McElhanney - Avis

Voir les 45 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent place to work
Systems Coordinator, Information Systems (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB11 décembre 2019
If not for upper management in the IT department, it might have been an excellent job. Culture in the office was good - most people were very nice. However, when I started, I was told they wanted me to "Take ownership" of my department, but when I did it seemed that was not really what they wanted.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Experience varies wildly by office
Engineer (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB12 octobre 2019
There is a range of management quality at McElhanney and your experience will depend greatly on that. I work in the Calgary branch which is failing pretty spectacularly. The new branch manager doesn't care about people and the division managers aren't motivated or able to secure work for employees. Between the poor decisions of various managers and the lack of work, good people are being let go and good people are leaving. I know employees in other branches do not have this experience and they are given opportunities to thrive in a great work culture with interesting work. If you're interested in McElhanney, I highly recommend SOME of our branches as you will have a rewarding and fulfilling career while meeting friends for life.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nepotism Cost Me My Job
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB7 septembre 2019
My manager whose niece worked with me told me on a Weds to come do overtime on a Sun so his niece could make extra money. I had unbreakable family plans on the Sunday and declined. Oddly, there was plenty of time to do the work during day hours. The following Monday I was handed my walking papers and told I had the "wrong attitude". I was still on probation.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Incompetent Management
Field Crew (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB4 juillet 2019
I worked at McElhanney in the field until this year. The management in the Edmonton office was beyond incompetent. There was no consistency with quality control and no one knew what was going on. The plans they would draw up were horrid with missing information everywhere. There was zero ambition by the office staff to go out and get work so office staff sit on their hands praying for work to come in. I heard they would send out company wide emails for "morale boosting" office parties, while the field staff actually "making" the money were never around. I was told a few years ago that the Office Manager decided to layoff the Canadian staff and continued to fly in American guys on a weekly basis. I had enough of this typical attitude and so I quit a few months ago. Work at this company if you like:

- Incompetent leadership
- Lack of accountability
- Being the laughing stock of the industry

By the way, the safety standards are ridiculous. Do you really need three office staff in safety? Roll bars on quads? Come on...
Points positifs
Descent pay
Points négatifs
Incompetent leadership; lack of focus
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 1Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It was okay
Surveyor (Ancien employé) –  BC22 mai 2019
I worked for McElhanney as a student. They expect you to dedicate your life to this industry but it just wasn't for me. As far as surveying companies go I think they're probably one of the best but they didn't seem to be that efficiently managed to me.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Big Company, Poor Management at the Vancouver Office.
Mapper (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC22 mai 2019
Great colleagues but poor lower end management.
No career advancement whatsoever, no training, lower salaries.
You will be laid off at any moment even with a decent amount of workload available, by unaccountable, unscrupulous lower end managers willing to get a bigger bonus at the end of the fiscal year on your shoulders.
Points positifs
Great staff.
Points négatifs
Lower end managers. Lack of advancement opportunities.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Reputable company
Materials Technician (Ancien employé) –  Prince Rupert, BC10 mai 2019
Excellent work in a variety of disciplines. Each office fosters an enjoyable environment filled with a variety of professionals. The company is also well known to take in Co-Op students and continue working with many of them through their education and careers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Workplace with interesting people and working opportunities
Engineer in Training - Co-Op Student (Ancien employé) –  Prince George, BC21 février 2019
Great work Experience. Had a lot to learning various departments. I had a varied experience. Good work culture. People are really nice & friendly. Would love to work again
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR (Ancien employé) –  Fort St. John, BC28 novembre 2018
Was a great place to work. People in the office and field staff were great to get along with. The only reason I left was to raise my family and I wasn't ready to go back to work after maternity leave.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people that provide a challenging and rewarding environment
BIOLOGIST/ENVIRONMENTAL PROFESSIONAL (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC7 novembre 2018
During my time with McElhanney I found the work to be challenging and rewarding. People within the environmental department go our of their way to ensure you have what you need and are enjoying your time. A great company!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good company, good people, good CEO
Senior Environmental Geoscientist (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB9 octobre 2018
Overall great place to work, well natured and common sense people, good management structure, and caring company. Management is forward thinking and in the process of putting processes and tools in place for managers and project managers - one thing I would say is currently lacking.
Points positifs
Great people to work with
Points négatifs
Need more infrastructure for managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Family Oriented Business
Project Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC18 septembre 2018
McElhanney is a small Engineering firm that is growing. It is a great place to work, where everyone is treated like family. Management overall is good but there are some departments that are lacking skilled managers, this is something that will work itself out as the company grows. Overall a wonderful place to work with great employees and the Company knows how to treat their staff right.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable work environment
Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Courtenay, BC4 juin 2018
I’ve had nothing but great experiences working with McElhanney. Everyone is kind, generous and easy to get along with!
The management is exceptional in the Courtenay office, and the managers are very understanding. Family comes first in this office - great if something needs to be dealt with right away.
Joking and laughing is always happening which makes it a light and fun working environment.
You’re given credit for the work you’ve done and accomplished. It makes you feel appreciated and more encouraged to complete more tasks etc.
Points positifs
Friendly staff, fun lunches, staff/family activities
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company with committed management and employees
Legal Counsel (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC15 mars 2018
Great company with great employees. Very productive and collegial workplace. Management really shows they care about the employees. Great social activities for all.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good place to work. Room for advancement and professional development opportunities
Branch Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Prince George, BC28 janvier 2018
Very fast-paced environment with many opportunities for professional development and advancement. senior employees are willing to teach and train new/junior employees.
Community based company who believes in community support and education.
Points positifs
staff activities
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and enjoyable
Intern (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB27 décembre 2017
I did an internship at McElhanney Land Surveys.
Everyone I worked with was professional and nice.
I would recommend any student interested in the GIS/land survey field to do an internship here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall: Pleasant people to work alongside.
Safety Coordinator Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB27 octobre 2017
When i was employed with McElhanney Land Surveys Ltd., the atmosphere was like a family. Everyone was more than willing to assist with obligations to strive for excellence in any given project. Only due to the economy was I no longer able to stay with the company. I hope all the best for my counterparts who still remain with McElhanney as I still do my best to stay connected with sincere professionals.
Points positifs
Family atmosphere in a corporate environment, always new learning curves and adventures
Points négatifs
Company has to downsize with the fluctuation of the economy.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
An exciting place to work
Survey Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB10 juillet 2017
McElhanney offers a fast pace work environment that may include, hiking, quading, flagging, block valve sites, as built survey as well as post construction survey.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
salary was above average
Senior Survey Crew Chief (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB3 mai 2017
... Large company but management was friendly & approachable with problems
... Health benefits were excellent
... Extra work hours were there if the worker wanted this
... Equipment was generally of good quality
... Trucks were generally no older than 3 years & well maintained
Points positifs
friendly work place; good fellow workers
Points négatifs
lots of travelling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Was promise working for this company...unfortunately is effected frequently by economy
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB21 avril 2017
Working with this company gave me new learning curves continually and was always looking forward to the new challenges when they arouse. Each and every day was not the same. No matter what department you were needed in for administration, I found people were always willing to help you learn and to advance. Everyone helps, no one was left behind. Unless you didn't want to contribute or learn, you could notice those who did not enjoy working there. I was not one of them. Management could always use better methods of communications internally to better attend to the needs of clients and scheduling however, even though I am no longer with the company due to economic reasons, I have hope that they will progress with open minds.
Points positifs
Potluck lunches were always nice.
Points négatifs
lack of internal communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez McElhanney ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 45 avis
521
411
36
24
13

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,6Direction
3,8Culture d'entreprise