Olameter - Avis

Trouvé 58 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 164 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Low rates of piece work make you work your butt off.
Contract Utility Meter Reader (Employé actuel) –  Aurora, ON22 juillet 2019
Work by yourself at low peice work rates with no hope of advancing or pay increase. Very little support from management. Could be sent all over southern Ontario. The trend towards automation is reducing work load with no compensation so it is a dieing industry with no future .
Points positifs
Work outside in all weather +30 to -30 for low pay
Points négatifs
Management does not see the value of the people on front lines. You are expendable to them.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great for exercise. Bad for pay
Meter Reader (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON14 juin 2019
Nice job if you have no family to provide for. Hours can be short some days. Drive routes drain gas and you are not given any funds towards it. Winter is a challenge of mental strength marching through the snow which you cant book time off during dec to Feb which isn't convenient. Enjoy wet feet because shoe companies dont Make a shoe that can protect your feet unless u use rubber boots. Over time the shoes waterproof guard wears fast because they aren't madewell.
Points positifs
Short hours, good excercise up to 15km to 25km
Points négatifs
Bad weather, wet grass, no overtime pay or gas allowance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
terrible manager at Concord
Meter Installer / Reader / Collector (Ancien employé) –  Concord, ON13 mai 2019
manager has little man complex and feels the need to bully everyone.
loved the freedom of working outside and at my pace. The office staff is awesome as well as co-workers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Joke
Meter reader (Ancien employé) –  Halton, ON7 mai 2019
The wort training I have seen anywhere. Identified a programming issue and was relieved of my duties. Was told people will have to do work now and shouldn't make that happen.
Lead hand was fabulous. His regional boss, totally useless. Everyone works in fear of their direct report.
Another lead hand provided incorrect info that I followed for two weeks before being corrected. He wanted to avoid work too.
Great exercise. No way in the world to make $20-25/hr in Ontario. They say routes take about 2-3hours less than they really do. Only one route in 4 months paid me $25/hr. All the rest were close to $10/hr. I was paid through an agency not piece work so I did better than most. Work for an agency then pack it in when you get piece work.
Points positifs
Great exercise
Points négatifs
Terrible management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You get paid what you're worth
Meyer reader (Ancien employé) –  Sylvan Lake, AB19 avril 2019
I've heard a lot of complaining from people who don't seem to understand the term, 'piece work'. If you don't take the time to make your routes efficient, you won't make money. Stop blaming the conpany.
When I started, I barely made $100 a day, but I got a second job to help me through, and I stuck with it, and learned, and got great at it. Best job I've ever had. An average day, I made $300. $400 was common. I've had $500 and $600 days, taking advantage of bonuses they'd throw in to help in other regions, where the readers were falling behind.
I miss it terribly, but unfortunately, they no longer operate in Alberta. Come baaaack!
Points positifs
Money, set your own hours, work alone
Points négatifs
Weather; hard on vehicle
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 6Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
do NOT work here
meter reader (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON4 avril 2019
they will tell you how many people end up quitting, and you tell yourself you will not be that person, and than you will quit, lie about how many people have been there for awhile and make 85k+ a year
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 23Non 9Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Walke around a lot for this job
Meter Reader/Installer (Ancien employé) –  North Bay, ON14 mars 2019
Was doin work for this company that is non existent anymor3 reading meters and installing them, lots of walk8ng, stayed in good shape, good money while it lasted
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 5Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad job
meter reader (Ancien employé) –  Southern Ontario15 décembre 2018
spent about 30 years in the contract metering business Olameter was the worst , they quote $16 per hour, they forget to tell you about the fact it will cost you about $ 3 per hour in car expense & no guarantee you'll get 8 hours in day.In Ontario you'll make more at minimum wage.. And no matter how many hours you work no O.T or Benefits & bosses will throw you under the bus to save their butt. If you want to make a living look else where.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 83Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great self working thats about it.
Meter reader (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON11 décembre 2018
Pay is low, managment is lousy and will discriminate against employees, and does not pay for any vehicle expenses. Posititves if you get your work done you can have lots off free time, make your own hours and no boss breathing over your back.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 41Non 5Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This company is the worst!
Meter monkey (Ancien employé) –  Ontario2 octobre 2018
They still don’t realize that everyone is quitting because of the pathetic excuse for management and HR that treats the workforce like replaceable garbage. The job was not great before Upper management was changed earlier this year, but is now the worst it has ever been.
Employees here have no rights, and are taken advantage of at every turn. Even payroll will screw you over and refuse to even respond to you.
Most unprofessional company ever. Upper management is nothing but LITTLE bullies with small dog syndrome.
This has gone from a good job, to one of those “fake” constantly hiring in the paper everyday jobs.

