Magnum Cementing Services - Avis

Voir les 23 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Company
Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Grande Prairie, AB2 janvier 2020
Tough job lots of work young man job lots of heavy physical labour all types of hours
Great benefits good training
Bonuses are a bit low but the company has great values and seem to care about there employees.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst experience of my life.
Operator (Ancien employé) –  Kindersley, SK10 décembre 2019
If you want to get lied to, ripped off on pay, worked over houred or be treated like scum of the earth then this is the company for you. They do a great job of misportraying their company make themselves seem like an attractive option for you. Once you’re immersed into their culture it’s quick to find out what they’re all about.

For individuals who move up the ladder by gratifying management and enjoy being a “ yes man” you will fit right in here! For those of you who are hard working but do not conform to management’s ideal mold be prepared to get treated like garbage until you quit or until management find reasons to fire you. Just do yourself a favour and don’t work here.

Blatant disregard to hours of service, government regulations and others on our roadway is a way of life here. If you tell dispatch or management that you are tired and can’t go any longer you will either be convinced to work longer or be put in the penalty box for your actions. Be prepared for little to no perks and low pay.

In conclusion I would not recommend this company. There are far better options out there to benefit yourself and your family. Keep yourself safe and avoid dot violations and tickets by avoiding to run the hours Magnum will expect you to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Absolute worst place ever
Cement Pump Operator (Ancien employé) –  Grande Prairie, AB19 novembre 2019
They will eventually kill someone because of over houring employees. All lies,bad pay,very underhanded company. I look forward to the day I hear they shut down. Pretty much like every other oil company in AB.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 2Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dont work here
Bulk Truck driver (Ancien employé) –  Strathmore, AB2 novembre 2019
Dont work here they run you into the ground no sleep not enough pay. To much maintenance left for the operator to do. Decent trucks but not enough mechanical help
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor managment to say the least
Truck Driver (Ancien employé) –  Alberta21 août 2019
Dont expect to have much of a life while on your two week hitch, they basically own you for 24 hour days, and will try make you go over legal log book hours without saying it. Worked there almost two years never had a verbal or written warning but because one manager wasnt understanding me in a issue, they let me go without a reason or explanation or warning the following shift. Poor planning for trips from dispatch and high turn over rate of employees. Definitely not a place to have high Hope's for job security or a career I'd say.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people to work with
Technical Services Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB14 mars 2019
Everyone is willing to answer questions while still maintaining a positive work environment. Hours can be long as expected from cementing but there is plenty of knowledge to be gathered
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst place to work on earth
Driver/Operator (Employé actuel) –  Strathmore, AB14 février 2019
Nothing good about this place scabby company horrible management any job would be better than working for Magtard cementing services lots of empty promises can’t trust a word that comes from anybody’s mouth
Points positifs
Nothing at all
Points négatifs
Everyone in the company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 6Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Here today, gone tomorrow.
Shop Hand, (mostly Parts Delivery Driver) (Ancien employé) –  Strathmore, AB18 novembre 2018
Hired as "a good fit" for shop hand.
5 weeks later, dismissed as "not a good fit".
Zero explanation - nothing - nada.
A company that gives you lots of smiles when they hire you, but glum faces and zero explanation when they walk you out the door on Monday morning, a half hour into your shift.
"Kiss off" termination letter says "further to our discussion", but there was zero discussion.
"Manager" says, "come with me" and takes you to the room you were hired in. You feel like you are being led to face a "firing squad".There sits the HR manager that hired you a few weeks ago with a brown envelope and a form letter stating something like, "this is your last day with Magnum Cementing".
No explanation, so you are left to guess.
It's like you no longer exist - must make all other employees feel very secure.
Sickening.
They should call it their "Department of Inhuman Resources".
Points positifs
Feel good for a few weeks that you are doing a good job and can pay your bills.
Points négatifs
Depths of despair when they boot you out.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19Non 6Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A nice place to work
Technical Services Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Strathmore, AB1 août 2018
Nice job culture and people but less job security as it depends on oil industry. However, Magnum is doing so far better then other companies in the field
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 4Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and enjoyable work enviroment
Dry Bulker and B-Train Driver (Ancien employé) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB1 octobre 2017
Good place to work with good family values and salary. Great workplace culture and very safety orriented. Hardest part of the job for me work be the working away from home and family for long periods of time.
Points positifs
great experience
Points négatifs
too far from home and family
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 8Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people, culture, and room for advancement!
station support (Employé actuel) –  Alberta1 août 2017
I love working here. The people make it so easy to come to work. There is a ton of room for advancement in every position in the company. Senior management is always willing to listen to feedback and opinions from staff to see where we can improve as a company. My feedback and input is always valued.

