Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar - Avis

Voir les 74 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Comfortable and easy going working enviroment
Server, Bartender (Employé actuel) –  Winnipeg, MB11 décembre 2019
Great management, fun and environment but everyone works really hard. Company does a lot of workers, including scheduling demands and availability. Great place to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great job to learn serving and managing skills
SERVER/FRONT OF HOUSE SUPERVISOR (Ancien employé) –  Duncan, BC27 novembre 2019
Great company to learn from, structured with good guidelines. Met alot of great long term friends. The training guide was great, had to watch videos on the product we would be selling to our guest and take small quizes. Made for knowledgeable servers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Three Years of Good Work
Cook, Prep, and Dishwasher (Ancien employé) –  Victoria, BC8 novembre 2019
Overall, enjoyed my experience working there. I learned a lot from other people, such as the managers working there. Due to fewer employees, I was working extra shifts to make up for lack of other workers. The pace was never consistent, it could be fast one minute and slow the next.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing place to work, for both experienced and entry-tier
Line Cook/Dishwasher (Employé actuel) –  Winnipeg, MB30 octobre 2019
Great place to work, if you're working with the right crew, lots of hours, and quite a handful it seems during slow season if you're the type of worker that they're looking for
It gets pretty crazy some days, there can be 3 people on line to 6-7 it seems, and some days you'll feel overwhelmed by the amount of people than the full rail of bills
You can learn alot from just being on line, or helping out with prep as alot of stuff they do, that other employers are looking for if that sounds appealing to you, making soups from scratch, making sauces from scratch, repetitive tasks that your supervisor and manager would put in effort of showing you efficient ways of doing them if you're feeling unsure about your speeds
They have modules on the internet to teach you everything on the menu, and the right ways of cooking them as well which is a huge bonus if you keep finding yourself in a kitchen where noone seems to care about teaching you the proper way
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
stressful
Lead Prep cook - Line cook (Ancien employé) –  Prince George, BC21 octobre 2019
i Would not recommend working there. management team were not supportive. restaurant quality decreased gradually and lost the culture that is cooking.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management is bad
Kitchen Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  St. Albert, AB6 octobre 2019
My review is based on my experience working at the St. Albert location,the management there was awful, they make people miserable when working, always trying to find who to blame. I like the restaurant concept and food, but the experience working in that location was really bad, there's not a good work environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Helpful learning opportunities here with a fun team!
Server/Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Chilliwack, BC4 septembre 2019
Working at Original Joe's taught me a number of skills including social/customer service skills, time management skills, being assertive and confident, and to enjoy myself while working hard.
I learned a lot about the different types of wines and beers and how they are made which is extremely helpful in the food and beverage industry.
Overall, I had a great time with the entire front of house and back of house staff and loved it when we all worked together and pulled off some crazy busy nights that felt endless.
Thanks OJs!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Awful
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Prince George, BC24 août 2019
it starts off great, but the more you work there the more you realize that there's so much wrong. Not only with management, but with cleanliness as well as food storage. The management can be very abusive, verbally and emotionally.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Abusive management, unsafe food handling and storage, poor cleanliness.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Prepcook (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC8 août 2019
loved our mains which were amazing with lots of flavour, very impressive for a restaurant.

We ordered the chips as a side dish and they looked delicious. But, when we tasted them, they were overcooked and swimming in oil so we left most of them. We expected a lot more for $10!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor Management
Line Cook (Ancien employé) –  Cloverdale, BC19 juillet 2019
Kitchen management didn't seem to know how to properly make the schedule without on calling me in on my days off to come in, regardless of what my availability was. Was also expected to work outside my availability and close five nights a week so other staff wouldn't have to.

Kitchen management also refused to cross-train me to do anything more than close, and expected me to pay out of pocket for a cab home every time I closed, which was up to six days a week in the summer.

There would be days where it would stay busy until 10 or 11 pm, and you would be expected to have the kitchen shut down just after midnight. This was made worse when there was no dishwasher in.

Kitchen manager talked about how he wanted to run the kitchen, but turned around and complained when he couldn't just come in and prep or cook on line.

Working for the kitchen manager that was there when I left stressed me out *so much* to the point it started affecting my health. I had no life outside of work because I was always being called in, or was working just enough hours to cover my rent.

They're too short staffed in the kitchen to effectively run without stressing out the staff that works there, and they treat their staff like they are disposable. When multiple people who have been with the restaurant for years either leave this location or the company all together within six to eight months of working with this one manager, you start to wonder why.
Points négatifs
kitchen manager, hours, work load, closing shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A fun workplace that was also productive
Line cook/Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Ancien employé) –  Regina, SK4 juillet 2019
I worked as a prep cook when I started and then i would go clean some dishes when majority of the prep chart is done. After a few months I was started being been trained to work on a station on the line where I made mostly salads, wraps, and some pastas.
Points positifs
Discount on food and alcohol
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Up beat and fast paced fun!
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Ancien employé) –  Kamloops, BC5 juin 2019
Working here was great, I learnt so much in the short time I was there. The staff is so nice and welcoming, fast paced work and well organized. and it was close to my house.
Points positifs
2 min walk away
Points négatifs
2 min walk away ( never got to go anywhere after work always felt like home because it was so close)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor Management Decisions
Server (Ancien employé) –  Saskatoon, SK25 mai 2019
I was hired in a small bundle of a few other girls. After two training shifts, I was told that there was no longer any shifts to give to new people in training and that they didn't need me anymore. I can't possibly think of a situation where you wouldn't know you didn't need that many new people. Either the management communication was very poor with other management, or they never planned on keeping all the girls they hired in the first place, shady nonetheless.

I understand that during the 90-day probation your manager has the right to let you go, but I thought this would be due to unsatisfactory work, not because a manager of many years didn't know how many servers they needed. Not to mention if it was actually because of my performance I should have been told that.

The incident could be isolated to this store. Seemed to be a decent place otherwise.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great kitchen to work at
Kitchen supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB25 avril 2019
-Typical day involves stocking the line, cooking food to order and cleaning as a line cook. As a prep cook, a typical day will be preparing the ingredients for the line, receiving and putting away the orders,
-Learned how to do some management work, Leadership.
-Great people working there, usually a fun environment
-Not too hard of a job. Most people can do it and learn relatively quickly.
-Most enjoyable part are the people.
Points positifs
Free meal each shift
Points négatifs
Can have both long or short hours depending on the daily revenue.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace and great employees
Server/Bartender/Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Lethbridge, AB27 mars 2019
A typical night at work is usually pretty busy. A night would consist of at least 3 servers, expo, bartender and management on the floor. Ive learnt alot at this place and really have excelled on my server experience. Management and employees are all amazing people to work with and make my job more enjoyable. The hardest part about this job is catering to peoples bad experiences and trying to make it the best experience possible for them after an issue arises.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people
Server/Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC16 mars 2019
I enjoyed working at OJs for the most part. Hours were very hard to come by, but the people I worked with were great. The food and staff discount was good.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very fast paced
Hostess (Ancien employé) –  Chilliwack, BC8 mars 2019
It was a fun job at first however, I began to get way to many hours and they relied only of me to work weekdays and that was very difficult because I also played volleyball at the time.
Points positifs
Good management
Points négatifs
Not enough staff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place
Line Cook (Ancien employé) –  Fort St. John, BC19 février 2019
It was a great place to work until the fired the manager and brought in a new one. She immediately dismissed the dishwasher and cut peoples hours. She also expected one person to be able to close the resteraunt by themselves from 9 pm on with no help and still be able to be done a half hour after closing at 12am.
Points positifs
free meal
Points négatifs
no breaks
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
resteraunt and bar with good food
Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Cold Lake, AB19 octobre 2018
The hardest past of the job was working for one of the managers and trying to deal with her and the way she treated coworkers. Aside from that, the workplace didn't have any other cons.
Points négatifs
bad/angry managment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Friendly coworkers and approachable management, more comfortable casual setting.
Robson - Line Cook/Prep Cook (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC19 septembre 2018
Shift will often start off with stocking up line station for service (Robson location periodically busy during brunch hours, happy hour, dinner service and nights that events were occurring nearby (3 blocks from BC Place and Rogers Arena). Colleagues differ in personalities, majority very enjoyable to work with. Job requires occasional long hours and ability to multi-task long term.
Points positifs
Free staff meals for BOH staff, hourly+tips.
Points négatifs
Low pay-grade across company, entry level job as line cook.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,7
D'après 74 avis
522
428
311
25
18

Notes par catégorie

3,4Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,6Culture d'entreprise