STEER CLEAR!!
Points positifs
they don’t exist any more since the draconian changes to our duties and pay
Points négatifs
Everything, including Getting attacked by dogs and management at the same time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst Company, I’ve ever worked for.
Meter Reader (Ancien employé) –  Sudbury, ON1 octobre 2018
Never & I mean never take a job from Olameter. Not only will you find out, they don’t Care about their employee. They also think it’s okay, to have you beat on your own personal car. Which if you ask me, company’s should be supplying them. But anyways they weren’t even paying me minimum wage. Most routes “ they said would take 6 hrs”. Would take a lot longer. Due to poor routes layouts, most routes you need to drive, they barely pay you enough for that. “They say you get a driving fee” But it’s BS I got paid the same for walking as I did driving my car. Anyways, do yourself a favour, don’t bother with this company. Even if you bust you’r butt off for them, they have no respect.
Anyways all, have a good one.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Winter aren’t that great, they don’t pay winter pay also, routes take twice as long, work in every weather company has no care for safety
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 80Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed working except with whiners
Collections Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Markham, ON19 septembre 2018
Flexible hours, great managers and most of the staff are really nice, friendly and helpful. I learned a lot working at Olameter because of the different projects that our customer provides us.
Points positifs
Flexible hours
Points négatifs
Location is far from where I live
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 12Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Physically demanding work with very low pay.
Meter Reader (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON15 septembre 2018
Piece work(.21 cents/meter). So 20 or 25 dollars an hour isn't guaranteed. Even if you do make that much, it's usually based on around 5 hours a day max. If you dont work you dont get paid and there isnt that much work to go around.Company forces health benefits on you even if you don't want them. They cost around 35 dollars a week which is deducted from your pay. Local management is fine, but regional management is clueless and only shows up once in a awhile when something is wrong. The only positive things about this job are the short hours you work, gives you plenty of free time, and lots of exercise and sunshine. Wouldn't be a bad job for a student or someone with another part time job. Also technology is taking these meter reading jobs away in the close future. Radio frequency and satellite are taking over. It's already happened to the people who used to read hydro/ water meters.
Points positifs
Exercise, short hours
Points négatifs
Pay isnt that great you max out around 35k per year
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 55Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
What a joke, dont be fooled
Reader (Ancien employé) –  London, ON13 août 2018
This employer doesnt care about their employees. They will grind you into the ground for very little pay. No reimbursement for using your own phone and car. Dont be fooled by claims of $25/hr,its all lies to try to hook new people. If it was a good job, they wouldnt be looking for new people all the time. Turn over is high, be prepared to get screwed over every chance they can. Save yourself the aggravation and apply at tim hortons, you ll make more and be happier
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Waking 100 kms a week for $300
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don"t work here.
Meter Reader (Ancien employé) –  Ontario13 août 2018
The only reason you should work here is if you don't like yourself. You will never get a raise, in fact they will only take money away. There is no future with this company. Plan on killing your vehicle and getting little in return as pay goes. Do yourself a favor go work anywhere but here. Can't believe that I stayed as long as I did.
Points négatifs
NO MONEY
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 56Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard work that pays well.
Meter Reader (Employé actuel) –  Ontario6 août 2018
A typical day is walking 20-30 km. Lots of freedom to work your routes how you want to. Management is good and provides you with extra work when it becomes available. Its a hard job in the winter months but is very rewarding financially and for work life balance during the rest of the year.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 32Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
works decent
Meter Reader (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON31 juillet 2018
the job is alright but the pay isnt very good especially because you need to drive around and abuse your vehicle. unless they start to pay more it isnt really worth doing. the hours are great but thats about it.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 49Non 8Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Get fit, get paid
Meter Reader (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC1 juillet 2018
If you like to be active, be outdoors and you want to get in shape this is a great job. The pay depends on how you performn your job but it isn't hard to make $35/hr. There are routes that are better than others and they are distributed evenly so everyone gets there chance to have some $50/hr days. Overall only negative is the weather. Rain or shine or snow or sleet you are out there walking.
Points positifs
Freedom, flexibility
Points négatifs
Weather
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20Non 30Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst company to work for
Meter Reader (Employé actuel) –  Oakville, ON27 juin 2018
I have worked for Olameter for a year now and I can say it is the worst company I have worked for ever. They do not care for their employees and use a garbage pay system just so they don't have to pay their employees minimum wage. I have worked with people who have been there for 15 years and still make the same amount of money as a person who started that day. Do yourself a favour and DO NOT take this job.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
Use your own car. Long days wether rain, snow, hail or extreme heat.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 36Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of Potential - Horrible Management
Meter Reader (Ancien employé) –  Mission, BC11 juin 2018
The personal freedom and pay associated with Meter Reading is excellent, however management cares very little for their employees given the high rate of turnover. There is a lot of apathy towards fair treatment of workers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Olameter. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,8
D'après 164 avis
530
427
338
217
152

Notes par catégorie

3,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,5Direction
2,7Culture d'entreprise