MARINE ATLANTIC - Avis

Trouvé 22 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 23 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good group to work with dedicated work force
Maintenance Manager (Ancien employé) –  Port Aux Basques9 janvier 2020
Enjoyed working there but commuting from Corner Brook every week didn't work
The employees spent too much time writing grievences.
Too many rules to protect unnessecary workers
Points positifs
No one looking over your shoulder
Points négatifs
Travel from Corner Brook to port aux basques weekly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Mai
JobTitle (Ancien employé) –  North Sydney, NS9 décembre 2019
The company has lots of advancement opportunities and provides lots of training to their employees. Training such as safety in different departments and the company is a big supporter of safety in the work place.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
you can save hundred thousnads of dollars on your own ideas, others get cretit
Senior Engineering Officer (Ancien employé) –  Port aux Basques, NL6 août 2019
discrimination and bullying from chief engineers. some junior engineers can go home and leave the valves open to fill lube oil to main engines and nothing is said. Oilers leave valves open to main engine and you check the oil figures finding out they have over filled main engines with oil. Can't start Main Engines. Response from chief Engineer, you deal with it. then chief lays chargers against you for being the engineer on watch.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good pay but an unorganized mess.
On ship (Employé actuel) –  Port aux Basques, NL26 avril 2019
Decent pay and benefits, but very disorderly. Takes years to build up seniority, and possibly over a decade to get a schedule. Company as a whole does little to accommodate. In the first days, it was said to me not expect time off, for even the birth of your child. No regard for their employees.

Although my experience wasn't all bad, I would only recommend this place as a stepping stone. It is the definition of a soul destroying job.
Points positifs
Good pay, nice people
Points négatifs
Everything else is horrible
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bottom of the seniority list = NO WORK
Student Assistant Stewardess (Ancien employé) –  North Sydney, Nova Scotia19 mars 2019
I applied to Marine Atlantic to be a student assistant steward. The hiring process was extremely long, and they require a lot from you. References, background check, 2 drug test, 2 medical exams. It was a 30-40 minute interview and they asked a lot of questions.

From the getgo, their communication was leaving something to be desired. They are unorganized, and it is obvious. Training for the job is 6 weeks long, in North Sydney. They were not clear about what we needed to bring with us. Some people were given information that others were not. We were also given wrong information.

The hotel is great, for the most part, the training was fun and I learned a lot and met great people. However, there was a lack of communication the entire time. The people in charge of training did not have accurate information. You get paid for training, but it takes A LONG time for the first payment. Keep in mind, you are expected to pay for all of your meals almost every day out of pocket, and you get reimbursed after. As a student, this was ridiculous. We were told beforehand that we could get the food stipend upfront, but when we arrived, we were told this was impossible. Myself and quite a few others were completely broke and had arguments with management about paycheques. The training team took ages to send out the paycheques. It was a constant back and forth between us and our trainers.

Our training team told us it was going to be a very busy summer, and we would all likely be called to work on the first day our contract starts, July 1. They said we would probably all have a hard
  plus... time getting off of the boat once we were on it. Well, this was a complete lie. The student contract runs from July 1 to August 31. I didn't get the call to go to work until the end of July. Meaning no income, and nothing to do for all of July. Schedules were supposed to be two weeks on the boat, two weeks off. I only got called to work for 2 days. My bilingual friends got lots of hours, my English friends hardly got any more than I did. I never ended up getting another call to go to work.

In the end, I spent months, from November to April, applying, interviewing, drug testing, getting medicals, CDN numbers and paperwork filled out. I spent 6 weeks living in a hotel training for this job. My student contract was 2 months. I only worked TWO DAYS the entire summer. TWO DAYS. I was livid. As a student, I rely on my summer employment to get me through the school year. Working only two days completely ruined my plans for September. I was unable to get EI, and was forced to get a student loan when I thought I would be able to have money saved up. I was unable to get a second job because if you are called to go to work on the boats you aren't really allowed to say no. Therefore, I had to make sure I had no other obligations.

Overall, the training was fun and knowledgable, I met some great people who will become lifelong friends. But that fact that the entire hiring and training process took so much time and effort, for me to only work TWO DAYS is extremely despicable and unacceptable. I will never recommend Marine Atlantic to someone looking for a job if they actually want to have hours and make money.
  moins
Points positifs
Extensive training, fun and exciting work environment
Points négatifs
lack of communication, no hours, long hiring process
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very good company to work for.
Marine Electrical Engineer (Employé actuel) –  North Sydney, NS13 novembre 2018
A very good company to work in that they sincerely care about their employees safety, health and well being, providing comprehensive safety and upgrade training.
Points positifs
Job security and comprehensive training.
Points négatifs
N/A
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing co workers.
Assistant Steward & Cook (Employé actuel) –  North Sydney, NS24 octobre 2018
Amazing co workers, always ready to help or answer any questions you have. Cheif Stewards are on top of everything and will take the time to go over everything with you as well. I recommend Marine Atlantic to anyone.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Pleasant place to work
BILINGUAL ASSISTANT STEWARD (Ancien employé) –  Port aux Basques, NL30 septembre 2018
The dedication to shift work is challenging (12 hour days, 15 days/month) but worth it. The starting pay and benefits are generous and you get to meet interesting people.
Points négatifs
Long hours, away from home
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No two days were alike
Chief Steward Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  North Sydney, NS5 avril 2018
Every day was different and by this, i acquired various ways of handling different conflicts or issues.

Hardest part was being away from family during family celebrations.

Most enjoyable part for me was meeting so many wonderful staff as well as passengers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
friendly environment , team atmosphere
Seaman/Deckhand (Ancien employé) –  North Sydney, NS23 mars 2018
My job as a deckhand would consist of 6 hrs on then 6 hrs off.During our working hours we would maintain a vigilant watch, fire patrol and deck patrol.Mooring and unmooring the vessel. Routine maintenance such as painting, sand blasting ,grinding the decks and some cleaning. Since it was a passenger vessel you would live with your co-worker for 2-4 weeks at a time. You get to know fellow workers on a personal level and develop great friendships. The company offered great food and an exercise facility.the only downfall is anyone with children tend to miss out on a lot.
Points positifs
Great food provided
Points négatifs
away from home for extended periods
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great job to work but poor management
Mechanic (Employé actuel) –  Port aux Basques, NL4 juillet 2017
Again great job but poor management skills from company and also no chance to move up in the company all management jobs are filled from outside people
Points positifs
Great bunch of people to work with
Points négatifs
Poor management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A great Federal Government Agency for those looking for long term opportunities
Purchasing Agent (Employé actuel) –  North Sydney, NS27 décembre 2016
I have worked there for almost a year and never dull, always a new and different challenge. Lots of opportunities to learn and get involved in Strategic opportunities if so desire.
Points positifs
Great bunch of people to work with
Points négatifs
North Sydney NS is not a hot spot to live
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
its a job
Stevedore (Employé actuel) –  toronto24 juin 2015
great job poor management.
there is not a lot to tell its a pay check
they have no respect for employees.
its all smoke and mirrors for the public eye.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and exciting place to work with great pay and benefits.
Assistant (Employé actuel) –  St Johns, NL24 avril 2015
Marine Atlantic is a great place to work, The pay is extremely competitive and the benefits are among the best in Canada. There are many different positions that you can work on the vessels and on shore, Moving from one department to another is possible so you can easily have a change of pace or scenery if you feel it's needed, The management is great to work for and very "open door" if you have any issues that need resolving. The work environment can vary from easy going to fast paced depending on your position. Over all, Marine Atlantic is a great company to work for,
Points positifs
Great pay and benefits, training is paid for, great opportunities for advancement, you get to meet interesting people.
Points négatifs
Long hours and hard work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work but very long hours
Counter Clerk/Waitress/Cook (Ancien employé) –  North Sydney, NS7 avril 2015
I enjoyed working down there and meeting new people, the staff were great very understanding. Always busy, there was lots to do and the staff were great.
Points positifs
free food
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive Workplace
Ticket Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Argentia, NL3 août 2014
I would like a position where it keeps me challenged everyday and will benefit my skills on a daily basis.
Points positifs
benefits
Points négatifs
Late evenings
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast paced environment with strong support from managment
Assistant Steward (Employé actuel) –  North Sydney , NS9 avril 2014
I enjoyed working for Marine Atlantic. Travelling on the ferries, there was always something new happening everyday. I enjoyed working in the fast paced environment and always having a goal to meet.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Stevedore (Employé actuel) –  North Sydney, NS13 février 2014
Marine Atlantic is a great place to work. This company puts safety as its top priority, which is the way it should be because everyone wants to make it home in one piece at the end of the day.

A typical day would consist of donning the appropriate PPE. (reflective coveralls, hardhat, safety boots, earplugs, gloves) and "catching the boat". This term refers to tying up the boat when it arrives at the terminal. After this task is complete, we then board the boat and guide traffic safely out of the terminal. Stevedores are also responsible for lashing/unlashing trailers for safe transport.
Points positifs
Excellent work environment, wage
Points négatifs
Very few shifts because of lack of seniority (temporary con)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good place to work
Chief Cook & Deck Hand (Ancien employé) –  North Sydney, NS13 novembre 2013
Work 12 hours shifts
Working at sea is a not the same as on land
Meeting all off the travelling public
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good job with good employees
Stevedore (Employé actuel) –  north sydney.24 août 2013
Marine Atlantic is a very good place to work, it consists of tying up the vessels and directing traffic, its fun to see the tourists be in awe of how big the ships are. Safety is a huge concern there as we have to consider the public as well as our employees, the best part of the job is the employees, everyone is willing to lend a hand whenever needed. I really enjoy working with Marine Atlantic.
Points positifs
leather couches with satellite t.v when there are no vessels at port.
Points négatifs
waiting on call for work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez MARINE ATLANTIC ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,7
D'après 23 avis
57
46
37
22
11

Notes par catégorie

3,6Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise