National Oilwell Varco - Avis

Trouvé 148 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 2 725 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive work enviroment
Production Lead (Employé actuel) –  Nisku, AB18 août 2019
At NOV the main focus is safety first then quality of workmanship. The Management team is great and they always have an open door policy which make the employees feel they are getting heard. The safety culture is awesome and they are always encouraging employees to bring up safety concerns and how to improve them.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
General Manager in Leduc doesn't care and
Field Service Manager (Ancien employé) –  Leduc, AB16 juillet 2019
I worked for this company and gave it 110%, I was let go because the General Manager (DL) did not like the fact that I was asking for raises for myself and my service technicians,since raises had been frozen for more than 4 years and the service technicians were leaving to find higher paying companies. He and HR made it their mission to relieve me of my position and had no real reason so they removed the position of Field Service Manager.
Points positifs
Great experience, excellent benefits
Points négatifs
GM's who run a shop as a personal playpen
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun working in nov
Welder - Fitter (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB16 juillet 2019
Work in NOV is safety first, no work in rush job.. focus on the job. Nice worker.good communications, make sure a worker understanding the job. Solve the problem.
Points positifs
Safety, award safety, no work in hurry, good beginner for learning
Points négatifs
Low salary
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stay Away From the Nisku 15th Avenue Shop.
Operator/Labourer (Ancien employé) –  610 - 15th Avenue Nisku, AB16 juin 2019
I'm posting this because I just heard the same radio ad which had me apply for a job with NOV and thought I should relay my experience and thoughts of them.

Do not under any cirumstances, no matter how desperate you are, apply for any of the jobs at the 610 15 Avenue facility in Nisku.

The department I worked in was called the Reline dept. and it was by far the worst job I had and the worst company I worked for. I knew going in they operated with something called a continental shift which was similar to a rotating 12 hour shift work I worked at other companies but the morning and night shifts were fixed and you worked 12 hour shifts.

But even though you worked 12 hours shifts, there was not a single cent of OT pay and what was worse, even when you worked on a statutory holiday, you still received regular pay and even worse yet, if you didn't work on a stat holiday, you didn't get paid at all because of the stat holiday pay qualification policy of the company and the way they were able to skirt the labour code.

And if you're the hard working type, you'll always be picking up the slack for the lazy ones who just don't give a care doing as little as possible before they can get away with it and are only there to collect their paycheques.

What was worse was that the management pushed the hard working guys all the time and left the lazy ones alone. I've never worked in a place like that.

What finally convinced me to leave that company hownever was during last christmas season when the workload was low due to the machine that feeds work to the rest of the department
  plus... caught on fire all because of the management's neglect to properly maintain and clean the exhaust duct work periodically. So, they forced everyone to stay home for 3 weeks without any pay before and after Christmas time.

Please read fairly. To reiterate, all of us were forced to stay home without any pay because the management neglected to perform regular maintenance on a machine and it caught on fire. This was not any of our fault and the blame fell entirely on the management.

The fire itself was on a scale for which the fire dept. should've been called. It required close to 10 full fire extinguishers to put the fire out. Some guys just ran away while some of us held ground and hoped for the best while emptying one fire extinguisher after another.

So, when they forced us to stay at home, we were forced to use up all our holiday hours and of course for all of us that was nowhere enough for the hours lost from being forced to stay home, so we were just left without pay for all that time. During the christmas time no less.

You just don't treat people like that. And this is why the vast majority of the workers they hire are visible minorities whom they know will keep quiet no matter how unfair their labour practices are and will just take whatever the management does to them.

It's a place that will always try to screw the workers over as much as possible before they can get away with it. All of us were always looking over our shoulders always worried what was next by the management to screw us over with. The worker morale was always low there.

There's also a machine shop in that facility and from talking with some of the guys working there, things weren't that much different. The hard working guys are always picked on and are always pushed harder while the lazy good for nothing idiots have it easy and good. The morale with those guys also seemed pretty low too.

And when I was there, they were always fearful that the continental shift will be forced upon them too.

I'm sure NOV as a whole is a good company to work for. They must be doing something right when they're a multinational, multibillion dollar company. That's what attracted me to apply for a job with them in the first place. But the 610 - 15 Avenue reline facility in Nisku is just one big joke of an operation.

