetSmart, lives were quite literally on the line everyday. A pet can truly change someones liver the better, its a great feeling knowing that your job is making a difference in someones lives!
Points positifs
Cute creatures
Points négatifs
You will get laid off if you can't get enough of customer personal information I.E. Email
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
They don't treat you very well or appreciate your hard work.
Pet Care Associate (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON6 mars 2019
People are quitting/being let go left and right, no one knows whats going on. Everyone in pet care has little to no training. I've had several managers quit on the spot. Pet-smart was once a great company to work for but not anymore. I would not recommend working there
Points positifs
Animals
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The animals and pet parents are great, management not so much
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Kamloops, BC4 mars 2019
Everyone going in and out of the store are amazing to talk with and the animals you get to interact with make the job great. In the end though the management were very competitive and rude, putting a lot of pressure on staff making the environment overall not the greatest to work in.
Points positifs
Animals and customers
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dogs were the only good part of the job
Pets Hotel Associate (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON28 février 2019
Loved getting to supervise and play with dogs during a typical daycamp shift. Workplace culture included extremely poor management. Coworkers were friendly and a genuine pleasure to be teamed with. Managers need to be retrained to refrain from taking their emotions out on their own staff.
Points positifs
Breaks spaced nicely throughout long shifts, playing with dogs.
Points négatifs
Terrible management, advances not taken seriously, no full-time hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Prejudiced recruiters never hire people of certain backgrounds.
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON27 février 2019
Despite having all the skills and abilities after repeated application for available positions that don't get filled for months, I still get rejected. I suppose the recruiters Petsmart aren't concerned about making their work place more inclusive and diverse. I get a feeling that the recruiters are very biased and narrow minded. Very disappointed. Will never apply again.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace
Associate Lead (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON25 février 2019
Petsmart Petshotel is a fun place to work at, the dogs and petparents you meet are really nice. There are some management problems though. But overall a good place.
Points positifs
Good exercise
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez PetSmart. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,6
D'après 7 640 avis
52,1 K
42,4 K
31,8 K
2692
1603

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,2Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise