Midwest Surveys Inc. - Avis

Trouvé 16 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 18 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
One of the best companies to work with.
Geomatics Technician (Ancien employé) –  Regina, SK4 novembre 2019
I normally don’t give reviews unless i compared the work culture with other employers,and i wish to rate MSI,here’s what i feel about Midwest surveys.
Working with Midwest surveying was really a fun, work atmosphere was very professional, and people are so friendly they help you almost in everything either it’s work related or personal . It’s 12 months job no lays-off in winter, that’s kinda cool, you feel yourself employed

and working
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Garbage Management
Survey Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Medicine Hat, AB23 octobre 2019
Moved me all the way out to Saskatchewan then told me I had to come back once I was already in a lease then fired me when I couldn’t move back because I was locked in a lease
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Midwest Surveys Inc.
8 novembre 2019

Thank you for contributing your perspective on your employment experience with Midwest Surveys. Although your comments do not align with our organizational values and terminating employees as a result of their living arrangements is not supported by our policies and practices, we appreciate hearing from you.

Being flexible to accommodate employees’ personal affairs and obligations is something we pride ourselves on. We work diligently to ensure we retain employees who have a desire to mutually benefit from the employment relationship. If you believe your employment experience reflects otherwise, I am eager to discuss this further with you. You may reach me at 1-800-387-3032 or at kpoxon@midwestsurveys.com . Take care.

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Its alright.
office staff. (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB16 octobre 2019
There are a lot of ok things about this organization, but it doesn't stand out as an overall exceptional employer. I think management is open to making changes to support its staff, its just a bit slow moving at times.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Midwest Surveys Inc.
8 novembre 2019

Thank you for providing us with this constructive feedback. Our Mission, Vision and Values are intentionally employee-centric as we strive to provide an exceptional employment experience to all those who work with us.

You’re right, our Management Team is open to employee feedback and carefully considers the impact and potential to support our strategic direction. Change initiatives are difficult to implement, it’s a process not an event, and something we strive to improve upon each time. Having recently completed an organization-wide engagement survey, we shall continue to use the information therein on our journey toward being an exceptional employer in Western Canada.

Thanks again and take care!

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great guys to work with.
Crew Chief Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Midwest Edmonton Inc23 avril 2019
The atmosphere is always jovial, easy going, but work des get done. Like most jobs there are short comings, however that didn't diminish the outcome..
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Junk
Crew Chief (Ancien employé) –  Regina, SK29 mars 2019
Office manager in the Regina office is cheap, and doesn't care about his employees. The company is stagnant, when it comes to being innovative. The company is cheep overall.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
Réponse officielle de Midwest Surveys Inc.
22 mai 2019

Thank you for contributing your perspective on employment at Midwest Surveys.

Like many industries, the municipal surveying field experiences peaks and valleys in business volumes. Cost-conscious decision-making can appear trivial, or "cheap" as you describe; we feel every penny counts towards the company sustaining itself for years to come and, yes, we require employee support in this regard. Allocating resources to terrestrial laser scanning and drone technologies to support our survey products has definitely resulted from our ability to manage cash balances.

We strive to achieve our Mission, Vision and Values. Each of which include our employees; engaging, supporting, and showing commitment to them every step of the way. Your comment that the Office Manager "doesn't care about his employees" is concerning and we will reflect upon practices which aren't working towards our goals.

Because reviews are anonymous, please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further at 1-800-387-3032 or email me at kpoxon@midwestsurveys.com. Thanks again, and take care.

2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor work/life balance; reasonable job security.
Crew Chief (Ancien employé) –  Alberta31 octobre 2018
Poor work/life balance, at least among field crews. Out of town/away from home for the maximum amount of time they could keep you out, home for 2-3 days, and then back out again. The trips away from home aren't so much the issue (it's the nature of the work) but the lack of a schedule makes pursuing other things in your life very difficult. I can remember many times where field ops managers would phone at the end of each day off to tell me if I had the next one off. Expect to hear about it if you have anything scheduled when they inform you that you are working the next day.

Mediocre wages with little room to move up despite putting in good work and time in. Mid/end-year bonuses are nice. Expect many excuses from managers as to why you will not get a pay raise.

Job security seemed reasonable, but being tied so tightly to oil and gas, expect to take a pay cut or get laid off if oil prices drop significantly. As for advancement, if you are more valuable in your current role, you will not be moving up - even if you've made your desire for a particular position known, are qualified, and have put your time in.

In terms of the type of experience you can gain at Midwest, many of the field crews do one type of job and don't move beyond that. There are simple things that you may learn with other firms such as using a level or total station that many crews generally don't touch at Midwest. I was honestly surprised at the lack of depth many crew chiefs at Midwest show. I don't think that is so much the fault of the crew chiefs necessarily, but more a reality of the limited scope
  plus... of work.

The culture could use improvement. Having worked at another survey firm that I still retain very good relations with I was surprised at the level of resentment from SOME managers upon leaving. On the other hand, some people like the equipment manager at a certain office were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Some project managers were very good to deal with - providing guidance and insight into how they wanted field work completed. Some, however, were very poor at their jobs relying much too heavily on field staff for guidance and some were both condescending/incompetent.
  moins
Points positifs
Overtime
Points négatifs
Lack of a schedule, long periods of time away from home
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Midwest Surveys Inc.
30 novembre 2018

Thank you for providing your feedback on your employment experience with Midwest Surveys. Your perspective is important to us. I am sorry to hear you felt scheduling interfered with your personal life. Midwest Surveys includes people as one of its core values and we make every effort to ensure employees have fair work/life balance. Client needs sometimes don't allow us to work around personal plans and scheduling can be a real challenge in these circumstances. We do appreciate the individual sacrifices employees make to ensure deadlines are met.

We aspire to be a fair and equitable employer in all aspects of the employee experience, including compensation strategy and providing positive employee communications and training and development opportunities when available. We are always looking to improve the employee experience and your feedback will be considered going forward.

Because reviews are anonymous, please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this, or any other concerns you may have at 1-800-387-3032 or email me at jodonnell@midwestsurveys.com.

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A solid place to work when you put in the effort
Land Surveyor and Project Manager (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB7 août 2018
Worked at Midwest as a land surveyor for 10 years until 2009. I like many left because of the negative influence of one individual who has since left. Despite all that it's a great company with a lot of history and I'd work there again if they are hiring.
Points positifs
Great technical staff and support staff, good pay and great benefits.
Points négatifs
A little slow on the Innovation at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 5Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Can’t say too much about it, worked there for less than a year
Chainman (Ancien employé) –  Fort St. John, BC3 août 2018
Was a chainman and didn’t do any schooling to be a crew chief so unless you do that there’s not really any room for advancement. Chainman is a good fresh out of school job, would recommend to anyone. Wage was decent for what you do and how easy the job is. Work was simple and if you like quadding/sledding than it’s definitely a job you’ll enjoy.
Points positifs
Mostly easy laid back work, decent wage, 12 hrs a day, some weekends off
Points négatifs
4 years of schooling to be a crew chief I believe, shoveling and chiseling frozen ground in winter, outside in winter up to -30 any colder usually take day off
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Company
Survey Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB14 juillet 2018
I really enjoyed working for Midwest, the managers care very much for each employee and the work was rewarding. With this job, I was able to see much of the province and gain plenty of field experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 6Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Project Manager (Ancien employé) –  Medicine Hat, AB20 février 2017
Excellent place to work. Work volumes follow the patterns of the oil and gas industry, so you have to be aware of this when you work for this company. Employee owned and operated which gives the company a great work ethic and culture.
Points positifs
Career job
Points négatifs
Hard work, not for anyone who is not willing to give 100%
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 16Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The most honest and truthful review.
Plan checker (Ancien employé) –  Regina, SK30 janvier 2017
My time spent at MS I. was fairly unproductive. I never went anywhere with in the company as far as advancement. I put my time in and went above my job description. 99.6% of the work is oil and gas which should scare any new applicant thinking it's a life long career. Morale was at an all time low and most likely still is. MSI avoids the truth when people voice their concerns and experiences. HR department is very cleaver when it comes to laws and rights, be careful. Wage was not good at all compared to their competition. Very much an old boys club. Worked with alot of great people who were let go to protect company sponsored vehicle allowances, great decision. Bonuses were not exactly helpful compared to the money being generated when it was busy. Attitudes and egos are very large. Experienced some very awful things while working there. Glad I'm done.
Points positifs
Didnt have to pay for coffee
Points négatifs
Layoffs, egos, attitudes, no professionalism, cliques, poor management, lack of consideration and care, me myself and I
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 46Non 11Signaler

Ecrire un commentaire – 15 mars 2017

Thanks but no thanks. I no longer have the worry about alternative facts and can live the rest of my life knowing that my past horror is exactly that, the past. Take care and Kcco.

Réponse officielle de Midwest Surveys Inc.
7 février 2017

Thank you for contributing your perspective on the employment experience at Midwest Surveys. I was genuinely concerned to read your comments. As you know, Midwest includes people as one of our core values and we do our best to make fair decisions when it comes to company policies and practices.

Reviews posted here are anonymous, if you would like to address anything further, please contact me directly at 1-800-387-3032 or email kpoxon@midwestsurveys.com. Take care- Midwest Surveys

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dedicated staff and responsible leadership
Human Resources Advisor (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB2 décembre 2015
Midwest Surveys is a company that encourages growth, supports employee development and mentors its staff. This company is committed to providing its staff with the best resources, with educational and financial assistance, creating meaningful experience and an opportunity to work on challenging projects.

There is lots of fun to be had at Midwest. From Social Club breakfasts, ski trips, Wine-O-Survivor, potlucks, holiday parties and retirement parties. The staff at Midwest knows how to bring play into their workplaces.
Points positifs
Fun place to work. Awesome people. Employee Bonuses. EHSA.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 36Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Professional Employee's own company
Geomatics Technologist (Ancien employé) –  Regina, SK16 novembre 2015
Midwest Surveys is a professional land surveying company. My first job in Canada as Geomatics Technologist was there and I learnt a lot because of its friendly environment and highly skilled management.
Points positifs
Highly technical staff
Points négatifs
Everybody is having single job or responsibility forever which is boring sometimes.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 33Signaler
Réponse officielle de Midwest Surveys Inc.
16 août 2016

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, we appreciate your feedback and experience at Midwest Surveys Inc.

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Friendly team oriented environment
Administrative (Employé actuel) –  Office18 juillet 2015
Overall, a good place to work and develop your career. Employees are treated with respect and management genuinely cares for their personal development.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 33Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Collaborative and highly engaged company to work with.
Corporate HR Manager (Employé actuel) –  Calgary6 mai 2015
I had the opportunity to work closley with a stellar President and COO over the course of my time with MSI. The company was very progressive and focused on delivering exceptional service and keeping employees engaged with meaningful work and appreciation of their efforts. The management team was a gift to work with offering a high appreciation and value for HR's contribution and support. MSI fosters a strong culture of safety, ethical and a respectful workplace.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 50Signaler

Voir plus d'avis pour Midwest Surveys Inc.

Vous pourriez essayer :

Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Midwest Surveys Inc.. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,7
D'après 18 avis
57
45
32
22
12

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise