Petland Canada - Avis

Voir les 53 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok as a part time or summer job, but not full-time or long-term
Small Animal Care Manager (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB12 septembre 2019
Started off as a good job while I was a student and only working part time, but as soon as it became my full time job I started noticing the immense number of flaws within the company. At a store level it's great if you like the people you work with, but head office is the glaring flaw. They are too sales oriented, pressuring staff to make sales even if it means animals are neglected. Only a few people from head office actually care about your job satisfaction, most of them will write you off as a nuisance if you voice any concerns. If upper management doesn't like you they won't hide it. They don't want you to actually spend time cleaning or maintaining the store (because that means you aren't selling and making money) however they still expect the store to be in pristine condition. They kept stripping staffing hours down but still expected the same amount of productivity and profitability. When they saw the consequences of their poor decision-making, they blamed it on the staff. They ask way too much of their employees and pay them as little as they can possibly get away with. Some people work there multiple years before seeing even a ten cent pay raise. Good work goes unnoticed by them but any slight slip up can result in a write-up.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being around animals and making friends with other employees. You learn a lot about animals which is cool but none of that made up for the toxic environment they put you in.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Upper management is terrible.
PET COUNSELLOR (SALES ASSOCIATE) (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB12 septembre 2019
The disconnect between upper management and store management is ridiculous. Hours get cut but not the work, and then they start wonder why things aren't getting done. Not to mention they're constantly pushing you for sales when you're the only person working in the department but also questioning why you haven't finished opening duties early enough. It seems like decision that are made in head office are just pulled randomly out of a hat and then implemented. The work life balance is okay, but it can sometimes feel like you never leave. Overall they ask far too much from staff for the amount of money they pay.
Points positifs
Working with animals.
Points négatifs
Head office is incompetent, staff are asked to do far too much without proper compensation
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible Management
Inventory Manager (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB5 septembre 2019
Management is a joke, they expect way too much for what they pay. Assistant manager bullies all staff. Do not work at Petland Deerfoot City. Ashlyn will bully you until you quit. They care more about you covering your tattoos and piercings than anything else INCLUDING ANIMAL CARE. Horrible. The district managers are arrogant, unintelligent, and aggressive. If you take yourself seriously, don’t work there.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Alright place to work
Fish and Reptile Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB26 juillet 2019
I did enjoy working here, the staff was all very kind and friendly. We all got along very well. I was very pleased with the atmosphere here most days.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor Management
Pet Counsellor (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB9 juillet 2019
Petland started off as an enjoyable job. As the year progressed, the company revealed its true colours. My coworkers were all amazing and I loved working with them, but head office lacked any respect or appreciation for its employees. They often ignored any attempts at communication. Their ad brags of opportunities for growth and advancement, but don't actually offer this until you're on your way out the door and they need a bribe to keep you with their company. Upper management often made innapropriate or aggressive remarks about the staff, including comments about diet and the physical body. This was continued long after Human Resources had been contacted and made aware of the situation, so it can be concluded that they did very little to resolve the issue. I often witnessed Petland belittle and berate staff for not being successful in a role that they were unfairly placed in. Petland pushed its employees to fill positions without giving the appropriate pay or title assigned to that position, essentially using its staff for cheap labour. If you asked for a raise or a chance at a promotion, you were made to jump through many hoops and degraded/discouraged along the way, only for them to laugh in your face at the finish line. I recognize that I learned a lot from working at Petland for over a year, but my biggest takeaway was that I could do better and that I deserved to be treated better, and I was not going to find that there.
Points positifs
Cute animals
Points négatifs
Management, Head office
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not very Pleasant to work for
STOCK MANAGER/ GUEST SERVICE MANAGER (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB3 juin 2019
They did not make alot of their employees feel comfortable . They did not listen to what people had to say and did not take any cristism very well.

They go through employees alot
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
terrible
British Columbia (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC2 juin 2019
Terrible place to work. Lots of negative energy... The manager is a bully and treats his employees like trash. The animals and some of the staff are good but the energy in this store is really bad.
Points positifs
animals
Points négatifs
everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible experience
Fish & Reptile manager (Ancien employé) –  Petland Grandview2 juin 2019
Was with the company for over 2 years. If you want a job that focuses on profit and neglected animal care this is the job for you. If you want to be treated like you don’t matter with no wage increase beyond a few cents with little room to move up in the company well again this is the job for you. Do you like being called on your days off or told you have to fill out Petland University corses on your spare job as it’s manditory well you guess it this is up your ally kid the company doesn’t value employees, animals it is a dead end job with strict rules and sales goals for minimum or slightly above minimum wage high stress with lack or care I would stay away.
Points positifs
It’s at least a job
Points négatifs
Demanding, stressful, verbally abusive, and there is a lack of care of staff or animals
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Leaving a review because i have to.
worked here (Employé actuel) –  worked somewhere.8 mai 2019
I would prefer to not say anything, good or bad.Some people love working here. Others hate it the politics and nepotism.

i don't think leaving mandatory reviews is necessary when someone is uncomfortable leaving reviews.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved it
Pet consultant (Ancien employé) –  Alberta30 avril 2019
This by far was my favorite place to work of all time I miss my job there everyday if I ever move out to Alberta again they'll be the first job I apply for awesome people awesome place so much passion for their job
Points positifs
Play with pets allday
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst job
Pet Counsellor (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB7 février 2019
I started working here when I was fourteen. Not going to name locations but the original store I started out in (SW) was fabulous. Good management and friendly co workers. Transferred to a new location because of a move, (NW) and it was A TOTAL NIGHTMARE. My manager, a grown woman would bully me and give me intense panic attacks EVERY shift I worked. Talked bad about me on my first day to all of the other managers, before she had even met me. Managers were catty, did not look after sick animals despite multiple people bringing attention to it. Eventually most of my co-workers quit with me because of the awful management.
Points positifs
Animals
Points négatifs
Bad management, stress
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible communication and management
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB6 février 2019
I was hired as a full-time sales associate at a brand new location, so I was helping build it with a large set of other staff. Management of tasks was poor, and seemed immature. People I worked with were being fired with absolutely no reason at all, and didn't make it to the training phase. I was fully trained and called into a shift to be trained at my own store for the first time, and was let go for no reason as well, even though all of the sales associates in the store were brand new, and I'd helped build the store for over a month. Poor communication, and juvenile management. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. ever.
Points positifs
Working with animals
Points négatifs
Bad managment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible management
Petland Fish and Reptiles manager (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB9 janvier 2019
The lack of communication and drama between upper management and floor management is unreal. They don’t agree on a bunch of different things which often gets the fish and reptiles manager in trouble. The job itself isn’t to hard but they sometimes have un realistic sales expectations and most of the staff are actually uninformed and don’t know what they’re talking about. The upper management when they’re on the floor are the only people that know anything about the animals. The lunch break is only 30mins too.
Points positifs
Animals
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible head office, manager at surrey is manipulative, very bad management and poor animal care skills from managers.
Manager/supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC3 janvier 2019
Do not bother working here. They promise things that they will not go through with, average pay is minimum wage or 13.00 and wont increase. Their turnover rate is very high for employers and some who are hired leave on the first day. Very unhappy work environment, pressured into doing shifts and the manager will yell at you over the phone or leave you multiple voice mails on days off. (Surrey bc). Save yourself some trouble and dont work here.
Points positifs
Free classes about animal care and such
Points négatifs
Horrible management, bullying, pay is bad.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Love the way the company takes care of the animals and guest service. Terrible childish management.
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB4 novembre 2018
Was a fun place to work most of the time but if a manager has a problem with you, they will make your shift horrible. Not all managers are like that but most of them are. A particular manager would call me and message me regarding work stuff and make my life outside work absolutely awful. She broke many workplace laws and faced absolutely no repercussions for her actions.
A workplace should not have as much drama as a high school. The management is incredibly unprofessional and the culture is very old fashioned. Tattoos and piercings covered/removed, uniform properly ironed, pants hemmed. It’s a dang pet store.
Points positifs
Animal care
Points négatifs
Horrible management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 28Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Generally a good company to work for
Pet Counselor (Ancien employé) –  Manitoba16 octobre 2018
The company was a good place to start off as a new customer service employee. For the most part the work environment was positive and constructive. I was not a fan of their often unrealistic sales goals.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing place
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB29 septembre 2018
Petland was an awesome place to work, plenty of room to grow within the store, gave you many opportunities to learn more about animals. Also if you work hard at it, it's very easy to move into a supervisor position and eventually management. I did not like how many managers we went through as it mad it hard to adjust to how they work and the vibe of the store.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This job sucks
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB23 septembre 2018
If you are looking for a job with no support then work here. The upper management treat you as if you are garbage. They will tell you to your face that they don't think you are succeeding and need to "pull up your socks" when you have met sales goals, have an organized and clean store and are one of the top sales people in your store.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrie people working here
Pet Counsellor (Ancien employé) –  PetLand1 septembre 2018
They’re all entitled. Don’t work here if you want to taxi home late at night.
Management and training are horrible so be prepared to stand around for hours doing nothing.

Thanks for the waste of my time “PetLand”

08/01 quit after three days.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Management/timing/attitude
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 40Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Animals are great, management is not
Animal Care Manager (Ancien employé) –  Alberta2 août 2018
I really loved working with the animals and spending time taking care of them. I loved seeing the look on people’s faces when they adopted a new family member. But sadly the management was not great. There was no support, no communication, and very little recognition for achievements. I do not recommend working here.
Points positifs
Animals
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21Non 1Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Petland Canada. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,6
D'après 53 avis
57
410
310
27
119

Notes par catégorie

2,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,2Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,3Direction
2,8Culture d'entreprise