Mariposa Cruises - Avis

Voir les 19 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Disrespectful and under qualified FOH Staff and entitled managers
Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON4 août 2019
The new bar manager they hired this season is a pure gem to work with. However that cannot be said about the rest of the hospitality managerial team. I came on as an experienced bartender and I was told I would be given freedom to prepare drinks and provide hospitable service at my own discretion. The guests were happy but the managers will belittle you and try to bully you into doing jobs outside your job description.

The tip distribution is absolutely in favor of the server with no regards to the bartender. On public cruises, the servers make 80% of the total tips and bartenders only make 20%. That is standard. However, on charter cruises where the bartenders do all the work and the servers just hang out in the break room, the bartenders have to split the tips equally amongst the servers.

If that wasn't enough, there is this one manager who is assigned to the Northern Spirit most of the time who steals tips from the servers and bartenders.

They will make you work to their sole benefit with no regards to your health. Once, I accidentally inhaled cleaning chemicals while closing down the bar and almost passed out and got very sick. Instead of making sure I was okay, the manager told me "the sooner you finish the work, the faster you'll go home and take your medicine." That was the last straw for me. I voiced my concerns to upper management and it seemed to have fallen on deaf ears. I absolutely do NOT recommend working here.
Points positifs
Free average food
Points négatifs
TERRIBLE work environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Workplace
Reciever (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON21 juillet 2019
Good Fun co worker. Entertaining cruise. We will be able to learn a lot. Good environment to work. Supportive management. flexible shifts.if you do i good job they leave you alone always busy great place for net working
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Deceptive hiring and sad work environment
Deckhand (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON12 juin 2019
Management is very deceptive about hours and positions. You should very well expect to be promised all sorts of things that will not happen. I was promised all sorts of advancement, and ended up being offered minimum wage and very little hours despite my extensive boat experience.

There is also a lot of politics, mostly with the lifers getting salty with the new hires because they are nervous about being replaced. Most of their captains are overgrown babies with no real licences or experience outside a harbor. They want to limit your learning and progression as much as possible, because they know that you'd leave and make more money elsewhere if you did.

There are about 5 people fighting for each mate's positions and it finally came after about 7 years for most people currently there.

The only dude I met there who was happy with the scheduling liked it because he could scam the welfare system during the winter with his hours at Mariposa.

"They give me just enough shifts so that I can stay on EI forever and make money on the side, perfect dude!"

If you want to end up like that, come work here.
Points positifs
They will hire you without marine experience, other companies will not
Points négatifs
Their entire HR strategy is centered on keeping you cheap, desperate for hours and available.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard work, not always paid as such
Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON30 avril 2019
There is a fair bit of work involved bartending on the ships. You're involved with set up and tear down of the entire ship, including cleaning. When you need to flip the boat from one set-up to another, this can take a considerable amount of time and muscle (capacity of some boats as large as 550 people I believe).

The most frustrating aspect of this job was the way tips were pooled when I was there. I often found I would be doing more work than the servers, and receiving the same amount if not less than they were in tip out. Certain event types are pooled differently (public vs. private cruises, lunch/dinner cruises, party boats etc.) which attempt to redistribute tips in a "fair" way.

Moral of the story... hard work, lots of fun, likely less money than you would expect.
Points positifs
good atmosphere, nice people, unique experience, free meals (at select times)
Points négatifs
can be long hours, compensation doesn't equal effort put in
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No Training
Chef de Partie. (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON21 novembre 2018
Just terrible. It was an awful experience working there. Incredible amounts of food waste, more than I have ever seen in any catering company. I would never recommend applying.
Points positifs
Free airplane food
Points négatifs
All the rest
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good place to work
Event server(summer job) (Ancien employé) –  CA14 novembre 2018
Good place to work. Fun co worker. Entertaining cruise. We will be able to learn a lot. Good environment to work. Supportive management. flexible shifts.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Mariposa Cruises
Bartender (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON9 août 2018
Working with Mariposa Cruises is no doubt a unique, once in a lifetime opportunity. Lake Ontario, the Toronto Island and the Toronto skyline are breathtakingly beautiful and serene to work around. With that being said, that’s where the beauty of ends with working with Mariposa Cruises.

Period point-blank, the company will pay you pennies in comparison to what you deserve. All service positions will pay server minimum + tips/gratuities. It sounds great right? Wrong. Cash tips range anywhere from $4.00 to (if you’re extremely lucky) $50/cruise. Gratuities range from $10-$60 on your paycheck every two weeks. Gratuities are taxed by the government. All cash tips are split equally by every single server and bartender working the cruise. Also, you will have to purchase two uniform shirts that will be deducted from your first paycheck -$44.

If you were hired as a Server or Bartender, do not think that is your sole job. Your main job is moving tables and chairs from one level of the boat to the next, throwing away heavy bags of garbage, lifting crates of plates, sending boxes of beer and liquor bottles to the recycle and setting up for the cruise.

30% Serving/Bartending
70% Set-up/Take-Down and Cleaning

The job is no where near as glamorous as it seems. All workers are tired and overworked. On the positive side, Mariposa will feed the staff the remainder of the food left from the cruise before th food is thrown out. I’ll also say that the FOH staff are a fun bunch and easy to make friends with but nowhere is perfect. You will still find some bad apples.
Points positifs
Free Lunch, Toronto Skyline, Water
Points négatifs
Horrible Pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of university students which make it a fun place
Deckhand (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON10 juillet 2018
great place to work with very little experience in the hospitality field. They usually have people work shifts about 5-6 hours in length which means you could work 6 days a week and not even hit 40 hours. You would make more money working in a restaurant or bar.
Points positifs
great co-workers
Points négatifs
long days and few days off
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun place to work good shifts
Kitchen Staff (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON1 décembre 2017
It was a grate job i made a lot of friends very nice people who work with and it has very good pay for a first time job for the summer season I would recommend for anyone who needs a job during the summer.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun workplace with good people
Server (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON25 septembre 2017
I enjoyed working here because I got along with all the staff members and the scenery was always amazing to look at and never got old. We just had to set up and clean for the majority of the shift. 50% was serving the customers, and 50% of the shift was cleaning and setting up for the next cruise.
Points positifs
Free meals
Points négatifs
doubles, cleaning for 4+ hours per shift while getting server wage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work
Operations Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON15 mai 2017
fun place to work great times staff are great loved being on the water if you do i good job they leave you alone always busy great place for net working
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive and fun
Lead Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON30 novembre 2016
Amazing seeing the toronto skyline everyday and working with close friends, learning about the boats and engine room was definitely the best parts.
Points positifs
free lunch
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work place, things can definetley be changed however
Server and Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON3 novembre 2016
At Mariposa Cruises, the management team was a wreck. I would hear stories of the scheduling manager messing up people's schedules by giving too many hours or giving too little. Honestly, I experienced it as well, having to work everyday for 3 weeks. When I was given hospitality shifts, I would get 11-15 hour shifts, which is a regular shift for any normal server or bartender. Mariposa Cruises does not pay their servers or bartenders, AND managers enough for all the work they done. They don't treat their employees like family which they should like most companies, which is why their turnover rate is so high.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Diverse and cultural environment
Harbour Tours (Ancien employé) –  207 Queens Quay West16 octobre 2016
My harbour staff team is very small compared to the entire hospitality team, but it is a nice family to work with. I enjoyed coming into work and ending my day with my team members. Every crew member is very enthusiastic and supporting. When I first came to work with them, I was very late into the season. I was still treated like family.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Customer Service
Manager of Leisure Sales (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 janvier 2016
Fun seasonal one on one interaction with frontline staff and clients. Able to network and do sales presentations and attend industry events
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A true family dynamic.
Senior Cruise Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto Ontario16 janvier 2014
It is hard work and long hours, which is customary of ANY hospitality job. The compensation is not the greatest, however, the team is the absolute best. I have been working here for 3 years now and have created some life long personal and professional connections.

Typically you start early. Coffee should be in continuous consumption. You work through blood, sweat and tears for 10 hours, then go home and cant wait to do it all again.

I loved coming in to work everyday and loved working hard. The absolute BEST part: you are on the water in the middle of Lake Ontario all summer. It is insanely beautiful and rewarding, if you have what it takes!
Points positifs
Free food!
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun working enviroment
Event coordinator assistant (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON7 juin 2013
I learned the cruise wedding schedule and a lot of things about cruising here. My co-workers are very friendly, they teach me a lot.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
a very fast pace job great people an lots of summer memories
Assistant Chef/Dishwasher (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON28 août 2012
this company is the best job for young teen in summer it a good payed job for teen in the summer holiday
Points positifs
free meal
Points négatifs
busy
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Mariposa Cruises. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,5
D'après 19 avis
52
410
33
23
11

Notes par catégorie

3,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,8Direction
4,1Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu