Old Navy - Avis

Trouvé 633 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 7 967 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not enough hours
Brand Associate (Ancien employé) –  Ontario8 décembre 2018
INFO

The salary is minimum wage (currently $14/hr in Ontario).

Employee discount is currently (check date of review) 50% off all merchandise. For merchandise that is on sale, you get 50% off the ORIGINAL price.

Shifts range from 4 to 9 hours, but you rarely actually get more than 6.5 hours in my experience (unless you're in a higher position). Subtract 30 minutes of pay from that due to an unpaid break (make sure you ask in your orientation about the specifics of breaks and how long they are depending on how long your shift is).

A tip for people who want to work here is to make sure you ask to get trained on not only the sales floor, but also fits (cash is mandatory but it takes a few months for them to get around to training you). Doing this helps you get scheduled more often.

This job would be good for someone who doesn't want or need to work a lot of hours and just wants retail experience for their resume before eventually moving on.


PROS

The people at Old Navy are, for the most part, great to work with and supportive. I love the diversity of the staff and customers, and interacting with people throughout the day uplifts me and puts me in a good mood. I don't have any problems with management so far either, they seem to do a good job. Everyone works hard and collaborates to get things done efficiently. I find it to be a very fun, enjoyable environment.


CONS

However... the number one thing I don't like or quite understand about Old Navy is that they continue to hire a bunch of employees but won't give their existing employees hours.
  plus... My **speculation** (not a proven fact) is that there is some kind of bonus they get for doing this or a quota they have to fill - I'm not really sure. It's frustrating, though, because many people need the hours and need the money and it feels like the company just completely disregards this.

Many employees only get one or two shifts a week. Some get two to four. You can try to get more through an app the employees use to swap shifts, but those shift swaps aren't always approved by management. You will sometimes have one or even two weeks where you get no shifts at all. I've not only experienced this myself but have been told by multiple employees that they struggle to get shifts and this has happened to them.

I don't think the company really wants to make much of an effort to do something about this, because surely it benefits them in some way. And it's not a situation where you can "work on it". You either give your employees hours - or you don't. You either care... or you don't.

Hours are cut and they send you home early if you work a closing shift and the sales target for the day is not reached.

They don't have an organized sales floor training and the training in general seems somewhat rushed.
  moins
Points positifs
Employee discount, fun environment, the people.
Points négatifs
Short shifts, difficult to get hours, hours get cut on slow days.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun and friendly workplace
Sales associate (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON4 décembre 2018
Old Navy has a friendly atmosphere. Everyone likes to teach each other new things and helps each other. The store is usually crowded, so we have to work as fast as we can. Overall, everything is fun at old navy and in my personal opinion is the one of the best places to start.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB2 décembre 2018
Old navy is a fun place to work,management team isn’t difficult to get along with,the company try its best to show appreciation to its employees and they are customer friendly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Superbe entreprise
Général manager (Employé actuel) –  Sherbrooke, QC2 décembre 2018
Travailler avec des gens passionner qui s implique avec leur gens pour voir leur développement personnel
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Alberta1 décembre 2018
If you don't buy into the cult of Old Navy you are never going to make it. You have to live and breathe this company and put it before everything in your life. Constant turnover, ridiculous requests from Executives like a new policy of no line ups at the till ever. This despite 4/8 registers malfunctioning and a labour budget that only allows 6-7 people manning the entire store even during peak times. HR doesn't care about people, and DM'S care even less. Also the BS about this place being a Top Employer applies only to the US stores, although the Canadian division claims that fact as if it's up here as well. If you last six months here in Management you deserve a medal.
Points positifs
Decent compensation
Points négatifs
Too many to list.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Approving myself
Sales Assistant (Ancien employé) –  London, ON8 novembre 2018
Focuses sales efforts by studying existing and potential volume dealers.
Monitors competition by gathering current marketplace information on pricing, products, new products, delivery schedules, merchandising and techniques, etc.
Contributes to team effort by accomplishing team work to reach sales purposes.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unprofessional manager(s)
Stock Associate (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB6 novembre 2018
I was hired for seasonal work, but one manager didn't like me from the start so I rarely got more than 2 days a week. Same manager would talk about another manager behind her back (with a fellow manager).

There's also lots of favoritism among the managers for certain associates.

You quickly find out that there are cliques (stock vs sales) and the managers are aware and don't try to foster an inclusive workplace in that regard.
Points positifs
Discounts on Gap Inc brand stores
Points négatifs
Unprofessional/racist manager
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Old Navy
27 novembre 2018

We are very disappointed to hear of your experience. We have zero tolerance for discrimination of any kind. We strongly believe that Gap Inc. should be a place where all our employees feel welcomed and supported and we encourage employees to report any suspected discrimination violations through our Open Door process.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible manager
Shipper/Receiver (Employé actuel) –  Sherwood Park, AB27 octobre 2018
The manager is completely unreliable. We have to ask for our paycheck, and it takes days for a response. Been working for almost a month and still don't have an employee ID number
Points négatifs
Manager, short shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Old Navy
7 novembre 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience. At Gap Inc., we strongly believe in setting each member team up for success. We take this feedback to heart and are committed to working on this.

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of planning and productivity
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Markham, ON21 octobre 2018
My review summary - I really enjoyed this part, which was mainly maintained, thanks to the management team. Towards the end, I had some health problems. The management team was completely understanding of this, and supported me through this.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Old Navy
29 octobre 2018

We believe Gap Inc. should be a place where all of our employees should feel welcome and supported. We're happy your experience with management reflected this!

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
social and comprehending company
Seasonal brand associate (Ancien employé) –  Laval, QC21 octobre 2018
I wouldn't work there again as a seasonal brand associate ill rather choose to apply for a part-time or full-time position but not seasonal at all because of the unstable schedule for the seasonal brand associate.
Points positifs
good work area
Points négatifs
short hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok, growth was hard as management changed always
Logistics Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC19 octobre 2018
Old Nave Guildford Town Centre was an ok job, and I loved the team I worked with in the early morning. The shipment crew was a great bunch of people who I made many friends. Placing new product was fun and challenging. Trying to move up in the company or seeing any real growth/development wasn't available as upper management changed a lot. During my five years at the GTC location, I had about ten different managers, which made it difficult to move up or be coached adequately.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Old Navy
29 octobre 2018

We appreciate hearing your perspective. We have recently re-launched our development planning program, GPS, as part of our continuous effort to aid in the growth and development of our employees. We're working hard to keep managers accountable for their team's growth and development. Thank you for sharing.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
very disheartening place to work at
Department Manager (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON17 octobre 2018
management is not in touch with reality, they will burn you out and break your back with no acknowledgement what so ever. AFTER all the hard work you put into the sales floor,s it will NEVER maintained and all you effort was for nothing. MANAGEMENT WILL THROW YOU UNDER THE BUS too save their own jobs. Stay far awaaaaayy
Points positifs
Amazing co-workers
Points négatifs
Disheartening environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work, fun and welcomeing enviroment
Sales floor (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB13 octobre 2018
its a fast pace work environment, learned how to work with different types of people, management is good. hardest part of the job is learning where everything goes.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Old Navy
26 octobre 2018

One of our core messages at Gap Inc. is to be fast, be fearless, be better, and be bold. And we mean it! We’re glad to hear your experience reflected that. Thanks for sharing.

2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not the kind of job you need to pay your bills
Shipment Team (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON10 octobre 2018
Put it short: Old Navy's shipment team is not the kind of job you need to pay your bills.
You will have to be there at 6 AM and when the store opens at 9 it's usually time for you to go. At minimum wage, you won't make a lot of money. Also, they will promise you 12 hours per week but once you start you realize you never get those 12 hours.
Many shifts are canceled in the last minute for external reasons; however, you don't work and you don't get paid.
If you need to pay your bills, you end up landing a second or even a third part-time job, which is not healthy at all. Any steady job giving you consistent weekly hours is better and more stimulating than Old Navy.
More suitable for students, maybe.
This inconsistency, and the 6 AM shifts, is not good for your life quality.
Management is generally good except for a few rude people urging you to be fast.
Points positifs
Good lessons and experience; Team work
Points négatifs
Inconsistency; Canceled shifts; 6 AM shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Old Navy
26 octobre 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We understand this is a pain-point for some of our employees. We are constantly working to improve how we staff our stores and making sure we're putting our time, talent, and energy in the right places at the right times. We are committed to continuing to work on this.

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It was good for student
Brand Associate/Cashier (Employé actuel) –  Oshawa, ON9 octobre 2018
You get pretty flexible hours but some weeks you barely get any hours while some you get a lot. This is great for students that just want some side money. Not good for permanent job unless you do a management position
Points positifs
flexible, discount
Points négatifs
not enough hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive work place
Sales Floor Associate (Ancien employé) –  Barrie, ON8 octobre 2018
old navy was a great place to work, good people to work with everyone was very helpful if you were stuck and not able to answer questions for customers.
Points positifs
lunches were sometimes provided
Points négatifs
not enough hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Product and Marketing Manager
Product and Marketing Specialist (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB3 octobre 2018
I have worked retail for many years, at various places; nothing is like Old Navy. It is hard and stressful, my training was not great.
However, the pay is reasonable and there is a lot of opportunity for growth. I would say it is best to work your way up.
Points positifs
growth opportunity
Points négatifs
poor training
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Old Navy
26 octobre 2018

We appreciate your comments. GPS, our development planning program, was recently re-launched as part of our continuous effort to aid in the growth and development of our employees. We are also working hard to keep managers accountable for their direct reports' development. Thank you for your review.

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Ajax, ON3 octobre 2018
Working at Old Navy was enjoyable. It was a paced work environment but manageable. I received decent hours per week. Management was smooth and always on top of the employee's
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
slow place
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB1 octobre 2018
most shift goes in setting clothes in piles .. tiring and very unmotivated type of enviornment .. management was a mess. no perks and lesscommunication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace, high intensity
Sales Associate/Cash Handler (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON25 septembre 2018
Management is great to work with, really care about their employees and try to make work fun and enjoyable! The hardest part of the job is folding jeans to manager's satisfaction and dealing with some customers that argue about signage in the store. The signage is a reoccurring issue with the company that makes customers very angry.
Points positifs
Great colleagues and management; friendly and welcoming environment
Points négatifs
Short hours, limited days as a part-timer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Old Navy. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,8
D'après 7 967 avis
52,5 K
42,6 K
31,9 K
2566
1425

Notes par catégorie

3,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,2Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise