L'Hopital d'Ottawa - Avis

Voir les 75 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible Culture, inexperienced/lazy management, good pay
Supply Distribution Attendant (Casual) (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON17 mars 2019
What an absolute mess it was working here. I worked in the logistics department for roughly 6 months before I gave up. When I was hired I was never actually informed that I had been hired, so after a week of hearing nothing after signing the contract, I called and was informed they forgot to mention I was suppose to start a week ago.
My first day I was introduced to my co-workers, who all told me to quit, and that this is the worst department in the hospital (I agree with that), I was then introduced to my two union reps, who introduced themselves to me with fake names. Literally, fake names. They laughed and walked away without telling me what their real names were. I never found out.

In six months I was never given an oracle log-on, so I couldn't perform 50% of my job properly. I tried calling tech support but they never could get it to work, my supervisor said he had tried to get them to set one up for me, but the paper work never arrived. Not being able to do the basic duties of your job is very stressful. I was told to just go ask another worker to use their log-on, which is in the same vein as asking someone to use their email. It's not a big deal, but it's uncomfortable.

There is also a huge culture of back-stabbing. If you make 1 mistake and your co-workers see it, they'll go right to management. I had finished my work and was offering to help another/learn about a different department ( I was still very new at this point, only having worked 10 shifts so was looking to learn still), and one of my co-workers basically yells at me that my rooms are filthy and
  plus... that I need to go clean them up. I went up and there was nothing on the floor, no bins out of place and no boxes needing to be thrown out, in the meantime he went to my supervisor and told him I wasn't doing my job. Big man just felt like throwing his weight around at the new guy, I think. I never offered to help anyone again.


The straw that broke my break however, was when I entered into a ward and was berated and screamed at by an angry ward manager ( I think that is who she was), over the previous worker not ordering enough stock. I hadn't taken a shift for roughly a month at that point, so I had no hand in ordering for her ward. I offered to have a list of the things she needed sent over as quick as possible, but she was too busy yelling at me to respond. This was not the first time this had happened to me at the hospital (at different wards, mind you). I took one shift after that, then quit.

All in all, between the low hours, the almost non-existent chance of becoming full time and the truly toxic work culture, I'd avoid working at the hospital in the logistics department.
  moins
Points positifs
Good pay, casuals are paid in lieu of benefits, flexible hours
Points négatifs
Work culture, unions, management, lack of advancement, poor treatment from other departments
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive work place
Staff nurse (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON5 mars 2019
Teaching institution providing opportunities to acquire new experience and deepen current skills and knowledge.
Too many managerial positions were added over the recent years.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lacking
Various Positions (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON4 mars 2019
I worked there in both technical and supportive roles. There is very little opportunity for advancement. Lay-offs, job shuffling, frequent employee turn-over and work load issues are common. Privacy breaches and policy non-compliance are also frequent. Heavy union presence and intimidation.
Points positifs
Easy to get hired, relatively easy work
Points négatifs
Work culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Inclusive and dynamic place to work
Combined Clinics Surgery Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON31 janvier 2019
The Ottawa Hospital is a very large corporation but it didn't feel that way. The 19 years I spent there were very enjoyable and educational. The hands on approach is a testament to their success.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not bad not great
Warehouse Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON29 janvier 2019
Lots of promises no follow through. More management from outside of the hospital have to be hired and less unqualified managers should be promoted for the hospital to grow a stronger workplace.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun
Shadowing Physicians (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON26 janvier 2019
Was a great experience working with doctors and physician assistants.

I loved every part of this job, including learning about where each room of the hospital was located
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Many opportunities for nurses
Registered Nurse (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa Civic10 janvier 2019
It depends what area you work in. The medicine units and surgery units are so busy and management are always checking up on you. I have heard working in geriatrics and day surgery are less stressful.

Civic hospital is old and dirty and patient rooms are small and crowded. Only shower for about 30 patients.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
challenging but rewarding workplace
Registered Nurse at the Ottawa Hospital (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON26 décembre 2018
Currently I deal with all kinds of people from the community. I work on a medicine floor which means that we will have anyone come in from young to old, and with a vast variety of illnesses. My role is a nurse on the floor, as well as often being a charge nurse. I have had many leadership opportunities and many learning experiences.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not enough experience to review completely
Registered Nurse (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON17 décembre 2018
I have had a difficult adjustment period here and eventually had to leave for health reasons. Management etc... very supportive but some issues arose with other staff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Team oriented and a great place to work
LOGISTICAL SERVICES - TECHNICIAN (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON26 novembre 2018
I really enjoy coming into work every day. I have a great group of colleagues and we all work really well together. I have learned many skills in this career. I have learned that you need to be organized and meticulous when working in this line of work because there are timelines that have to be met as well as making sure the patients are taken care of. This career has helped me improve my time management skills as well as given me a sense of accomplishment every single day.
Points positifs
Building a great network
Points négatifs
It can be very physical and tough on your body
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
SPD Needed Better Management
Transportation Worker (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON23 novembre 2018
SPD used to be a great place to work until they changed management and everything went down the tubes; morale was lost, communication was hindered and management worked against employees' as opposed to alongside employees for the betterment of the patients. I don't know how it is now, but that's how it was before I left.
Points positifs
Pay rate.
Points négatifs
Management and lack of communication and direction.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Rewarding job environment, good gateway into the Hospital Job Market
Medical Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON20 novembre 2018
Work load is easy to manage & staffing goes the extra mile to make sure your work/life are well balanced. Salary is fair. Management is polite and fast to reply to inquiries. Job advancement is seniority based, even if newer employees present greater assets. However, being unionized, your Job is secure for the long run, with position shuffling for casual / temporary staff. Work environment is mostly friendly, and coworkers work as a team. The Hospital's mission of treating patients like they're family is followed through daily, and ethics are maintained well. I personally had some experience with some staff members entering petty arguments, but it is resolved by management within a few weeks.
Points positifs
Training provided, high salary (for a clerk), friendly coworkers
Points négatifs
Fast paced work environment, one must be prepared to work back-to-back 12-hour shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work, supportive management, amazing colleagues
SOCIAL WORKER (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON15 octobre 2018
For inpatient Social Workers at The Ottawa Hospital, our main focus is collaboration with the patient and allied health team to arrange discharge plans for patients once they leave the Hospital.

TOH very much encourages a positive workplace culture. The job is fast paced and high volume, but management is always available for support.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved working there
Registered Practical Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON28 septembre 2018
Sadly had to leave for another province for my spouse. Loved working there. Worked on the 8th floor.. Great staff, management.
If we ever go back to Ottawa, I will, with no hesitation, try to get work there again !
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Value driven workplace
EVP, Strategy & Transformation (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, Ontario, Canada25 septembre 2018
The Ottawa Hospital in a pillar in the Ottawa region for Healthcare leadership and research. The organization is actively led by the CEO, Dr. Jack Kitts, who is highly visible and compassionate about employees and the Hospitals role in the community.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
HEMODIALYSIS CLERK (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON22 septembre 2018
The Ottawa Hospital is a great place to work with lots of support from management and peers. Expect a fast pace environment with ever changing conditions and constant learning. The job can be stressful at times but rewarding. Appreciation is shown to those who preform their duties as expected and complete tasks on time. Loved working at TOH!
Points positifs
Supportive team who assist each other and share workload.
Points négatifs
Nothing negative to say
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Staffing Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON7 septembre 2018
the TOH creates a very kind atmosphere focused on the happiness and health of their patients, as well as their staff.
The management team for staffing is incredible people who strive to ensure the workplace is always positive, and do their best to help out whenever needed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I used to be proud to work at The Ottawa Hospital (TOH)
Team Lead of Medical Transcription, Health Records (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON2 septembre 2018
Professionalism and dedication to quality transcription were once valued by this organization. However, today the bottom line is the amount of money required to accomplish clinical documentation. Quality documentation is no longer a valued asset.
Points positifs
ability to work remotely
Points négatifs
medical transcriptionists are not valued
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Protection officer (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON16 août 2018
Good place to work, always get paid on time, good management. I've been there for close to 10 years and would stay longer if it wasn't for lack of advancement within my field
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
difficult for advancement
Database/Admin/Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON13 août 2018
8 years of employment. Very controversial environment. Many management issues. Enjoyed patient care very much and specific colleagues. I would suggest better employ support
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez L'Hopital d'Ottawa. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,1
D'après 75 avis
536
421
313
22
13

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,8Direction
3,8Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu