New York Fries - Avis

Trouvé 179 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 195 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
They are not fare about hiring
Cashier (Part-time) (Ancien employé) –  Kamloops, BC16 septembre 2019
The owner of the NYF is totally a cheater. He promise to give work and he giver work for one week and then he don’t give any schedule. He never paid for that for the One week work and he just continuously doing with many peoples.
This is totally a business for him for not paying the employees. It happened with lots of people, I know them personally.
So I recommended don’t go for work in NYF.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
was very slow a lot
Crew Member (Ancien employé) –  Brantford, ON29 août 2019
New york fries was a very slow pasted job, i never got a lot of hours which i would've liked, the tasks i had to do were clean the store, do dishes, cut fries, count money at the end of the night and close the store.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB12 août 2019
The place is almost always busy but it is fun and time goes by quick. The staff all gets along and everyone is happy. The co-workers become like a family once you get to know each other.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
What ive learnt.
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Prince George, BC9 août 2019
I worked at New York Fries for a bit over two years, I loved the high pace environment with a constant rush of customers. I learned so much working there, for example; I learnt how to deal with certain situations in the customer service environment, I learnt how to deal with big responsibilities that helped me grow as a person and as an employee. I learnt how to keep up with the flow of the line up, making sure to perfect the product while working hard and fast.
Points positifs
Big growing experience
Points négatifs
short hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible management scheduled me for 13 hour shifts 1030 to 10pm because no one else could work days
Store Front Associate & Key holder (Ancien employé) –  Cambridge, ON8 août 2019
Sucks horrible place never going there again worst management ive ever seen made me so depressed working there over worked me until I had no choice but to quit
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun workplace
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  London, ON22 juillet 2019
i had a great time working at new york fries and really loved the environment and the hours i was working great place to be at and would recommend it to anyone looking for a job
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good management, awful attitude from co workers
Cashier/Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Alberta21 juillet 2019
The management was always friendly, understanding, helpful and cooperative. The other workers there ended up discriminating against me due to my young age, as I was the youngest employee at the age of 16-17. Rude comments were made, I was pushed/nudged physically, jobs were taken from me and I was told to instead clean or take out the trash when my position was indeed cashier/food preparation. Workers spoke another language around me and gave me nasty glares and made comments/jokes about scars I have on my arm and constantly criticized my work, skill level and customer service technique even though I had been there longer than some of them. Once I explained to my boss, they were extremely disappointed in the behaviour and understanding of my decision to leave; They even wrote me a recommendation letter for my next job(s). I was very lucky to have a great boss who taught me well and gave me the resources and knowledge I need for my future and I wish I could have worked there longer, but with that overall culture I could not bring myself to go back.
Points positifs
Good management and discount, flexible hours for students
Points négatifs
Unfriendly co-workers, discrimination
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Regular fast-paced food industry
General Labourer (Ancien employé) –  13A-550 King St N, Waterloo, ON, N2L 5W614 juillet 2019
Working at New York Fries is a rush. Must be prepared to work fast and follow commands quickly and efficiently. Hard during lunch and dinner rushes but slows down at other times.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
family oriented
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Waterloo, ON4 juillet 2019
This is a nice place to work with it being right in the mall but the management can be very strict. Personal conversation at any time is intolerable and meetings happen frequently.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management
Crew Member (Ancien employé) –  Port Hope, ON26 juin 2019
Current management was irresponsible and inconsiderate toward employees. Management would regularly refuse to acknowledge customers and crew that required help.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast pace
Front Line Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON14 juin 2019
Very fast pace environment as my store was located in a popular mall. You are expected to memorize all the toppings to each poutine and various sizes to fry cups. It wasn't bad.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Sever, Cook (Ancien employé) –  eaton centre13 mai 2019
very friendly staff and managers, can be very busy especially during lunch rush but after a few weeks dealing with high volume customers will become much easier to handle. Must be able to multicast and be able to be timely with what work is given to the team.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast and Fun
