Olympia Financial Group Inc. - Avis

Trouvé 41 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 42 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
With us, it’s not business it’s personal.
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB9 septembre 2019
I saw the poor ratings when I applied and thought it was just bitter ex-employees but I was very very wrong. OTC presents really well to the general public, it is not until you are employed by them that you learn how truly horrible it can be. I spent a year at OTC and left the moment something else popped up. My only regret is leaving the friends that I made during my time there.

The people who work the entry level positions are great for the most part, however management is a completely different story.
The managers at OTC are somehow held to a lower standard despite being paid 2-3 times more than the employees they “manage”. I feel bad saying this as there are a couple managers who I genuinely liked and feel sorry that they are lumped in the same group with the horrible ones.

Their motto “with us it’s personal” is very apparent in the way the management treats their staff, it is personal, not professional. Many managers hold grudges and fail to maintain a professional demeanour (especially when dealing with conflict). There’s no possibility to work your way up at OTC and every “promotion” is a lateral move that results in the same salary, just under another manager. I feel extremely foolish for wasting a year here, when the skills that I learned at OTC were not transferable to any other company (unless you consider managing chronic stress and frustration as a transferrable skill).

There is an extremely high turnover rate at OTC and because of this, most departments are consistently short-staffed. When an employee is terminated, be prepared to be asked to “temporarily”
  plus... take over those unfulfilled roles (without compensation).

Lastly, If you choose to work here, be prepared to have no sense of job security. OTC is a very concerning and toxic environment to spend 40 hours a week at, don’t let their sparkly “Alberta Top Employers” designation fool you, as this is primarily based on the benefits they provide (which admittedly seem impressive but not worth it for what you are asked to put up with). If you have any other opportunities, I would suggest visiting those first. Good luck!
  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good company
Data entry of certificates (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB13 juillet 2019
Good company with great team good training program
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run and don't look back.
RSP division (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB28 mai 2019
Avoide this place at all costs.

Poor management, cliquey environment.

You are thrown into any position and promised training but that never happens.
Management is too self evolved to care about the concerns of theit staff. Management is quick to put the blame on staff for the companies shortfalls.

Stress levels are not worth the wage for the amount of time and energy put into the work.

Computer systems are rediculously slow and it seems like IT is constantly trying to fix situations with JIRA tickets, but the issues never get resolved. One issue gets fixed and another one arises.

Proceed with caution.
Points négatifs
Very very poor management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It’s not worth it.
Securities Coordinator. (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB7 avril 2019
I worked with this company for just under a year. I was first hired by great management, and the atmosphere was amazing! A few months later they got rid of the management who hired me, and brought in some old management. The entire atmosphere changed. I was singled out, and given the blame for things that I could not control. My manager made it clear that she didn’t like me, and seemed to have a target on my back. They would fire multiple people within weeks, so everyone would walk on egg shells. Manamgent would make inappropriate comments in regards to people personal lives. They expect you to stay late, and won’t pay over time. And if they do, it has to be pre approved by your manager, which is unlikely to happen. HR will always back up management first, it is unlikely that you will get them to help you. The only benefits of this place, was the people I worked with and the benefits of the job.
Points positifs
Co-workers, benefits, free lunch.
Points négatifs
Work life balance, management, no over time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Never a dull moment!
Customer Service (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB20 mars 2019
Fast paced work environment that puts your investigative skills to the test. A great group of people who work hard and play hard. Good place to work if you are early in your career.
Points positifs
7.5 hour days, decent benefits, discounted movie passes
Points négatifs
A fairly flat organization so advancement can take time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 10Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Alberta's Top Employer
HR Coordinator (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB26 février 2019
Olympia has already proven that it is one of Alberta tops employers to me! They offer a health spending account that is a percentage of everyone's salary. This gives me the opportunity to customise my benefits and use them for things I actually need! Furthermore, the building has an onsite gym, which employees are given free access to. I chose to take advantage of this on my lunch breaks. They also have a canvas art program! Which is a super funky, and unique employee experience, that will allow me to personalize my office space with photos of my choosing. In my experience, the compensation has been incredibly fair and completive with the current market.
I would recommend family, friends and others in my network to work here - hands down.
Points positifs
Free weekly fruit basket
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 30Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Avoid this place like the plague
Customer Service Officer (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB21 février 2019
Management is completely clueless and the workload does not coincide with your wage. They provide zero training and throw you in the mix with no guidance and should you ask management a question they will marginalize you.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 25NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run the other way
Accountant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB31 janvier 2019
Worked under the president’s executive team and was managed by someone was incompetent and who could barely write an email without having numerous typos. Most of the people don’t know what they’re doing and managers will throw you under the bus to save themselves. It’s a very toxic environment and they pay you peanuts. Nepotism is high so don’t waste your time trying to climb up, they’ll take your job and claim victory for themselves.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Poor management, incompetent staff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 27NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
$ above ethics
RRSP (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB21 janvier 2019
Worked in RRSP dept.VP focused on personal life most of the time, those in support roles of VP were unfair&biased. Toxic culture. HR non-existent. Lots to learn and the job was interesting but not enough for the grief.
Witnessed unsavory activity as a daily occurrence, especially from upper management, just went unreported because of fear of losing job and knew HR would not be supportive. Terrible place to work environment.
Points positifs
None, grief not worth employment, underpaid, long hrs
Points négatifs
Clique culture, entitled individuals at the helm, worst management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible Management
Mortgage Officer (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB12 novembre 2018
- bad software and technology overall
- bad management that will blame employees for their short-falls
- processes make no sense and involve too many parties
- overall if you have other opportunities, avoid this company like the plague/
Points positifs
good benefits (health spending account)
Points négatifs
bad leadership overall
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad management
Mortgage Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB26 octobre 2018
- unreasonable service standards
- incompetent management
- bad software and overall processes
- low pay but the benefits were excellent otherwise a bad experience
Points positifs
free pop & juice
Points négatifs
bad pay, terrible management and overall leadership
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I wont work here for a million bucks!
Administrative Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB12 septembre 2018
This is a horrible company where you are promoted if you are son and daughter of an existing manager. No sense of direction. High fees, horrible values...bad reputation...JUST google these guys and what they have done!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 41NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Olympia Trust Foreign Exchange - Airport of Foreign exchange
Jr Currency Trader (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB27 août 2018
Two managers are extremely self-serving and want to fill their pockets at any cost, and keep the broken cart going!