Stay away from applying for any of the jobs there.
  moins
Points positifs
Cannot Think of Even One
Points négatifs
Too Many to List. Refer to Review
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good stepping stone
Production Operator (Employé actuel) –  Nisku, AB11 juin 2019
A job that is impossible to take seriously because management doesn’t care. Culture is very toxic and breeds lazy workers. Maintenance is a never ending issue. Only pro is the pay/benefits are good from the start but there is no opportunity for advancement or raises.
Points positifs
Good pay and benefits
Points négatifs
Management, maintenance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You are timed for everything you do. Mike Olsen Is smart. You better listen to him or you are out!
WELDER/FITTER (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB31 mai 2019
They hire Philippians and pay them a very low wage. When there is a mistake made because lack of training, the yell and scream like junior high kids. If you book a vacation in advance you really need to remind them or each boss will come see you, Then ask why you were not there during your vacation. The management here Is ridiculous. Id rather go and watch my kids run a lemonade stand so I am not disappointed.
Points positifs
In the city, Good group on the floor.
Points négatifs
Management, Long hours, No appreciation, Low pay, Old building, Ego's!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place
STRUCTURAL DRAFTER (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB21 mai 2019
It's a great place to work, can start at whatever time I want as long as I'm here for my 8 hours a day. Never had problem with having to take time off or leaving early if an emergency came up. People here are great. Only thing is not too much room to advance and job gets tedious and some what boring- at least in my experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Office Assistant/ Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Jennings, LA7 mai 2019
Has very competitive pay and awesome benefits. This place is extremely and highly respected in the oilfield business. Great place to build your resume.
Points positifs
Great money making opportunities
Points négatifs
Very top heavy
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Company has double standards
Heavy Duty Technician Journeyman (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB17 avril 2019
I’m working at Nisku branch and I could tell you our management had double standard. No training for safety, and love to cut corners. They will show who boss and ask you do a stupid thing.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast Paced Workplace
Bits Warehouse Person (Ancien employé) –  Nisku, AB10 avril 2019
I loved working here. My co-workers were amazing and the days were usually so fast paced that my workdays felt shorter than they were.

My manager and Supervisor were beyond kind and accommodating.

The hardest part of the job would be the physicality. It took me about 2 months to adjust to the level of hard labour, but once I did I was just fine. It was difficult because I was coming from a along period of inactivity. So it would be different if a person was more fit before starting.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was the fast pace of the work environment. It felt like I blinked most days and my shift was done.
Points positifs
Fast Paced
Points négatifs
Physically Taxing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not for long termplan for a job
Production Operator / lead Hand (Employé actuel) –  Nisku, AB26 mars 2019
not a good place to work. Management just push employees for production without taking considerations of Hazards. Continental shift is not good for family. lots of hazards that is not taking care of. if you are a hard working guy, they will put more load on you and if you a the Lazy one, they wil just give you easy job with same salary as the one working hard.
Points positifs
no pros
Points négatifs
lots of things you will know when you get hired
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good company with great work/life balance
Drilling Optimization Engineer (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB20 février 2019
NOV offers great work/life balance. Yet, pay is on the low range, compared to other company in the industry. Many organizational problems limit personal and career development for employees.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall ok place to work
Millwright (Ancien employé) –  AB14 février 2019
US corporate management is very confused with our product line and really had no one that new the product all that well which did not work very well for selling the overall product
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good workplace Applied my skills
Programmer, Electrical Designer and Commissioning (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB19 janvier 2019
PLC programming Solving problems regarding the project
Engineering specifications Designs Electrical
Hardest part International travel
Satisfied customers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good group of guy
Labourer (Employé actuel) –  Nisku, AB18 janvier 2019
good group of guys to work with. been there for 10 years always something new to learn working in the cold can be hard sometimes sometimes long hours too.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
didn't work there for very long
Invoicing/Office Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB3 janvier 2019
I honestly do not have much to say about this company, as I was not wit them for very long. Other then I did like who I worked with. It was am easy job
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
growth focused fun exciting well managed
General Manager (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB4 décembre 2018
worked there nearly 15 years several promotions and company focused educational opportunities. maintained employment throughout the ups and downs of the oilfield industry. overall well balanced work life culture.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Maintenance of machines needs work
Production Operator (Ancien employé) –  Nisku, AB22 novembre 2018
takes too long to fix machines when broken and order of equipment needed also takes too long to order. No bonuses nor commisions when reached our sales target.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fairly treated
Shipper/Receiver/Inside Sales/Warehouse Lead (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB19 novembre 2018
Was treated quite fairly, lots of room to move up in the company, a few bad eggs CAN spoil the bunch, but if you can avoid them, everything is good as far as I'm concerned
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
excellent
Quality Control Technician (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB5 novembre 2018
Although I was only employed for a little over one year my experience there was excellent. I worked at the stator location 3550-93 st. and the staff was excellent. from the production personal to the management. They are very involved with every aspect of the process and were hands on, (not scared to get dirty) knowledgeable and experienced and a great group of people to work with. If you want a rewarding career and aren't scared to work hard and have a own it mentality then this is the place to go.
Points positifs
production team, supervisors, management and career options and advancement
Points négatifs
hours are long..
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez National Oilwell Varco. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,9
D'après 2 725 avis
5932
4959
3592
2140
1102

Notes par catégorie

3,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise