Marek Hospitality - Avis

Voir les 18 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Run far and fast
Food Service Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON23 mars 2019
The company is going through growing pains right now. But that means its cutting out its management team and closing a lot of locations. Head office is so removed from reality and the guys on the ground are so bitter and worn down that they're utterly exhausting to be around. The expectation of "work until the job is done" isn't viable any more. I shouldn't be sold the idea of a salaried position as 40ish hours, and have to work 50+ hours a week only to still fall behind at the end.

Chaos is the name of the game. The company doesn't keep any of its decent people as it either lays them off or runs them into the ground.

Communication is horrible as nothing rolls down properly.

The Admin and Support teams are too small to be effective and too full of themselves to be anything less than exhausting.

The company is a joke, it's managers are jokes, its head office team are jokes. Don't even bother.
Points positifs
Traumatic Stress induced napping on the weekend
Points négatifs
Pretty much everything else.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Was there 12 years so it says a lot about the company
Chef/Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON17 novembre 2018
Was a great work place dealing with the many different people on a daily bases.
The parent company ( Marek) allowed us free reign as long as we remained on track and on budget and were supportive in all things
Points positifs
Retirement Program, medical and dental, parking and up grading classes and courses
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Catering Co-ordinator/Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON14 octobre 2018
Great place to work. Great environment with friendly and professional staff. Manager was an amazing person.

Typical day included opening breakfast area for morning rush. Attending office duties such as incoming catering orders. Sometimes we had same day deadlines. Client would request a rush catering order with a couple of hours and i had to make sure it was prepared and served as requested.

The most enjoyable part of this was meeting different individuals and becimung friends with most of them.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
busy but fun workplace
Front cashier (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON9 octobre 2018
busy but fun place to work at. coworkers were nice and friendly, patient with new employees. management were also nice and friendly but strict with new employees
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
management needs more education
Server (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON24 mai 2018
does not accommodate to employees over works employees management hides in office people who want to excel are not given a fair chance they do not follow health and regulations they allow people to steal from company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Busy but fun
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Woodstock, ON10 mai 2018
The thrill of serving anywhere from 200 up to 1200 employees in a thirty minute time period is always exciting. It's a whirlwind of a day but very satisfying.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Toxic work environment.
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON21 janvier 2018
I worked with Marek in Ottawa. I found it to be mostly a negative experience. I was rarely paid any over time that I worked and found the manager to be very aggressive, particularly towards female staff.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not what I was hired for
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON18 janvier 2018
I was hired for a cook position as a trained cook and then pushed to a cashier position because of over staffing. This had nothing to do with my skills or abilities as I am a much more qualified and confident cook than cashier.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun place to work
Assistant Catering Manager Services (Employé actuel) –  Brampton, ON27 octobre 2017
I Joined this company as catering coordinator and moved up to the position of an Asst catering manager. I have learned a lot about catering and also event planning along with budgeting, labor, and food cost control over the years. The work culture is very diverse and the management is great.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Back Stabbing
chef (Ancien employé) –  guelph hospital22 février 2017
the main issue there is the manager is not running the show, it is one of his eyes and ears in the kitchen area, the german one is the rabble rouser, I saw this first hand as a hired chef.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
idiots in life training
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Busy and fun large workplace.
Cash/Front End Customer Service (Employé actuel) –  Brampton Civic Hospital25 novembre 2016
A typical work day was busy and enjoyable. I interacted with many different people whether they were co-workers, doctors, nurses, patients, visitors and staff of the hospital and learned much about their cultures and their jobs. The job was very demanding and you have to be very adaptable as you may have to help out in an area you normally do not work in but everyone was helpful and appreciative including management. The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with all of the customers.
Points positifs
Free food and nice work environment.
Points négatifs
Not enough hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It was a very lively and fun environment to work in! I loved working in the Hospital environment!
Front counter customer service (Ancien employé) –  Oakville Trafalgar Hospital26 septembre 2016
Being able to work in the Hospital environment it gave me a chance to interact with all sorts of patients with different health issues whom I always,found a way to make them smile and feel better! That gives me great satisfaction!
Points positifs
Free lunches
Points négatifs
Night shift
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
flexible to individual needs
Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Oakville, ON13 avril 2016
great company to acquire/learn additional skills since it is an in the early to middle stages of growing towards a larger corporation.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a fun place to work
Server (Employé actuel) –  Guelph, ON18 mars 2016
I work for this company in the hospital in Guelph too much drama with the co workers fighting and tattling on each other it is worse then a day care. It time that they grow up and start acting like adults.
Points positifs
Free Lunches
Points négatifs
Not enough hours and alot if drama from co workers and bosses
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 4Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Marek Hospitality
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON3 décembre 2014
Presently working at this company Part time; I have been working here for four months as a cook. Marek Hospitality is know for catering food for local hospitals, and I am responsible for preparing, cooking meals. I am looking for more work hours to supplement my current salary.
Points positifs
good people
Points négatifs
lack of work hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 6Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Baker (Employé actuel) –  Sudbury22 mars 2014
Working for Marek Hospitality is a really good company to work for. They're friendly and always make sure that everyone's needs and concerns are addressed in a professional manner. However there is a lot of drama involved with the staff out in the front that serves the customers which I find to be unprofessional and probably the hardest part of the job because there is no excuse for grown ups to be acting like children.
The management team for this company is probably one of the best management teams i have ever worked under. They make work fun and enjoyable and do not take sides for anyone on anything.
The company that I work for is called Marek Hospitality and they own the Tim Hortons in the hospital in Sudbury and every Wednesday there is this elderly man that comes into the Tim Hortons in the hospital and orders 12 cinnamon buns each and every time. When he comes into the Tim Hortons line up and I see him in line I make sure that this man knows that I seen him and acknowledged him and turn around and go to the kitchen and make him twelve fresh cinnamon buns just for him. The smile on his face because somebody took the time to make his visit that much more enjoyable and probably the best part of my work day.
Points positifs
free food
Points négatifs
drama
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21Non 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
a nice place to work
Food Service Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON26 octobre 2013
a nice place to work, management is awesome, the wage isn't so bad.
Points positifs
opportunity for advancement
Points négatifs
Non
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 5Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Marek Hospitality. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 18 avis
56
43
35
21
13

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,4Culture d'entreprise