Customers are charged anywhere from 4%-10%+++

You are asked to make tons of calls, land clients and then OVER CHARGE them until you get caught!

Middle manager sits on the phone and earns free pay checks.

VP takes 4 months off in a year and 10+ smoke breaks

Truly airport of foreign exchange!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 38NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Watch out!
PC (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB31 juillet 2018
It’s defiantly not what it appears to be. The culture is misleading and guided by a clique group that’s free to bully and mistreat. Wouldn’t recommend to anybody.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 34Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a place for the wise - Foreign Exchange
Currency Trader (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB9 avril 2018
I worked at Olympia Trust Calgary office for over 1 year as a currency trader. My compensation package/structure changed at least 10+ times in under 1 year. Management in foreign exchange division has no regard for employees although they come across different.
Points positifs
Location
Points négatifs
Poor management, no idea of direction.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Really hard but good pay
Associate (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON17 février 2018
Its good. really good. I enjoyed working there for some time. it was a great opportunity and was really fun doing it. I hope many other people get the opportunity to work around those areas.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Some good some bad
Operations, registered savings plan department (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB4 octobre 2017
The good:
They do promote within, laterally or linear
Benefits are a health spending account
I liked the people that worked there
They pay better than the banks do
They have a great Christmas party!
the other perks are nice too

The bad:
They implemented a system that just does not work. Lots of bugs that make your work life so much harder
Managers are fake, don't be fooled

sometimes it depends what dept you end up in and the supervisor you report to. It can make or break you
Points positifs
great perks, great staff
Points négatifs
faulty system, upper management isn't great
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok to start your Career
Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB4 octobre 2017
This is a company to start your career to gain the experience only. Low salary and not a lot of advancement unless your a yes man. There is no Job security and the culture is bad. If Management does not like you it is widely known even if you are a rock star in your role. They have these values that are not lived day to day by the higher ups.
Points positifs
Health Spending Account
Points négatifs
Low pay, Management is clicky
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Subservient IT Culture
IT Architect (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB21 août 2017
Most days are spent fighting fires and meeting metrics for JIRA tickets. Projects are hastily planned without input from IT. Business requirements dictate IT solutions. BA and QA positions are filled by unqualified businesspeople. "Social-club" type culture that alienates and isolates hard workers and shoots down progressive ideas.
Points positifs
Good compensation
Points négatifs
Legacy Architecture, Excessive DevOps time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 26Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
positive, energetic, enjoyable work environment
Account Officer (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB3 juillet 2017
I have held numerous positions over the years in a customer service oriented environment and my time with Olympia Trust was by far the most fulfilling, enjoyable and rewarding position I have ever held. I would not be leaving them were it not for the reason of moving to another city that Olympia Trust is not located in. I woke up every day excited to go to work. The work was challenging without being draining and the support from co-workers and management was positive and constructive. The company grew fast in the short two years that I was there and it was an honour to be a part of it's growth. It's a great company to work for!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 10Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Olympia Financial Group Inc.. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,3
D'après 42 avis
55
45
35
29
118

Notes par catégorie

2,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,1Direction
2,3Culture d'entreprise