Avis des employés pour Mad Science

Trouvé 13 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 179 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Do not work here.
Child entertainer (ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON8 novembre 2019
They exploit you. It is not 27 $ and hour, its 27$ a class. After all the driving, and having to arrive early and stay late to set up, it's not worth it. They do not train you at all. It's awful. They just give you a curriculum and hope it works out. They dont even check background checks. I still havent recieved my paycheck after 4 weeks. Do not work here unless you're into being screwed over. Management is TERRIBLE. Red flags GALORE.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Misrepresentation of job description, incompetent office members, unpaid work
Mad Scientist (ancien employé) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON30 juillet 2019
From the online description, I thought working for Mad Science was going to be a fantastic experience. The only good thing about this job was being able to learn and teach young children about science. Although that is a fantastic benefit of this job, the cons heavily outweigh the single pro. I suggest you continue looking for a more reliable employment opportunity.

To begin, the job description is highly misleading and deceptive.
The job description indicates that you will be paid $27.00 an hour. However, it fails to mention that that amount is per class and ONLY for one-hour classes. If you do not teach a one hour class, you receive significantly less. This information was given AFTER you accept the position. In order to successfully teach a class, you first have to learn the content; they do provide an “orientation” for each kit but it was all heavily rushed through and in order to properly teach the students the material, you have to re-teach the material to yourself. You must also prepare materials BEFORE each class in order for the class to run smoothly and so that you are not wasting 50% of the time dedicated to teaching students just to set up. All of this preparation time is not included in your pay; you are being paid less than minimum wage in the end and working your butt off. You also only get approximately 2.5 to 3 hours a WEEK if you are lucky, so this job will not be of any help in the financial department to you. They also say that they will pay for mileage to and from the schools, what they also do not mention until you accepted the position is that you
  plus... must drive a total of 20 km BEFORE you can start earning mileage and it is only 0.20 cents per km. In the end, you are not even breaking even on how much you pay in gas to get to each school. You may also be driving up to 3 hours to and from a school which you are not paid for. They also say you receive a “bonus” cheque but in actuality this cheque is the money they owe you for driving to their main office in Burlington EVERY Friday just to switch out your weekly science kit, but disguise it as a “bonus” when it is just a small amount that they reimburse you for your mileage and time; which does not even cover 25% of the total cost for each Friday.

The office members are very disorganized and incompetent. Every week (not an exaggeration) there was at least 1 item missing from my science kit; some weeks there were whole take homes missing. When I would email the office staff about the missing items, they would just tell me to either drive back to Burlington (hours and gas not paid for) or get is from someone else (hours and gas not paid for) even though it is their responsibility EACH week to ensure all kits are fully stocked. Not quite sure what they are doing throughout the week. The office staff expect you to respond to every email (valid) but fail to return the same respect. They also do not relay information; I drove 45 minutes to a school to be told from the office administrator that the class had been cancelled. My fellow mad scientist knew because the mad scientist office member told her but that same office member did not tell me. When I emailed 2 members of staff and left a voice mail for one, neither returned my email or call. They still have not compensated me for my time or mileage because of their lack of communication.

Which leads me to my final big issue with this company; unpaid work. I worked 3 classes in my last week with this company and still have not received any pay for them. I have contacted them but they fail to respond with any helpful information and deny me working even though I have the schools and other staff members who vouch for my attendance, not to mention that if I never showed up, there would be rooms full of children unattended….. I’m sure that if that was the case someone would have alerted the office.

So please, before you apply to this company, look elsewhere because it is not worth your time and loss of wages.
  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Very good work environment
Teacher (ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON17 juin 2019
working at mad science was a very good work environment, informative and educational experience working with children again. Being able to teach and entertain children was a great experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Part time presentor
Presentor (ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON21 janvier 2019
They advertise 27$ an hour for part time presentor. However that's only for the 1 hour of class you teach, and they only compensate your mileage at .28 cents after 20km and station you in school boards that could potentially be an hour drive. It's almost impossible to cover your shifts if you have an illness, because you find your own coverage. You meet every Friday to exchange kits and that's not paid out until the end of the 6 weeks IF you're lucky. I'm still awaiting my last pay check for working every Friday for kit exchanges and its been since mid December and they haven't paid me because their staff manager quit, which also isnt my problem. They have you do your own pay log. Print out your own travel documents. The pay is horrendous for the work that you do. The people are great but the way they advertise this job is atrocious. Their communication is ineffective and almost non existant. Dont waste your time.
Points positifs
Shool board opportunity
Points négatifs
Communication, travel, unpaid wages, do your own pay log
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 8NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
fun and rewarding job if you like kids
Birthday Party Presenter (ancien employé) –  Burlington, ON31 août 2018
My time there was very short, I had to quit because balancing the job along with school and my other job was too much and the cons waaay outweighed the pros. I love kids, so that's why I was excited about the job. I originally applied to teach classes in school, but my college schedule did not match up so they brought me on as a Birthday Party presenter, which apparently was not common at the time. The drives to people's houses was very annoying, not to mention having to store trunks of stuff in your house until you need it. When I was hired on, they told me it was not common to have birthday parties in the late afternoons on weekends, mostly they were in the mornings. I thought this was great, as my other job was exactly the opposite, and often had shifts after 5pm on weekends. So what happens as soon as I start getting scheduled??? A birthday party in the afternoon, an hour+ away from home, and a shift from my other job at the same time!!!! So that stress was horrible, and ending up calling in sick to my other job (1. because I physically couldn't make it, but 2. because my stress gave me such an intense headache). There were weekends where I got no parties at all, and the other birthday party employee got them all?? and then vice versa some weekends...???? They do compensate your mileage, but not by much. I worked at a not-for-profit charity and they gave me more money per kilometer than Mad Science did and they're a charity! The parents of the birthday kids hardly ever tipped, and they did not control their crazy kids when they were being disruptive or loud during a show,  plus... which left me being the "parent" and wasting time calming them down instead of doing the demonstrations. My training was also laughable, I had 1 day of training (a few hours really) and I left feeling so confused. Sometimes my tricks didn't work, or I did them wrong (as you do...you make mistakes when you're new somewhere???) In particular, there were 2 that constantly ruined my show, and they were from the same "party add-on" that parents paid (lots of) extra money for. The one just never worked properly, even though I followed every step in the instruction book (which was incomplete, out of order, or incorrect sometimes) and the second one was dangerous! It created this vinegar-y smelling gas that burned your eyes, and it was SO hard to get the perfect measurements so if you added less nothing happened, and if you added more you'd hurt your eyes or the child's eyes. If I didn't have to travel hours away for a party with crazy kids and uncooperative parents, and all my tricks were safe and easy to do, I would love the job because I truly do love kids. I would recommend this job if you are not looking for something steady, and don't mind driving a lot for work. They say you don't need knowledge of science, but I do believe having some interest or knowledge helps to avoid boring, uninspired or unsafe parties.  moins
Points positifs
Fun to work with kids
Points négatifs
lots of driving, no consistency with schedule, kids can get crazy, heavy lifting of equipment, sometimes dangerous tricks (dry ice, gases)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 7NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Fun!
Instructor (ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON17 juillet 2017
This job was a blast. Teaching little kids science, while not always easy, was fun.

You go in to meetings and learn about some experiments etc, get acquainted with the system, and then get a schedule for teaching. Every week you pick up a new kit for a new pre-made lesson.

Lessons depend on a) how you are at "public" speaking in front of kids b) how you handle children in a classroom setting and c) if you make the lesson enjoyable for them.

Charismatic people do great at this job, people in a shell can LEARN to come out of it, but it takes practice.

Pay was/is/seemed low and would have been more worthwhile if my teaching degree played a bigger part in the pay.
Points positifs
fun, exciting, the joy on kids faces
Points négatifs
back and forth scheduling, low pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Mad Science is the world’s leading science enrichment provider delivering unique, entertaining and educational hands-on science experiences for kids
Instructor (employé actuel) –  North York, ON31 mai 2016
Mad Science is a fun interactive place to work if you love children.I improved my classroom management and teaching abilities. I really enjoy working for mad science. every co worker is amazing and you never feel left out. the classes we teach to our students are fun and education filled. The hardest part of this job is not knowing the children very long because you are always going to different schools and the sessions are not long. The most enjoyable part of the job is having the kids make the science project and become extremely excited about it.
Points positifs
Pay for your mileage
Points négatifs
Short hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Great Jump Point for New Teachers
Science Teacher (ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON30 juin 2015
If you're a recent teacher graduate then this is an amazing opportunity to workshop K-6 Science & Technology curriculum in Ontario. The training is amazing and you will definitely bring experiments and ways of presenting content into your classroom moving forward.

For strong workers there are ample opportunities to move up through the instructor levels and areas of work. I gave a low rating for salary as sometimes the hours can be tricky and there are no benefits.

It's an amazing work environment with supportive management who look after you even when you've left.
Points positifs
Experience, work culture, fun.
Points négatifs
Hours & Benefits
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Great management, mediocre work environment
Party Host (ancien employé) –  barrie22 janvier 2014
Enjoyable job, open hours, room for expansion, exceptional management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 4Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Mad Science is a great place to start
Intructor (employé actuel) –  Coquitlam, BC5 juin 2013
Being an instructor at mad science has allowed me to explore my capabilities as an instructor for younger children. I worked independently for each class which last one hour and it gave me a lot of control over the structure of each class. The hardest part of the job is traveling to different schools everyday and having to locate them since they are sometimes outside of my neighbourhood. The most enjoyable part of this job is getting to work with children and making science enjoyable and interesting for them.
Points positifs
Good pay, mileage compensation, great supervisor
Points négatifs
not enough hours per week
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 13Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible, productive, and fun work place
Science Instructor (employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC25 août 2012
This is a great part-time job for someone with an interest in teaching in an out-of-the-box style.
Points positifs
very flexible and fun
Points négatifs
a lot of traveling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire/Avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Management
Culture d'entreprise
The job itself was great, management was not
Visiting Teacher (ancien employé) –  Kitchener, ON23 juillet 2012
Loved the job itself, I enjoy working with children and the aspects of this job (teaching science was great).
Management I would not rate as great, communication was one sided
Co-workers were great
Travel time
Working with the kids
Points positifs
enjoyed the daily activities with the children, great fit for me
Points négatifs
communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile ?Oui 9NonSignaler

Voir plus d'avis pour Mad Science

Vous pourriez essayer :

Page attribuée

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Mad Science. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 179 avis
576
450
335
27
111

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,2Salaire/Avantages sociaux
3,2Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
3,8Management
4,0Culture d'entreprise