Associate Leader (Ancien employé) –  Woodstock, ON28 avril 2019
New York Fries at HMS Host was run amazingly by management the work flow was quick and the job was very simple. The team was well rounded and would recommend anytime.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
had a idea about cook's life
cook and cashier (Ancien employé) –  Sydney, NS16 avril 2019
i worked in the morning shifts. I collected the required items for the whole day use. I cut ingredients, made gravy, washed dishes, cleaned the workplace time to time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very slow paced environment unless there's an abundance of customers.
Customer Service representative (Employé actuel) –  Lloydminster, AB16 avril 2019
A typical day at work for me would be me coming in the morning, make all the sauces, fry all the fries in first stage (they need to be fried in 3 stages before being served), turn on all the machines, put everything together, restock whatever needs to be, and serve customers and complete their order all day long.
I've learned how to be more patient with customers considering how incompetent they can be at times, as well as be patient with my manager who can be very frustrating at times.
Management there as of right now is not the best, because they tend to slack off and get in the way of the other employees.
The environment there itself is more chill, it becomes more fast paced when we get a bunch of customers at once but I guess that's what it's like at a lot of places.
The hardest part of this job would have to be keeping calm and patient with the customers and especially the manager. All this considered, the best part would have to be the 50% employee discount, as well as free food while on the job and, because it's in the mall, you also receive a 10% discount from certain places in the mall.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Micromanagement
Service Crew Member (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB15 avril 2019
I loved working with my fellow employees but absolutely disliked my manager as he was very stubborn and always over my shoulder. It may just have been me but it felt as if he was always watching over me harder than the rest. However, I do applaud the standards that they made us work under. The problem was that that there was little to no space available to work nor was there much of a benefit other than working with good people. The amount of work we had to do in this location was crazy and though I am not one of the people who worked hard, the ones that did had to move to different jobs despite giving their all in this restaurant. He had been hoping to get the title of manager sooner than later but it was not granted and so he moved to a new place, which I would also have to advise other people to do if they work in a similar environment. There is little to no job advancement, only job security (and that's based on almost slave-like adherence to company rules and compliance to bad work hours, and a convincing brown-nosing attitude). Like all companies, they only care about the bottom line.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Environment, Tight-Knit Group
Crew Member (Ancien employé) –  Newmarket, ON4 avril 2019
Fast-paced and stressful environment when busy but fun workers you can quickly become friends with. Straight-forward routine and a simple, easy to remember menu.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible Job
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON29 mars 2019
I worked at New York Fries for a little over a year. The job itself was manageable, which required lifting multiple heavy baskets at once and surprisingly a good amount of strength for the job. Management was absolutely terrible and HR was no help whatsoever. In the time I spent working there, I had about 4 managers. My first manager was strict, but only because they were passionate about the job at hand. It felt intimidating to work with them because they wanted everything done as quick as possible. they went on maternity leave, and so another temporary manager was brought in. This manager would constantly go on smoke breaks and did the least amount of work. For a couple of months, officials from head office had to come in the store and be the manager as the last one moved to a different location and they were in search for a new replacement. Unfortunately their replacement came straight out of training with a new assistant manager and they did not manage the store well at all. My coworkers and myself found ourselves handling situations more often than the manager did. One time, on a very busy Saturday afternoon with the line stretching what seemed like over 20 customers, there were only two employees in the store (on a normal day, there were at least three). That same day, we had run out of everything, including potatoes (which seems impossible for a poutine place, right?) This forced our manager and the assistant manager to take 3 hours to drive to a different New York Fries location to grab more potatoes and left my coworker and myself to handle the long line of customers.  plus... My coworkers were all young (either in high school or in college/university) and made the job somewhat enjoyable.  moins
Points positifs
Free food
Points négatifs
Bad Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Typical fast food job
Front-liner (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON12 mars 2019
It's a typical minimum wage fast food job really. Your co-workers are young and there's a lot of micro-managing from supervisors but overall the staff is generally friendly.

If your in a busy location, like I am, it can be stressful and if you work full-time you can expect long hours of standing. Closing shifts are a pain because chances are you'll have to stay 45-60 mins past close to clean up which can keep you until 10:00 at night and sometimes later.

Work hours are flexible which is perfect if your a high school or college student.

Customers are the worst part of the job tbh, and you'll probably smell bad after your shifts due to the fries.
Points positifs
Flexible schedules, friendly staff
Points négatifs
Long hours, physically tiring
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Can be fun at times, but stressful and almost toxic in others
Cashier, General Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON11 mars 2019
Most days start out alright, and they also end alright. Others not so much. The minute u stop being a trainee, everyone pretty much shows their real face. A couple are ridiculous in a funny way, others nice and willing to be friends, but the rest are rather standoffish and can get snarky. A few fights between the workers can get rather loud and heard by the customers. All and any fights end up souring the mood for the rest of the day, and I admit, I become one of the few that are snappy and rude due to the toxic atmosphere. I clearly have the fakest smile on my face and all answers are given in short answers and many tries to calm down are tried and failed.

That being said most days are alright. It's a typical work day with everyone working together to make a customer's day as great as we possibly can. The music that the people at the back cleaning dishes and replenishing the sauces put on can get rather loud, but nothing that a simple request can get done. I do note that the people at the back often finish everything really fast and end up doing nothing for at least an hour until the sauces need to be replenished once more. Same goes for the fryer. Once orders are all done they sometimes go for their phones immediately, rather than heading to help keep the workplace clean.

Another thing I have noticed with management is there is a lack of suitable communication between manager and workers. The set schedule is often changed without prior notice until the day before the changed shifts. I asked a couple of co-workers and they literally realized that they haven't seen the
  plus... manager face to face in months. A new trainee literally only saw the manager during and after their interview to get the job. They don't even have a code to punch in their time to get paid because you need to talk to the manager for that. They currently rely on written attendance for their hours.

One more thing that didn't really happen to me but to other co-workers was an unusual delegation of jobs from manager and assistant store manager to normal employees. A couple just happen because the manager likes the employees' handwriting more than their own, which is an okay and a kinda funny reason to delegate work. Other times, responsibilities are shoved to other people. One person in particular likes to give away their responsibilities to others because they end up getting behind work at the back. But once more, people at the back usually end up doing nothing for at least an hour before having to help with closing.

(Now I say people, but there's usually only one person working at all stations at all times. I do wish that every shift we had more than four people [at the very least] at a time, but we wouldn't all fit in the narrow lanes of the entire workplace.)

Word of advice for the upcoming newcomers and all people looking for reasons why everyone is kinda rude that particular day and nice other days. This very environment is super toxic. I'm sure that in the future this will be different, but at the current time, I suggest waiting before handing your resume over. If you do still want that part-time/full-time job, keep asking questions, How do you do this and that? until you are sure that you definitely know what to do at a critical time. I didn't know what to do with coupons and such until I got handed them by a customer and had to pull someone from the fryer to ask what to do with a coupon. Other times was with discounts that certain people get and not understanding what to do on confirming it. The manager ended up saying to just give them the discount and to not bother confirming it because it was just a small discount.

TL: DR
Environment is toxic, fights between co-workers, and lack of communication between management and employees.
It's really hard to try and get any pros when the cons are more evident to see.
When people are done with their assigned stations, they end up using phones and end up getting behind work.
Some people like giving their own work to others.
Think before applying here, do you really want that job?
Here's to hoping this gets fixed.

*This does not apply to all locations*
(Just this one.)
  moins
Points positifs
Free Lunch, Good Music
Points négatifs
Long Hours, Toxic Environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez New York Fries. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,8
D'après 195 avis
564
457
349
216
19

Notes par catégorie

3,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,6Culture d'entreprise