Milieu Family Services
Recevez de nouvelles offres d'emploi et avis chaque semaine!

Milieu Family Services - Avis

Intitulé du poste
Lieu
111 avis correspondant à votre recherche
Voir les 113 avis
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
bien aimer avoir travailler avec des enfants en bas âge faire des activiter avec eux préparer les repas
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Working in grouphomes for youth with behavioural problems you will see a lot of strange and sometimes scary things. If you are the kind of person who doesn't reacte wildly and can keep your head in it you'll do well. The staff are good people. A lot of them are working a lot and so the culture is friendly you are all in it together. There have been sweeping changes in managemment and so we are seeing more efficiency and attention to details.
Points positifs
union shop with BCGEU a great opportunity to stick with somthing and grow
Points négatifs
not for the faint of heart or those who are too anxious
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
10 novembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are proud to be a unionized company that provide fair opportunities to all of our staff. We are all about using a person centered approach to empower individuals to become active participants in their care and ensuring that their values guide decisions that relate to their life. Please don't hesitate to contact the HR department for any questions hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This agency is mismanaged from the top. Many sketchy things happen at the advice of the top executive. They overworked and belittle their managers and staff, constantly change strategies to try to look better to their funders, which means people are doing the same work over and over. If something goes wrong, which sometimes happen in this field, Milieu doesn't try to find the issue and solve it, they look for who to blame to use as a scapegoat. I am a former manager who left and has worked at several other agencies, all of which were better. Think twice about working for Milieu.
Points positifs
The people supported.
Points négatifs
Stress, pressure mismanaged from the top.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
10 novembre 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. Our senior management comes up with new strategies to support the company’s vision. Milieu has been CARF accredited for 15 years and we strive to provide the best service to all individuals served. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback. If you’d like to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact our human resources department at hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Milieu is an amazing place to work , management are really nice and they really care about your and the individual safety, the working culture is really respectful . The co-workers ,the manager everyone works here for the well-being of the individuals .there is also so many training to help you deal with the Individuals .again it’s the best place to work and gain experience
Points positifs
Working culture
Points négatifs
No cons
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
22 octobre 2020
Thank you for your positive feedback! We invest a lot in our trainings in order to provide safety for our individuals and employees. We are glad to hear that your experience with us has been great. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions, hr@milieu.ca
Notez une entreprise où vous avez travaillé récemment
Partagez votre expérience pour aider d'autres utilisateurs.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I am a new employee with Milieu and I have been impressed with passion and high standards of my new co-workers and the leadership of this organization. The youth we work with are complex but the supportive leaders and excellent training has created a culture of passion. Youth growth and stabilization is the focus of everything we do. I used to work for a competitor, different society and I am so glad I switched to work at Milieu. I feel fortunate to have found a work place that feels like a family. That said, I’ve noticed of the other newer staff members seem to work in school boards and past experience working in health setting. I think it’s important for all new workers in residential setting to know that working with complex special needs youth can be much more intense than in other more controlled youth centered fields. I think new workers need to be prepared and aware for these differences otherwise when these staff leave due to the intensity, the only people who end up getting hurt are the youth we support. It’s important for new staff to be aware residential work is complex, and can be intense, but if you follow the youth’s plans and use the training Milieu gives the success reached by our youth is very rewarding!
Points positifs
Training, leadership and long term staff members
Points négatifs
Co-workers with not enough experience in residential setting with special needs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I had a really bad experience working at this company. Poor management and lack of communication. Lack of personal safety. Stressful work environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. Our company offers MANDT, PBS, and CORE training to help our employees best support the individuals and provide safety for everyone. If you’d like to discuss this further, please contact our human resources department at hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I really liked working there.Management is very helping and supportive.Safe workplace.A good salary and the staff is always ready to help each other .
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for your positive feedback and for being part of our Milieu team. We appreciate your support.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I’ve worked at a residential home in Langley for many years. Though there have been ups and downs with the people we support Having tough times we get through it. My coworkers are kind and the teamwork is always good. Milieu put the people in home first but also treats staff members fair and supports everyone to lead and make decisions together. There is good training. They even hired family members of people to work with people in the home because their voice and closeness is important.
Points positifs
Good training, people supported first, kind and collaborative to everyone on team
Points négatifs
Sometimes stressful when people support go through episodes of a rough time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We’re lucky to have found so many outstanding employees to be part of Milieu. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your manager in any stressful situations, they are always here to support you. If you would like further details, please contact our human resources department at hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I’ve worked for Milieu at the same grouphome for people with disabilities for 9.5 years. My coworkers are really great people, we are like family. In the 9.5 years I’ve had 3 managers, all are kind and knowledgeable. It’s been my experience that at Milieu cares for one and another. The people we support are wonderful and lots of fun. There’s so much laughter in the home, which is a big reason I love coming to work everyday. We all enjoy supporting the residents have their best life. The work is about empowering the people who live in the home to be independent, volunteer, work if they want and make friends. It’s a fun job.
Points positifs
Laughter and great coworkers
Points négatifs
Sometimes there is overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Congratulations on being with Milieu for almost 10 years!! Thank you for all the work that you have done to support the individuals. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are always working on recruiting and retaining staff to reduce overtime. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions, hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I have worked for Milieu for seven years supporting adults. I’ve worked both in residential services and day time services. In residential services there is more home making support and a focus on positive behaviour support. The aim is to support the adults who live in the home to be as independent as possible. I moved to work in Milieu’s outreach program which is a community based service for three years ago. I absolutely love it. I love the freedoms to support people to plan their own lives. People achieve so much more not having limits of any type of program attached to their services. I help people in their homes, with their appointments, find a job, go to doctor and try new things. It’s really up to them and I am assigned a certain amount of hours each week to plan our time together.
Points positifs
Flexible and Person Centered, Milieu fosters trust with their outreach employees
Points négatifs
None in outreach
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience. Supporting individuals in the day program or residential is very rewarding and I am glad to hear that you experienced both. Thank you for all the support that you provide.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Working for Milieu is such a rewarding job being able to work with diversity of people and I am always learning something new every day about myself. Also, working at Milieu has many perks such as being able to join people having a good time by doing what they like to do such as art, exploring community or cooking together.
Points positifs
Lots of fun, day goes by fast
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Our company strives to provide a positive work environment for all employees. We appreciate all the work that you do.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This job is very fun and rewarding; however, consistency is key to the youth’s success. I would remind all new staff that is very important to remember following youth’s plans as it’s crucial to having a great shift. At Milieu, many of the youth have significant challenges, but if you understand what they need by observing their behaviour, it’s easy to help the youth have great days. A big part of the job is going out in the community with the youth, this has been challenging with Covid. But with restrictions lifting it’s gotten easier. The youth do not always do well with change, so if you work here you need to understand the importance of consistency. Milieu teaches an empowerment healing of trauma model through relationships, not control and restraints. Some staff have found this approach difficult because they believe negative actions should result in negative consequences. Milieu strongly opposes this mentality. Managers and the coordinator are always available to come in and assist or they are phone call away if issues arise, there is lots of support.
Points positifs
supportive management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our company. Your feedback is very appreciated especially that you understand the importance of consistency to the youth we support. By using your PBS, MANDT, and CORE training, you are able to provide the best support to the youth while ensuring their safety and health. Thank you again for sharing your time with us.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You will be set into violent and dangerous situations, almost daily. Management will tell you that YOU are the problem, even though the individuals in care have already exhausted all other care options. There is zero consistency. There is minimal support. The co-workers, they will fast become good friends, and you will rely on them but staff turnover is HUGE
Points positifs
Great coworkers
Points négatifs
Too many to list
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience with Milieu. We follow strict MCFD guidelines and protocols when supporting the youth and aim to provide them with the best support and consistency by using a person-centered approach. Thank you for your feedback, if you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact our human resources department at hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work is fast paced, the youth can be challenging; however, the positive behavioral training we receive is excellent. We also receive CORE training to help staff understand empathetic approaches that support a good relationship with youth who have experienced previous trauma. Youth needs come first, which can make our role exhausting. Co-workers that don’t last usually do not like the pace or the high expectations on shift. You always need to be alert and focused on the youth plans. It’s not for everyone, but for some of us working in servitude of others, it’s a perfect job. Our work is a calling, not a just job. If you are looking just for a 9-5pm job working with youth this probably isn’t the work for you. But, if you are up for the challenge that makes differences and helps kids change negative patterns into positive ones, the work at Milieu has been awesome!
Points positifs
Rewarding
Points négatifs
Not for everyone
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Using a person-centered approach is very important when supporting the youth and we are glad to hear that you have benefited from our CORE training. We are thrilled to have you on as part of our Milieu team.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I should have ran from the day of the interview. The Manager was 45min late; she had forgotten and only attended after several phone calls which went unanswered. The interview was 20 mins in length once she arrived. On the job I saw many workers burnt out, at times I observed workers with their clients and they did not have the basic skills needed for the youth. specific needs of the job.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. All of our interviews are done virtually and not at the head office. Our department works thoroughly to ensure that applicants meet the requirement of having a minimum of 3 years of education and/or experience related to the field before hiring them to work with youth. Upon being hired, all staff members are enrolled in 5 days worth of training. Milieu is known to provide training and support for all staff members and we are sorry to hear that we missed the mark. If you would like to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact our human resources department at hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I really enjoy working at Milieu because everyone is very enthusiastic. It's all about helping people we support to grow and become more and more involved in their community. There's a lot of training and a lot of support. My coworkers are fun and highly committed to the people who live in the home. I enjoy coming to work here.
Points positifs
Enthusiastic Coworkers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are thrilled to have you on as part of our Milieu team.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nobody is satisfied with their jobs in this company and upper management is very unorganized. They don't appreciate hard working employees and expectations are set unfairly.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Milieu strives to show appreciation to all of its employees which is why we have a program called The Stepping Up Award where staff are nominated by their manager to recognize the work that they've done. We are sorry to hear that our company missed the mark, we are always working on increasing employee satisfaction. Please feel free to contact our human resources department with any suggestions, hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I have been working out of Surrey for years and I can finally say we are heading in the right direction with these changes that are happening. Very challenging job with youth who are high risk and have many challenging behaviours. It can be very stressful and sometimes scary but we have a great team who care so much about the youth in the home. I enjoy coming to work everyday and feel supported. I will be working for Milieu for many years to come.
Points positifs
Excellent team with great youth
Points négatifs
A lot of documentation/high risk youth
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
22 octobre 2020
We are glad to hear that we gained your loyalty! Milieu strives to bringing in the best team to support individuals. We appreciate all the hard work that you do at Milieu.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Before starting i had an agency orientation and a lot of training to be specific a week worth of training. Milieu is open and honest with the risk the job has it’s even posted on the walls for us to read. Many examples in my Mandt class, CORE and PBS. I was aware of the challenges and risk the job brings. I also received a specific orientation for each client I was going to work with. I’m currently working in Richmond and Surrey. I applied and received a position which is great because I get benefits with blue cross. Upper management is available when needed and they will come while your working for extra support so you can watch them work with the youth and give support and feedback.
Points positifs
Lots support from manager and upper management
Points négatifs
Hiring process is overwhelming and confusing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you have benefited from our training, we definitely invest in preparing our employees prior to working online. We understand that the hiring process may be challenging due to the industry requirements, but our team is always here to provide any support in obtaining those documents. Thank you for all the work that you do. Please feel free to reach out to human resources with any questions you have, hr@milieu.ca
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
My experience working at Milieu has been nothing short of extraordinary. The individuals I work with are lovely, and my manager and co-workers are understanding and kind. Overall my time working here has been a pleasure, and I strongly recommend Milieu as an employer. The only downside is vacation can be difficult to come by during peak times as it is an essential service.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
Thank you for your feedback. Being part of essential services is very rewarding and we thank you for all the work that you do.
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The work i have done as an employee at Milieu has bettered me as a person, and a worker. I have learned so many skills that will stay with me long after I am done working here. They management is very accommodating, and provide good feedback for staff. We are provided with more than adequate materials, and overall are given what we need to succeed.
Points positifs
- Supportive management, room for progression, good training
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Milieu Family Services
16 septembre 2020
We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have benefited from Milieu, we are thrilled to have you as a member of the Milieu team.