Metroland Media - Avis

Trouvé 292 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 304 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Employees are undervalued
Senior Credit Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON25 septembre 2019
Many great people that work here but employees are undervalued and not paid their worth. Departments tend to be very silo-based, only being concerned for their direct functions with no consideration for the "bigger picture". There seems to be little room for growth, possibly dependant on your role. Direct managers and middle-management lack enthusiasm and seem to have no interest in new ideas or providing direction. Torstar is undergoing major but necessary changes for long-term success and Metroland casualties will continue to be a part of this change.
Points positifs
Decent hours, good vacation, flexible hours
Points négatifs
Poor culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and great job to earn small time cash for the side
Newspaper Carrier (Employé actuel) –  Ajax, ON23 septembre 2019
I would only deliver papers on Wednesday and Thursday and it was pretty straight forward and easy; unless the weather conditions were bad. The customer service depends on your area.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
What a joke!
Graphic Designer (Ancien employé) –  North York, ON11 septembre 2019
Pros:

- Weekly pay (very hard to find in full time jobs)
- Friendly and helpful coworkers
- Free cake and treats every month
- Amazing benefits plan (wish I could have used it)

Cons:
- Lack of direction from managers (they leave you on your own with barely any guidance or direction)
- Inconsistent directions (one manager tells you one thing, the other manager tells you another thing)
- Not given enough time to prove your mettle (fires employees suddenly with little notice just 'cause they want to)
- Inconsistent hours
- Treats mistakes like they are the end of the world
- Unapproachable managers (gets annoyed when you ask for clarification or help)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Metroland Media
District Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON27 août 2019
Lots of variety with this job. I was in distribution. Great colleagues to work with. I loved the people and the variety of the job but the papers in Ottawa went under so no more.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Sinking ship
Outside Sales Representative (Ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON18 août 2019
This is the cheapest company I ever worked for. Completely mismanaged and anti-employee. If they could get away without paying their employees at all they would not hesitate to do it. You will NOT make any money here and they pay far, far below industry average for sales people.
Favouritism runs rampant.
Points positifs
They bring in cookies once a month
Points négatifs
Low, low pay, but high, high expectations. Get with it Metroland, you're getting a bad name in the marketplace
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great management team
Senior DBA (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON17 août 2019
Great management team. Technology was not cutting edge but IT team was definitely capable and helpful to entire team. Management was always interested in how to improve.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Simple straight forward work, tough at times but ok.
Mississauga news (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON29 juillet 2019
People very friendly at work, very kind and helping when needed. Management could have been better in decision making when scheduling employees. But other than that its was good.
Points positifs
Friendly people
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not interesting
Newspaper Carrier (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON26 juillet 2019
Handing out newspapers every week can be boring and uninteresting since you are doing it yourself and there is no communication or team work and I would like to be in an environment where we work as a team in order to finish.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not the best job
Newspaper Courier (Ancien employé) –  Almonte, ON25 juillet 2019
I didn't have a very good experience here, I had some problems with 2 of the people i delivered to but i also had some very good experiances with some people. The salary wasn't the greatest but was semi-reasonable.
Points positifs
Some kind clients
Points négatifs
Long distance to walk, Low pay, Long preparation time, Some bad experiances
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard work, little money.
Newspaper Carrier (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON17 juillet 2019
It was pretty labour intensive. I was younger at the time and didn't realise how incredibly underpaid I was for the amount of work I was doing two nights a week. I would not recommend this job to anyone. It made me appreciate money more. The most enjoyable part was Friday deliveries since they were so light, they took those out the last two weeks I worked there though. The hardest part was getting the newspapers to the houses. It was only a few streets down but I did about 80 houses and that many newspapers add up in terms of weight and the amount of volume they took up, resulting in having to do more than one trip or ask family members for help.
Points positifs
Money
Points négatifs
Hard physical labour
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible hours and way to enhance your skills
Newspaper Carrier (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON17 juillet 2019
I only had to work two times a week and this job gave me an opportunity to enhance my time management skills because I had a school which meant I had to squeeze in some time to make newspapers and to deliver them. I have developed a lot of life skills from this job.
Points positifs
earn money within six hours of working in a week
Points négatifs
have to spend time organizing newspapers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Sales Representative (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON4 juillet 2019
Metroland was a good place to work but it’s slowly changing. The work is moving to Toronto. The customer service isn’t what it used to be. They stopped paying annual cost of living raises. And they have laid off a lot of people.
Points positifs
Paid vacation
Points négatifs
No job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Long hours and pay is unfair.
Courier (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON2 juillet 2019
A courier would be paid based on ads per newspaper bundle. So even though I did close to 100 papers every week. I would make less than 40 cents per bundle. I had to run two routes just to make about $40 a week, this would add up to 4 to 5 hours of bundle preparation and delivery. The hardest part is feeling uncompensated for the amount of work you put in. But, the most fun part might be talking to your neighbourhood or listening to music while you walk.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
work at your deadline. workload is up to you.
Paper Carrier (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON30 juin 2019
l have worked with them for a few years now. pay fluctuations. always need paper couriers. pay could be better. health insurance added to job would be nice.
Points positifs
work indepedently. can increase work load.
Points négatifs
winter weather rainy conditions not always eadu to deliver.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very quick and simple task
NEWSPAPER CARRIER (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON22 juin 2019
Overall, this job was very simple and easy to understand, however the pay, as expected is quite low. Rolling up and delivering the newspapers were apps a bit of a hassle as well.
Points positifs
Took 1-2 hours
Points négatifs
Rolling up newspapers was stressful on my hands
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard work with little to no pay
Newspaper Delivery (Ancien employé) –  Innisfil, ON19 juin 2019
Metroland Media pays newspaper delivery employees very poorly! very very little pay. Having to put newspapers together and deliver them can take up to 6 hours especially without a car.
Points positifs
Contests
Points négatifs
Long hours, Poor pay, Hard hard work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
organizing and bundling newspaper and door to door delivery
LAZER RUNNER (Ancien employé) –  Richmond Hill, ON8 juin 2019
I had a fun time when I was working for this company. we all learned about how to manage time and deliver everything on time. also, the best thing about this job was the time we were working and we enjoyed the rest of the day.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Job for pre-teens
Paper Carrier (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON7 juin 2019
This is a good job for pre-teens looking to scrap some money together over the summer but the best part is that you get job experience for an actual job in high school.
Points positifs
Job experience
Points négatifs
Pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I have never felt so undervalued
Media Strategist (Ancien employé) –  Ontario6 juin 2019
I was hired as a media strategist and provided a certain job description when I was hired. An ancient, rigid work culture and environment stifled my creativity and I was consistently required to do administrative work and make sales when that was not what my role was. We were constantly forced to push special sections just to make unrealistic sales targets even if it meant jeopardizing client relationships in the long term. I was basically a glorified telemarketer. The real kicker was being "restructured" out even after showing consistent initiative, completing every asinine task and doing whatever I could to try and develop strategies for our sales team with no guidance whatsoever from management.
Points positifs
No micromanagement
Points négatifs
No one knows what they're doing, Zero guidance or onboarding support
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Easy Self dependent Job
Newspaper Delivery (Ancien employé) –  Caledonia, ON3 juin 2019
The job was easy to understand and after a few weeks just became routine to were you don't have to think just do. The timeframe to complete the work was not a slower pace like most others would have, I would need to assemble the papers and flyers with a bag and sometimes I wasn't given enough bags for snow and rain weather conditions. So rushing through a job that doesn't supply you with everything that you need when it was said that you would be giving all supplies.
Points négatifs
Time frame of work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Metroland Media. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,5
D'après 304 avis
569
493
380
238
124

Notes par catégorie

3,6Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,2Direction
3,3Culture d'entreprise