There has been a lot of strain on the company because of the economy, but they work towards fair and smart decision making for salaries and compensation with job bonuses, profit sharing, and great benefits- i couldn't ask for much more.. i am thankful for the opportunities this company has given me to grow!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31Non 10Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Environment, Supportive Management, Respect is given
Wife of an employee (Employé actuel) –  Strathmore, AB16 juillet 2017
Magnum is not only a great place to work, they also value family. My husband has worked there for seven years, he's happy, has an amazing attitude and loves to there everyday. I, for one encourage him to continue working there and to keep improving the company. They care and they want everyone that is working for them feel like family.
Points positifs
Family values only hire the best of the best very up to date
Points négatifs
They hold you accountable, if you don't like that it's probably a con
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32Non 12Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of Advancement if you Prove Yourself
Operator (Ancien employé) –  Lloydminster, AB14 juillet 2017
With new stations popping up lately, there are a lot of opportunities to move up if you prove yourself. It's a bit hap-hazard with the grow being so fast, but getting into the swing of things. New positions are really in the hands of the employees. If you do your job and go through the process, the timeline is up to you.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31Non 12Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great crews to work with
Field (Employé actuel) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB11 juillet 2017
The 15-6 shifts can be long and the work is hard, but the company is really busy, so if you want to work it is there. If you want to move up and you learn quick they'll get you there. Economy still isn't great, but what can you do. The crews are great to work with for the most part. Everyone is there for the right reason and works hard to get the job done as a team.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35Non 9Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Family-Owned
Office Staff (Employé actuel) –  Strathmore, AB30 juin 2017
I've been with Magnum for almost three years and I've been very happy. I came from a large company where you were very much just a number, and that is not the case here. Everyone works hard to promote the family atmosphere. The people that do well here are the people that can wear a lot of hats. You will never hear someone say, "that's not my job". Everyone pitches in to get work done, regardless of their level. I think Magnum did a great job of weathering the downturn. This winter was extremely hard work for the field employees, but with it behind us we are able to move forward stronger than ever and continue to expand and grow. I'm proud to work for a company that always tries to put employees first in an industry where that is sometimes very difficult to do.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 36Non 8Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Job security
Field employee (Employé actuel) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB17 mars 2017
Been with Magnum for a year. It’s very hard work, but the crew makes it a great atmosphere. Everyone gets along really well and there are not really any people not pulling their weight. The industry still isn’t great, but the company has done a great job of making decisions to ensure the company makes it through. Job security is pretty hard to find right now, so for them to be able to say we’re gonna be around a year from now is awesome to hear.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 37Non 11Signaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Its a job, not a career.
Equipment Operator (Ancien employé) –  Alberta5 septembre 2016
The company's mission statement is "Service with integrity".
Just remember everyone's definition of integrity is different. Company's definition of integrity is self-serving, which is expected, but don't buy in to everything that they say.
I've seen people who have gone beyond their duty with little recognition. Management will dangle empty promises to keep you around, but after long days and dispatchers using and pushing you to the limit, you start to wonder where you actually stand within the company.
There seems to be a lot of former Sanjel employees as management, ownership, and head office personnel. Let's remember what has happened with Sanjel, and talk to anyone in the industry about them. They are not so highly regarded within the industry to work for. It seems Magnum has carried on some of these qualities.
I agree with the other reviews available on indeed. Like the one, where it says, where you are expected to be at the shop within an hr of receiving a call, regardless of the time of the day. There were numerous days, where I would go to shop in the morning, and later in the day to be called out to a job. So I end up being up all day, driving and working all night. Dispatchers control your life. You are expected to travel throughout Alberta, and Saskatchewan. You expect, with all these hours put in, it would be worth the bonus money. If you break down the hours you put in, and with the salary and the bonus pay, it is definitely not the worth it being as tired/exhausted after a job. It is a job with lots of overtime wanted or not. And after figuring out your
  plus... hourly wage, you will be quite sad. As a supervisor, you are fielding phone calls on your "time off". When one should be resting to get their hours back, you will be answering redundant phone calls. As one review says, you now have a magnum family, and say goodbye to your own family. Good for a single person, but good luck with trying to start your own family. The balance of work and home life? Its a joke for you for the 2 weeks you are on shift. Where is the integrity, when they call you couple hours into your sleep, on the side of the highway because you ran out of hours? Even with GPS, virtual driver's log, they will call to see if you can do something for them, and act all surprised to find out you are out of hours. Excuse me, but what the heck are you guys thinking, and because we run paper logs, is it expected to make it work? Currently they are running both paper and electronic log, paper log for DOT, while the electronic is a mirror of your paper, but for the company to track your hours. Why aren't they fully utilizing the "technology" that they have? Or is it dispatchers wanting to get their job count up, so they'll call hoping to get their count up, regardless of your status?
The positive environment comes from the people you work with. Some are great, and some I question their motive. (Very self-serving) Again the integrity is questioned. I have worked with numerous excellent, knowledgeable, hard working people (most of these being field staff)
If you work for this company, I hope you get paired with a good operator/supervisor. Its not always the "senior" whom are the best. I have worked for both big and small companies. Big company's knock is that you get treated like a number, while the small company is more personable. With that comes the 'politics', so be aware!
This company is great for someone to get their foot in the door with the industry.
They have numerous districts. Each district deals, promotes personnel differently.
  moins
Points positifs
They have work (only from under bidding the competiton)
Points négatifs
They own you for work hitch, and expected to be available 24/7
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 40Non 34Signaler
Réponse officielle de Magnum Cementing Services
17 mars 2017

Magnum values the opportunity to receive feedback from our employees and would like to thank you for your comments. Magnum encourages honest, open, and timely feedback so that we can continuously improve. Magnum is committed to having a strong culture and being a great place to work. Our mission is “Service with Integrity,” which goes beyond our customers; we believe in focusing on the needs of our employees. Your feedback will be looked at by our management team to identify actions that can be implemented for improvement.

3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
would not trust these guys as far as i could throw them.
mechanic (Ancien employé) –  strathmore3 juin 2015
worked for these guys for 2.5 years. never refused to do anything they asked. convinced them to do more inhouse repairs. quite often would work a full day and then get into the band aid truck and drive for 7 hours to look at something up north. two mechanics looking after four bases and things ran smooth. then they hired a useless guy that knows nothing of the business to be a service manager and it was down hill from there. watch your back with him. got laid off so they could keep paying the shop hand that had been there for two months and polishing girl who polished stuff before it went and sat on the fence cuz it was broken. I get that times are tuff and layoffs happen but no thanks for anything or a hand shake from the owners even though they were in the building which is just a two story house. discarded like an old shoe. just before bonus time funny enough. no problem there though as the profit share was a joke anyways. you only get half of it so that they can save some for your " benefit "later. absolutely no respect for the owners of this outfit..seems they layed off a bunch of guys that were there for them from the start so loyalty does not seem to be a big thing for them. but they will pay you ok. they say they are a family oriented company. the joke was that you don't need a real family now. you have the magnum family.
Points positifs
good xmas party
Points négatifs
management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 77Non 42Signaler
Réponse officielle de Magnum Cementing Services
20 juillet 2015

Magnum values the opportunity to receive feedback from our employees and would like to thank you for your comments. Magnum encourages honest, open, and timely feedback so that we can continuously improve. Magnum is committed to having a strong culture and being a great place to work. Our mission is “Service with Integrity,” which goes beyond our customers; we believe in focusing on the needs of our employees. Your feedback will be looked at by our management team to identify actions that can be implemented for improvement.

2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
bad company room for advancement
bulkier (Ancien employé) –  red deer13 mai 2015
this company will tell you more then what will happen, a day would consist of geting called into work, half to be at the shop one hour after the call. now you have one hour to leave the shop or you will be threaten by management that they will deduct your pay. one you are on the road your directions are going to be wrong, so you will need to check that out before you leave. now when you get on location you will work with people that know what they are doing amazing bunch of guys if you asked me. now you did the job easy money right? nope you only got a 80 dollar bonus and worked 9 hours. now before you leave you have to call dispatch, now you have been working for 11 hours and they need you in lloydminster. this will happen a lot. so now you go load your truck the bulk plant will take forever because nobody takes care of them. after you have now worked 30 hours you are off to location. the operator in lloydminster have only worked at magnum for probably a weak well you have been there for a year. so needless to say your going to do another measly 80 for 10 hours. so one you are done back at home you gotta hand in a log book well the truth is the truth well at magnum the truth will get you fired or they will try and take money from you. but that a day in the life of a bulkier at magnum
Points positifs
they will lie to you about bonuses
Points négatifs
you will never sleep, throw out your bed
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 71Non 41Signaler
Réponse officielle de Magnum Cementing Services
20 juillet 2015

Magnum values the opportunity to receive feedback from our employees and would like to thank you for your comments. Magnum encourages honest, open, and timely feedback so that we can continuously improve. Magnum is committed to having a strong culture and being a great place to work. Our mission is “Service with Integrity,” which goes beyond our customers; we believe in focusing on the needs of our employees. Your feedback will be looked at by our management team to identify actions that can be implemented for improvement.

4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to acquire knowledge.
Bulk Truck Operator (Ancien employé) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB28 janvier 2015
People are able to gain understanding and knowledge about working in the cementing industry.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 47Non 42Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Magnum Cementing Services ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,3
D'après 23 avis
56
47
32
23
15

Notes par catégorie

3,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,9Direction
3,2Culture d'entreprise