Orkin - Avis

Trouvé 27 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 977 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Interesting career
Pest Control Technician (Ancien employé) –  Burnaby, BC2 juillet 2019
Different world of rodents and insects lol.
Lots to learn and your always learning which is a good thing.
Not for everyone. For a different breed of person. Your always hunting and detecting you'll never be out of work. A good crew of managers and work mates.
Points positifs
You're always out and about
Points négatifs
Can be long hours up to you
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Place to work
Technician (Employé actuel) –  Whitehorse, YT13 mars 2019
Management is great
Wages are competitive
great place to work
the ability to be able to work independently
Getting to know your pests is a great asset
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
awesome if your self motivated
Sales and Pest Control Technician (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB2 janvier 2019
awesome if your self motivated
Rodent and insect knowledge is a must
must be bondable
clean driving record will be need
office staff are very easy to work with
continuing education is on going
good benefits
Points positifs
make your own hours and work truck
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No work/life/balance. High expectations/Low pay
Sales and Service Technician (Ancien employé) –  Ontario11 décembre 2018
Extermination is unfortunately, a mostly unrewarding career. Very physical, technical, and professional job that few people respect the difficulty of. Also a very dangerous and uncomfortable job considering the chemicals you use and their legal implications. Do not forget you are dealing with mice, wasps, ants, rats, cockroaches and more. Infestations and grumpy customers as well. You are a jack of all trades; Sales meetings, applying pesticides, light construction work, you do it all. While you are offered significant independence, it often feels like you are running the entire company remotely. You are frequently expected to work long or split days on short notice to accommodate customers' schedules. The random nature of this work can take a serious toll on personal life. Management are great people, but most are just waiting to retire and pass on problems. Additionally you are charged $120/month for the truck and there is no yard to park it. Total waste of money because no one wants/needs a 2 seat light truck with pest control decals all over it. Mine didn't even have power mirrors or winter tires.

Pay is also not competitive. Base pay is $600/week + commission to start. Raises were below rate of inflation, which meant I would virtually never reach max wage. As for commission, this is highly dependent on the types of customers you are assigned and how far away they are. Commission can change drastically with route reorganization like mine did. I saw annual income drop by nearly 20% when this happened. I was rarely able to make more than $500/month in commission on average.
  plus... All said and done I was making Orkin almost $200,000 and taking home about $38,000.

Bottom line: For between $600/week and about $40,000/year, there are much less stressful and consistent jobs. For those who cannot rely on less than that, commission can be very detrimental. It changes from an incentive program to a burden when you rely on an extra couple of commission dollars to cover rent. Orkin is not alone here though, many of its competitors are the same. Until this industry can provide consistent expectations, times of work, and income, it will not be competitive with other lines of work. I
  moins
Points positifs
Management and office staff are genuinely good people
Points négatifs
Too many to list
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard work and ridiculous expectations, for low pay.
Sales/Service Technician (Ancien employé) –  Stoney Creek, Ontario24 novembre 2018
Pay structure is set up so that only a few will be rewarded for their hard work. New hires are often paid more than Employees that have been with the company for many years. Management lacks Integrity, as it is up to management to ensure Employees are paid what they are worth. If you are very good at what you do, don't expect this company to reward you. Look elsewhere.
Points positifs
Truck and phone
Points négatifs
Pay structures not consistent
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Office bully impedes training
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Employé actuel) –  Kelowna, BC21 novembre 2018
Excellent opportunity to learn about all kinds of pests and pest control. Easy to learn software - if given the time and training. Kelowna has office bully that impedes the training process.
Points positifs
Benefits
Points négatifs
putting up with office bully
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
autonomous work environment
SALES & SERVICE TECHNICIAN (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC12 novembre 2018
rewarding work. good benefits and compensation package for motivated individuals. in addition, company vehicle for work and personal use for a modest sum.
Points positifs
company vehicle
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and great workplace
customer service assistant (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON28 juillet 2018
I loved working at Orkin Canada because of all the nice employees and the work environment. The company allowed me to work here for my cooperative education and I loved the experience here.
Points positifs
The nice employees
Points négatifs
none
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall a great place to work
K9 handler (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC3 juillet 2018
I have been with Orkin for a little over 3 years now. I was with my previous employer just over 7 years. I see no reason why I would not remain here for at least that and more!

While there were some bumps and challenges to start with, (all jobs have these to be fair) it has been a rewarding experience. I love jobs where I work directly with the public and make a real difference in their lives. Some days are physically and mentally tough and long but worth it when you see how happy people are with your service.

Individual branches can have very different work environments. At my first location, in the beginning, management was scrambling at times regarding employee retention but more supportive/steady as of late. Issues with new staff training appears to have been resolved.

Very diverse working environment and supportive of this diversity. Many women in both tech and management positions. Great benefits. Flexible with excellent work/life balance. Wage is competitive. Lots of room for advancement to mid-level management should you wish to.

I work in a highly specialized role within the company and cannot see ever leaving here. Many individuals have worked 25 years or more in my branch alone and it is common in many branches across the country. That tells you something!
Points positifs
Make your own schedule and use of company vehicle
Points négatifs
Physically demanding at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Orkin is a revolving door
Branch Manager Service (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB11 mars 2018
Poor managers most come up in the ranks, its a company that is really well designed one of the best models I have ever seen, in their structure and way of doing business they are world leaders but just missing top management and mid management. I learned so much just hate the internal politics. It can make a good career if you stay a Tech, don't go into management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Everyday is Different, Helping People
Pest Control Technician (Ancien employé) –  Saskatoon, SK13 février 2018
A typical day is going place to place and helping customers with Pest problems. Learned not only the Technical side with Chemicals but customer interaction and customer service.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of work for not so much pay
Pest Control Technician (Employé actuel) –  Winnipeg, MB1 février 2018
This job can be really fun and also complete torture.
If you have a family and are trying to make some good money you either have to choose your family or lots of extra hours to get a decent pay. The job sounds a lot better then it really is...
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great summer work for students
Customer Service Representative (Employé actuel) –  Stoney Creek, ON26 janvier 2018
Working as a CSR at Orkin Canada was a great learning experience. The other CSRs, technicians, and management all work together to achieve the best results for their customers. The work environment was one that was helpful and supportive.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun but very unorganized!
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 décembre 2017
Very unorganized! Not even the managers know what’s going on if you had a question about the customers who owe them money. needs better organizational skills!
Points positifs
Free lunches
Points négatifs
Lack of knowledge
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company to work for
Residential/Commercial tech (Employé actuel) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON22 décembre 2017
Service industry in general can be challenging and pest control is no exception. Some of the finest people I have ever known work here. When times are tough during the busy season you may not get the support you want as fast as you want but I assure you that it is not without reason. The managers down to the front line staff are people, and as a result are dealing with the exact same stress in their own way. When things slow down they (management and fellow front liners) are extremely empathic and friendly, we are all at war with pests after all. If you do your best until winter (still busy but not crazy lol) your team will shine from manager to tech. For a big employer it has a LOT of heart if you have the patience to see it.
Points positifs
Amazing staff
Points négatifs
Slow tech adoption aka paperwork
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Did that
Sales and Service Technician (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON12 juillet 2017
I love my job & the company I work for. I work independently, planning, scheduling and servicing my route. I am well paid and have many benefits to enjoy. What I need , is to move from this city & my company has no place for me in the city I want to move to. I will try to be patient for an opening but at the same time exploring other companies offers.Too expensive to have to live in two cities.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A few experience
Pest Control Technician (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON7 mai 2017
I am working in the company just three months, so I can not describe any thing about it. but I have learned some experience in both daily working and management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 8Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Do mot trust
Branch Manager Toronto Downtown (Ancien employé) –  toronto downtown9 mars 2017
Can not be trusted. with responsibilities within your buisness.. Let's face it . Orkin accounts have e pests.They depend upon poor service to push the clients to purchase additional services.
find a provider who is legit. ....
Points positifs
paid lunch
Points négatifs
poor operations. runs off the cuff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 8Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun work place
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB4 mars 2017
Very friendly staff and supportive
Lots of learning curves and challenging...
learned about many different pests - and how to treat them ... talked to a lot different people and really enjoyed
Points positifs
Very supportive
Points négatifs
Not enough wirk
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Job responsibilities are fair but poor management practices
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON4 février 2017
Execellent work performance and proper work ethics are NOT acknowledged and appreciated but work politics and gossips are. Intelligent and honest employees don't stay long or were mostly forced to resign or terminated due to unfair causes. HR is supposed to be neutral between management and employees but instead it is a puppet to management wishes.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19Non 3Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Orkin. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,3
D'après 977 avis
5242
4263
3209
2118
1145

Notes par catégorie

3,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,0Direction
3,2Culture d'entreprise